Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 88 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Be Careful of your width needed
6/24/2012

Customer review by ColoradosGirl

3.0 stars 6/24/2012 by ColoradosGirl
by ColoradosGirl

We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradosGirl
Longmont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/30/2012

Customer review by savebuyer

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by savebuyer
by savebuyer

We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side. Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savebuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/22/2012

Customer review by ynotstern22

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by ynotstern22
by ynotstern22

I like that it is wider that most gates and it doesn't have a bar across the bottom to trip over. Installation is fairly simple it it can be removed temporarily without taking the hinges off. My only issue was the distance between the hinges didn't match the banister I put it on (too much gap at the bottom) not the products fault though, and I was able to make it work.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ynotstern22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for the price!
9/26/2012

Customer review by YpsiTiff

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by YpsiTiff
by YpsiTiff

I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YpsiTiff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent if installed properly
1/28/2014

Customer review by IndianaJJ

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by IndianaJJ
by IndianaJJ

This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant. We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great! Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily). Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianaJJ
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed with the latch
10/21/2012

Customer review by Disappointedwithlatch

2.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Disappointedwithlatch
by Disappointedwithlatch

i ordered this gate online and was excited about the product. We installed the gate at the top of our stairs to protect my 17 month old daughter. After drilling 8 screws into our hallway wall, we were disappointed to find out that the latch is not the greatest and difficult to open and close while carrying my daughter. We are going to live with it for now until we can find something else. Very disappointed :(

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Disappointedwithlatch
Boston ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice gate for the money
10/17/2013

Customer review by judy42

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by judy42
by judy42

This gate is great! However, we purchased it because the description on the Wal-Mart site said it could be mounted on an angled wall. My husband had a hard time mounting it at a very slight angle due to the wall stud did not line up with the stairway post. It's a little tricky to close for us but we'll get used to it (and hopefully our very clever 18 month grandson won't be able to figure it out). Hubby called the manufacturer and they said the gate is not meant to be installed on an angle and that Wal-Mart' s description was incorrect. So bear this in mind. We are pleased with the design and color of the gate. Considering our slight angle issue it still was our best option. And the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
judy42
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Alternative for Pet Gate
2/20/2014

Customer review by TheFacts

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by TheFacts
by TheFacts

I have to say I was completely surprised with the quality of this gate considering the price. The same gate or similar ones found online at other pet retailers where priced substantially higher which gave me the impression this gate may be a flop. The price and value and the quality of this gate is exceptional. Buy It! Its good looking in appearance and very sturdy like metal. I know some reviews stated it was a bit complicated to install & actually mount it evenly but I had no real problems. If you take your time and follow the step by step instructions and use the wall chart to mark your wall and simply screw or drill your holes, you may get it right the first time. This gate by the way can be mounted on a baseboard on the bottom and then on the wall on top, even though they are not in the same horizontal position. Its uneven but the end bolts are adjustable at the end of the poles to compensate for this. It took me about 1 hour but everything lined up perfectly and the gate swung into position and click, locked. Its easy to use, its a great pet gate for the top of your stairs and it swings open and remains open when not in use. I highly recommend this over the plastic version as that type of swinging plastic gate is trash, gets dirty and is difficult to line up simply because it comes bent and flimsy. Spend the extra $10 and you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheFacts
Mirmamar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy, easy, good-looking
6/17/2014

Customer review by PAshopperGal

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by PAshopperGal
by PAshopperGal

Love this gate! Really attractive, easy to install (would recommend a 2nd person but not necessary). I got it to keep my 2 dogs out of the bedroom hallway, but since I am having hip surgery, I needed something to fit my walker through. This fits the bill because the gate is the entire width of the doorway, swings all the way open, and doesn't have a bottom bar to trip over. The bronzed finish looks great. Latch is easy to use with one hand. I did not install the little plastic guard that keeps it from opening.both.ways because stairs were not an issue. I have 2 small dogs, and the openings between bars are narrow enough that the little knuckleheads won't get their heads caught in them. Excellent purchase!!!! And as always, Walmart.com always delivers within a few days!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAshopperGal
South Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/25/2013

Customer review by sunshinegirl333333

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by sunshinegirl333333
by sunshinegirl333333

I have a 45 inch walk way and it extended to that length just fine but I really wouldn't extend it past that. It looks so much better than most the other gates, I love that. Installed well, even with my base boards. Love that it doesn't have a bar at the bottom... Nice gate I can unlatch it with one hand. Hopefully it lasts up against my son. I think it will as long as I don't let him use it as a toy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunshinegirl333333
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok for the price
5/13/2012

Customer review by Nancyartist

3.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Nancyartist
by Nancyartist

The bronze color and style look very nice. No bar at the bottom to step over, that's important. The lock lever is ok, not the smoothest action but for $42 it's an inexpensive gate. Be aware that if installing into drywall don't even try the screws that come with it. Get self-drilling drywall anchors, #8 x 1.5". My only problem is that the screw that comes with the anchor has a round head so I can't slip the hinge housing over it so it will lift off the hinge. I'm sure I can fix this, but it's a problem that I didn't expect and don't need. I don't know if I'd buy this again. I might just spray paint another type of gate bronze so it matches my decor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nancyartist
Long Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Safety Gates
12/9/2012

Customer review by Goober1516

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Goober1516
by Goober1516

I looked far and wide for the Best Quality and Value out there. I did find these in white at another site but was $20.00 more. I then discovered these and am VERY happy. Installation is very easy and they even give you a template so you dont have to measure the wall. So Easy! Love the safety feature that I use over the stairs. Another perk is this gate doesnt have that bar you have to step over, that you find in others. It isnt white but looks almost black not a rust color. Very classy. Im one happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goober1516
Southern Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Stairs!
12/2/2013

Customer review by LYPG9114

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by LYPG9114
by LYPG9114

This gate exceeded my expectations in quality and works great with my odd shaped banister. This gate gets a lot of use at the top of the stairs in our split entry foyer. The lever on the gate can be opened with one hand while carrying a toddler, small dog or other items up or down the stairs. Great purchase for the price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LYPG9114
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is exactly what I needed
11/14/2012

Customer review by PurrOrMeow

4.0 stars 11/14/2012 by PurrOrMeow
by PurrOrMeow

It was pretty easy to install. My husband had it up within an hour (this considering he put it in upside down had to remove it and reinstall it) **We are not the handiest couple on the block** It is sturdy enough to hold back my 3 year old from climbing the stairs and yet easy enough to open that my "tiny for her age" 8 year old can open it with one hand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurrOrMeow
Bethel, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Average
11/29/2014

Customer review by NHMomOnaMission

3.0 stars 11/29/2014 by NHMomOnaMission
by NHMomOnaMission

The item isn't bad. I have purchased 5 gates in an attempt to find one that would work on my abnormally designed staircase to prevent my toddler from climbing. Honestly, it was the only hardware gate that wasn't ridiculously over priced. It's a gate--nothing special. However, it was easy to install and its easy to open and close. It does not close on it's own--so if you have others in the house that will not be conscientious about closing it behind them then I would recommend something else. I have it on uneven walls and it works. It's not ideal because it does not line up properly for opening and closing but finding one to work on uneven walls was difficult. It was the best out of the five different types I have tried.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHMomOnaMission
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for bottom of the stairs
10/16/2012

Customer review by MandyGrits

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by MandyGrits
by MandyGrits

We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MandyGrits
Baldwinsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gate if your opening is the right width
5/24/2012

Customer review by JRTL

3.0 stars 5/24/2012 by JRTL
by JRTL

I love the swing and lock feature on this gate. Only problem I have is my opening where I have the gate installed isn't the right width so the bars do not line up on the gate to put the top and bottom clamp pieces on that hold it together. so my gate falls apart alot and i have to unscrew bottom 2 tabs to get the 2 pieces of the gate back together.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRTL
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Liked the gate for a few months
12/3/2012

Customer review by 1973Cougar

1.0 stars 12/3/2012 by 1973Cougar
by 1973Cougar

...And then it started to fall apart. The bottom hinge that gets screwed to the wall and holds the gate gets loose all the time and now I cant even tighten it - The screw that gets latched on top and on the bottom - have plastic support pieces on the inside of the gate and they both cracked - I will have to replace this gate and am so unhappy that I had to drill 8 holes into my walls and one in my molding. So hard to find a quality baby gate

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1973Cougar
LI, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy to install, easy to use
3/22/2014

Customer review by stormmom

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by stormmom
by stormmom

We love this gate! The step by step directions and template for installation made it so easy to set up. It is the perfect gate for the top of our stairs. It is easy to open one-handed, and there is nothing to step over on your way through. It fits in our uneven opening (between a wall and a banister) with coving around the bottom. We like the looks of the gate so much we may leave it as a permanent fixture when our children are grown.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stormmom
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I recommend this gate
1/11/2013

Customer review by jhp33

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by jhp33
by jhp33

We started out with a different gate that had a much narrower opening (like most of them do). We got so frustrated over time trying to squeeze through the gate holding our toddler's hand, our groceries or our work bags that we realized we needed a gate like this one that completely opens. We live in a raised ranch, so we use this gate whenever we leave or come home, and it is so nice to have a gate that fully opens so that we can fit through!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhp33
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews