Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

152 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

152 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
88
4 stars
32
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 139 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 139 total reviews
1-20 of 139 reviews
Possibly
11/27/2016

Customer review by Karen

3.0 stars 11/27/2016 by Karen
by Karen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pictures of parts very small, hard to associate with directions. Parts are all made of primarily plastic. Not convinced this will hold up very long (gate is metal).

Karen
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very pleased with this item
5/4/2015

Customer review by Charlotte

5.0 stars 5/4/2015 by Charlotte
by Charlotte
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to use. Very sturdy as a doggie gate at the top of outdoor deck landing (we have an Australian Shepard). The perfect color for the deck stain. Was easy to install with a screw gun and VERY easy to make exactly the correct size buy adjusting both the gate itself and then the extension screws on each end top and bottom . A little thought went into measuring etc but I would think that would be expected.

Charlotte
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Misleading...and disappointed
12/14/2014

Customer review by Patricia

2.0 stars 12/14/2014 by Patricia
by Patricia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although this gate indicates that it extends to 47", you are unable to use if the length does not correspond to the top and bottom connectors. My space is approximately 36", but the extension will not stop at 36", it either has to be 32" or 38" in order for the system to lock. This was a waste of money. But my dog destroyed the box, so I am stuck and will have to use it some where else in the house.

Patricia
Newark,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FUNCTIONAL AND ATTRACTIVE
12/14/2011

Customer review by KRH

3.0 stars 12/14/2011 by KRH
by KRH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

WE ARE USING THIS GATE AS A BARRIER FOR MY MOM WHO USES A WHEEL CHAIR ON OUR OPEN STAIRCASE

KRH
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Be Careful of your width needed
6/24/2012

Customer review by ColoradosGirl

3.0 stars 6/24/2012 by ColoradosGirl
by ColoradosGirl

We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.

Was this review helpful? (78) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradosGirl
Longmont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for bottom of the stairs
10/16/2012

Customer review by MandyGrits

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by MandyGrits
by MandyGrits

We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandyGrits
Baldwinsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy swing and lock Gate
2/9/2017

Customer review by skypics

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by skypics
by skypics
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for our new puppy. I was very impressed with the item when I pulled it out of the box. It is very chic! I think it would look good with any decor. Very sturdy too. I have bought other types in the past (for other dogs, and child) and even the plastic ones are not this solid. Easy directions. . .I just love it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skypics
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Average
11/29/2014

Customer review by NHMomOnaMission

3.0 stars 11/29/2014 by NHMomOnaMission
by NHMomOnaMission

The item isn't bad. I have purchased 5 gates in an attempt to find one that would work on my abnormally designed staircase to prevent my toddler from climbing. Honestly, it was the only hardware gate that wasn't ridiculously over priced. It's a gate--nothing special. However, it was easy to install and its easy to open and close. It does not close on it's own--so if you have others in the house that will not be conscientious about closing it behind them then I would recommend something else. I have it on uneven walls and it works. It's not ideal because it does not line up properly for opening and closing but finding one to work on uneven walls was difficult. It was the best out of the five different types I have tried.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHMomOnaMission
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/30/2012

Customer review by savebuyer

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by savebuyer
by savebuyer

We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side. Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
savebuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like it
1/25/2017

Customer review by Bren

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Bren
by Bren
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this gate, the only thing I don't like I the bolt on the latch comes loose easily, so you have to keep an eye on it & tighten it back, bc if it isn't tight the gate can be lifted free... now that I check it everytime I open it, it's habit, but overall I am very satisfied! It isn't bulky & it looks nice! Very sturdy too! Believe me my 9 month old tests it often!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bren
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for the price!
9/26/2012

Customer review by YpsiTiff

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by YpsiTiff
by YpsiTiff

I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YpsiTiff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
North States Easy Swing and Lock Gate
4/13/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Mary
by Mary

We love this gate. It was purchased so we could separate our two dogs. We have a narrow 29 inch doorway that we installed it in. Took a little work in figuring out how to adjust the turn screws to get the exact fit. My husband had tightened everything in place and then realized he should have left the nuts loose. Also the little wrench included is perfect for the job. The video shows the Mom just giving the gate a little push and that it closes and latches by itself. Maybe we didn't adjust correctly, but I do have to close the gate the same way I open it, by using the latch and picking up slightly.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy!
9/24/2016

Customer review by OwlGalSA

5.0 stars 9/24/2016 by OwlGalSA
by OwlGalSA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We wanted a gate that didn't require us to step over a threshold, which most do.This attractive gate solved the problem, and Walmart's price was much better than any other. The only small caution for other buyers is that opening the latch requires pushing down FIRMLY on a thumb pad while pulling upward on the gate itself. This is a good safety feature that would prevent small children from unlatching the gate, but it might prove a challenge for those who lack strength in their hands and/or fingers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OwlGalSA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate!
1/10/2017

Customer review by ShelleBelle

5.0 stars 1/10/2017 by ShelleBelle
by ShelleBelle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It will not disappoint. Does it's job, it's sturdy and it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShelleBelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent if installed properly
1/28/2014

Customer review by IndianaJJ

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by IndianaJJ
by IndianaJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant. We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great! Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily). Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndianaJJ
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Alternative for Pet Gate
2/20/2014

Customer review by TheFacts

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by TheFacts
by TheFacts

I have to say I was completely surprised with the quality of this gate considering the price. The same gate or similar ones found online at other pet retailers where priced substantially higher which gave me the impression this gate may be a flop. The price and value and the quality of this gate is exceptional. Buy It! Its good looking in appearance and very sturdy like metal. I know some reviews stated it was a bit complicated to install & actually mount it evenly but I had no real problems. If you take your time and follow the step by step instructions and use the wall chart to mark your wall and simply screw or drill your holes, you may get it right the first time. This gate by the way can be mounted on a baseboard on the bottom and then on the wall on top, even though they are not in the same horizontal position. Its uneven but the end bolts are adjustable at the end of the poles to compensate for this. It took me about 1 hour but everything lined up perfectly and the gate swung into position and click, locked. Its easy to use, its a great pet gate for the top of your stairs and it swings open and remains open when not in use. I highly recommend this over the plastic version as that type of swinging plastic gate is trash, gets dirty and is difficult to line up simply because it comes bent and flimsy. Spend the extra $10 and you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFacts
Mirmamar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't swing back past 90 degrees!!!
12/9/2013

Customer review by Jailboop

2.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Jailboop
by Jailboop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We installed this well made gate (a couple of times) in a couple different configurations, trying to make it so it would swing back against the wall on the hinged side, in a doorway. No matter what adjustment we made - on the hinge rings or hinge plates, it just physically can not swing back past 90 degrees. We placed it at the top of our stairs, and attached it to the door frame, so it swings out, over the stairs - missing the handrail - towards the opposite wall. In order to actually swing to the wall, thus allowing the full width of the stairs to be utilized, it would have to swing about another 3-4 degrees. It isn't happening because of the abutting shapes of the hinge and the nut that adjusts the hinge ring. Going to have to modify the doorway opening in order to use it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jailboop
Sitka, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate
4/14/2016

Customer review by Glma

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Glma
by Glma

I almost didn't buy this gate due to the negative ratings that people had given it. It is a wonderful gate. Everyone kept saying that it would only adjust four inches at a time, with no in-between sizing, and that is NOT true. At every corner of the gate there are adjustment screw out sizing posts that allow you to adjust it to the size you need. It is super easy to operate and I am glad I have it. I have just purchased a second one to put on my laundry room doorway.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed with the latch
10/21/2012

Customer review by Disappointedwithlatch

2.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Disappointedwithlatch
by Disappointedwithlatch

i ordered this gate online and was excited about the product. We installed the gate at the top of our stairs to protect my 17 month old daughter. After drilling 8 screws into our hallway wall, we were disappointed to find out that the latch is not the greatest and difficult to open and close while carrying my daughter. We are going to live with it for now until we can find something else. Very disappointed :(

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointedwithlatch
Boston ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/22/2012

Customer review by ynotstern22

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by ynotstern22
by ynotstern22

I like that it is wider that most gates and it doesn't have a bar across the bottom to trip over. Installation is fairly simple it it can be removed temporarily without taking the hinges off. My only issue was the distance between the hinges didn't match the banister I put it on (too much gap at the bottom) not the products fault though, and I was able to make it work.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ynotstern22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1-20 of 139 reviews