Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
26
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 100 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Be Careful of your width needed
6/24/2012

Customer review by ColoradosGirl

3.0 stars 6/24/2012 by ColoradosGirl
by ColoradosGirl

We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradosGirl
Longmont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for bottom of the stairs
10/16/2012

Customer review by MandyGrits

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by MandyGrits
by MandyGrits

We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandyGrits
Baldwinsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Swing gate.
2/8/2016

Customer review by DOBERLADY

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by DOBERLADY
by DOBERLADY

I purchased two and I am very very happy with them. Keeps the dogs out of the kitchen and inside my bedroom. Well the puppy anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOBERLADY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
happy after instillation
1/8/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It was a bit difficult to get installed but once it was installed my husband and I were both happy with it; we're using the gate for dogs not children. ;0)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
2/1/2016

Customer review by Grammy12

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Grammy12
by Grammy12

Easy open and close. Exactly what we were looking for

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grammy12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/30/2012

Customer review by savebuyer

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by savebuyer
by savebuyer

We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side. Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
savebuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great.
1/17/2016

Customer review by scrapperbee

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by scrapperbee
by scrapperbee

We installed the gate this afternoon and it works great. We adjusted it so it would open both ways and stays open when the grandchildren are not here. We are very pleased with the gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrapperbee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Average
11/29/2014

Customer review by NHMomOnaMission

3.0 stars 11/29/2014 by NHMomOnaMission
by NHMomOnaMission

The item isn't bad. I have purchased 5 gates in an attempt to find one that would work on my abnormally designed staircase to prevent my toddler from climbing. Honestly, it was the only hardware gate that wasn't ridiculously over priced. It's a gate--nothing special. However, it was easy to install and its easy to open and close. It does not close on it's own--so if you have others in the house that will not be conscientious about closing it behind them then I would recommend something else. I have it on uneven walls and it works. It's not ideal because it does not line up properly for opening and closing but finding one to work on uneven walls was difficult. It was the best out of the five different types I have tried.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHMomOnaMission
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for the price!
9/26/2012

Customer review by YpsiTiff

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by YpsiTiff
by YpsiTiff

I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YpsiTiff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate
1/10/2016

Customer review by Edwin

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Edwin
by Edwin

great price and looks beatiful

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edwin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice gate for the money
10/17/2013

Customer review by judy42

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by judy42
by judy42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is great! However, we purchased it because the description on the Wal-Mart site said it could be mounted on an angled wall. My husband had a hard time mounting it at a very slight angle due to the wall stud did not line up with the stairway post. It's a little tricky to close for us but we'll get used to it (and hopefully our very clever 18 month grandson won't be able to figure it out). Hubby called the manufacturer and they said the gate is not meant to be installed on an angle and that Wal-Mart' s description was incorrect. So bear this in mind. We are pleased with the design and color of the gate. Considering our slight angle issue it still was our best option. And the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judy42
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what we wanted
12/20/2015

Customer review by Joya

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Joya
by Joya

We were looking for a gate that you couldn't have to step through. The entire gate opens and moves. It is also an easy shut as you can just litely push it and it will close. This is helpful with other kids in the home. This gate anchors into the wall so it is very secure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent if installed properly
1/28/2014

Customer review by IndianaJJ

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by IndianaJJ
by IndianaJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant. We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great! Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily). Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndianaJJ
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Alternative for Pet Gate
2/20/2014

Customer review by TheFacts

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by TheFacts
by TheFacts

I have to say I was completely surprised with the quality of this gate considering the price. The same gate or similar ones found online at other pet retailers where priced substantially higher which gave me the impression this gate may be a flop. The price and value and the quality of this gate is exceptional. Buy It! Its good looking in appearance and very sturdy like metal. I know some reviews stated it was a bit complicated to install & actually mount it evenly but I had no real problems. If you take your time and follow the step by step instructions and use the wall chart to mark your wall and simply screw or drill your holes, you may get it right the first time. This gate by the way can be mounted on a baseboard on the bottom and then on the wall on top, even though they are not in the same horizontal position. Its uneven but the end bolts are adjustable at the end of the poles to compensate for this. It took me about 1 hour but everything lined up perfectly and the gate swung into position and click, locked. Its easy to use, its a great pet gate for the top of your stairs and it swings open and remains open when not in use. I highly recommend this over the plastic version as that type of swinging plastic gate is trash, gets dirty and is difficult to line up simply because it comes bent and flimsy. Spend the extra $10 and you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFacts
Mirmamar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Our best gate ever!
12/10/2015

Customer review by Bunny

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Bunny
by Bunny

Made in the USA! YES! We are so very pleased with the purchase of this gate from Walmart. It went beyond meeting our expectations. My husband followed the good instructions provided and was able to hang it fairly easily. It's very easy to operate. Our precious 5 year old granddaughter can even operate it. We have an elderly rescue dog who must be contained in the kitchen and family room. This gate has made it so much easier!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bunny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
There are better gates out there
11/28/2015

Customer review by cckeepingsecrets

1.0 stars 11/28/2015 by cckeepingsecrets
by cckeepingsecrets

This gate is horrible. There is a set of lactic blocks that have to be set specifically between the bars in the gate which is the locking system to hold the gate at the required width. These cheap plastic blocks also house two screws which strip out almost immediately. When they strip out you cannot remove the screws or the block to make any adjustments. Additionally the unit must be screwed into the wall and the kit provides no wall anchors to attach to the wall where no stud is available. Poor design. Poor quality. Waste of money. Look for a different gate. Disgusted that I wasted my money on this item

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cckeepingsecrets
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice gate
12/14/2015

Customer review by izzyb88

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by izzyb88
by izzyb88

This gate was exactly what I was looking for. Not bad looking. Very easy to install but most of all easy to open and close!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
izzyb88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate for a great price
12/8/2015

Customer review by RyansMom

4.0 stars 12/8/2015 by RyansMom
by RyansMom

It works great. It's a bit of a pain to put up to get them lined up exactly. We also had to use dry wall anchors to keep the latch in the wall. But now that it's up and operating, I love it! I feel much better about the stairs with a little one crawling around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyansMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok for the price
5/13/2012

Customer review by Nancyartist

3.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Nancyartist
by Nancyartist

The bronze color and style look very nice. No bar at the bottom to step over, that's important. The lock lever is ok, not the smoothest action but for $42 it's an inexpensive gate. Be aware that if installing into drywall don't even try the screws that come with it. Get self-drilling drywall anchors, #8 x 1.5". My only problem is that the screw that comes with the anchor has a round head so I can't slip the hinge housing over it so it will lift off the hinge. I'm sure I can fix this, but it's a problem that I didn't expect and don't need. I don't know if I'd buy this again. I might just spray paint another type of gate bronze so it matches my decor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancyartist
Long Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Color is misleading! But a nice looking gate.
8/10/2015

Customer review by Mandy

4.0 stars 8/10/2015 by Mandy
by Mandy

This gate is "matte bronze" in only the most vivid of imaginations. Maybe I got the wrong product but the gate I received is black with possibly the slightest bronze tint to it. If you are expecting something actually bronze colored, you will be disappointed! (Fortunately black works ok for my decor too.) That being said, it's still a very attractive gate. I mounted it in a hallway to keep our dogs out of the bedrooms. The mounting takes a little work, even with the templates provided it was challenging to get the gate set up straight and evenly. But there are enough ways to adjust it to make it work, you just have to play with it to find out what's best for your set up. It seems sturdy so far and is easy to use once set up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews