Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
31
3 stars
17
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 127 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Be Careful of your width needed
6/24/2012

Customer review by ColoradosGirl

3.0 stars 6/24/2012 by ColoradosGirl
by ColoradosGirl

We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.

Was this review helpful? (75) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradosGirl
Longmont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for bottom of the stairs
10/16/2012

Customer review by MandyGrits

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by MandyGrits
by MandyGrits

We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandyGrits
Baldwinsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Need two hands to operate
6/1/2016

Customer review by Mickey

2.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Mickey
by Mickey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is difficult to open. You need one hand to push the latch button and another to lift the gate in the center. If you pull up with just the latch hand, the gate hinges get stuck and don't slide up like they're supposed to. It's a leverage problem. Additionally, the "matte bronze" is actually black. It's clearly black, including the hardware. Finally, be aware that this is taller than other gates. That's a plus if you're tall or don't want to bend down, but if you have a hand rail or runner on the wall, it might not fit. Measure only the flat part of the wall, not the stair skirt. That said, when it's open, it swings freely without any noise. It's a bit hard to close, but a good smack will lock it in place.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mickey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
North States Easy Swing and Lock Gate
4/13/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Mary
by Mary

We love this gate. It was purchased so we could separate our two dogs. We have a narrow 29 inch doorway that we installed it in. Took a little work in figuring out how to adjust the turn screws to get the exact fit. My husband had tightened everything in place and then realized he should have left the nuts loose. Also the little wrench included is perfect for the job. The video shows the Mom just giving the gate a little push and that it closes and latches by itself. Maybe we didn't adjust correctly, but I do have to close the gate the same way I open it, by using the latch and picking up slightly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for price!
8/21/2016

Customer review by slt54

4.0 stars 8/21/2016 by slt54
by slt54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good gate for the price. My 15 month old grandson shakes it very hard and no damage. It was rather difficult to install and the lock came apart while installing it. Luckily Pappy is tech savvy and was able to put it back together. We bought two for top and bottom of stairs. We are happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slt54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
North States Easy Swing Gate
7/7/2016

Customer review by Buffy

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Buffy
by Buffy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We needed gates to keep our dogs out of certain rooms. We've had the wooden spring gates before. And the kind that have a gated opening but a bar that goes across the floor - it's always a tripping point and they do not open up very wide. The North States Easy Swing gates do not have a tripping hazard and they can get completely out of the way if I want. They are also very light weight and easy to open and close with one hand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buffy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate
4/14/2016

Customer review by Glma

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Glma
by Glma

I almost didn't buy this gate due to the negative ratings that people had given it. It is a wonderful gate. Everyone kept saying that it would only adjust four inches at a time, with no in-between sizing, and that is NOT true. At every corner of the gate there are adjustment screw out sizing posts that allow you to adjust it to the size you need. It is super easy to operate and I am glad I have it. I have just purchased a second one to put on my laundry room doorway.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/30/2012

Customer review by savebuyer

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by savebuyer
by savebuyer

We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side. Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
savebuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
North States Easy Swing & Lock Gate
8/4/2016

Customer review by Debbie54

5.0 stars 8/4/2016 by Debbie54
by Debbie54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought these to put at the top of our outside steps to keep our dogs contained. Fairly easy to install (much easier the second time, we had made the mistake of mounting the hardware on the wrong side of the stairs so had to start over). Looks nice, believe we'll be very happy with this and I know the dogs will like being able to be out on the porch in the fresh air and sunshine without us having to be with them or on a leash.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Average
11/29/2014

Customer review by NHMomOnaMission

3.0 stars 11/29/2014 by NHMomOnaMission
by NHMomOnaMission

The item isn't bad. I have purchased 5 gates in an attempt to find one that would work on my abnormally designed staircase to prevent my toddler from climbing. Honestly, it was the only hardware gate that wasn't ridiculously over priced. It's a gate--nothing special. However, it was easy to install and its easy to open and close. It does not close on it's own--so if you have others in the house that will not be conscientious about closing it behind them then I would recommend something else. I have it on uneven walls and it works. It's not ideal because it does not line up properly for opening and closing but finding one to work on uneven walls was difficult. It was the best out of the five different types I have tried.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHMomOnaMission
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
7/24/2016

Customer review by RT46

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by RT46
by RT46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These gates are a good value for the price. They are not a HEAVY DUTY gate, but are great for small dogs (in our case). I actually installed them OUTDOORS, to keep our small (doxies) dogs confined to an area that is safe for them. I'm an experienced do-it-yourselfer, so I was able to do this installation. I suspect that for inside, typical doorways, this would be an easy install, as the gate package includes only screws for wood mounting surfaces. If you do as I did, and install them in an other than inside installation, better know, and have your tools!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RT46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, but you need anchors
6/30/2016

Customer review by JustShop4Fun

3.0 stars 6/30/2016 by JustShop4Fun
by JustShop4Fun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate worked well for one day just screwed into our drywall with the materials that came in the box. Then, the side that holds the gate came completely out of the wall. We had to go buy drywall anchors, take all the pieces out of the wall, and screw all the screws into the anchors instead of straight into the drywall. No problems since we put the anchors in. I'm only giving 3 stars because the manufacturer should know that drywall anchors are needed. If a child had been pushing on the gate without the anchors, they could've possibly knocked the gate out of the wall. With the anchors, it's pretty sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustShop4Fun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for the price!
9/26/2012

Customer review by YpsiTiff

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by YpsiTiff
by YpsiTiff

I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YpsiTiff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price on a sturdy gate
4/20/2016

Customer review by Hank

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Hank
by Hank

This gate is everything that's advertised and more. It requires a little patience during the installation but you won't be disappointed with the end result. The gate is completely adjustable with two inch increments from sliding the gate wider or narrower and adjustments on both hinge ends and both latch ends that allow adjustment for the in between measurements. Fine tune those end adjustments to perfectly align the gate with the latch for smooth easy operation. I use the gate to keep my ninety pound Weimaranner off the newly refinished wood floor. He throws a fit and dances around every meal and every time someone knocks at the door. It is advertised as swinging only one way for use at the top of a staircase but during installation you can omit the piece that prevents the gate from opening in one direction allowing the gate to open in both directions. I mounted it in the kitchen doorway about five inches off the floor for extra height, a heavy traffic area so having no threshold to step over is really nice. The gate swings both directions. It opens easily with one hand by pushing the lock down with your thumb while gently lifting the gate with your fingers and automatically locks behind you easily with a gentle push. This is a sturdy metal gate that requires mounting to a solid surface such as a wooden door frame or studs in the walls; mounting only to sheet rock is sure to fail. This is a great price on the best gate I could find in brick and mortar or online. I highly recommend this gate for use with pets or children. Just follow the directions and remember, patience is a virtue.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
North Shore swing gate
7/5/2016

Customer review by burlykar

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by burlykar
by burlykar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These gates work very well for me. I use them on the opening of my deck. Other than the color( I ordered bronze) they are perfect. The black looks ok but I would have preferred the bronze. And that is the only reason that I gave them 4 stars instead of 5.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
burlykar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Serves the purpose
7/13/2016

Customer review by Vermont

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Vermont
by Vermont
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is great for my parents to keep their pug on the porch. Looks nice, it is metal. The hardware plastic, but you don't notice. It is capable stretching probably one inch more than it says from the screws at the end, but it does weaken it a little. If you have a child that will hang on it, this one isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent if installed properly
1/28/2014

Customer review by IndianaJJ

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by IndianaJJ
by IndianaJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant. We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great! Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily). Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndianaJJ
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gate
7/10/2016

Customer review by Jerr

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Jerr
by Jerr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is great. Easy to install and looks great. In fact, I am gettimg another one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
stairway gate. .
7/8/2016

Customer review by Marty

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Marty
by Marty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this because my mother is in a wheel chair and I didn't want her to fall down the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Alternative for Pet Gate
2/20/2014

Customer review by TheFacts

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by TheFacts
by TheFacts

I have to say I was completely surprised with the quality of this gate considering the price. The same gate or similar ones found online at other pet retailers where priced substantially higher which gave me the impression this gate may be a flop. The price and value and the quality of this gate is exceptional. Buy It! Its good looking in appearance and very sturdy like metal. I know some reviews stated it was a bit complicated to install & actually mount it evenly but I had no real problems. If you take your time and follow the step by step instructions and use the wall chart to mark your wall and simply screw or drill your holes, you may get it right the first time. This gate by the way can be mounted on a baseboard on the bottom and then on the wall on top, even though they are not in the same horizontal position. Its uneven but the end bolts are adjustable at the end of the poles to compensate for this. It took me about 1 hour but everything lined up perfectly and the gate swung into position and click, locked. Its easy to use, its a great pet gate for the top of your stairs and it swings open and remains open when not in use. I highly recommend this over the plastic version as that type of swinging plastic gate is trash, gets dirty and is difficult to line up simply because it comes bent and flimsy. Spend the extra $10 and you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFacts
Mirmamar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews