Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 41 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Great features for a Point and Shoot!
3/23/2012

Customer review by EC42

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by EC42
by EC42
Walmart associate

I am very happy with this point and shoot camera. Because I rarely lug around my other camera (a Digital SLR), I miss out on many photo ops. This compact, yet high-featured camera is a great option. I really like the amazing 14x optical zoom - rare for such a compact camera. Though you can use it in the automatic mode, for photographers who like to change their settings, you'll find variable ISO, light metering, and other advanced features. For those who want better photos, but don't really want to go into the super details, Nikon has a number of easy to use pre-set "scene" settings that will help you get a great shot in many different scenarios. The camera has a "burst" mode, where you can take a rapid sequence of shots. This nice little feature is good for those action shots or just to make sure nobody is blinking in your photo. The screen on the back is a really good size and very clear - making your compositions that much easier to see. It has a built-in flash, which you can operate manually or leave in automatic mode. The only thing that I didn't really like about the camera was that once the flash pops up, you cannot put it back down until you shut the camera off. It does full HD 1080P movie recording with a stereo microphone built into the camera. I love the HD recording, but plan on getting a bigger SD card to store the large files. Long story short, this is a great little feature-packed point and shoot camera. I'd easily recommend this for users from casual to advanced. Pros: high resolution, great zoom, advanced features, great screen Cons: flash pop-up stays up

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Camera ... When it works!
1/12/2015

Customer review by HopefulinOhio

1.0 stars 1/12/2015 by HopefulinOhio
by HopefulinOhio

I loved this camera and took lots of great pictures with it for just under a year... then it broke. Over the next three months I battled to get it repaired under warranty. I finally received my repaired camera, and within a month it was back at the repair shop for a warranty re-repair. Then just under six months later, it was back at the shop for a warranty re-repair. Then just under six months later it was back at the shop for a warranty re-repair. There seems to be a trend here. Whenever I have had my camera, I have really liked it and it takes great pictures. I just wish I could have my camera at home to use more often! The persistent problem is that the screen goes black. The camera seems to turn on, but the LCD screen never illuminates. Each time the repair shop has said they replaced the lens? Either they are fixing the wrong thing, or they keep putting faulty parts in it. I am still hoping to get my camera back from the re-repair and have it really fixed this time....

HopefulinOhio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing Images
12/30/2011

Customer review by Paulm_777

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Paulm_777
by Paulm_777

I bought this camera as a gift for my wife. As a serious amateur DSLR user (D80, D7000) I'd come to dismiss compact cameras for the image excellence that is synonymous with DSLR's. The S8200 has totally blown me away. It is easy to use, has excellent zoom and produces amazing quality images. The colour, sharpness, contrast, low light capabilities, back light handling etc are all very impressive. I find myself grabbing the S8200 instead of my DSLR for simple quick photos without hesitation. The video capability is also very impressive. Its smooth, fluid video with 1080 30fps or 720 60fps is a pleasure to use. When zooming in video mode, the camera automatically slows the zoom to give a more "video" feel rather than quick, jerky zoom. In short i am very impressed by the image quality, ease of use and value for money that the Nikon S8200 provides. And, yes, my wife loves using this "point and shoot" camera.

Paulm_777
St Joseph, Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY 8200!!!!
3/3/2012

Customer review by suenamee

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by suenamee
by suenamee

My co-worker wasn't too impressed with this camera after she bought it. It's quite sad. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! The 14x digital zoom has DEFINITELY helped me improve my pictures! My old camera, which was a low-end brand, and only 8 mp and 8x digital zoom didn't do the trick for the photos I wanted. So I KNEW I wanted to use Nikon and go from there. Oh am I glad I did! I went out to the Platte River yesterday to photograph the Sandhill Cranes. The 14x zoom helped TREMENDOUSLY, as I was able to get some REALLY AWESOME pictures of the cranes. They looked like they were so close to me in the photos! I have been messing with my features and I LOVE the pet portrait mode! It is MUCH clearer and better than my old camera. Plus, my cats don't get blinded now! I have done the portrait setting which is ABSOLUTELY awesome also! You will NOT be disappointed like my co-worker if you buy this camera! it's a GREAT one to have and this DEFINITELY will give the DSLR models a run for their $$$. Light, compact and easy to carry around cameras are what I recommend. I also just LOVE how GREAT my photos look!

suenamee
Hastings, NE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Overall Camera
6/1/2012

Customer review by sharpshooter163

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by sharpshooter163
by sharpshooter163

I bought this camera looking for a nice compact camera that was a little better than a point and shoot. While it has no manual mode like i would have hoped for it did have a lot of cool features. The camera is lightweight and comfortable to hold. I enjoyed that the "click wheel" could also be spun around, making it easy to go through large amounts of photos and change features easily. PROS: -Nice screen resolution and easy to navigate -High detail in macro mode -Average zoom -Lightweight -Fast start-up -"Artsy" effects such as color selector(choose one color and have the rest of the picture appear in black & white) and soft during shooting : effects like miniature and fisheye after shooting -Great camera for the price CONS: -No manual mode -Flash is in an awkward location and can't be put down without being turned off and on again

sharpshooter163
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
11/6/2012

Customer review by AlexPaul

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by AlexPaul
by AlexPaul
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

takes photo fast good for moving objets easy to use

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlexPaul
CAlifornia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little camera
5/15/2012

Customer review by arcdude

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by arcdude
by arcdude

I bought this camera mainly for it's low-light ability and it's big zoom lens. I was not disappointed. Compact cameras I have had in the past drove me crazy with redeye issues. With this camera, most of the time you don't even need to use the flash. And when you do, there is a redeye reduction mode that gets rid of the redeye electronically instead of flashing an annoying red light to close the subject's pupils. And even in full flash mode I have not taken a single redeye picture yet. I am amazed by those who complain about where the flash is located and someone even suggested they put the flash on the front of the body. You have to realize that the farther the flash is from the lens, the less likely you are to get redeye pictures. And in this camera, the flash is located about as far from the lens as possible.

arcdude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked one time
8/28/2012

Customer review by Drmznclr67

1.0 stars 8/28/2012 by Drmznclr67
by Drmznclr67

I purchased this camera in the store, used it once, placed it back in the box and left it for about 4 months. The next time I went to use it I got nothing but a black screen when I turned it on. I had it diagnosed and it appears to be a sensor that is causing the problem. I do not have my receipt to return it to Nikon to use the warranty so I now own an overpriced paperweight.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drmznclr67
texas city, texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
10/19/2012

Customer review by HomeMgr

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by HomeMgr
by HomeMgr

Great camera with clear pictures and great zoom feature. Easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeMgr
Dorr, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Flash use is a huge inconvenience for the photographer.
7/8/2012

Customer review by Not a pleased Nikon customer

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Not a pleased Nikon customer
by Not a pleased Nikon customer

I have owned several Nikon cameras, both point and shoots and DSLRs, but this has been the biggest mistake in a Nikon purchase for me. The flash is in an awkward place, but that is normal for the Nikon point and shoots; the fact that it cannot be closed manually after a picture is taken, is ridiculous. You have to actually turn the camera off and then back on to take another picture, unless you are still wanting to use the flash. This defect should never have passed Nikon's quality testing. If there were to be a recall for this product, I'd be the first to send it back! Just this fact alone has made me just put the camera in the box and put it away. The 8100 is far superior to the 8200.

Not a pleased Nikon customer
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Camera at a affordable price
1/29/2012

Customer review by fontzy

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by fontzy
by fontzy

Owned camera for little over a week now (Jan 2012) and cannot stop playing with the 120fps and unreal video it takes. My only complaint...the location of the flash. The way I've held camera's in the past, my left index finger rests on the top of the body. On the S8200 the flash is there. It leaves little room for me to have a solid comfortable grip. And once the flash pops up, you cannot push it down. Just something to get used to...no big deal. Maybe next years model can have it installed in the face of the body. EXTREMELY HAPPY with the image/video quality and ease of use! This is my first Nikon and i plan on being a repeat customer.

fontzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery life=dead
4/18/2013

Customer review by greengardener

1.0 stars 4/18/2013 by greengardener
by greengardener

I received this camera for Christmas. I used it during the holidays; tried to charge it and the battery would not take a charge. So I ordered a new battery, not wanting to be put off. Put the new battery in, charged it, and it works....but only for a short time. Tried to charge the new battery and it won't turn on or do anything after charging for several days. I tried to turn on the camera each day. I am very disappointed, as my husband read lots of reviews and felt this would be the best camera for what I wanted. I wanted a camera that was rechargeable and would work every time. I am very disappointed.

greengardener
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/21/2012

Customer review by photoshoot

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by photoshoot
by photoshoot

since i started photography, i've been using canon.and a friend just came and told me that he had a better camera than mine, at first i was skeptical. he was so persistent that i gave in, i tried it for a week and i cant help notice the big difference. i realized that i've been paying a lot for a canon dslr when i can take the same kind of pictures with nikon s8200. what matters to me, is the clarity of every pictures i take..it felt like taking pictures with my own eyes.. i would definitely recommend this camera

photoshoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all around camera....EVEN INDOOR SPORTS
4/8/2012

Customer review by Volleyball Mom

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Volleyball Mom
by Volleyball Mom

I searched high and low before purchasing a new camera. I did not want to spend the money for a huge slr camera, but I wanted to take indoor volleyball pictures of my teenage daughters. I can put this camera on ISO 3200 and get great action shots. This works better than the sports setting on the camera. All the regular photos are just a bonus to this camera. I love it, and do not regreat my purchase one bit. And others are slightly jelous of my pictures, and the fact my camera fits in my pocket!

Volleyball Mom
Tennessee, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera with one FATAL flaw
4/17/2012

Customer review by Ex-landscape photographer

2.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Ex-landscape photographer
by Ex-landscape photographer

The S8200 has great features and excellent photo quality, BUT, it has one fatal flaw: it lacks a viewfinder! This makes it almost unusable in bright sunlight, since you cannot see your subject on the screen. With the sun behind you, you are basically shooting "blind", often missing the subject and always out of focus. With the addition of a viewfinder, this camera would be a sure winner; without a viewfinder, it is close to useless for an outdoor photographer.

Ex-landscape photographer
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Superb image quality and impressive video in high HD
4/17/2012

Customer review by Nikon pro user for years

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Nikon pro user for years
by Nikon pro user for years

Bought this point and shoot camera as a back-up camera on days when I don't carry my DSLR camera and also on vacation. Great images from the start but when my wife got hold of it, she wouldn't let me have it anymore. She's using it to record high definition video of our trips. Great images on the screen. The only drawback is the lack of an external charger to charge the battery when carrying two or more batteries. Charger needed asap Nikon!!! Hear this?

Nikon pro user for years
Quebec, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera
1/15/2012

Customer review by Nikon User

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Nikon User
by Nikon User

I have bought Nikons since 1969 (nikkormat.) I bought this camera without knowing much about it other than the Nikon name. The pictures are amazing for it's size. I carry this camera on belt case now and it goes everywhere, it is so light to carry compared to my Nikon D300. Low light photography is great I just turn off the flash and have fun. I love the panorama mode and have used it often even in low light situations. It's a great Grandpa camera>

Nikon User
Pensacola,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!!!!
12/28/2011

Customer review by pat

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by pat
by pat

I just got this camera for Christmas from my husband and I've never seen pictures come out this great. I'm a novice but now my pictures look like a pro took them. So awesome! Even pictures of my beautiful cat now come out cool with no glass eyes. I love it and can't wait till I can take more pictures of our grandkids this week when we visit. Thanks Nikon for a wonderful Christmas. I can capture all the special moments without worry. Pat in KC.

pat
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice photos, but some issues
11/12/2012

Customer review by repo80

3.0 stars 11/12/2012 by repo80
by repo80

This camera was a gift so we could take photos of our newborn son. About a year later, I am ready to report. There is great picture clarity, it is easy to use. I appreciate the powerful flash, but it irreparably washes out people from even a fair distance. Also, i have had to send it back to repair a lense error 2 times in less than 1 year. I have had many digital cameras with a telescoping lens, I have never had issues with this before.

repo80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice camera
11/16/2011

Customer review by Jigs patel

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by Jigs patel
by Jigs patel

I was using Sony till now, i thought of trying something different this time and it is Nikon. it proved to be a good camera with all good and latest features. so far no complains only the thing i am not habituated to is popping up of flash ;) also you have to press start button 2 times in order to start the camera, i hope/believe that this is Nikon's unique feature ;)

Jigs patel
Hyderabad,India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews