Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 41 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Excellent value... bought 2 of them
11/24/2011

Customer review by Bob5944

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by Bob5944
by Bob5944

I purchased 2 of these a few months ago and I am recommending them to a friend who wants to purchase 2. Excellent pic, sound and features. For the money I feel it's the best deal out there. Both of mine get heavy use and the only issue I've encountered with one is that when left on for hours and hours it has shut down on it's own. (this has happened twice). Pulling the plug and re-plugging the tv returns it to operating condition immediately. Lots of inputs, great sound, lots of menu options and a good picture. My only complaint is that you have to go through the menu to get to the sleep timer. Buy one and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (158) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob5944
Edwardsburg Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by yeahthatguy

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by yeahthatguy
by yeahthatguy

If you are looking for a cheap HDTV ( not saying the best) then look at the tcl brand. Sound is like most HDTV ( like old school am radio). Picture however is very good. Motion blur is not an issue. I got a dumb version but paired with a smart device like a smart blu ray you have all the internet you need. I found a ton of great reviews other places. Rumors are that the panels are made by samsung. Not saying it is good as the sony or samsung brands but..it is only just a step down. If you are on a tight budget or want a 2nd cheap tv really give this a look. I bought this on thanksgiving and it was delivered in very short order. Works fine hooked to a PC for a media center setup. If you have the right video card (say Nivida 520 series or better) it will do both video and audio over the hdmi connection. Not sure I would use this a monitor for some video games. When you get closer than say 4-5 feet you see why it costs less. Do the firmware update...easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yeahthatguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
12/11/2011

Customer review by JoeM84

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by JoeM84
by JoeM84

I bought this as a gift for my mother to replace her 32 inch CRT. I had done a lot of research online before purchasing this. TCL is a Chinese company that provides displays for Samsung. So I figured the screen quality had to be good if Samsung is willing to use them. I was not disappointed, picture is great for the price... will you find better out there? yes, but not for this price... probably not for 200 dollars more. The sound quality is a very pleasant surprise, I had planned on it being bad and having to buy a sound system but the speakers actually sound really good for an LCD TV. They are on the bottom and front facing. The TV has all the connections you would expect. A few on the side and most in the back, 3 HDMI's not 2. I did the firmware update at their website right away so I haven't had any problems with it turning off on it's own. Now some cons... the actual plastic casing on this is decent looking but not the highest quality(expected though). Every time you turn the TV on it displays the TCL brand name on the screen and it takes a few seconds before it actually starts displaying what you want. Also seems to be slow switching video inputs and resolutions. Going from an HD channel to a SD channel or reverse takes a couple seconds for the screen to adjust its settings. Overall... My mother is very happy with this TV and so am I. For a 40 inch 1080p LCD TV around 300 dollars I couldn't expect anything better.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeM84
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing tv!!!!!
11/30/2011

Customer review by techmom72

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by techmom72
by techmom72

I have only had this tv since 11/26/11 and I just love it. Was kind of hesitant about buying a brand of tv I had never heard of but the price was right and it comes with 2 year warranty. The picture is awesome, color is unbelievable, and the sound is great. I would recommend this tv to anyone. Don't have to pay high dollar for this product and still get a great tv!!!!!!!! Who says off brands can't be as good as the name brand companies. You won't be disappointed!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techmom72
hillsdale,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
firware update
12/9/2011

Customer review by herbalist2011

4.0 stars 12/9/2011 by herbalist2011
by herbalist2011

Bought TV on Thanksgiving day and received it on Monday. Super fast shipping from Walmart. Thanks! First the picture and sound greatly exceed my expectations. There are actually 3 HDMI inputs instead of 2 as listed in the specs. Another neat feature is auto adjustment to ambient light which is a great energy saving feature and improves picture quality. However, its default setting is "off" and the user has to go into setup to turn it on manually. The TCL does have a glitch though: it will turn on randomly by itself once a day! Fortunately there is a firmware update on the TCL website to fix this problem. I just did the update and it remains to be seen if it fixes the glitch. I docked a star because of this problem otherwise this TV is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
herbalist2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"Super Great"
11/20/2011

Customer review by dummbee

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by dummbee
by dummbee

I got one like this last summer its great,pic is super clear color is great the sound is very very good to excellent i don't think you can buy a better set at any price.

Was this review helpful? (412) (88)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dummbee
northwest ,Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/20/2011

Customer review by Ronnn85

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Ronnn85
by Ronnn85

Best TV out of the box. It has everything you will need in your bedroom. I am a technician and I work for Marantz and Denon. I have done audio for a long time, and video for past 4 years of my life. I normally don't buy any thing that i know nothing about. Sony is the BEST in video, Denon and Pioneer are the best in audio. However, before I make my decision about whether to buy an off brand TV or not, I have done a lots of research. Found out that the LCDs are made by Samsung. As a matter of fact, TCL has the full line of producing Samsung LCD and LED TVs. Alcatel was bought out by TCL and now its debating about whether to buy blackberry or not....etc. All in all, i decided to buy this TV for my bedroom as a Christmas gift for myself, where i could watch TV and play PS3. It is currently mounted on the wall. I have to say that I am very happy with it so far. Very sharp and nice looking too. no hassle with installation. I would buy another one for my sister if she says YES.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronnn85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/5/2011

Customer review by Jason8511

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Jason8511
by Jason8511

Very good TV for the price. However during the first few days of getting it the TV would turn itself on at Midnight every day. I downloaded the firmware update on the TV and since then it has not turn itself on again. If you have the same problems go to there website www.tclusa.com and get the firmware update.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jason8511
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding work-horse of a TV
12/4/2011

Customer review by Hickock22

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Hickock22
by Hickock22

Pros: reasonable cost refresh rate overall picture quality light weight Low power consumption Inky-black levels Cons: Sound (like most) remote Bought this 6 months ago for my son. I didn't want to let him have it after seeing the picture quality. About 90% the picture quality of our Samsung at 1/8th the price. Sound quality isn't stellar and the remote is cheesy but the picture quality and re-fresh rate puts this in first place amongst lower priced TV's with me. We bough a Toshiba a few months ago as Walmart was out of stock with TCL for several months. We spent $150 more and the TCL has superior picture quality. Rock solid TV for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hickock22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE WEBSITE UPDATE LOCATION
12/13/2011

Customer review by technosavytoo

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by technosavytoo
by technosavytoo

http://www.tclusa.com/firmware/firmwareupdate3.html After reading several purchase review comments, I decided to add this website page reference to ease update firmware application for future purchasers. Hope it helps. It is a simple procedure.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
technosavytoo
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
For the price it's great, good for no frills hdtv
11/30/2011

Customer review by wammyreviews

4.0 stars 11/30/2011 by wammyreviews
by wammyreviews

A good barebones tv. No internet, no special features. Will hook up to just about anything and will give you a clear crisp picture. Not as pricey as other models and you get what you pay for. What you are paying for in this case is a clear, crisp picture, but no features. If you don't need your tv to make cake and play netflix movies at the same time then this tv is for you. Perfect for college students. Great for the play room.

Was this review helpful? (53) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wammyreviews
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great picture
12/2/2011

Customer review by WaterMusic

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by WaterMusic
by WaterMusic

I bought this TV for my mom and I am very impressed with the picture quality. It is a straight forward tv and was very simple to hook up. Also very simple to use which is good for her. This TV actually has better reception then the old TV did with a Rabit Ear antenna and once again the picture quality is very good. The sound quality is average but loud and clear. This TV is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WaterMusic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/30/2011

Customer review by nayir67

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by nayir67
by nayir67

Received this TV in two days from the time I ordered it on line from WALMART. It was easy to setup and get started. It has easy adjustments for best picture and the HD picture is as good as the picture on my Sony 46" Bravia. Very happy about my purchase and I will recommend it to my friends. Great HD 1080P LCD TV at the best price I could fined of any other TV on the market.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nayir67
San Clemente
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price, great tv!
12/14/2011

Customer review by critterbritter

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by critterbritter
by critterbritter

I have only had this tv for one day but so far, I am impressed. The picture quality is great. The sound is good (not great.) It was easy to set up (no problems with assembling the stand) and one person can easily do this. I did the firmware update right away (just in case) which was very easy. I downloaded it to a usb memory stick and plugged it in to the usb port on the tv and it did exactly what the instructions said it would. I can't imagine spending $800 - $1000 for a tv, when quality and value like this is available, UNLESS you need all the "bells and whistles" for internet/gaming use (in which case I am not the right person to ask about those features.)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
critterbritter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really amazing TV for the money
12/9/2011

Customer review by rickerk

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by rickerk
by rickerk

I bought this TV after much research. I found out that the screens are made by Samsung. I am very surprised at the quality of this TV. Sound is WAY better than a Dynex TV I purchased. The look is sleek. The picture is great and colors are very vibrant. Totally worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rickerk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It
12/6/2011

Customer review by JRK99

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by JRK99
by JRK99

I Love it. I got it for my husband to play his PS3 on and after seeing the picture and sound it has. I took it and put it in our Bedroom. Now I have to order one for him. It only took 2 days to ship it to us. So happy with it. But with it being a brand I do not know I did get the 2 year warranty on it just in case.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRK99
Mentor Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Picture
12/2/2011

Customer review by raymcrae

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by raymcrae
by raymcrae

Very nice TV for the price. Basic features, no wifi. Great for watching Blu-ray and antennae TV or cable. Firmware update from manufacturer at link below is required, or TV will power up by itself. Excellent deal. Samsung guts. http://tclusa.com/en-us/modeldetail.html?MN=L40FHDM12

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raymcrae
hampton, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/3/2011

Customer review by sportsman7301

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by sportsman7301
by sportsman7301

buyer beware this tv will probably need an upgrade downloaded from the tcl website via flash drive to tv to fix a power on glich in the software. The tv will power on at its midnight auto power on default setting right out of the box even if it says it is off. Otherwise this has been an awsome tv for the money. It has loads of accessory plugins for any possible combination you may have. The speakers are ok but I recomend a sound system if you like cinema quality.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sportsman7301
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding product and value
12/3/2011

Customer review by TXGran

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by TXGran
by TXGran

Was a bit apprehensive about purchasing an off brand. Price seemed too good to be true, but comments seemed generally positive. Figured it had to be better than the 17 year old TV being replaced (already have two smaller flat screen TVs, so knew how bad the old TV was). Product was easy to set up and install by myself, even for this (admittedly non-techie) grandmother. Had to call cable company to walk through getting the new TV to communicate with the cable signal and cable company remote, but all issues were quickly resolved; couldn't be happier. Can't imagine what a more expensive TV could offer over this one; both surprised and very impressed with the quality and value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXGran
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
would definately buy again
2/2/2012

Customer review by luckypeny

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by luckypeny
by luckypeny

In looking for TV's, we saw the price on this and thought why soo cheap. Checked out he company name and saw that they are up & coming in the US and ranked 6th behind the top brands here. So we gave it a shot. Glad we did. The picture is great. Sound has adjustments so if you don't like the way it's coming out you can change that. In going to set our main remote we didn't find a TCL code in Direct TV's help book, but after going online we found something that said to use the same code as RCA for this brand; this worked. We are not into gaming on our TV so a whole bunch of extra plug-in features didn't concern us. It has them but not many. Overall for the money we have been pleasantly surprised. Kept looking to see if we could find a better deal for this size TV and no one came close. Would definatley buy it again. The only thing wrong is we wish it was bigger but if they come out with a bigger TCL we would buy it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luckypeny
Burlington NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews