Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 49 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
"Advanced" point and shoot? No.

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The cameras end results are stunning and the creative black and white feature pretty much takes any post editing out of the process. It is light and has a good feel in hand. It doesn't feel cheap or that it may break if you handle roughly. It has an aggressive look, that of a good rangefinder. However, the firmware needs to be revamped and it has trouble calculating exposure when using the manual power flash setting. The dials when slung over the shoulder or just hung by neck tend to rotate by even the slightest slide against a shirt changing settings. The LCD does not flip out like it's competitors which is a negative in my eye, along with having a SEMI low light lens for the surprisingly high price that it is. The viewfinder should just be omitted as you are literally looking through a peephole with no information viewed in the finder window. Also, if using in a low light situation, the LCD does not turn off and blinds the eye looking through the viewfinder rendering it a useless feature. In summation, I am a Nikon user, however, I will go elsewhere for a day to day smaller camera until Nikon catches up. A side note for DSLR users looking for a smaller option for day to day use: The manual focus feature is pretty much the most ridiculous feature on this and any advanced point and shoot for that matter. It doesn't feel natural and it takes 4 times the amount of time to "select" a focus.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrific camera for the entire family!

Customer review by CamasD90

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by CamasD90
by CamasD90

If you are seeking a very well rounded camera that will entertain the entire family, from the amaeteur photographer up to a more advanced professional looking to utilize the many customized functions and setting opportunities found on more advanced DSLR's then look no further. This camera packs a punch with many key features I enjoy having access to such as custom settings and easy access to toggle switches to adjust variable aperture, speed and iso adjustments, putting the photographer in control of creativity. This camera also has many quick settings that your family can also use along with scene selections making photography a much more enjoyable experience. Mu daughters love taking photos with it. I tend to enjoy using Program mode or aperture priority as the camera does a good job at adjusting the remainder of settings pretty well. You can go full manual as well for that "take control" opportunity where creativity is only limited by what you imagine. I love this camera, the video also works very well and I have found microphone also picks up well as I have taken a few video clips for my kids highschool band concerts in low light, sports events etc. and it does very well at that also. Adjustable tilt LCD screen makes it even easier to get those shots that may take some arm stretching over a crowd that may otherwise have been missed. Overall, I would recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camas, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
I am pleased

Customer review by SemiPro

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by SemiPro
by SemiPro

I shoot with several SLRs, both digital and film, A view camera, and a number of compact digitals. I bought the P7100 because I use my compacts a lot and wanted a compact with RAW capability. Any camera is a compromise in one area or another and the P7100 is no exception. That being said, I am very satisfied with the image quality and the controls. The camera feels substantial and the adjustments I use the most, ISO, quality, aperture, speed and exposure compensation are very easy and quick to change. I don't use scene modes often, so I'll let others comment about that that. The camera feels good in my hands and although it is a bit heavier than my other compacts, the overall heft and fit and finish says quality. The camera feels like an image making machine, not a toy. I find the screen menus to be logical and reasonably simple to use. The tilting screen is quite useful and the display quality is excellent. I use the hot shoe and a speedlight for flash situations with excellent results. I wished for more optical zoom when I chose the P7100, but have found the 7:1 to be adequate for most situations. The digital zoom is only available in JPEG quality and is acceptable. I had an earlier Cool Pix 4300 and found the start-up time to be objectionable. The P7100 start-up time is not an issue for me. Battery life has been excellent. If you just want a point and shoot, this is too much camera for you, but if you want a good all around carry camera with a lot of capability and RAW image flexibility, take a hard look at this camera.

West Coast, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What we wanted in the P7000

Customer review by hlwms

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by hlwms
by hlwms

This camera makes a great travel and easy to carry camera. It is not a DSLR but it is the best carry camera I have had. The response time to focus and lock is great, that was the only problem with the P7000 and now that is fixed. The picture quality is great.

Chattanooga TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera

Customer review by Oval

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Oval
by Oval

I've owned several cameras in my life, Minolta, Canon, and Nikon. I love the P7100. Although recently purchased, I haven't used all of it's features but the ones I have used are fantastic. A great bang for the buck. Clarity is superb, colors are terrific. It's lightweight and easy to use. Love it. Thanks for a great camera, Nikon.

Northwest Massachusetts, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera

Customer review by saintb

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by saintb
by saintb

This P7100 replaces the P7000 that I had for a year. And I am glad to see that all the bugs were fixed. It was time! the P7100 is my only camera., it's not a backup so it goes everywhere, and often in the backcountry, so I like the size. I like how easy it is to use. A major improvement comes from the external adjustement dials so one doesn't have to search through time consuming menus. And most importantly I like the fact that the lens cover finally opens completely! Just like its predecessor the P7100 offers great image quality. I keep getting comments on the beautiful colors. It also has added features and special effect filters that are fun to use. I like the quick AF response. No need to wait forever for the camera to find a focus. The RAW write time is good and certainly faster than before. The long zoom is a bonus and is very good. I got very sharp photos zoomed at 200mm on moving subjects. Performs well in low light and this is a feature I love. I like the ND filter that comes handy when there is a need to cut annoying highlights in some situations such as when photographing ocean waves. I often use the camera for action shots and got good results,with sharp images on fairly fast moving subjects. I can't comment on highly technical details like some people do, and I am not a photographer. All I can say is that I am very pleased with the picture quality and what I can do with this camera. It's possible to do incredible macros too. I don't think it would be wise to compare the P7100 with a DSLR as it's not fair. But this camera can be operated completely manually if one wants to be creative. I use the manual controls most of the time. But it takes a while to get acquainted with all the possibilities offered by this camera. It's very easy to use though and a pleasure to operate. I have already recommended to friends and will continue to do so!

Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
At last a serious advanced Coolpix ...

Customer review by HMeYe

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by HMeYe
by HMeYe

I had the P7000 for 3 weeks, and although i like the image quality and controls, I admit it had some processing tweaks, but I saw that a corrected P7000 is coming, and that's the P7100 ... Today I have the P7100 since about 90 days along the D3s and D200. With the introduction of the P7100, I can say that Nikon have for the first time a serious advanced P&S. Everything runs so smoothly in the P7100 and the image quality is excellent . I only wished that Nikon integrated a built in GPS and the 1080p video in the P7100 .... and it would be a complete cam for me ....

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really impressed

Customer review by toddy

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by toddy
by toddy

Received my P7100 yesterday. At first I thought the controls looked cluttered and complex but within 10 mins it was a breeze. Lay out is ergonomic and menu easy to navigate. I just have to get used to pressing the flash button when required. Picture quality seems superb. It is better than I expected.. Thumbs up - so far so good.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply the best choice!

Customer review by mmsphoto

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by mmsphoto
by mmsphoto

I own a few other advanced compact digital cameras, but the Nikon CoolPix P7100 is far and away the best I have ever used. Photos are stunningly sharp, colors are accurate, metering is precise and the overall experience is such a pleasure! This camera feels solid and comfortable, and the LCD monitor is excellent. The AF is quick and accurate, and best of all, my "keeper rate" is higher than ever! Do not hesitate; this is a camera you'll love!

Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great photos with a compact camera

Customer review by Frank

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Frank
by Frank

I use the P 7100 in lieu of my D3 when carrying the larger camera would be inconveinient. Because I edit and print my images in Adobe Lightroom 3, the ability to shoot in camera raw is a great plus. I will not use a camera that doesn't have raw format capability.

Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Flash

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Flash
by Flash

The Coolpix P7100 Vari-Angle Monitior Should be the same as the D5100 Vari-Angle LCD Monitor This would be like My Old Coolpix S10 (Assume Camera). This would allow you to get not only the Low Shot like taking Pictures of my Granddaughter Crawling but the Over Heat Shots when you go to the Zoo or Games . I Hope you Convert the P7100 Monitor to Be the same as the D5100 Monitor. His will make the P7100 the Perfect Compact Digital Camera. All the Battery Charges Should Be A Wall Mounted Charger It make Sense for Traveling making it less to Cary around.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now Nikon has it right... the P7100

Customer review by foxy

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by foxy
by foxy

This camera is certainly well built and has the feel of a quality item. the lens is superb and produces good images. Even the telephoto zoom has been improved over the 7000 as it is smooth and has no "fast" spots making it easy to control. I would suggest that the next iteration of this camera have more analog type controls, specifically an analog shutter speed dial.. This camera appears to have a longer focal length lens than the new Canon pro1 X which will make this Nikon the better choice for cameras in this class,

New York City area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Coolpix To Date

Customer review by D Scotty

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by D Scotty
by D Scotty

The following P7100 pro/con comparison is based on taking over 2,000 shots and scores of videos at Disney World in Florida. I am a serious amateur/unpaid professional with over 40 years of 35mm experience, and an avid Photoshop CS5 fan. Pros: Solidly built. Fast start up. Quiet operation. Picture quality, tones, and sharpness rivals my Nikon DSLR's. Great for a beginner who wants to grow into photography without having to invest in a DSLR on Day 1. Total control, from automatic to manual. Basic Snapshot setting (green camera icon) gets it right about 85% of the time. Highly customizable buttons and features. Automatic scene settings usually superior to manual setup. Very good in low light settings. Raw + Jpg mode. 3 user defined settings to add to the built in automatic scene settings. Very fast and easy one finger button to delete unwanted shots as they happen. Video quality and sound recording rivals theatres when played back on high quality TV. Jack for external video mic. Continuous shots/Best shot option lets you get the best shot when the subject is moving Exposure bracketing with manual overrides is great when the light isn't. Very clear zoom at the digital end. HDMI output. Battery life. In camera recharge via USB/Wall charger too. Flash Hotshoe Power settings for built-in flash. Single button Macro mode and auto setting; focus is very accurate and easy to use. (Remember to turn it off to return to regular shooting!) Automatic shutter cap (works better than P7000 this replaces). Great manual. 286 pages long, so on pdf instead of printed. Quiet video zoom. Variable angle LCD is great to take pictures with the camera over your head. Viewfinder with diopter correction. Solid opening and closing doors for battery, mic, outputs. Cons: Not a true pocket camera. A bit bulky and heavy. Only comes in basic black. Not very chic. Strap is too thin for the weight and bulk. Get a wider aftermarket one. Not for the beginner. Too many controls and options, although most can be ignored. Factory settings need to be manually corrected to avoid yellow cast and mild contrast before taking first shot. The manual is quite long and can be complex for a beginner. Photo software is frustrating and not intuitive. Better to wait for deals on aftermarket programs. The few extra dollars will be worth it. Exposure comp dial is too easy to turn; does't lock in place. Uses proprietary Nikon batteries that are quite expensive.

D Scotty
I am a serious amateur/unpaid professional with over 40 years of 35mm experience across 6 continents. An avid Photoshop CS5 fan.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Am very happy

Customer review by Bud

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Bud
by Bud

I am learning to be well pleased with the Cool 7100. I have read one review and agree with the author. I like to tilting screen also and find that the angles which are available make using the Cool 7100 a pleasure to use. It fits in my hand comfortable. I have found the learning of the different programs to be easy to use and the result of the fine quality of pictures is exxcellent. I am planning on using the 7100 on a regular basis. I have shot portraits using the camera and have received good comments. The cameras ability to focus in low light condtions is enjoyable. I use the Quality mode for selection of Fine shooting. The selection of noise off controls is good. I have set my camera in the shutter noise off and the beeping sound off and that is a big plus. As I further use the 7100 I will find the other good features to use on the camera. Love the Cool 7100

Columbia, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic pictures and relatively easy to use

Customer review by Dimpleschick

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Dimpleschick
by Dimpleschick

My review targets the casual user who wants excellent photographs without having to use manual controls. I have always used a point-and-shoot camera and have always been disappointed when I wanted to have my subject appear closer than what the lens was capable of. The P7100 has provided what I am looking for. I like that I can use the automatic controls and the zoom lens gives me the photos I have been wanting to take. The tilting monitor is very helpful for taking high and low shots . There are so many features in this camera that I am pleased with. The colors are true. The battery lasts longer than I expected before needing to be recharged. It takes videos which I haven't even tried yet. I read a lot of reviews and interviewed several cameras at my local camera shop before I decided on this one. I have made the right choice. While Nikon makes many very good point and shoot cameras, I am glad that I finally made the step up to the next level in photography. I live on an island which gives me lots of photo opportunities. I am still learning to use the features of this camera. I am sure it will take me quite some time to do it well, but I am sure having fun. The only thing that I would change is the neck strap. I don't want my camera hanging around my neck. I would prefer to have a sturdy wrist strap that could disconnect from the camera when desired. There are several available on-line, but I would like to see Nikon provide their own. Click on my photos below to see what features I used.

Island in the Caribbean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very impressive!

Customer review by Easy Street

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Easy Street
by Easy Street

My wife is a professional photographer so I handed over my new Nikon P7100 for her to "check out" for me. She uses a Nikon D3s with top-of-the line Nikkor lenses for her professional work so I'm sure that she was not expecting too much from the "point & shoot" P7100. Was she surprised...especially with the "low-light" capability of this little "gem"! The photos produced were sharp, bright and the colors were outstanding. Add to that a Nikkor 7.1x wide optical zoom and HD video and she gave the P7100 two "thumbs up" with no reservations. Note: We utilized the HD video at our grandson's basketball game. Even in indoor gym lighting, the video came out sharp, bright and focused with excellent audio quality. All in all, the P7100 is a wonderful camera! I just point & shoot and it does all the work for me.

Easy Street
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a surprise!

Customer review by Kem

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Kem
by Kem

I just received my Nikon P7100 and took it for a test drive. I have been an film photographer for over 40 years and am one of the last to convert to digital. I wanted a camera that would give both full automatic and full manual capabilities in a budget priced package. If this is what you are looking for then the P7100 is for you. The learning curve for the many controls is short as the camera has an excellent, intuitive layout. Nikon put a lot of thought into which controls would be most used by the advanced user. For example, one dial is dedicated to exposure compensation, a very common accessory for many photographers. Physically, this little gem is well balanced and easy to control. It feels comfy in the hand. The wide ISO range allows for shooting in a variety of lighting conditions with little loss in image quality. I was surprised! If you are the type of person who likes to do a lot of post shooting image manipulation then you won't be disappointed. This camera can record in JPEG and RAW format giving you all the latitude you could desire for computer "darkroom" play. I do wish the camera would accept additional telephoto lenses as I feel limited by the 28-200 mm configuration of the lens system. While this lens appears to be excellent, I would love to reach out with a 400 mm lens. Perhaps Nikon will consider this in a future generation. Whether you are a beginner who is looking for a camera to learn all aspects of photography or a dedicated professional looking for that "pocket back up", you won't be disappointed by the Nikon P7100.

Charleston, SC photographer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely pleased!!!

Customer review by songman1950

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by songman1950
by songman1950

I have used both Sony and Canon products similar to this camera. I have to say that I have enjoyed this camera much more!!! All the bells and whistles are there for anyone wanting to "take it up a notch". You can put it on auto and just use it as a point and shoot. It works very well. But if you're like me, and enjoy having a little more control, you can move into a more manual operation and you call the shots. I've shot over 1,000 pics so far (I've only had it for about a week) and I have to say I'm very pleased. I have experimented with flash units on it and been very pleased with that too. I've used Pocket Wizards with flash off camera and I've used a Ray Flash on for macro shots!!! It handles them all with ease. Image quality is very good. I've increased ISO up to 3200 and found the image still usable (although I've corrected some in software for noise reduction). Out of camera images are still good at 800 to 1600 ISO. It fits extremely well in your hand. The ergonomic design is much better than other cameras I've used. It's perfect for those trips where you don't want to take along a DSLR (or for that person that just wants one camera to do it all, this one fits that bill too). I don't used video that much but have tried it out some and found it does a very good job (video is very clear). Overall I plan on using this camera for years to come. I'm very glad I purchased it (after much online searching and researching).

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
'Monster' of a camera!

Customer review by Jostian

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Jostian
by Jostian

Everything the P7000 should have been, unbelievable amount of manual control options, brilliant IQ, well built, only problem I have is very yellow shots in Low Light Mode no matter what I change WB to.

Pretoria, South Africa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Product

Customer review by Tinker

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Tinker
by Tinker

Improved over P7000 - Faster, better white balance and color rendition (better than primary competition). Great battery life. Good feature set. Good build quality. Reliability to be determined. Expected to be good based on previous Nikon experience. Could benefit from UV haze filter and Polarizing filter. Quick disconnect neck strap would improve versatility.

Tucson, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews