Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
nice camera
1/2/2012

Customer review by Deb1245

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Deb1245
by Deb1245

Great picture clarity, color and zoom!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deb1245
Parleys Island,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING CAMERA!!
12/27/2011

Customer review by GJ

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by GJ
by GJ

This camera is the best thing i ever got!! It is so clear and has amazing features. I would defineatly recomend this to a friend!!!!

GJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/6/2011

Customer review by Sorofita

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by Sorofita
by Sorofita

Excelent but if you are thimking in something more profesional get p500 !

Sorofita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Images
12/30/2011

Customer review by Paulm_777

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Paulm_777
by Paulm_777

I bought this camera as a gift for my wife. As a serious amateur DSLR user (D80, D7000) I'd come to dismiss compact cameras for the image excellence that is synonymous with DSLR's. The S8200 has totally blown me away. It is easy to use, has excellent zoom and produces amazing quality images. The colour, sharpness, contrast, low light capabilities, back light handling etc are all very impressive. I find myself grabbing the S8200 instead of my DSLR for simple quick photos without hesitation. The video capability is also very impressive. Its smooth, fluid video with 1080 30fps or 720 60fps is a pleasure to use. When zooming in video mode, the camera automatically slows the zoom to give a more "video" feel rather than quick, jerky zoom. In short i am very impressed by the image quality, ease of use and value for money that the Nikon S8200 provides. And, yes, my wife loves using this "point and shoot" camera.

Paulm_777
St Joseph, Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
11/16/2011

Customer review by Jigs patel

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by Jigs patel
by Jigs patel

I was using Sony till now, i thought of trying something different this time and it is Nikon. it proved to be a good camera with all good and latest features. so far no complains only the thing i am not habituated to is popping up of flash ;) also you have to press start button 2 times in order to start the camera, i hope/believe that this is Nikon's unique feature ;)

Jigs patel
Hyderabad,India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just what I needed
12/29/2011

Customer review by Chief Slowroller

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Chief Slowroller
by Chief Slowroller

very nice camera easy to use, image quality is excellent

Chief Slowroller
South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!!!!
12/28/2011

Customer review by pat

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by pat
by pat

I just got this camera for Christmas from my husband and I've never seen pictures come out this great. I'm a novice but now my pictures look like a pro took them. So awesome! Even pictures of my beautiful cat now come out cool with no glass eyes. I love it and can't wait till I can take more pictures of our grandkids this week when we visit. Thanks Nikon for a wonderful Christmas. I can capture all the special moments without worry. Pat in KC.

pat
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A terrific adjunct to my DSLR
2/14/2012

Customer review by CCE

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by CCE
by CCE

I'm a fairly serious photography hobbyist and my primary camera is a Nikon D60. Sometimes, however, it is inconvenient to carry my whole photo kit around, change lenses, etc. That's why I was looking for a compact camera that I could carry around with me all the time. There are trade-offs in making any camera purchase, but the Coolpix S8200 was perfect for me. My primary interests were in finding a camera that had a great zoom and megapixels at least equivalent to my SLR. At 14x zoom and 16.1 megapixels, the S8200 actually exceeds the specs on my D60. In fact, I was blown away by the zoom which is the equivalent of a 350mm telephoto lens. It isn't quite as small as some other compact cameras, but outperforms most of them and still easily fits into a shirt pocket. In evaluating this camera against others I was somewhat concerned about the lack of manual options like shutter or aperture priority. The many shooting modes available, however, provide more than enough flexibility for my needs. In fact, the scene menu is just a simplified version of various shutter/aperture options. If I had to make a change, I probably would recommend putting another more commonly used option like Sports mode or Landscape on the selector wheel at the top of the camera instead of Pet Portrait Mode. It's a relatively simply matter to reach them through the menu system (which feels remarkably familiar to my D60), but still Pet Portrait seems relatively obscure for such prominent placement. I was also somewhat concerned by the many negative comments I'd read about the placement of the pop-up flash, but found them to be unfounded. It's true that once the flash pops up it cannot be retracted again without turning off the unit. The flash is remarkably thin, however, taking up no more than 1/3 the width of the camera. I find that my finger fits behind it just fine when it is engaged and allows for a steady grip. By employing a more "pro-style" grip supporting the camera from the bottom with the index finger and side with the thumb also negates this as an issue, but I understand that many folks aren't comfortable with this. I also assume that by positioning the engaged flash slightly further from the lens offers protection against red-eye, Also, there is a red-eye reduction mode which is very effective in this regard. While I've never been much for shooting video, the video function on the camera is easy and fun to use and produces great results. I find myself using it more than I thought I would. The most important factor for me, though, is the quality of my pictures and I'm really happy with the S8200 in this regard. My photos have great color reproduction and are clean and crisp. In fact, I cannot differentiate between the pictures I take on this compact from those I take on my more expensive SLR. I may lose some flexibility in control and editing but am more than satisfied with its small size and ease of use. A beneficial trade-off, indeed.

CCE
Morton Grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the Camera -- Better than Comparable Sony Model
2/20/2012

Customer review by Singingbaker

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Singingbaker
by Singingbaker

I was looking for a camera that would be small in size so that I could tuck it in my purse and go. I have another Nikon that I just love but the size is larger and would never fit in my purse. I first purchased a Sony camera from a local store that had the capability to manually select settings; it was a touch more expensive than the Nikon. Other than that the features were almost identical to the Nikon S8200. My first inclination was to go with the Nikon because of past experience with Nikon cameras but I thought I'd give the Sony a try because of the added features. I played around with the Sony camera trying out the different settings. I was not totally pleased and I had some blurred photos that should not have been blurred. I have been a photography buff for over 30 years so I know what type of photos I should be getting. Since I had 90 days to return the camera without penalty, I was glad that I took my time. About a month and a half into the 90 days, I purchased the Nikon S8200 from the same store so that I could do multiple side-by-side comparisons. I tried all of the settings on both cameras. I wasn't totally comfortable with not being able to push down the flash on the Nikon as I could on the Sony and have it stay down. My way to work around that is to just push down the flash and hold it with my finger if I don't want to use the flash despite what the camera is telling me. Problem solved. What finally sold me on the Nikon and made me return the Sony camera to the store was when I took photos of some roses in a vase in my kitchen. I took many photos with both cameras and tried every setting on each camera. In every photo I took with the Sony I never was able to capture the true color of the roses. They were either washed out or the color was more vivid than they were in real life. The roses were a pinkish orange. With the Sony they appeared as a vivid orange. When I took the same photos with the Nikon under the same lighting conditions and using all of the settings on the camera just to experiment, the color of the roses in the photos were right on. That sold me on the camera. I knew in my heart that I should have gone with the Nikon from Day One but I thought I'd try the other one out. Over this past weekend I used the camera extensively for a birthday party and for photos before a school dance with 12 couples as the subjects. The photos came out very nice for both affairs. I know that I will be very pleased with this camera for the long run and I have no intention of returning it to the store where I purchased it. I just purchased another Nikon model camera for my daughter's birthday present as well. I anticipate being a life-long Nikon user.

Singingbaker
Wexford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY 8200!!!!
3/3/2012

Customer review by suenamee

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by suenamee
by suenamee

My co-worker wasn't too impressed with this camera after she bought it. It's quite sad. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! The 14x digital zoom has DEFINITELY helped me improve my pictures! My old camera, which was a low-end brand, and only 8 mp and 8x digital zoom didn't do the trick for the photos I wanted. So I KNEW I wanted to use Nikon and go from there. Oh am I glad I did! I went out to the Platte River yesterday to photograph the Sandhill Cranes. The 14x zoom helped TREMENDOUSLY, as I was able to get some REALLY AWESOME pictures of the cranes. They looked like they were so close to me in the photos! I have been messing with my features and I LOVE the pet portrait mode! It is MUCH clearer and better than my old camera. Plus, my cats don't get blinded now! I have done the portrait setting which is ABSOLUTELY awesome also! You will NOT be disappointed like my co-worker if you buy this camera! it's a GREAT one to have and this DEFINITELY will give the DSLR models a run for their $$$. Light, compact and easy to carry around cameras are what I recommend. I also just LOVE how GREAT my photos look!

suenamee
Hastings, NE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product/compact size
4/7/2012

Customer review by Dickiebird

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Dickiebird
by Dickiebird

Purchased my camera on holiday in the Caribbean and am delighted with the ease of use and results of the images.

Dickiebird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all around camera....EVEN INDOOR SPORTS
4/8/2012

Customer review by Volleyball Mom

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Volleyball Mom
by Volleyball Mom

I searched high and low before purchasing a new camera. I did not want to spend the money for a huge slr camera, but I wanted to take indoor volleyball pictures of my teenage daughters. I can put this camera on ISO 3200 and get great action shots. This works better than the sports setting on the camera. All the regular photos are just a bonus to this camera. I love it, and do not regreat my purchase one bit. And others are slightly jelous of my pictures, and the fact my camera fits in my pocket!

Volleyball Mom
Tennessee, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Overall Camera
6/1/2012

Customer review by sharpshooter163

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by sharpshooter163
by sharpshooter163

I bought this camera looking for a nice compact camera that was a little better than a point and shoot. While it has no manual mode like i would have hoped for it did have a lot of cool features. The camera is lightweight and comfortable to hold. I enjoyed that the "click wheel" could also be spun around, making it easy to go through large amounts of photos and change features easily. PROS: -Nice screen resolution and easy to navigate -High detail in macro mode -Average zoom -Lightweight -Fast start-up -"Artsy" effects such as color selector(choose one color and have the rest of the picture appear in black & white) and soft during shooting : effects like miniature and fisheye after shooting -Great camera for the price CONS: -No manual mode -Flash is in an awkward location and can't be put down without being turned off and on again

sharpshooter163
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing detail
9/4/2012

Customer review by Nikon lover

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Nikon lover
by Nikon lover

This is my first time owning a Nikon and I absoulty love this camara it's got good detail and I recommend it to family and friends

Nikon lover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CoolPix S8200
10/9/2012

Customer review by RHC

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by RHC
by RHC

After some extensive research I purchased this camera as a back-up to my D80 after I wore out my CoolPix S550. I ordered a red one so it wouldn't get lost in a sea of black in my camera case. I love this camera! The colors scream and I really like the ability to adjust color vividness/saturation and hue in a sliding scale, instead of just on or off. The fact that it has an HDR setting hidden in the menu was a real surprise. I haven't tried it yet, but I will as soon as an opportunity arises. I also like the different pre-sets that this model has over the S550. Its ability to focus in low light is super; far and away better than my old S550. I shot all weekend [200+ photos] and the battery still indicates a full charge. The range of the zoom is phenomenal for a pocket camera and the anti-shake works VERY well, even in low light. The flash popping up under your left index finger is a bit disconcerting, but it's nothing more than retraining your left hand to hold the camera differently in low light; I'm already getting better at it. I wish you could put the flash back down without turning the camera off, but that really isn't a 'put off' for me. I also wish the matrix metering would work in 'scenes' mode, but that's probably asking too much for this type of camera. I like the fact that the lowest ISO is 100; the S550 was 64 but this is close enough. I shoot more low ISO shots than high because of the finer grain, so that was a serious consideration. The plethora of white balance settings was another major consideration that lifted this camera above the Panasonic model I was also considering at the time of purchase.

RHC
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera
1/15/2012

Customer review by Nikon User

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Nikon User
by Nikon User

I have bought Nikons since 1969 (nikkormat.) I bought this camera without knowing much about it other than the Nikon name. The pictures are amazing for it's size. I carry this camera on belt case now and it goes everywhere, it is so light to carry compared to my Nikon D300. Low light photography is great I just turn off the flash and have fun. I love the panorama mode and have used it often even in low light situations. It's a great Grandpa camera>

Nikon User
Pensacola,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera at a affordable price
1/29/2012

Customer review by fontzy

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by fontzy
by fontzy

Owned camera for little over a week now (Jan 2012) and cannot stop playing with the 120fps and unreal video it takes. My only complaint...the location of the flash. The way I've held camera's in the past, my left index finger rests on the top of the body. On the S8200 the flash is there. It leaves little room for me to have a solid comfortable grip. And once the flash pops up, you cannot push it down. Just something to get used to...no big deal. Maybe next years model can have it installed in the face of the body. EXTREMELY HAPPY with the image/video quality and ease of use! This is my first Nikon and i plan on being a repeat customer.

fontzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/21/2012

Customer review by photoshoot

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by photoshoot
by photoshoot

since i started photography, i've been using canon.and a friend just came and told me that he had a better camera than mine, at first i was skeptical. he was so persistent that i gave in, i tried it for a week and i cant help notice the big difference. i realized that i've been paying a lot for a canon dslr when i can take the same kind of pictures with nikon s8200. what matters to me, is the clarity of every pictures i take..it felt like taking pictures with my own eyes.. i would definitely recommend this camera

photoshoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Superb image quality and impressive video in high HD
4/17/2012

Customer review by Nikon pro user for years

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Nikon pro user for years
by Nikon pro user for years

Bought this point and shoot camera as a back-up camera on days when I don't carry my DSLR camera and also on vacation. Great images from the start but when my wife got hold of it, she wouldn't let me have it anymore. She's using it to record high definition video of our trips. Great images on the screen. The only drawback is the lack of an external charger to charge the battery when carrying two or more batteries. Charger needed asap Nikon!!! Hear this?

Nikon pro user for years
Quebec, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little camera
5/15/2012

Customer review by arcdude

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by arcdude
by arcdude

I bought this camera mainly for it's low-light ability and it's big zoom lens. I was not disappointed. Compact cameras I have had in the past drove me crazy with redeye issues. With this camera, most of the time you don't even need to use the flash. And when you do, there is a redeye reduction mode that gets rid of the redeye electronically instead of flashing an annoying red light to close the subject's pupils. And even in full flash mode I have not taken a single redeye picture yet. I am amazed by those who complain about where the flash is located and someone even suggested they put the flash on the front of the body. You have to realize that the farther the flash is from the lens, the less likely you are to get redeye pictures. And in this camera, the flash is located about as far from the lens as possible.

arcdude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews