Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 91 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Good Choice

Customer review by shafeman

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by shafeman
by shafeman

I need a camera that is not bulky. I need a camera that is easy to use. Point and shoot or use the many options that can also make your pictures look like your not the novice you really are. This camera does it all.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very happy

Customer review by Doodles503

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by Doodles503
by Doodles503

I was extremely nervous to purchase this camera based on the past reviews where water got into the camera. I had no issues with the camera at all; which I used on a trip to Bermuda-- a cruise. I used the camera in the hot tub, pool, and in the ocean. Everything worked fine, the pictures came out nice, I had no issues what-so-ever. Based on the other revies I was very careful to rinse the camera when we got back to the ship each time. It was awesome being able to take pictures in the hot tub and in the water. I am VERY happy with it, and glad i went with this camera, as I spent over 10 hours comparing all the underwater cameras, reviews, studies, and prices... Good deal!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Norwalk, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year

Customer review by Ocoeefl

3.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Ocoeefl
by Ocoeefl

In a low light setting, sensor has difficulty in recognizing objects. Some times flash won't go off. When flash is set to "on", it ends up blasting the subject. HD video was great. Used it when snorkel and video looks great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ocoee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent product

Customer review by Mike60561

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Mike60561
by Mike60561

Fast delivery. Good price- although other places had it cheaper but I could not wait-they were out of stock. Excellent pictures with many different settings, and great underwater clarity. The video feature is also excellent and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darien, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Fabulous HazMat Camera

Customer review by Rsuninv

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Rsuninv
by Rsuninv

I purchased this camera so I could take it into a HazMat response and then submerge it in water or a cleaning solution so it didn't end up being a disposable camera. It works very well. The fine buttons are a little small when gloved up but I don't really need them since it delivers a great picture and the zoom it easily utilized. I have already used it on a scene and it was a flawless performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera

Customer review by sam the man

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by sam the man
by sam the man

Just got this camera for snowboarding. It takes a beating and keeps on going. Great action footage. The built-in flashlight for video recording is a great feature but its too dim, other than that its great.

sam the man
beckley wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The perfect camera for an outdoor person

Customer review by ughanothernickname

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by ughanothernickname
by ughanothernickname

I am addicted to taking photos, my D300S is my constant companion on trips to Europe and Mexico. I found myself worrying all the time about my camera staying clean and not getting hurt(dropped it under a taxi in was fine). So I decided I needed an outdoor camera. I recently got the blue AW100 and the carrying case. I have taken it on 2 trail rides to the beach, I just clip the case to my saddle and go! Considering my horse wouldn't stop trotting, my pictures turned out really well. It was very easy to work with one hand, while riding with the other. I plan on trying it out underwater while snorkling in Puerto Rico in a few weeks!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love this camera!

Customer review by SoccerChik

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by SoccerChik
by SoccerChik

I just got it for my birthday and I haven't been able to put it down! It takes amazing pictures that are as clear as can be. I took it to Disney World and got some stunning pictures of the animals and my family during the action. I got a great picture of my friend on a roller coaster with the best face! You wouldn't be able to get that on any other camera. Overall, highly recommended!!!!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good camera

Customer review by NikonnnCool

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by NikonnnCool
by NikonnnCool

it takes the best pictures! I got it for sledding and it is amazing

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent investment for the active person

Customer review by podula

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by podula
by podula

The picture quality is as good as it gets for such a small lens and sensor. To further explain, I took comparative pictures with this camera and with my DSLR that with the mounted lens would cost 6 times more than the AW100. By taking just point-and-shoot pictures with both cameras, same compositions and time of the day, the DSLR pictures were a bit better... definitely not 6 times better, just marginally. But again, I did not buy the AW100 camera for it's outstanding picture quality. The camera has difficulties focusing in very low light (not like my big camera), but that did not come as a surprise. The movie mode works fine. The GPS gets faster reception than my 4 years old dedicated GPS, so not only that works,... it works great. One thing apparently missed, is that the strap can be used to secure the camera to your chest and shoot movies. It is much better idea then the hand strap alternative. I have not tested the water resistance yet, so no comments there... Also I have not figured out very well the benefit of the action button, it does not seem that shaking the camera changes anything. I may come back with more feedback once I learn more about the camera.

Vancouver B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing GPS enabled camera!

Customer review by JP

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by JP
by JP

I have had this camera for about two weeks now and have taken hundreds of photos with it already. I purchased this camera for the geotagging feature. I have been geotagging photos for a number of years manually with a separate hand held GPS unit and with another GPS enabled camera. The Nikon AW100 is the second GPS enabled camera I have owned. The first one being the Canon PowerShot SX230 HS. The Nikon AW100 GPS is amazing. It is fast and super sensitive. The AW100 can lock onto satellite signals inside my home and in heavy tree cover! Something my Canon never could do. The display shows you when the AW100 has picked up two, three and then locked on to four satellites, and it does it quickly. The AW100 also has the advantage of using A-GPS file that can be downloaded from this Nikon URL and then loaded onto the memory card you are using in your Nikon AW100 By using the A-GPS file the Nikon AW100 can predict the satellite location before it even searches for them. Without the A-GPS file the Nikon AW100 GPS may take 10-15 seconds to first lock onto the four satellites after being powered on, but when using the A-GPS file it only takes about two seconds to lock onto all the satellites, simply amazing! I have found the Nikon AW100 GPS to be a lot quicker then the Canon GPS enabled camera I own and the Nikon AW100 GPS receives satellites just as good in heavy tree cover as my Garmin 60csx hand held receiver. The Nikon AW100 GPS works like a GPS enabled camera should work, simple, quick, accurate and holds a lock on the satellites. I got the black Nikon AW100 and it has a good feel to it. Not a cheap plastic feel like some other point and shoot cameras. With GPS enabled I get around 170 photos out of a battery, but batteries are cheap online and I picked up two extra ones. Lot of features, built in maps is cool. Weather proof body is a big plus. Love this camera!

Milbank, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Splash Camera I've tested.

Customer review by Ray J

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Ray J
by Ray J

Best splash camera I could buy for ease of, placement of functions, size, design and quality. Bought in Kauai on 2011 Christmas holidays and very happy with it.

Ray J
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!

Customer review by LovemyNikon

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by LovemyNikon
by LovemyNikon

Every day I find little cool things that it does. I love all the features and underwater pics come out awesome! It would take too long to describe all the features. Read the reference manual so you don't miss out on any of them. GET ONE!!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Rugged Camera!

Customer review by Average guy

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Average guy
by Average guy

I have had this camera for over a year now and this thing is great. This camera has awesome picture quality and is very durable, although I did read 4 bad reviews of water getting into the camera after only 1 underwater use which I think is just not properly sealing the back or a bad batch. I on the other hand have had no issues, so far I tested the under water features in a pool and took it down a water slide multiple times which it did take a few hits and is still flawless. I plan to take it on several hiking trips and we are going to the florida keys in july and I can't wait to use it out there. My one thing I would like to see improved is the slow motion video. There is really no point in using that feature because it lowers the video quality so much, but I guess you can personally slow down the video if you feel like editing it, but other then that every thing is perfect and I am really glad I bought this. Also make sure you buy an extra battery and memory card.

Average guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best on the market a far as I am concerned!

Customer review by Stevecvn71

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Stevecvn71
by Stevecvn71

I have never had a camera that is like the AW100! The video is professional quality; the photos are the best I have seen, even better than a DSLR as far as I am concerned. So easy to use and switch from still to video and back with even thinking about it. The underwater feature is also great. The drop feature is one that I haven’t tested as of yet, and really don’t plan to, however, I am sure that it works like all the other features. I have and will recommend this camera.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much better than my last underwater camera

Customer review by Splatme

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Splatme
by Splatme

Owned a Pentax Underwater camera and it filled with water at less than 20ft on my forst dive. Replaced it with the Nikon AW100 and couldn't be more pleased. Picture quality and ease of shooting video is a great improvement. I just wush I could understand the GPS that is built-in. Maybe I should read the book. Thanks, Scott, Tacoma WA

Tacoma WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised

Customer review by Bob from California

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Bob from California
by Bob from California

This is the second underwater camera I have owned. The other one was a Olympus Stylus 770SW. The Olympus died on me in early April. I was thinking buying another Olympus, when I checked out the Nikon AW100. I decided to buy Nikon because it seemed a better camera than the Olympus Stylus Tough 8010 14MP Digit al Camera or Olympus ToughTG-1 iHS. In the end I am glad I bought the Nikon AW100. It has been a month now and I am glad to say I made a good choice.

Bob from California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Compact Digital Camera

Customer review by TanMan

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by TanMan
by TanMan

Let's start with the good. It takes great pictures and video, even under water. It takes the best pictures of any compact digital camera I've owned. But the ability to shoot underwater is why we got it, and those pictures are amazing. We took both still pictures and video, and they both came out great. The Easy Auto mode figures out the most common scenes, and it automatically switches to underwater mode. We started taking video above the water, then went under the water (and the camera automatically switched to Underwater mode), then went back above the water. The video came out great. However, you can't change most of the settings from Easy Auto mode. The Auto mode (strangely enough) is where you can change most of your settings.But the strangest thing is all the scene types you can choose - you have normal things like Portrait and Landscape, but you also have specialty scenes like Food, Sunset, and Fireworks. They each make the appropriate settings automatically so the intent is you don't have to mess with the settings. I've only tried a couple of these, including the very cool Pet Portrait), and they all came out great. The GPS feature is nice, but you can accomplish nearly the same thing by tagging your pictures manually with your location. It does cause the battery to wear down much quicker though, so I usually leave this off. The side button can either display the map, or provide a menu. The map doesn't do anything with the GPS turned off, but it's the only place to access the GPS menu. In the menu mode, you have to tilt the camera left and right or forward and back to change the settings. This doesn't work easily (for me) and I just found it very silly. So I leave it in map mode. The other thing I didn't like was that the default setting for Auto Focus is to focus once. This is not what you expect from a digital camera, and especially not for a video camera. You can change it to full-focus where it is constantly refocusing. This is more natural for me and especially for video. Single focus seems especially silly for video, but since I was able to change this, it wasn't a problem. Overall, this is, by far, the best compact digital camera I've ever owned. I highly recommend it.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't leave home without it

Customer review by Photo Hound

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Photo Hound
by Photo Hound

This camera was purchased to augment a Nikon D7000; a small camera to take along when the SLR is left at home. The HD video and crisp photo capability of the same 16MP chip in both cameras does not disappoint with the AW100! The manual could be a bit clearer on all the features, especially the menu navigation.

Photo Hound
Shelburne, VT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon quality we love!

Customer review by Georgette

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Georgette
by Georgette

Bought a Fugi and used it once because it filled with water the first time it was taken under water! So back it went and I purchased a name that is trusted in the photography world and I am certainly glad I did! The Nikon AW100 takes beautiful pictures and video. I just love how easy it is to use and there is no doubt that you can go swimming with it! I highly recommend this camera for backyard or beach or anywhere in between! It was one less thing I had to worry about on vacation because I knew the pictures would come out great!

Buffalo, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews