Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
23
1-20 of 90 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great for the price!
11/28/2011

Customer review by azxthao

4.0 stars 11/28/2011 by azxthao
by azxthao

so far it's a good product the only thing that I dont like about this is that when we need to do a search (ie youtube) it's hard to punch in the letters on the remote control, it's like the older older mobile phones that didnt have the keyboard or touch screen and you had to use the number key pad to text, no t9 either so that's a pain. so far youtube is the only apps that we used besides playing dvds! I hope this helps! it really is a great product! oh and another thing is that it is not wireless so you do need an ethernet cord to connect to the router.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azxthao
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It plays Blu-rays... User friendly? NO!
11/29/2011

Customer review by LSUTiger88

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by LSUTiger88
by LSUTiger88

Not user friendly at all. I'm 23 and grew up with electronics, and I'm saying that. So if you want something easy to use, move along to another brand. The internet apps are useless (incredibly slow and hard to navigate). It is literally easier to connect my laptop to my TV and sound system and use it to access those apps on my TV. So if you buy this, buy it only for the fact that it plays blu-rays. Don't expect anything more.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LSUTiger88
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/28/2011

Customer review by Hop41

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Hop41
by Hop41

I purchased the unit on black Friday. I was excited to get it home because I had never used Netflex before and was happy I found a unit that would serve as a streamer and blueray player. First off, it was easy to connect. The problem arose after I connected it to my internet service. Netflix and Hulu plus have to be registered with that service in order to use it. No problem right? Each time I tried to register it, the website displayed, "this service is unavailable in your country". This happened for over an hour. Finally my wife tried to contact tech support via web and was left in a chat box waiting for a tech that never responded. I am very very disappointed with Sony. I returned it the next day and purchased a Samsung for the same price. No problems after that. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (56) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hop41
Fenton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY
11/30/2011

Customer review by Shopper10198

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Shopper10198
by Shopper10198

FIRST off it is an easy set up but won't connect with Netflix and hulu as promised. I just received this in the mail today and I've spent two hours trying to set it up to her (already opened) Netflix account and hulu for my mom as an early Christmas gift ....I'm taking it back first thing tomorrow. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY on this!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper10198
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
12/2/2011

Customer review by listen425

2.0 stars 12/2/2011 by listen425
by listen425

the blu-ray makes an annoying loud noise every time you load a movie! even when forwarding or rewinding a scene. this was my first blu-ray player, but i dont think they all do that. returning it after a week.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
listen425
Queens, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
what a disappointment!
12/27/2011

Customer review by LJS3

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by LJS3
by LJS3

This was our first blue-ray player that we purchased for our family for Christmas. We were very excited to set it up and watch a family movie tonight. What a disappointment it was. The screen flickers every couple of minutes. Every once in a while we would actually lose the picture all together and it would come back after a few seconds. We put in a different movie to make sure it wasn't a defect with the movie and got the same results. It is going back first thing in the morning. I am really surprised at the lack of quality with a brand like Sony.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJS3
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garbage, you get what you pay for.
12/15/2011

Customer review by Burk

1.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Burk
by Burk

Complete garbage. It plays BluRay discs fine but RARELY connects to the internet. I have a home gigabyte network and am very skilled at setup of manual network settings. This pile of trash wil only connect to the internet about 15% of time. Then it buffers and says "Network Error". You HAVE to sign up for (free) Sony account to use any of the extras... maybe Sony has the traffic running through its own servers then to the target service ??? I can connect with laptop, droid, tablet, but not this piece of garbage. Save your money the low price is not worth the frustration if you want to use any web services.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Burk
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT BUY!!!
1/9/2012

Customer review by GIJoshua

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by GIJoshua
by GIJoshua

I read lots of reviews on lots of players before I purchased my first blu-ray player. The reasons I chose this unit are: 1) Price, 2) Brand, and 3) Options. The reviews I read were either at one end of the scale or the other. I am very please with the unit I purchased. I have not streamed any content on it at this point because we have Netflix on our Wii. The menu can take some getting used to if you haven't used other Sony products, but it is relatively easy to learn. Setup was easy too. I had my player up and running in only about 10 minutes if not less. People have complained that it is not wireless, not an issue for me, my router is in the same cabinet. If you NEED wireless I would not recommend this unit, if you can do without the wireless BUY IT NOW!!! I have not had any issues playing any movies on my unit, load times are fast no more than 10-20 seconds if I had to guess (not enough time to bother getting off the couch#. PROS: Affordable, Compact, Easy Setup #Plug and Play, easy as that#, Multiple Outputs #I have an older surround sound receiver so having the Red/White/Yellow RCA outputs was nice, although I only used the RED & WHITE for sound output and the HDMI for video out, and sound to the TV when surround is not needed#. CONS: Not Wireless #Like I said, not a big deal to me#,You MUST Register with the Sony website BEFORE the option to stream content becomes available #Sony website was SLOW!!!! My computer timed out 4-5 time atleast before I was able to get on that site, but all other webpages loaded fast on my computer.) ALL-IN-ALL A GREAT PURCHASE!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GIJoshua
Enid, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent unit for streaming (wi-fi) movies!!
12/5/2011

Customer review by STLredbirds

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by STLredbirds
by STLredbirds

I went ahead and bought this to try for myself. The load time for internet movies (Netflix, Crackle, etc.) is quick compared to the RCA streaming which took approx 3-5 mins to load! I did update the software and I highly recommend that you do. Sooo easy to do with very easy to understand on-screen instructions (a 3 year old can do this)!! My internet speed is 3 meg, quality output was very good using HDMI cable and thanks to the built in noise filter. The interface is good and easy to navigate. I'm not going to review the BluRay part... well, because everyone knows that BluRay is the best HD right now. However I will comment that the disc loads quickly. So... yeah go ahead and get this. I bought it on sale last week.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STLredbirds
STL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works, but not User-Friendly
3/6/2012

Customer review by ScroggSaidIt

3.0 stars 3/6/2012 by ScroggSaidIt
by ScroggSaidIt

First off, this blu ray player has a lot of features and is pretty slick!! I like the "Netflix" button as that's the main reason we bought a Blu Ray player (aside from it being the future). However, this model is NOT user-friendly. I could NOT get it to load up Netflix for about a day. Did some research and found help via the Sony site. You can set the "Internet Settings" manually if you're not afraid to do so and if you want to take the time. It won't work otherwise (at least it didn't for me). I let the Blu Ray player set things automatically first (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Auto). I took a picture of the screen with my phone (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>View Network Status) and then entered the settings manually (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Custom>Specify IP Address) exactly as the photo showed, but then used the DNS settings that the link suggests (4.2.2.2) for the SECONDARY DNS setting. I didn't use a proxy server ("No"), selected "Save & Connect", hit the "Netflix" button, and viola!! It worked!! I hope they allow all of this post so that others can use this product. If not, you'd better be tech savvy to get it working. This is NOT a plug-n-play component... :-/ Link to Sony Support: http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&externalId=C1017642&fes=true&mdl=BDPS185

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScroggSaidIt
Fair Play, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does Not Read ANY Disks
12/29/2011

Customer review by Geekers

1.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Geekers
by Geekers

Got this for Christmas. Non-functional out of the box. Would not read any disks of any type, or any vintage (Blu-ray, DVD, CD). Tried Sony website. Of no help . Worked with Sony support personnel, who wanted to try a system firmware update. Needed network connection to the player (which I do not have), or wanted me to burn a CD. To much to ask. Needs to work out of the box. Can't expect the average buyer to spend hours trying to get it to work. In the end, does not work. Sony had no idea why.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geekers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It stinks!
12/3/2011

Customer review by alphawolf1104

1.0 stars 12/3/2011 by alphawolf1104
by alphawolf1104

So I have a PS3 and this was a secondary Blu-ray player. I got it, and yes, the set up was easy. The first movie I played was Iron Man 2 so I can see how good this player is and I was way disappointed! This player adds bars all around the picture on top of the original bars that the movie comes with. I have a 60" TV and I lost about 12" of picture; 4 on top, 4 on bottom, and 2 on each side. I connected my PS3 just to make sure it wasn't my imagination and the PS3 just makes the movie lose 4"; 2 on top and 2 on bottom, there is no loss on the sides. Do not buy this! I am returning this player ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alphawolf1104
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
poor netflix preformance
2/10/2012

Customer review by paullyphunn

1.0 stars 2/10/2012 by paullyphunn
by paullyphunn

dont buy this if u want to stream netflix. sony has a problem streaming netflix. otherwise it's nothing special......... you do indeed get what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paullyphunn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My First Blu-ray Player
12/2/2011

Customer review by JLR10

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by JLR10
by JLR10

I bought this Sony BDPS185 blu-ray player to only use it for blu-ray and dvd movies. The picture quality is outstanding, the sound is awsome and it was easy to connect. I'm going to buy another one for my upstairs living room. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLR10
Tolleson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No wifi!
1/2/2012

Customer review by blaumontag

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by blaumontag
by blaumontag

Upon looking at the box I was looking forward to using this unit for watching my DVDs and stream netfilx however when I brought the player home I learn the Internet was only possable using an eathernet connection this was a huge disappointment. Other than this so far this has been a good player is very quite plays all my older scratch double sided disc. menu layout takes some time to adjust to the print is very small.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blaumontag
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Item - Works Very Well - Excellent Value
12/23/2011

Customer review by skybooger

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by skybooger
by skybooger

I found this player to be everything it claimed. Also found it very easy to install and configure. I was enjoying Netflix and Hulu 20 minutes after walking in the door with no problems. NOTE: You need to have accounts set up with Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, etc. in order for these to work on the player. If you don't have accounts set up do yourself a favor and sit down at your computer with a keyboard and set those up before you even take the player out of the box. I'm heading back to Walmart this evening to buy two additional units for Christmas Gifts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skybooger
14221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bluray/DVD player! Great Price as well!
1/31/2012

Customer review by JenJen18

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by JenJen18
by JenJen18

I bought this player a few days ago on a whim, I was walking through the movie section and saw it for only $78 I decided to buy it since most movies now are Bluray + DVD together I wanted to be able to use both discs I'm purchasing. I brought it home hooked it up via composite cable to an old style tv (the ones with the big rear ends) even connected it to my Surround sound and it works like a charm! internet connects easily streamed some videos from youtube. Haven't hooked it up to my netflix account yet but so far I sold! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenJen18
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/20/2012

Customer review by bigmacford

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by bigmacford
by bigmacford

it is a great value,because you can get high quality from one machine,without having to buy 2 different ones,and a great price too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigmacford
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/21/2012

Customer review by blurayplayer2

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by blurayplayer2
by blurayplayer2

this blu ray player is awesome had it for a week awesome player picture is great love is i would so recommend to a friend

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blurayplayer2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small, Good performance for a lower end player.
3/19/2012

Customer review by Fuzzy2011

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Fuzzy2011
by Fuzzy2011

The player is the smallest I've seen, making a location spot quite easy. It plays dvds well and was very easy to install. It does have some problems: there is no indicator light when it's turn on, no indicator if dvd drawer is open or closed and the on screen graphics prior to playing a the dvds is very unfamilar.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fuzzy2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews