Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
19
1-20 of 57 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Unbeatable value, great performance, clever design
12/1/2011

Customer review by Barrytone

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Barrytone
by Barrytone

I bought this to replace an old "no-frills" Amcor GPS I had that finally expired. This GPS works great, has a lot nice features like an address book and is a very clever design. One thing in particular that I like is that the power cord connection is held captive by the mounting bracket, so it can't accidentally fall out or break the mini-USB input jack. The operation is very intuitive it is easy to use, and it looks cool, too. I didn't even bother installing the free map upgrade, it seems to be up-to-date right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (87) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barrytone
Auburn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Out of date
11/28/2011

Customer review by tj0907

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by tj0907
by tj0907

I already have a Garmin GPS but got this one in lieu of updating the Garmin as it is a few years old. Businesses that have been around for 7-8 years do not come up on this GPS and it tells me that EVERY destination is on the opposite side of the road that it is actually on. I figured I needed to use the free upgrade immediately to get it up to date, but it says the decide is up to date. Will be returning ASAP. DISAPPOINTED!

Was this review helpful? (111) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tj0907
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Baseline for Price
11/29/2011

Customer review by Believer101

3.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Believer101
by Believer101

You get what you pay for. I went from a Tom Tom XXL to this Magellan. I bought it because of the price and needed to replace my broken Tom Tom. There aren't as many features and customizations as other GPS units and the maps are in my estimation 85-90% acurate. My unit shows road where there are none, and businesses where there are none. I put in an address to test the unit and it missed the address by several hundred yards. A bit disappointing, but it gets me to where I want to go (for the most part). I would recommend investing in a higher value more sophisticated unit.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Believer101
Winchester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/25/2011

Customer review by thegpswizard

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by thegpswizard
by thegpswizard

very good, fast and cheap has no problem come with a free map update it locate where u are in a minute its better than the one i had the Magellan 1440 Road mate

Was this review helpful? (47) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thegpswizard
Arlington TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice unit, but only includes maps of US/PR
11/30/2011

Customer review by BBSCPA

4.0 stars 11/30/2011 by BBSCPA
by BBSCPA

I've used a Magellan 3400-series GPS for 3 years now and looked at new alternatives to find one that locks onto satellites faster (although the old one was notably faster than Garmins of the same era) and has newer maps, including the interstate in my area built about 8 years ago. This 3120 looked like it fit the bill, especially at its low cost that was less than the map update cost for my old unit. My impressions are good overall. I've never found Magellans to be hard to use, and this one has improved the older interface in some key areas. The touch screen is more sensitive than my old unit, which helps if you're used to using a very sensitive iPhone or similar device. The points of interest database has many useful updates, and the routing is comparable to my old unit. The "street view" way of showing ramps and the overhead signs is new to me, and I found it helpful in determining what the GPS is saying to do. Finally, I'll note that the signal lock IS faster than my old unit, and that's a welcome improvement. On the downside, the product description says this includes maps of Canada as well as the U.S. and Puerto Rico. This is important to me, as I travel to Canada 3-4 times per year. However, the 3120 unit is a true entry level machine and includes on the U.S./P.R. maps. See the photos if you don't believe me. I'll have to return this unit because of the missing Canadian maps. If you don't need the maps of Canada, I think you'll find it tough to find a better unit with 30% of this price, especially for a new one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBSCPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow! Unbelievable price!
12/8/2011

Customer review by electronicmasta

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by electronicmasta
by electronicmasta

Great product for a great price! Can't be the $59 for a 5" screen with one time map update. I have used Magellan products before and they work just fine. The maps are updated and have no problem getting to places. I Love the fact that it comes with a mount, car charger and all the things you need to use it out of the box. Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electronicmasta
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Spend the extra $30 and get a garmin nuvi
12/6/2011

Customer review by Jsantefe

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Jsantefe
by Jsantefe

I was drawn by the pricepoint, but you get what you pay for. This unit has no speed limit indicator like the nuvi, the "lane assist" does not do squat until you have already passed the exit you need, and you cannot customize anything like the voice or icon like you can with the nuvi. This unit is can't hang with the other units in this class. I have a garmin nuvi and it blows this thing away and it was $99. Get the Garmin.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jsantefe
Would recommend to a friend? No
cannot be connected and updated
12/17/2011

Customer review by bill19073

1.0 stars 12/17/2011 by bill19073
by bill19073

I bought this thinking it was cheaper than updating the maps on my garmin and had a bigger screen. I was able to use it for one trip, and the large screen and quick response were nice, but then I downloaded the content manger and registered it. Well, now it doesn't work at all. My windows 7 had problems with the device driver. The registration and map service doesn't know about this model, without trying about 10 times, so you have to wonder about the magellan internet system. finally, the content manager said it could find it and recognized the device attached, and that there was an updgrade to the software. So I told it to upgrade, and after about 5-10 minutes, it says there is a device error and to cancel. SO I try again, and it tells me the map is already being used by another device -- what map? Do I unplug everything and try again, usually having it say the map is in use, and sometimes saying it is upgrading the software, then it fails. the end result is that it now has a picture of a PC and the GPS, so it won't either use what it has nor will it upload the new software. Trying support is a joke, and I hung up after waiting an hour. I don't know if it is this GPS or Magellan in general, but don't buy this device since the first time you try to connect it will be the last time it will work

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bill19073
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good GPS for casual use.
1/9/2012

Customer review by lbardo

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by lbardo
by lbardo

This replaced my 4ish year old TomTom One and overall I'm very happy with it. Works great out of the box. The main problem I had with it is there's a software update from Magellan but when you install, it automatically fails and bricks the device. It's an easy fix, you just have to find where the the update downloaded itself to and manually run it (outside Magellan Content Manager -- See Magellan support forum before updating!) then it works fine. But it was disappointing to see it fail, I hope they fix that issue with another update soon because it could turn away less computer savvy people who want to update. I think it's a bug in the Content Manager, not the GPS itself. After the fix it works great. As with any GPS in the $70-150 price range you will have some POIs that are outdated but for the most part it seems to be spot on so far. It doesn't have all the "cool" features than the TomTom I switched from had, but it has more practical features like the auto-detour, auto-night/day mode, lane assist, and telling you what side of the road the destination is on. Usually finds GPS signal in about 15 seconds whereas my TomTom would sometimes take 10 minutes(!). Highly recommended for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lbardo
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so far so good
12/21/2011

Customer review by rockcicak

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by rockcicak
by rockcicak

Got it a couple of days ago with the super good price. Use it right out of the box, no problem at all, our lcoal highway had a new exit just a while ago and it could tell. Think I could use it for quite a while before updating the map. I had an old Magellan GPS for a couple of years already, still working fine. The only complains I had about the older one is occasionally when it gets close to the destination, it points me to the other side of the road. For the new one, have not seen the problem yet and we will see. This new model definitely better than the older one on bigger screen, battery life, functionality, faster response time, intuitive instructions and it shows more accurate position even off street or in a parking lot. With the price I paid, I am really happy about my purchase. Plus Walmart does have some good deals this holiday season. Keep going.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockcicak
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very good and useful
12/27/2011

Customer review by CariT

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by CariT
by CariT

I got this last year for Christmas and like it so much that I bought my mom one for Christmas this year. It has a nice big screen, clear graphics, and is easy to use. We've used it frequently over the last year and it hasn't let us down yet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CariT
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
this is for the freeze up
12/20/2011

Customer review by garfield5769

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by garfield5769
by garfield5769

UPDATE FREEZE 12/19/2011 Hey there, i, like many apparently, having this problem. i luckily found a gps site where someone posted a fix. and thank god it works. temporarily turn off your anti virus and firewall. This folder was located here for me: C:\Users\{your User name}\AppData\Local\Temp\ContentManager\update (u will have to type this in, cause it doesnt show up in the initial list.) I opened that folder and went down the list till i found setup. Then run setup.exe from that folder. a grey magellan wizard box opened up. follow instructions from there. Prior to starting the update, hold the power off button until the GPS screen goes black and then power up the unit while not attached to the computer's USB port. Then start the update, it will find the unit and complete. When the unit is detached from the PC, it will finish the update process (it takes a few reboots). update took about 30 seconds from pc. here is site url just in case. http://forums.gpsreview.net/viewtopic.php?t=24617 aside from this problem that came up, i have liked this gps a lot. there is no canada map as listed somewhere. i use this daily as i am a delivery driver.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garfield5769
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
big screen, easy to use
2/7/2012

Customer review by ddkshopper

4.0 stars 2/7/2012 by ddkshopper
by ddkshopper

I have owned two Garmin units over the years, and I actually now prefer this Magellan unit. It is much easier to set up, and the volume control is on the front screen which is much more convenient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddkshopper
Suwanee GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product at a low price
1/30/2012

Customer review by Dave5312

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Dave5312
by Dave5312

Super deal... works great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dave5312
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent price
2/2/2012

Customer review by janelisa

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by janelisa
by janelisa

The first one I got and after two days put under the seat and forgot about it. When I moved the seat I broke the glass. This happened after only 2 days of use. I immeadiately went back on line and bought my second one. I have had over a month and love it. Just plug and use. My six year old grandson uses it every time he is in the car. Tells elevation, speed, miles left and even estimated time of arrival. When I go a backroad it recalculates the route for me. What more could you ask for only $60. Screen is 4.7" and is a good size with nice colors also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janelisa
Westfield IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
12/29/2011

Customer review by Idahopotatoarethebest

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Idahopotatoarethebest
by Idahopotatoarethebest

I bought this unit last week because of it's price point and so far it has been great. It worked right out of the box and had no problem going to Utah over the Christmas weekend. I like the fact that it was easy to use and it came with all the hardware and accessories(car charger and window mount). The screenn size is great and one of my favorite feature is that when I am about to exit or hit a cross section the view zooms in...Thanks Magellan and WM Dot com for a great product for a great price. Best deal around for a GPS unit this year by far!!! p.s don't know why you would need to update the product or plug it into a computer..you can use it right out of the box..save the one time update when you really need them in about a year or two..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idahopotatoarethebest
Pocatello, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
New model,works for me
1/18/2012

Customer review by Concise

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Concise
by Concise

No issues.Faster than my other gps. Wish it came with a dash disk 3m but got 4 for $6 off eBay

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Concise
Delmar,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
User-friendly for all GPS, great value!
2/5/2012

Customer review by sunnyedog

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by sunnyedog
by sunnyedog

I have tried Tom Tom, Garmin and Magellan GPS systems. I returned all but the Magellan for the simplicity. Occasionally a GPS will fail you - but more times than not, my Magellans have provided me with the security & convenience that one expects from a GPS unit. I have spent more of other Magellan systems and must say that this unit is serving just me as well. I do recommend this GPS system

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnyedog
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good GPS
12/20/2011

Customer review by Martsev

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Martsev
by Martsev

This is my first GPS and is working very well. Bought it for $59.98 and was glad that Walmart gave me a refund for th price difference after I made a request since the unit price has gobe down. Initialy had a problem updating the device software but was fixed. Hopefully Walmart can show my comment on bill19073 post on how to fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martsev
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Died in 4 days
12/22/2011

Customer review by Nick

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Nick
by Nick

I bought 2 gps from Walmart: this one and Garmin 50lm. Just wanted to compare which one would work better for me. Well, I was pretty happy with Magellan until it did not recognized a road which was build 2 years ago. Apparently gps came with outdated maps. Moreover there was not a map update on Magellan's web site, :(. Today device just died on me. Simply did not power on.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nick
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews