Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 92 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Close to SLR Camera performance in a small package
11/11/2011

Customer review by mr8fred

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by mr8fred
by mr8fred

Have only shot a few pictures so far, but this camera outperforms all subcompact digital cameras I have used. If you need a camera to enjoy the outdoors in all environments this is the camera you should buy!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mr8fred
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use with great results
1/5/2012

Customer review by BarbadosSnapper

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by BarbadosSnapper
by BarbadosSnapper

I have taken hundreds of underwater pictures and video with this camera, and they are awesome. It's simple to use with excellent results. I did have the camera freeze on me once though, while trying to take a sunset picture and I had to remove the battery, but that only happened that one time. The built in gps function is pretty neat, as it tags where all my photos were taken. The camera also has a good feel and weight to it, and it fits in your pocket quite nicely. This was a great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarbadosSnapper
Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Is not as good as it seems.
11/3/2012

Customer review by LauraKath

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by LauraKath
by LauraKath

Takes really long to take a picture, it does not focus well. I really hate that. The only reason I got this camera is for the waterproof option but I expected a good camera outside of the water too...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LauraKath
New York City, New York.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nikon... the Best
10/26/2012

Customer review by iRaft

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by iRaft
by iRaft

Took this camera for a wonderful road trip, Excellent! White-river rafting + zip lining + Cavern expedition = 956 wonderful pictures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iRaft
Safety Harbor, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very durable camera.
1/15/2012

Customer review by HappyScraper

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by HappyScraper
by HappyScraper

I am very pleased with this camera. I bought it for my 10 yr old son for Christmas and he was super excited when he opened it! That's all he wanted this year. I purchased it because I hate disposable cameras and when he has fieldtrips he wants to take pictures for his scrapbook. I love how it is shockproof from 5ft and waterproof up to 33ft. That is impressive to me. I didn't want to buy a 10 yr old a cheap camera and have it broke a week later. It even has built in GPS. Thank you Nikon for making a durable camera that can handle an adventurous 10 year old!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyScraper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for beginners like me
8/29/2013

Customer review by Kewins97

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by Kewins97
by Kewins97

I really liked this camera. I use it underwater, in rain and snow, and its awesome. Its perfect for beginners like me, very easy to use. Thanks for this shop. And thanks for Walmart for cheapest prices i've met in the internet. Appreciate all the staff.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kewins97
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera!
4/1/2012

Customer review by LovemyNikon

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by LovemyNikon
by LovemyNikon

Every day I find little cool things that it does. I love all the features and underwater pics come out awesome! It would take too long to describe all the features. Read the reference manual so you don't miss out on any of them. GET ONE!!!

LovemyNikon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Rugged Camera!
4/29/2012

Customer review by Average guy

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Average guy
by Average guy

I have had this camera for over a year now and this thing is great. This camera has awesome picture quality and is very durable, although I did read 4 bad reviews of water getting into the camera after only 1 underwater use which I think is just not properly sealing the back or a bad batch. I on the other hand have had no issues, so far I tested the under water features in a pool and took it down a water slide multiple times which it did take a few hits and is still flawless. I plan to take it on several hiking trips and we are going to the florida keys in july and I can't wait to use it out there. My one thing I would like to see improved is the slow motion video. There is really no point in using that feature because it lowers the video quality so much, but I guess you can personally slow down the video if you feel like editing it, but other then that every thing is perfect and I am really glad I bought this. Also make sure you buy an extra battery and memory card.

Average guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much better than my last underwater camera
5/12/2012

Customer review by Splatme

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Splatme
by Splatme

Owned a Pentax Underwater camera and it filled with water at less than 20ft on my forst dive. Replaced it with the Nikon AW100 and couldn't be more pleased. Picture quality and ease of shooting video is a great improvement. I just wush I could understand the GPS that is built-in. Maybe I should read the book. Thanks, Scott, Tacoma WA

Splatme
Tacoma WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Compact Digital Camera
5/23/2012

Customer review by TanMan

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by TanMan
by TanMan

Let's start with the good. It takes great pictures and video, even under water. It takes the best pictures of any compact digital camera I've owned. But the ability to shoot underwater is why we got it, and those pictures are amazing. We took both still pictures and video, and they both came out great. The Easy Auto mode figures out the most common scenes, and it automatically switches to underwater mode. We started taking video above the water, then went under the water (and the camera automatically switched to Underwater mode), then went back above the water. The video came out great. However, you can't change most of the settings from Easy Auto mode. The Auto mode (strangely enough) is where you can change most of your settings.But the strangest thing is all the scene types you can choose - you have normal things like Portrait and Landscape, but you also have specialty scenes like Food, Sunset, and Fireworks. They each make the appropriate settings automatically so the intent is you don't have to mess with the settings. I've only tried a couple of these, including the very cool Pet Portrait), and they all came out great. The GPS feature is nice, but you can accomplish nearly the same thing by tagging your pictures manually with your location. It does cause the battery to wear down much quicker though, so I usually leave this off. The side button can either display the map, or provide a menu. The map doesn't do anything with the GPS turned off, but it's the only place to access the GPS menu. In the menu mode, you have to tilt the camera left and right or forward and back to change the settings. This doesn't work easily (for me) and I just found it very silly. So I leave it in map mode. The other thing I didn't like was that the default setting for Auto Focus is to focus once. This is not what you expect from a digital camera, and especially not for a video camera. You can change it to full-focus where it is constantly refocusing. This is more natural for me and especially for video. Single focus seems especially silly for video, but since I was able to change this, it wasn't a problem. Overall, this is, by far, the best compact digital camera I've ever owned. I highly recommend it.

TanMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied with the AW100
7/11/2012

Customer review by nassau73

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by nassau73
by nassau73

I live on Maui so naturally, much of our activity is in the water. When my Golden Retriever was diagnosed with cancer, I wanted to make sure I had some "in the water" pictures of her from close up rather than always having distance photos from shore. I did some quick research and then bought the AW100. I haven't had the time to really explore using all the different settings so I've been using the easy mode - letting the camera decide what setting to use. The way I've been using it in the water means that sometimes it's underwater and then above the surface. I can see the indicator showing "underwater" until the water drips off the lens/sensor. Even so, I think the results are great. I've also seen great results from the "dry land" photos I've taken. For such a small and relatively inexpensive camera, this thing does a great job.

nassau73
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its The best in its class
7/28/2012

Customer review by Titan_lk

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Titan_lk
by Titan_lk

i was very skeptical when it said it had a 16 megapixel picture resolution. and also it being waterproof. but when i bought it was everything it said it was. even when diving with it, its really great for its price tag. also attached a picture to show its underwater capability.

Titan_lk
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
coolpix S6300
9/26/2012

Customer review by smalldoll-jitterbug

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by smalldoll-jitterbug
by smalldoll-jitterbug

quality, ease of use and very user friendly. portable for use at grade school related field trips. Photos are quality and worth the time I take at end of school to create a memorable CD of the year my "day family" (as my class is called by us) enjoyed and learned. thanks...my kid's parents love the photos and CD also!! This camera was given me by my husband after my other coolpix "found another owner."

smalldoll-jitterbug
Afton Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy, reliable
11/1/2012

Customer review by Funken

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Funken
by Funken

Mines been in my pocket for thousands of miles of bicycle riding in the last year. No problems. Thanks Nikon for letting a camera out in the rain, dust, salt spray, hot, cold. I like this camera a lot.

Funken
southwestern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very versatile camera
11/3/2012

Customer review by Travel Lady

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Travel Lady
by Travel Lady

I bought this camera prior to going on a trip to Ecuador in June 2012. I have now used this camera on two trips to very remote locations including the Amazon and the pictures I have taken turn out great. I was in Peru recently and was using this camera when I misstepped and fell down several stairs. I unfortunately did not fair so well with a fractured & dislocated ankle but the camera after being slammed on a very hard surface held up perfectly!!! The camera didn't even have a scratch and I have used the camera since and still takes great pictures. I would recommend this camera for someone who needs a camera not only for everyday use but for those times that you may be in an area and are afraid of ruining a more expensive camera. I have several other Nikon SLR cameras that I use on travel but this is the one I use in areas that I wouldn't be afraid if it dropped.

Travel Lady
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
'THE' Camera to Own!!!
11/7/2012

Customer review by Turtle_K0TP

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Turtle_K0TP
by Turtle_K0TP

This is the 'GO TO' camera. It fits in your shirt pocket, takes remarkable very high quality photos. Fantastic battery life. It will take the large (GB) memory cards and store hunderds of photos, no need to carry extras. I carry an extra battery not the extra memory card as needed with my other cameras. Recommended to a friend which he purchased and took on a cruse vacation and loved it!

Turtle_K0TP
Alexandria, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for snorkeling
11/21/2012

Customer review by The Snorkeling Dude

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by The Snorkeling Dude
by The Snorkeling Dude

I got this camera in January 2012 and have already taken over 7000 shots with over 6000 of them underwater while snorkeling in the Red Sea. The camera has held up well and given me the opportunity to capture a tremendous variety of quality pics. It does best is the shallower water with good light which is pretty easy to do in this part df the world. the lower light shots have more noise but that is easily handled in post processing software. The flash comes in handy for critters hiding in the rocks and the zoom gets me closer to things like lion fish where a little distance is a good thing. I get 250-300 shots per session which covers a nice 2-3 hour swim at the beach. Maintenance has been easy and I make sure to rinse, clean and dry the camera after every use in the water. The large file size allows for nice crops and post processing work. I wish the screen was a little easier to see underwater it if I position myself well relative to the sun it works well. I have used the video also and have some great shots of an octopus on the move and changing color. I also got some night video using light from a dive light that looks pretty good. I have added a couple of shots as examples. I truly love this camera. Thanks to Nikon for a great camera along with my D5000 and, hopefully, soon to be added D600. I like this camera so much we have bought them for two of our daughters one of whom is a pro photographer and she loves the macro. I confirm that I am the photographer and hold the copyright to all of the attached photographs.

The Snorkeling Dude
Saudi Arabia, split time between Dammam and Jeddah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera if you bang it around everyday. Great pictures.
12/1/2012

Customer review by Everyday Worker

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Everyday Worker
by Everyday Worker

I use it everyday. I do not treat it nice. Still looks like new. Works great. The pictures are great.

Everyday Worker
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pictures for a very durable camera!
1/21/2013

Customer review by lmarco

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by lmarco
by lmarco

My 3 year old loves this camera and it has put up to his abuse. He has used it at the beach and waterpark. The simplicity of the camera is great. I also like that when I use it I can change the settings and use the more advanced features for specialty photos. For the money and a waterproof camera I have not seen a better one. I also own the canon equivalent and this one takes far better pictures both above and bellow the water.

lmarco
Batavia, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerhouse in a Point and Shoot!
2/12/2013

Customer review by CanonUserWith1stNikon

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by CanonUserWith1stNikon
by CanonUserWith1stNikon

Just got this AW100 Nikon in January and love it! I took it on a trip and shot over 600 photos. I didn't use it under water, but it was raining several days. It was great not having to worry about the camera getting wet; I continued to shoot and got some wonderful rain shots. I liked everything about it for a small camera, and will always take it along now to accompany my large camera & lens.

CanonUserWith1stNikon
Central Florida, Orlando, FL 32816, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews