Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

91 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
23
1-20 of 90 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great for the price!
11/28/2011

Customer review by azxthao

4.0 stars 11/28/2011 by azxthao
by azxthao

so far it's a good product the only thing that I dont like about this is that when we need to do a search (ie youtube) it's hard to punch in the letters on the remote control, it's like the older older mobile phones that didnt have the keyboard or touch screen and you had to use the number key pad to text, no t9 either so that's a pain. so far youtube is the only apps that we used besides playing dvds! I hope this helps! it really is a great product! oh and another thing is that it is not wireless so you do need an ethernet cord to connect to the router.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azxthao
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by Hop41

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Hop41
by Hop41

I purchased the unit on black Friday. I was excited to get it home because I had never used Netflex before and was happy I found a unit that would serve as a streamer and blueray player. First off, it was easy to connect. The problem arose after I connected it to my internet service. Netflix and Hulu plus have to be registered with that service in order to use it. No problem right? Each time I tried to register it, the website displayed, "this service is unavailable in your country". This happened for over an hour. Finally my wife tried to contact tech support via web and was left in a chat box waiting for a tech that never responded. I am very very disappointed with Sony. I returned it the next day and purchased a Samsung for the same price. No problems after that. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (57) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hop41
Fenton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
what a disappointment!
12/27/2011

Customer review by LJS3

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by LJS3
by LJS3

This was our first blue-ray player that we purchased for our family for Christmas. We were very excited to set it up and watch a family movie tonight. What a disappointment it was. The screen flickers every couple of minutes. Every once in a while we would actually lose the picture all together and it would come back after a few seconds. We put in a different movie to make sure it wasn't a defect with the movie and got the same results. It is going back first thing in the morning. I am really surprised at the lack of quality with a brand like Sony.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LJS3
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/2/2011

Customer review by listen425

2.0 stars 12/2/2011 by listen425
by listen425

the blu-ray makes an annoying loud noise every time you load a movie! even when forwarding or rewinding a scene. this was my first blu-ray player, but i dont think they all do that. returning it after a week.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
listen425
Queens, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It plays Blu-rays... User friendly? NO!
11/29/2011

Customer review by LSUTiger88

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by LSUTiger88
by LSUTiger88

Not user friendly at all. I'm 23 and grew up with electronics, and I'm saying that. So if you want something easy to use, move along to another brand. The internet apps are useless (incredibly slow and hard to navigate). It is literally easier to connect my laptop to my TV and sound system and use it to access those apps on my TV. So if you buy this, buy it only for the fact that it plays blu-rays. Don't expect anything more.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSUTiger88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buzzing solved...Sony absolved. Spread the word.
5/6/2014

Customer review by dhdh

4.0 stars 5/6/2014 by dhdh
by dhdh

1st sony died within 90 days. 2nd sony would buzzed so load we couldn't hear the movie. Searched online over numerous nightmare scenarios of no solution and big bucks expenditures until I found a fellow who said the DVD's were not balanced. True some DVD's didn't buzz. It seems the labels are not centered on some and it throws the weight off at high speed spin... the sony even vibrates. I strategically applied clear layers of tape on the DVD and the buzz diminished. At four layers the buzz was gone and the sony was quieter than a whisper while playing the movie. The SONY now is working great!. Except. Sometimes we can only get the DVD out by unplugging the machine and restarting. It has trouble shutting down. The internet article that clued me suggested that the vibrating DVD discs can actually destroy the player... which explains the short life-span of my PC CD players which had the same intermittant problem and probably the 1st Sony.

dhdh
salem or
DO NOT BUY
11/30/2011

Customer review by Shopper10198

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Shopper10198
by Shopper10198

FIRST off it is an easy set up but won't connect with Netflix and hulu as promised. I just received this in the mail today and I've spent two hours trying to set it up to her (already opened) Netflix account and hulu for my mom as an early Christmas gift ....I'm taking it back first thing tomorrow. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY on this!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper10198
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Garbage, you get what you pay for.
12/15/2011

Customer review by Burk

1.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Burk
by Burk

Complete garbage. It plays BluRay discs fine but RARELY connects to the internet. I have a home gigabyte network and am very skilled at setup of manual network settings. This pile of trash wil only connect to the internet about 15% of time. Then it buffers and says "Network Error". You HAVE to sign up for (free) Sony account to use any of the extras... maybe Sony has the traffic running through its own servers then to the target service ??? I can connect with laptop, droid, tablet, but not this piece of garbage. Save your money the low price is not worth the frustration if you want to use any web services.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burk
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent unit for streaming (wi-fi) movies!!
12/5/2011

Customer review by STLredbirds

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by STLredbirds
by STLredbirds

I went ahead and bought this to try for myself. The load time for internet movies (Netflix, Crackle, etc.) is quick compared to the RCA streaming which took approx 3-5 mins to load! I did update the software and I highly recommend that you do. Sooo easy to do with very easy to understand on-screen instructions (a 3 year old can do this)!! My internet speed is 3 meg, quality output was very good using HDMI cable and thanks to the built in noise filter. The interface is good and easy to navigate. I'm not going to review the BluRay part... well, because everyone knows that BluRay is the best HD right now. However I will comment that the disc loads quickly. So... yeah go ahead and get this. I bought it on sale last week.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STLredbirds
STL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works, but not User-Friendly
3/6/2012

Customer review by ScroggSaidIt

3.0 stars 3/6/2012 by ScroggSaidIt
by ScroggSaidIt

First off, this blu ray player has a lot of features and is pretty slick!! I like the "Netflix" button as that's the main reason we bought a Blu Ray player (aside from it being the future). However, this model is NOT user-friendly. I could NOT get it to load up Netflix for about a day. Did some research and found help via the Sony site. You can set the "Internet Settings" manually if you're not afraid to do so and if you want to take the time. It won't work otherwise (at least it didn't for me). I let the Blu Ray player set things automatically first (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Auto). I took a picture of the screen with my phone (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>View Network Status) and then entered the settings manually (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Custom>Specify IP Address) exactly as the photo showed, but then used the DNS settings that the link suggests (4.2.2.2) for the SECONDARY DNS setting. I didn't use a proxy server ("No"), selected "Save & Connect", hit the "Netflix" button, and viola!! It worked!! I hope they allow all of this post so that others can use this product. If not, you'd better be tech savvy to get it working. This is NOT a plug-n-play component... :-/ Link to Sony Support: http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&externalId=C1017642&fes=true&mdl=BDPS185

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScroggSaidIt
Fair Play, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Full Sony Quality at Bargin Price
4/17/2012

Customer review by Wallace

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Wallace
by Wallace

This is an ideal Bluray player for those able to connect the Bluray palyer to the internet using 1) an ethernet cable from the player to a router, or 2) an ethernet cable from the player to a wireless ethernet brigde, which picks up and connects your player to your wireless home network (my arrangement) . Since I already had the bridge, I didn't have to pay considerably more for a Bluray player with built-in Wi-Fi. This player works so well and has the same internet platform as much more expensive Bluray players--i.e., Netflix, Pandora, YouTube, and many more. This player upscales all movies to its native 1080p resolution when used with an HDMI calbe. It also has a coaxial digital audio output you can run to your A/V receiver and surround sound system the same way you would with a more expensive Bluray player. Also this player loads Bluray DVDs fast and has the standard Sony features overall you'd expect. .

Wallace
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT BUY!!!
1/9/2012

Customer review by GIJoshua

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by GIJoshua
by GIJoshua

I read lots of reviews on lots of players before I purchased my first blu-ray player. The reasons I chose this unit are: 1) Price, 2) Brand, and 3) Options. The reviews I read were either at one end of the scale or the other. I am very please with the unit I purchased. I have not streamed any content on it at this point because we have Netflix on our Wii. The menu can take some getting used to if you haven't used other Sony products, but it is relatively easy to learn. Setup was easy too. I had my player up and running in only about 10 minutes if not less. People have complained that it is not wireless, not an issue for me, my router is in the same cabinet. If you NEED wireless I would not recommend this unit, if you can do without the wireless BUY IT NOW!!! I have not had any issues playing any movies on my unit, load times are fast no more than 10-20 seconds if I had to guess (not enough time to bother getting off the couch#. PROS: Affordable, Compact, Easy Setup #Plug and Play, easy as that#, Multiple Outputs #I have an older surround sound receiver so having the Red/White/Yellow RCA outputs was nice, although I only used the RED & WHITE for sound output and the HDMI for video out, and sound to the TV when surround is not needed#. CONS: Not Wireless #Like I said, not a big deal to me#,You MUST Register with the Sony website BEFORE the option to stream content becomes available #Sony website was SLOW!!!! My computer timed out 4-5 time atleast before I was able to get on that site, but all other webpages loaded fast on my computer.) ALL-IN-ALL A GREAT PURCHASE!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GIJoshua
Enid, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Won't be fooled again?
1/5/2012

Customer review by dpg4ya

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by dpg4ya
by dpg4ya

I am very frustrated after having my second PlayStation 3 stolen. The gaming isn't the thing we missed the most it was Netflix. Don't get me wrong the gaming was missed too. I bought this blu-ray player to be able to have the Netflix service available to us again. I also wanted to check out Hulu Plus. I bought three months worth of Hulu Plus on gift certificate/pre-paid cards. I still cannot get anything but youtube . The player makes you register with a code for each app you want[(it doesn't just come right on). Thats cool except for the error code I get each and everytime I've tried to get this hunk of you know what working. The Hulu Plus pre-paid cards I'm also finding out are really useless unless they get your credit card number too. So whats the reason for even selling pre-paid Hulu Plus if you still have to fork over your credit card number. To me this has been nothing I would recommend to anyone. Sony customer service is a joke too. You might as well put your story on tape and play it back for the 10 people you have to explain it to before being cut off . That would be less tedious than saying it over and over again.

dpg4ya
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does Not Read ANY Disks
12/29/2011

Customer review by Geekers

1.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Geekers
by Geekers

Got this for Christmas. Non-functional out of the box. Would not read any disks of any type, or any vintage (Blu-ray, DVD, CD). Tried Sony website. Of no help . Worked with Sony support personnel, who wanted to try a system firmware update. Needed network connection to the player (which I do not have), or wanted me to burn a CD. To much to ask. Needs to work out of the box. Can't expect the average buyer to spend hours trying to get it to work. In the end, does not work. Sony had no idea why.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geekers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It stinks!
12/3/2011

Customer review by alphawolf1104

1.0 stars 12/3/2011 by alphawolf1104
by alphawolf1104

So I have a PS3 and this was a secondary Blu-ray player. I got it, and yes, the set up was easy. The first movie I played was Iron Man 2 so I can see how good this player is and I was way disappointed! This player adds bars all around the picture on top of the original bars that the movie comes with. I have a 60" TV and I lost about 12" of picture; 4 on top, 4 on bottom, and 2 on each side. I connected my PS3 just to make sure it wasn't my imagination and the PS3 just makes the movie lose 4"; 2 on top and 2 on bottom, there is no loss on the sides. Do not buy this! I am returning this player ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alphawolf1104
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
poor netflix preformance
2/10/2012

Customer review by paullyphunn

1.0 stars 2/10/2012 by paullyphunn
by paullyphunn

dont buy this if u want to stream netflix. sony has a problem streaming netflix. otherwise it's nothing special......... you do indeed get what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paullyphunn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Features and Easy Set-up
1/11/2012

Customer review by filmstudent

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by filmstudent
by filmstudent

Very fast to start and holds a ton of features. The set-up, mechanically, is very simple. Very fast to install; however, each of the "bonus or add on features" have to be registered individually. Connecting to each service takes time and a lot of patients. Netflix, for example, works great during the day but at night, when a lot of people use it, there is a ton of lag. It has to buffer over and over again. Youtube on the other hand, those videos load pretty fast and work at all times due to youtubes greater bandwidth. The only problem is, not all videos are able to be played. I have a playlist, for songs, with over 50 videos but only 3 of them will play on here. Overall, I would say this is a good product to own. It is cheap, has all the features, starts fast and works great.

filmstudent
MI and Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad player
11/19/2011

Customer review by nealm423

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by nealm423
by nealm423

I have had many different players in the past, when I saw this one at Walmart, I knew I had to buy it, becasuse it did everything. Now the setup was easy, very easy. It played everything perfect(trying to understand why so many people had problems with this player?), I liked the fact that I can now watch my netflix shows in full HD(FINALLY), but when i tried out my usb stick, it told me it couldn't readi it? I am still puzzled on that part? Other then that, it works great! This is a darn good player and it works great with my wirerless bridage adaptar to. I am glad it comes with Slacker and Pandora to. Watching shows from Crackle is so much better then on my ROKU. SO I don't know why some of you are having problems with this playert, since so far I am not.

nealm423
fort collins co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Network Issues
10/25/2011

Customer review by Reen

2.0 stars 10/25/2011 by Reen
by Reen

I received my BDP-S185 2 weekends ago. I was able to get it up and running on every program except Netflix. I had to call back 3 times before someone actually told me there was a connection issue between Sony and Netflix and that an update would push right away. However, ever since the update I can not get onto Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Movies or any other content and I have to manually connect to the network to get the system to connect. The program will load, I will select my movie and then it will say Network Issue, or Unable to Connect. I am hoping this is a simple issue as I would really love to keep my unit. It does everything I was looking for...when it works. ***Please note, this would easily be 5 stars if I didn't have so many network issues***

Reen
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
General review
3/13/2012

Customer review by Rolo1

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Rolo1
by Rolo1

I bought this to view Netflix which did with minor issues. But first,the the question of WiFi ability-"Wi Fi ready" means you have to use an ethernet connection." WiFi built in" means ethernet cable is NOT required. Yes with Sony you have to have a Sony account but the DVD player will give comprehensive instruction on how to do this. And if you are still having problems you might need a more powerful router like Linksay 2500 and have you server juice up your modem for more MBPS. I now have up to 15 MBPS which is more than adequate.As additional info,I have two Sonys,one Samsung and a Vizio DVD player and prefer Sony first,Samsung second(not enough Apps) and Vizio third.The reason I did't give this player 5 stars is because it doesn't have a Component connection,only HDMI or composite(RCA ) connections only

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rolo1
Chesapeake,Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews