Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

131 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

131 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 130 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Great product and Found New Use

Customer review by TxPimpernel

5.0 stars 9/15/2016 by TxPimpernel
by TxPimpernel

Several weeks ago I purchased a couple Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm with Kokum Butters and this past weekend found another great use for it. My daughter's school hosted a Varsity volleyball tournament and I spent hours using rough food service gloves as well as non-forgiving antibacterial wipes. My hands and fingers began burning and cracking. By the end of the first day some cracks were even bleeding. While applying the lip balm, I wished I had coconut oil or natural lotion for my hands. I decided to try the Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm on my finger tips. Immediately, my skin stopped burning. By the end of the night, the skin even looked mostly healthy. The second day of the tournament, I applied the lip balm all throughout the day and had no problems. I've since bought enough tubes to have one available in my makeup case, briefcase, purse insert, and desk. Thank you for such a great product!

San Antonio, TX
Skin type:Combination
The Bomb

Customer review by MarillaGirl

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by MarillaGirl
by MarillaGirl

I'm a sworn believe in the power of a good balm in your life. For years, all I've asked for was a balm that would stop my lips from chapping and peeling all year long. I didn't know that I could actually do more than that-- soft lips never seemed to be on the radar! But its the middle of summer, and I'm already dealing with cracked lips, and I've had enough. BB has kept my lips safe from the worst of it, but the fact that they're not bleeding isn't making me jump up and down. I can't reapply every hour, but with the Ultra Conditioning Balm, I don't have to. And GUYS-- I can wear lip stick again. The flavor isn't exciting, but the moisturization is. I'm never giving up on this balm. It's my new favorite and you can find a tube in all of my purses, by my bed, in my pocket. Its invading my house, y'all, and I'm not the least bit worried. So, Burt's Bees, please don't ever discontinue this balm! Or, if you must, let me know so I can stock up for the next 70 years.

North Carolina

Customer review by redhotkurls

5.0 stars 4/8/2015 by redhotkurls
by redhotkurls

I absolutely LOVE this product! I read that a lot of people found it "oily"....well, the first ingredient is coconut oil. It is just like putting straight coconut oil on your lips, if you have before. I think it gives a nice, sheen look to your lips and I, personally, happen to like the "slick" feeling it gives-it's almost like having a high shine lip gloss on, without the tackiness. I feel that the reason a lot of people may be dissatisfied with this product is because it advertises as: 1. "Ultra Conditioning" - which probably makes buyers think it is going to be a thicker consistency and that can be misleading because it is not. ...AT ALL! 2. 4-hour moisturization - this product does not last 4 hours nor does it feel like it leaves your lips moisturized for that long. So if you are looking for an ultra conditioning formula because your lips are severely chapped, this is not going to be your answer but it is a GREAT product that I think is just misunderstood lol

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worst purchase ever

Customer review by dmasz91

1.0 stars 1/22/2012 by dmasz91
by dmasz91

I'm a huge fan of Burt's Bees chapsticks, and this one looked cool, but when I got it, it just didn't work as good as the original. It literally is like putting butter on your lips. It's too thin like oil and rubs off quickly. Doesn't last 4 hrs, more like 10 min and have to keep reapplying it, depending on how much you rub your lips together or eat snacks. It's more expensive than the others, which is even worse. Not worth the extra investment. Stick with the original or other medicinal versions of burt's chapsticks and you'll keep being a fan, but not with this one. they should just stop producing this one. And i don't usually like to say anything negative, but it really doesn't last long enough at all. kinda feels like it spreads like oil outside the boundaries of your lips. it's like putting a liquid on. (i've also tried carmex and vasoline and nivea brands, but nothing's better than burts bees original so far. they can't seem to outbeat themselves)

Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Not a Fan

Customer review by KMarie

1.0 stars 8/27/2016 by KMarie
by KMarie

I normally LOVE Burt's Bees Lip Balms, but this one will not stay put. I have to reapply every 5 minutes. It goes on nicely and feels great on my lips, but a few minutes later my lips are already dry! So bummed that this one isn't working for me.

Comment from Riley B. - 8/29/2016

Hi there! We're sorry to hear that the Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm is not lasting. This is not something that we would expect to happen. We're going to make sure to share your feedback with our team! Also, we'd be happy to further assist you with this. Give us a call at 1-800-849-7112 9:00am-5:30pm EST. Be sure to provide the representative with this reference number, 160829-000598. We're looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Skin type:Normal
Would buy again

Customer review by Carire

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Carire
by Carire

I used this after my lips got sunburned and it helped tremendously. I kept reapplying as needed and it really helped keep my lips moistened.

kokum butter lip balm

Customer review by cathay

3.0 stars 7/14/2016 by cathay
by cathay

I purchased this lip balm with the hope of a longlasting lip balm. I found it to be a bit oily and not long lasting. I was disappointed.


Customer review by ShelleyL

3.0 stars 1/21/2015 by ShelleyL
by ShelleyL

I am allergic to many lip balms. I can't even figure out exactly what I am allergic to because it seems that different proportions and quality of the same ingredients affect me differently. At any rate, my favorite trusted organic lip balm was discontinued and I have been looking for a replacement. I prefer a less waxy, soft glide texture - probably what some of you are calling "oily." This one has the perfect texture. I tried it right away, before I knew the ingredients (not listed on the container) and was first surprised by the citrusy bug-spray like smell. That can't be a good sign for a supposedly fragrance-free balm. I guess they meant synthetic-fragrance. oh well. but then i saw the list of various essential oils including balsam of peru which is known as one of the most common skin allergens. Citrus oils too are generally not good for sensitive skin. Why all the extra oils in the hypoallergenic blend? I don't see these in the other burt's bees formulas. I don't know yet how my lips will respond. I love the texture at least. But even if my lips don't swell up, I'm not too fond of the smell.

Would recommend to a friend? No
dries your lips out instantly

Customer review by amparker24

1.0 stars 12/14/2012 by amparker24
by amparker24

I LOVE Burt's Bees and always want to try the new products, but I think I need to stick with the original beeswax lip balm because I haven't been able to find any other flavor that is as good or better than it. This product instantly dries out your lips, almost the point of them cracking. It is slick and slippery, and although it smells nice, it does nothing positive to my lips. Stick w/the original - it's the best!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lake wylie, sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days

Customer review by Woob

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by Woob
by Woob

I just saw this at the store for the first time (along with the new lip shimmer colors which I LOVE) and the silver color on the packaging and the "ultra conditioning" bit really caught my eye. I've recently moved to a really dry area and my lips feel dry everyday, even when I drink a lot of water. This balm is really great. The smell reminds me of some type of berry pastry, but it's not overpowering. After I put it on I didn't really notice the smell much at all. It goes on really smooth and it almost feels like a lip gloss right after applying it (it doesn't look like I'm wearing gloss though). It's lightweight and feels a bit thin on my lips, but it really feels like it's absorbing into my lips really well. It definitely makes my lips feel better and it does last for hours, as advertised. I think this will be awesome as an overnight lip conditioner!

Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Does NOT Moisturize

Customer review by avidchapstickuser

1.0 stars 11/17/2012 by avidchapstickuser
by avidchapstickuser

I am an avid Burt's Bees lip balm user, and I signed up for this site solely to tell you about my experience with this product...... I went to the store yesterday specifically to purchase lip balm. My lips have been very dry lately and I cannot last one day without it! When I saw this new product claiming to have "4 hours of moisturization," I was sold. I couldn't wait to try this new product! However, I was sadly disappointed. This product is a waste of money. This does not moisturize your lips, instead it sit on top of your lips and you'll have to contunuously reapply it every 15 minutes. My other Burt's Bees lip balms have worked tremendously, so for this one to be advertised specifically for moisturization, well, they were terribly mistaken. To add to the disappointment - it smells terrible! Do not waste your money like I did.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal

Customer review by BJAX

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by BJAX

I have used sooooo many lip products but never stick with one very long. One day I was waiting on a prescription to be filled and I started looking more closely at what was available for lip care. I never spent much on them because I change so often. But I decided it was worth it to me to spend a little extra than I usually do for quality, so I bought the BB's ultra conditioning lip balm with Kokum butter (never heard of that but natural so I thought, "go for it.' At first I thought it smelled a little strange, not fruity or sweet; but when I applied it I fell in love. I love the smell also. On my 2nd tube now, which is a feat for me to buy a second one. It feels great on and my lips look so healthy and pretty with it on. Thank you Burt's Bees. LOVE IT LOVE IT

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Doneshi

5.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Doneshi
by Doneshi

This is one of my favorite lip balms. Burts Bees period is my favorite when it comes to lip care. Thank you.

Great product

Customer review by Catlady228

5.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Catlady228
by Catlady228

I love this lip gloss! The Kokum Butter makes it really smooth, silky.

Skin type:Combination
never again

Customer review by DeeGee

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by DeeGee
by DeeGee

I am a 46 year old male who lives in Michigan and walks 1.5 miles to and from work every day. I've been using Burt's Bees traditional Beeswax lip balm w/ peppermint religiously for a few years now. Last week I decided to try the "Ultra Conditioning" w/ Kokum Butter. It's like a dollar more, so it should be even better, right? WRONG! First off, this balm is softer and almost melts on my lips, leaving a sheen that I as a man don't care to have on my lips. Second, it seems to soak in fast and my lips end up being dry soon after application, so their 4-hour claim is busted in my test. Last, the Kokum butter has a different scent and taste which I don't care for. I will continue to use Burt's Bees products, just not this one.

Owosso, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Best balm ever!

Customer review by AnnieO19

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by AnnieO19
by AnnieO19

I ran out of my usual lip balm and since I use lip balm ALL the time, I wanted something I wouldn't have to apply every 10 minutes like I find with (Chapstick?). Ran to the local drugstore and searched over all their offerings. I am allergic to many things, including menthol and mints. I was drawn to this particular Burt's Bees product because of the "Ultra Conditioning" and that it didn't contain any of my allergans. I love this balm; it's excellent and really lives up to its claims. My lips are conditioned, supple, smooth, and I don't have to reapply but every few hours. It is the ONLY balm I use now. Amazing product; even better than some of the pricier brands that claim "healing."

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of $

Customer review by Markie

1.0 stars 10/6/2012 by Markie
by Markie

I registered with this website just so I could write a review on this product- this was my first tube of Burt's Bees ever purchased and it was a total waste of money! If this is what the rest of the line offers, I really don't get what all the hype is. This Chapstick smells AWFUL and leaves the worst taste in your mouth when you eat or drink anything. It smells like licorice and citronella. It also absolutely does not last 4 hours, try 15 mins tops. It also is not easily absorbed into your skin, so it kinda sits on top in a gloopy mess. Very worst Chapstick purchase ever......I thought since it was the highest priced on the shelf it would automatically beeeee the best. Wrong.

Rome, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great but not consistent

Customer review by jdc5294

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by jdc5294
by jdc5294

I've been using this stuff for a while and up until recently it would've been 5 stars. I work in a very dry environment with a lot of sawdust and concrete, stuff that sucks all the moisture out of the air. It is a bit greasy so I know I have to wipe it off if I'm about to kiss someone, but I'll deal with that since it works so well. It's pretty hard to find in stores so I usually buy about 5 at a time, this last time I stocked up I've noticed that it gets like gelatin, kind of coming apart in globs when I put it on. The tag on the tube says 2011 so I don't know if this stuff has been sitting on the shelf for a while, maybe it has an expiration date.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Lip Treatment Ever!

Customer review by georgiajett

5.0 stars 8/21/2015 by georgiajett
by georgiajett

I swear by this product! I use it every day, multiple times a day, and it has greatly helped my lip skin. I had taken a medication several years ago, and one of the odd side effects was extremely dry lips. Of course, when my lips are dry, I bite them, which just makes the condition worse. My routine is to apply a generous layer of BB's lip treatment, and then I apply a barrier over it, like a petroleum jelly or Aquafor. I keep a stick in my makeup bag, one in my drawer at work, and one in my purse at all times. This is truly something I cannot live without.

hempstead, ny
Skin type:Combination
Super thin; no lasting power

Customer review by KMR3

1.0 stars 4/4/2015 by KMR3
by KMR3

I hope Burt's Bees continues to try their hand at an "ultra conditioning" lip treatment - something a step above the standard lip balm. And I hope they learn from the poor formulation of this product. Where to begin? It's frustratingly oily and thin - when your lips are really in need of quenching, this doesn't even feel satisfying to apply. One accidental sip of a drink or one moment of pressing your lips together, and it's like the balm has evaporated. I keep it around for an absolute emergency, when I can't find anything else. It is a frustrating process of apply, reapply, reapply, with no noticeable results.

Comment from Emily T. - 4/23/2015

We're sorry to hear that. We understand that can be frustrating. We're always happy to help. Please give us a call at 1-800-849-7112 Monday-Friday, between 9am-5:30pm EST.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews