Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 49 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Terrific camera for the entire family!
7/3/2012

Customer review by CamasD90

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by CamasD90
by CamasD90

If you are seeking a very well rounded camera that will entertain the entire family, from the amaeteur photographer up to a more advanced professional looking to utilize the many customized functions and setting opportunities found on more advanced DSLR's then look no further. This camera packs a punch with many key features I enjoy having access to such as custom settings and easy access to toggle switches to adjust variable aperture, speed and iso adjustments, putting the photographer in control of creativity. This camera also has many quick settings that your family can also use along with scene selections making photography a much more enjoyable experience. Mu daughters love taking photos with it. I tend to enjoy using Program mode or aperture priority as the camera does a good job at adjusting the remainder of settings pretty well. You can go full manual as well for that "take control" opportunity where creativity is only limited by what you imagine. I love this camera, the video also works very well and I have found microphone also picks up well as I have taken a few video clips for my kids highschool band concerts in low light, sports events etc. and it does very well at that also. Adjustable tilt LCD screen makes it even easier to get those shots that may take some arm stretching over a crowd that may otherwise have been missed. Overall, I would recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamasD90
Camas, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
P7100 - Great camera, with some shortcomings
9/24/2011

Customer review by jbugMD

4.0 stars 9/24/2011 by jbugMD
by jbugMD

There's lots of good reviews on the web that describe the great features of this camera and the image quality - which I haven't tested yet. Therefore, I will just mention how I like the physical design and feel - the grip is great, I like the angles of the articulating screen (without having to flip it out to the left as on another brand's cameras), the dial movements are nice. It starts up quick and is responsive to commands. The shortcomings I've noticed so far in the first day out of the box are: the tripod thread is off-center, the optical viewfinder doesn't have any framing guidelines therefore you have to be concerned with parallax error. There's no printed manual, only a 260 page PDF. I don't normally use special effects, but as a personal preference, I would've liked to try using a Miniature effect, or (fake) Tilt-Shift which it does not have, but several lesser cameras do. The smallest aperture is f8, I would've preferred smaller for macro shots. All in all, I'm very pleased with this camera so far. It feels very well constructed.

jbugMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the range of features in such a portable camera!
1/13/2012

Customer review by donnat

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by donnat
by donnat

I bought this camera because as the mother of a toddler, I found it impossible to drag my DSLR's whenever we went anywhere like the zoo or to special events. I know others do it - just doesn't work out for me. But I hated that regular point and shoots can't shoot in manual mode. I like to have control over the settings and this allows me to do that. it's easy to adjust settings on the camera without digging through menus. I still have lots of features to explore on the camera which is why I'm only rating it "Good" for now. But one thing I really love about this camera is that it's QUIET when you take pictures. I love to roam around NYC with the camera around my neck and take random shots without looking through the view finder. I've gotten some great street photos without drawing attention to the fact that I'm taking pics - I do it all the time with my DSLR's - but this little camera is even more handy as people pay you no mind!

donnat
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"Advanced" point and shoot? No.
11/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The cameras end results are stunning and the creative black and white feature pretty much takes any post editing out of the process. It is light and has a good feel in hand. It doesn't feel cheap or that it may break if you handle roughly. It has an aggressive look, that of a good rangefinder. However, the firmware needs to be revamped and it has trouble calculating exposure when using the manual power flash setting. The dials when slung over the shoulder or just hung by neck tend to rotate by even the slightest slide against a shirt changing settings. The LCD does not flip out like it's competitors which is a negative in my eye, along with having a SEMI low light lens for the surprisingly high price that it is. The viewfinder should just be omitted as you are literally looking through a peephole with no information viewed in the finder window. Also, if using in a low light situation, the LCD does not turn off and blinds the eye looking through the viewfinder rendering it a useless feature. In summation, I am a Nikon user, however, I will go elsewhere for a day to day smaller camera until Nikon catches up. A side note for DSLR users looking for a smaller option for day to day use: The manual focus feature is pretty much the most ridiculous feature on this and any advanced point and shoot for that matter. It doesn't feel natural and it takes 4 times the amount of time to "select" a focus.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Many features in a small package
7/29/2012

Customer review by smile1900

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by smile1900
by smile1900

This is a great camera. I have already reviewed it but I bought a second one because the first one got stolen. Image quality is outstanding and very close to that of a DSLR. There are many features. I like that I can shoot raw, set the camera in manual mode if I need to. I have used this camera extensively in all light conditions and I have to say that low light is handled well by this camera provided one knows how to use it. I like that I can change settings quickly from outside buttons. I particularly like the built in ND filter because it allows me to do long exposures, which I like to do. Of course, in order to fully appreciate the value of this small camera, one has to learn it and get a feel for all the features that are offered. It's a really serious compact. The coolpix P7100 has been with me in many difficult environments from dusty to icy places and performed very well every time. It's the camera I take when I travel. I love the 200mm zoom lens. And even though I don't use the long zoom on a regular basis, it has come handy very often. The quality is very good at 200mm too.

smile1900
Los Angeles, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good fit between a compact and an SLR
2/26/2012

Customer review by Steve

4.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Steve
by Steve

Just got this camera. It is what the salesman said it was;.a cross between an SLR and a compact. I like the small size and portability. the controls are easy enough to figure out, but I haven't mastered them all yet. It seems the only way to go back from autofocus to manual, and then back is to shut off the camera. There must be another way. The shutter seems to be quick, and the weight and feel of the camera is very intuitive. I wanted to get the Nikon camera case, but it is not available, either on line or at the Nikon store.I find that strange that they would release the camera months before, and not even have a date when this important accessory in available. I would like to protect my investment. I hate having to go back to my computer to read the manual, since they give the purchaser only a very small quick start written manual, and a cd for the reference manual.

Steve
Sarasota, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Am very happy
1/16/2012

Customer review by Bud

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Bud
by Bud

I am learning to be well pleased with the Cool 7100. I have read one review and agree with the author. I like to tilting screen also and find that the angles which are available make using the Cool 7100 a pleasure to use. It fits in my hand comfortable. I have found the learning of the different programs to be easy to use and the result of the fine quality of pictures is exxcellent. I am planning on using the 7100 on a regular basis. I have shot portraits using the camera and have received good comments. The cameras ability to focus in low light condtions is enjoyable. I use the Quality mode for selection of Fine shooting. The selection of noise off controls is good. I have set my camera in the shutter noise off and the beeping sound off and that is a big plus. As I further use the 7100 I will find the other good features to use on the camera. Love the Cool 7100

Bud
Columbia, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its a Nikon, say no more!
6/2/2012

Customer review by Olook

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Olook
by Olook

I purchased the Nikon P7100 because of the larger sensor and extensive manual features. I have had the camera now for close to a month and could not be happier with the overall performance. I upgraded from a 12.2 mega pixel point and shoot and I can say the dynamic range of both contrast and colors with this Nikon P7100 camera are outstanding. I have been working with all the features and noticed the controls for these features are very easy to access with all the function buttons on this camera. My passion is macro photography and this P7100 does a very nice job, no complaints. The tilting display makes it very nice to shoot at all angles, a must for macro. The low light capabilities are also a plus, thanks to the larger sensor and wide angle lense. Oh and did I mention the lens? Well it is Nikkor glass, thats what defines a Nikon and this P7100 is truly Nikon all the way. I could go on and on about the features but it is easier to just say if you are looking to upgrade to an advanced point and shoot with extensive manual controls then do not hesitate to purchase a Nikon P7100, you will not be disappointed. .

Olook
Mid-west , USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very impressive!
1/18/2012

Customer review by Easy Street

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Easy Street
by Easy Street

My wife is a professional photographer so I handed over my new Nikon P7100 for her to "check out" for me. She uses a Nikon D3s with top-of-the line Nikkor lenses for her professional work so I'm sure that she was not expecting too much from the "point & shoot" P7100. Was she surprised...especially with the "low-light" capability of this little "gem"! The photos produced were sharp, bright and the colors were outstanding. Add to that a Nikkor 7.1x wide optical zoom and HD video and she gave the P7100 two "thumbs up" with no reservations. Note: We utilized the HD video at our grandson's basketball game. Even in indoor gym lighting, the video came out sharp, bright and focused with excellent audio quality. All in all, the P7100 is a wonderful camera! I just point & shoot and it does all the work for me.

Easy Street
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best ergonometrics in a compact
3/16/2013

Customer review by PBCA

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by PBCA
by PBCA

The P7100 was purchased after several epiphanies: when travelling I never have room for my DLSR any more, or even a mirror-less system for that matter; 99% of my images are never printed on paper; and as I now need reading glasses viewfinders are of lesser value. The P7100 has become my main camera replacement, taking the place of both my compact and my DSLR for almost everything. Excellent IQ but the outstanding feature is the ergonometrics; I love features like having separate controls for Aperture and Shutter and having things like Flash Compensation at hand without going to the menu. These controls are main selling feature of the camera for me. The tilt out screen is the main feature I like; I generally shoot from the waist.

PBCA
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The P7100 Delivers Photo Quality Beyond My Expections
8/6/2012

Customer review by Kenny G.

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Kenny G.
by Kenny G.

I bought my P7100 hoping that the operation and photo quality would be good enough so I could leave my much larger and heavier Nikon cameras and Len's at home once in a while. I like to go into the city of Portland, OR. and just shoot architecture and other subjects I happen onto without having to haul all my camera gear with me every time. I have used all the functions and it amazes me what it can do. I can't believe how well it does in close-up mode. Even the HDR function surprised me with how well it did. I have printed some 13x19 photos from the P7100 and they turned as well as shots from the D200. Ive' shot professonaly in the past and I know quality. The P7100 is quality shooter !

Kenny G.
Vancouiver,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
At last a serious advanced Coolpix ...
11/12/2011

Customer review by HMeYe

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by HMeYe
by HMeYe

I had the P7000 for 3 weeks, and although i like the image quality and controls, I admit it had some processing tweaks, but I saw that a corrected P7000 is coming, and that's the P7100 ... Today I have the P7100 since about 90 days along the D3s and D200. With the introduction of the P7100, I can say that Nikon have for the first time a serious advanced P&S. Everything runs so smoothly in the P7100 and the image quality is excellent . I only wished that Nikon integrated a built in GPS and the 1080p video in the P7100 .... and it would be a complete cam for me ....

HMeYe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Advance Camera
8/6/2012

Customer review by Nikon-mex

3.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Nikon-mex
by Nikon-mex

This Camera offers the opportunity to take pictures playing with the aperture, shutter speed, ISO, Etc., so you can achieve very nice photos in this "Advance Point & Shoot Camera". The Auto Focus System is very accurate and fast, considering that this camera is under the Coolpix Series. The only concern, that I have, is the Sensor Resolution, 10MP is not enough in this days, I am sure that 14 or 16MP must be offered, at least. That is the reason that I give 3 stars to this product. I can recommend this product, but please, keep in mind the Sensor Resolution.

Nikon-mex
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Monter
10/18/2011

Customer review by Flash

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Flash
by Flash

The Coolpix P7100 Vari-Angle Monitior Should be the same as the D5100 Vari-Angle LCD Monitor This would be like My Old Coolpix S10 (Assume Camera). This would allow you to get not only the Low Shot like taking Pictures of my Granddaughter Crawling but the Over Heat Shots when you go to the Zoo or Games . I Hope you Convert the P7100 Monitor to Be the same as the D5100 Monitor. His will make the P7100 the Perfect Compact Digital Camera. All the Battery Charges Should Be A Wall Mounted Charger It make Sense for Traveling making it less to Cary around.

Flash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Camera freezes
2/22/2012

Customer review by Photojim

3.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Photojim
by Photojim

While I do enjoy the Coolpix P7100, it does have a tendency to lock up and refuse to restart. Techical support told me to remove the battery and reinsert it and then turn it on. Not good. Support then told me to send it out for service. Hello? I haven't even taken a half dozen pictures with it. I all fairness however, after leaving the battery out of the camera over night it did turn back on with an "unknown error"! on the screen. I turned it off and then back on again and it is now working. But I must say that I am just waiting for the next freeze.

Photojim
Would recommend to a friend? No
Extremely pleased!!!
3/2/2012

Customer review by songman1950

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by songman1950
by songman1950

I have used both Sony and Canon products similar to this camera. I have to say that I have enjoyed this camera much more!!! All the bells and whistles are there for anyone wanting to "take it up a notch". You can put it on auto and just use it as a point and shoot. It works very well. But if you're like me, and enjoy having a little more control, you can move into a more manual operation and you call the shots. I've shot over 1,000 pics so far (I've only had it for about a week) and I have to say I'm very pleased. I have experimented with flash units on it and been very pleased with that too. I've used Pocket Wizards with flash off camera and I've used a Ray Flash on for macro shots!!! It handles them all with ease. Image quality is very good. I've increased ISO up to 3200 and found the image still usable (although I've corrected some in software for noise reduction). Out of camera images are still good at 800 to 1600 ISO. It fits extremely well in your hand. The ergonomic design is much better than other cameras I've used. It's perfect for those trips where you don't want to take along a DSLR (or for that person that just wants one camera to do it all, this one fits that bill too). I don't used video that much but have tried it out some and found it does a very good job (video is very clear). Overall I plan on using this camera for years to come. I'm very glad I purchased it (after much online searching and researching).

songman1950
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great features in a nice compact camera
5/24/2012

Customer review by NikonHappy

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by NikonHappy
by NikonHappy

As a long time Nikon DSLR shooter, I was getting tired of hauling the big dslr & its lenses around all the time, especially on short trips, so I went looking for an advanced compact camera to provide most of what my dslr does without the weight. The other requirement was no lens changes. The P7100 meets those requirements plus brings more options than I had even thought about. Fairly steep learning curve; got David Busch's guide to help. Just one week into the new camera; the pictures are great & it is so much fun to shoot with!

NikonHappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now Nikon has it right... the P7100
1/12/2012

Customer review by foxy

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by foxy
by foxy

This camera is certainly well built and has the feel of a quality item. the lens is superb and produces good images. Even the telephoto zoom has been improved over the 7000 as it is smooth and has no "fast" spots making it easy to control. I would suggest that the next iteration of this camera have more analog type controls, specifically an analog shutter speed dial.. This camera appears to have a longer focal length lens than the new Canon pro1 X which will make this Nikon the better choice for cameras in this class,

foxy
New York City area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coolpix P7100 no paper manual
4/21/2012

Customer review by Al007

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by Al007
by Al007

prior to buying I spent a lot of time comparing with Cannon but chose Nikon, for its good reputation on customer support I love this camera and all its vast range of features, it produces a very good quality results, it is a great shame a printed manual is not included. The manual is easily obtained on the internet but if printed off big and cumbersome, and no good for reading on aeroplanes and the likes. Please go back to small compact printed manuals, so we can maximise the benefit of all these superb features

Al007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coolpix P7100 - 720p frame rate
9/24/2011

Customer review by jbugMD

4.0 stars 9/24/2011 by jbugMD
by jbugMD

I forgot to mention in my previous review - the frame rate of 720p recording is approximately 24 frames per second - not 30 fps as stated in many online reviews, and in the PDF manual included on CD. Nikon included an errata sheet in the box with the camera. The PDF you can download online has the correct information. I was a little disappointed since 30 fps was one of the features I was shopping for. However, its not a deal breaker considering how much I like the P7100 as a still camera.

jbugMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews