Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
1-20 of 94 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Loved it, till it broke
6/16/2012

Customer review by Neil

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Neil
by Neil

I needed a smaller camera than my old dslr for school to do contextual research. I was doing a project that required me to take low light photos and video and since I love all things out doors, I tend to be tough on my electronics. This aw100 seemed like a perfect match with its size, durability, and cmos sensor. And it was. I freaking love this little device. I wouldn't say that it is perfect, but what is? The Good - Fairly compact - Is water proof (at least to 20 something ft.) - Is shock proof (at least to 4ft.) - put it in my freezer and it still worked - gps is neat - good low light photos - settings are easy to understand - the video is good - there is a slow motion setting The Bad - gps is cool but at this point useless - sound is good enough but leaves something to be desired - it will corrupt files randomly (it only does it on the amazing once in a life time shots) The Ugly - The lens broke. I have no idea how it happened. I just woke up one day and it was sitting on my nightstand with a shattered lens. So unless the dog did something or a room mate borrowed it and then put it back with out informing me of the situation, it magically broke itself.

Neil
Savannah, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Rugged Companion
2/19/2013

Customer review by DocCamera

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by DocCamera
by DocCamera

This lightweight, pants-pocket-sized camera is perfect for snorkeling, mountaineering, hiking and snow skiing! I have used it for all these events. The build quality is excellent except that the rear glass over the LCD display does scratch easily which I fixed by applying a Ghost Armor protector at a Mall kiosk. That took care of covering my scratches and now leaves the screen truly scratch free. The camera performs beautifully and the HDMI output to my 52 inch TV is awesome! The HD movies are superb coming from such a small camera.

DocCamera
Fullerton, California USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!!!
12/12/2012

Customer review by Lena

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Lena
by Lena

I love this camera. I already been in -30F windchill taking videos snowmobiling. It trully is water and freez proof. I love the fact that mine is orange. we dropped it in the snow and you can spot it instantly with this bright color. LOVE LOVE LOVE. the pictures are great as well. Love the separate button for video. no adjustment needed. just push the button to start recording in an instant.

Lena
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy, reliable
11/1/2012

Customer review by Funken

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Funken
by Funken

Mines been in my pocket for thousands of miles of bicycle riding in the last year. No problems. Thanks Nikon for letting a camera out in the rain, dust, salt spray, hot, cold. I like this camera a lot.

Funken
southwestern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very strong
12/13/2014

Customer review by Sam

5.0 stars 12/13/2014 by Sam
by Sam

i bought this camera for a 18 day kayak trip in gorgon bay, the camera worked very well and i got allot of very nice pictures. about 10 days in we had a campsite that was about 30ft away from a cliff which had a small stream at the bottom, while i went to go pick some blue berries i left my camera on the ground and one of my friends kicked it off the cliff. he went and fished it out of the stream and turned it on, still works perfectly the only this that heppend was a rock left a large dent in the metal front cover. the dent was so large that it pushed the metal cover off but it is still sealed underneath so i went the rest of the trip with the cover off and when i got home i straightened out with a hammer, re painted it and super glued it back on. if you saw it today you would never guess that it had been kicked off a cliff, especially because nothing everything still works and it is still completely waterproof so i am very happen it did more than what i bout it for so i cannot complain.

Sam
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Rugged Camera!
4/29/2012

Customer review by Average guy

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Average guy
by Average guy

I have had this camera for over a year now and this thing is great. This camera has awesome picture quality and is very durable, although I did read 4 bad reviews of water getting into the camera after only 1 underwater use which I think is just not properly sealing the back or a bad batch. I on the other hand have had no issues, so far I tested the under water features in a pool and took it down a water slide multiple times which it did take a few hits and is still flawless. I plan to take it on several hiking trips and we are going to the florida keys in july and I can't wait to use it out there. My one thing I would like to see improved is the slow motion video. There is really no point in using that feature because it lowers the video quality so much, but I guess you can personally slow down the video if you feel like editing it, but other then that every thing is perfect and I am really glad I bought this. Also make sure you buy an extra battery and memory card.

Average guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Difficult interface and very annoying "shake" feature
6/9/2012

Customer review by Phredd

3.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Phredd
by Phredd

This may be the best waterproof camera of its size, but the photos don't have the sharpness and color saturation I found in at least two other, though more bulky, cameras. The interface takes some getting used to. For example, selecting a flash option or macro doesn't take effect until pushing OK. I'm used to selection the menu item and pressing the shutter - not on this camera. There is one very annoying "feature" that I will never get used to, shake for action. I was reviewing photos in the car and every time we hit the slightest bump, it would advance to the next photo. Same thing happened each time I rotated the camera to view a portrait photo. And there's no way to turn this off! This alone almost caused me to return the camera. I still think this camera is a good choice for the size and price. But if you want better image quality and a more intuitive interface and don't mind paying more or carrying a bulkier camera, there are better options.

Phredd
Nashua, NH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Close to SLR Camera performance in a small package
11/11/2011

Customer review by mr8fred

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by mr8fred
by mr8fred

Have only shot a few pictures so far, but this camera outperforms all subcompact digital cameras I have used. If you need a camera to enjoy the outdoors in all environments this is the camera you should buy!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mr8fred
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WORST CAMERA
3/29/2016

Customer review by Feather

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Feather
by Feather

Bought this new for a vacation my husband and I were going on... and for pics of the kiddos summer in the pool. My camera lasted and entire 3 shots underwater. The seal leaked, display disappeared, and the camera never worked again. No underwater pictures of our awesome vacation were taken... This is obviously an ongoing problem as many others have experienced the same thing. When you spend this much money on a product and name, you expect it to work!!! So disappointed.

Feather
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to use with great results
1/5/2012

Customer review by BarbadosSnapper

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by BarbadosSnapper
by BarbadosSnapper

I have taken hundreds of underwater pictures and video with this camera, and they are awesome. It's simple to use with excellent results. I did have the camera freeze on me once though, while trying to take a sunset picture and I had to remove the battery, but that only happened that one time. The built in gps function is pretty neat, as it tags where all my photos were taken. The camera also has a good feel and weight to it, and it fits in your pocket quite nicely. This was a great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BarbadosSnapper
Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera until it flooded
7/5/2012

Customer review by aviduwphotographer

2.0 stars 7/5/2012 by aviduwphotographer
by aviduwphotographer

As a previous user of the Nikonos V camera, I am well aware of the eventual camera flood. Usually there is sand or debris on an O-ring. Not this time! Unfortunately after 3 days of use, the camera flooded on the surface in 1-2 feet of water. I observed bubbles leaking from the joint near the monitor, not the battery door. The door was closed and latched appropriately and there was no debris on the o ring. The camera is very easy to use and seems to take reasonable pictures and good video. I truly enjoyed using the camera and I expected to use it frequently as a backup during snorkeling trips. I am debating getting another as I think it is overall a good camera for the money. The underwater pictures appeared crisp and clear. NEF (Raw files) would be nice as this allows much better white balancing when editting, especially if taking pictures below 15 feet. Too bad it flooded or I would give it a 4.5 rating.

aviduwphotographer
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Got several vacations out of this one from Alaska, NWT to Maui and Kauai
3/22/2016

Customer review by RIP

4.0 stars 3/22/2016 by RIP
by RIP

Unfortunately today it died. big Beach wave and dead. Many,many turtle pictures, watery hike photos, cold NWT photos and alas it has passed. I actually feel sad. Was worth the money...only wishe it would have lasted another year or so.

RIP
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very versatile camera
11/3/2012

Customer review by Travel Lady

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Travel Lady
by Travel Lady

I bought this camera prior to going on a trip to Ecuador in June 2012. I have now used this camera on two trips to very remote locations including the Amazon and the pictures I have taken turn out great. I was in Peru recently and was using this camera when I misstepped and fell down several stairs. I unfortunately did not fair so well with a fractured & dislocated ankle but the camera after being slammed on a very hard surface held up perfectly!!! The camera didn't even have a scratch and I have used the camera since and still takes great pictures. I would recommend this camera for someone who needs a camera not only for everyday use but for those times that you may be in an area and are afraid of ruining a more expensive camera. I have several other Nikon SLR cameras that I use on travel but this is the one I use in areas that I wouldn't be afraid if it dropped.

Travel Lady
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon AW100 - below expectations
10/1/2012

Customer review by Redberryphoto

1.0 stars 10/1/2012 by Redberryphoto
by Redberryphoto

Being a serious photographer specializing in sport, nature and underwater (scuba diving) photography, I was looking for a tough compact camera just for snapshots while snorkeling, windsurfing and photography in heavy surf. Nothing serious, just the camera that I do not have to worry about. After 2 months it goes back. It develops condensation inside the lens and LCD display every time it is taken from one temperature environment to another (beach to water, AC room to outside), making it basically unusable. Maybe mine was a lemon, but I am not exchanging it for another. Another serious issue is location of the lens. The camera is a bit bulky for one hand operation. So every time you use the other hand, fingers show up in the pictures. Other than that, I liked well marked control buttons. You can take good snapshots with this camera, if you ever figure out totally ridiculous (to me) operating system, way too complicated for any normal person, never mind a photographer. But I managed to get around Nikon's idiosyncrasy. Some day Nikon will hire photographers to design their compacts, just like they do with SLRs.

Redberryphoto
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very satisfied with the AW100
7/11/2012

Customer review by nassau73

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by nassau73
by nassau73

I live on Maui so naturally, much of our activity is in the water. When my Golden Retriever was diagnosed with cancer, I wanted to make sure I had some "in the water" pictures of her from close up rather than always having distance photos from shore. I did some quick research and then bought the AW100. I haven't had the time to really explore using all the different settings so I've been using the easy mode - letting the camera decide what setting to use. The way I've been using it in the water means that sometimes it's underwater and then above the surface. I can see the indicator showing "underwater" until the water drips off the lens/sensor. Even so, I think the results are great. I've also seen great results from the "dry land" photos I've taken. For such a small and relatively inexpensive camera, this thing does a great job.

nassau73
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All Around Performer
7/30/2013

Customer review by Nescoupe

4.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Nescoupe
by Nescoupe

My wife and I were looking for a replacement for our aging point and shoot camera that is over 8 years old and was no longer meeting our demands of features and picture quality.I was looking for better low light and picture sharpness and my wife was looking for a camera that did not require intricate menus that would take forever to setup just to take a few quick shots. We also were looking for a camera that was tuff enough because of our outdoor needs. So far we have really enjoyed having a rechargeable system instead of having to feed batteries to the camera Gods after every one to two days outings. So far it has exceeded our expectations and even though we are still learning the best menu settings for our layouts we are very pleased. I would highly recommend a filter kit that you can get online so that you can take advantage of the best result for images taken in very sunny settings and under fluorescent lighting. The only thing that I would have liked to have was a manual override for shooting but with wide range of image settings it really is not necessary. If you are looking for an all weather point and shoot you will not be disappointed.

Nescoupe
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent investment for the active person
1/11/2012

Customer review by podula

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by podula
by podula

The picture quality is as good as it gets for such a small lens and sensor. To further explain, I took comparative pictures with this camera and with my DSLR that with the mounted lens would cost 6 times more than the AW100. By taking just point-and-shoot pictures with both cameras, same compositions and time of the day, the DSLR pictures were a bit better... definitely not 6 times better, just marginally. But again, I did not buy the AW100 camera for it's outstanding picture quality. The camera has difficulties focusing in very low light (not like my big camera), but that did not come as a surprise. The movie mode works fine. The GPS gets faster reception than my 4 years old dedicated GPS, so not only that works,... it works great. One thing apparently missed, is that the strap can be used to secure the camera to your chest and shoot movies. It is much better idea then the hand strap alternative. I have not tested the water resistance yet, so no comments there... Also I have not figured out very well the benefit of the action button, it does not seem that shaking the camera changes anything. I may come back with more feedback once I learn more about the camera.

podula
Vancouver B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaked after 1 day
12/20/2011

Customer review by machz

2.0 stars 12/20/2011 by machz
by machz

I bought the camera while I was on a cruise in St Thomas. It worked great the first day but after the second day I noticed water on the screen. The camera would not power on any longer after that. When I got home I was told to send the camera to the repair site and I had to pay UPS shipping. Now I get a notice that they want to try to repair the camera and not replace it. I have had to deal with Nikon's rude customer support and they want to repair a 1 day old camera that has had salt water in it. I would be happy if they would send a replacement camera but it looks like my brand new camera will be gone for a couple of weeks and I will get back a camera that may work now but who knows in the future after the warranty runs out. I gave two stars as the camera took decent pics and vid in it's short life.

machz
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Best point and shoot cameras I have ever owned.
1/21/2013

Customer review by dbark4895

4.0 stars 1/21/2013 by dbark4895
by dbark4895

I am in the military and currently deployed and I love this camera. My last deployment I took the "other brand all weather camera" and I now realize how poor the quality of it was. I have owned this camera for nearly 5 months and I have had no issues out of it. I always have it on me and the battery is always charged. The video function is amazing. I'm highly impressed with the quality and zoom on the video function. I can't even begin to explain how cool the GPS function is. I find it fascinating to start a GPS log and then go on a foot patrol and see all the photos and how far we have moved all over Afghanistan. Very good camera; if you're on the fence go ahead and jump to this side, don’t waste your money with the other brand. I have been down that road and now it's just a toy for my kids. i

dbark4895
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera when it works....Great warranty service too.
7/26/2012

Customer review by Pablo

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Pablo
by Pablo

I've been a loyal nikon fan for a long time, so naturally i bought the underwater camera as well. I have taken several hundred pictures underwater and never had a problem.....until.....a month ago when the screen stopped working. So, I let nikon know, and within a couple weeks it appears they went ahead and just sent me new one. Good times.....until.....it broke and the back screen will not turn on...just like the first one. So, I wrote nikon another request for warranty (which I'm sure they will take care of) it's just frusterating having a camera die on you. With all that said though, the camera has been exceelnt up until lately, and I would still reccomend it to anyone and am eagerly awaiting this one getting fixed and getting back to taking pictures.

Pablo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews