Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

65 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

65 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

32%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
12
1 stars
31
1-20 of 60 total reviews
32%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
great phone!
10/12/2011

Customer review by dogsledder15

4.0 stars 10/12/2011 by dogsledder15
by dogsledder15

This phone is great! Pros: looks good, easy to use, touch resoponds well, calls are clear, app capable, takes video, hold battery charge really well, resonable price, only $45 a month, gets good service, web surfing is easy, and it doesnt freeze up. Cons: not many apps to choose from and kind of expensive. has randomly shut off a few times but doesnt really bother me. the key board is kind of small and i have pretty small hand and fingers so if you are a person with bigger hands texting will be kind of hard. but i think texting will get easyer as i get used to the touch screen (first touch screen phone i have ever had). all in all this is a really nice phone, and its great if you want a phone that looks like it cost a lot when it really doesnt and it looks like a phone you would get from verizon or at&t. i have had this phone for about a month now and its been good so far.

Was this review helpful? (196) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dogsledder15
Kennan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Phone
9/29/2011

Customer review by auntieG50

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by auntieG50
by auntieG50

I bought this phone for my nephew to replace his previous phone which died. So far its been doing a pretty good job. My nephew loves it and the phone is doing pretty much everything he wants, facebook, texting, talking and surfing the internet on occasion ( he doesn't do much of that). All in all a good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (210) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntieG50
Prince George's Cty, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent no-contract phone for the price.
10/7/2011

Customer review by TarkusLV1

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by TarkusLV1
by TarkusLV1

This is actually my first "smart" phone, so my opinion might be higher than someone with more experience with smart phones. That said, I really like this phone. It's easy to use, gets mostly very good reception (AT&T network, I believe), and the sound quality is very good on both ends. The manual is not very good, but it's pretty easy to figure things out over time. The virtual keyboard takes some getting used to. After a few days, I mastered it pretty well. There are still a few keys that are a bit difficult to hit, one of them, ironically, the rather large space key. Also, T9 seems to have a mind of its own. Sometimes it's on and sometimes it's off, for no apparent reason. There is a key to disable it, but I wish it wouldn't keep coming back on. I find it more annoying than helpful. The built-in web browser is terrible, but Opera Mini 6.1 works great on it. Lots of cool features in Opera Mini, including saved passwords and tabs. I would probably knock at least one star off my review if I had to use the built-in browser, but I really like Opera Mini on this phone. And I use the web quite a lot on the phone. Just be sure to disable Opera's built-in keyboard, because the keys are tiny (much smaller than those built into the phone). One negative. It has three separate screens for widgets. I've tried several times to add widgets to each screen (four total), and at some point the phone will tell me it's had to disable them because it ran out of memory, and they don't come back automatically. Adding a 32 GB MSD card didn't help, as I'm sure that's only used for storage. Two of the widgets were Facebook and Twitter. Maybe those are more memory hungry than others, so I'll try others later. Also, there is an option to block callers, but I haven't figured out what it's actually blocking, since they still ring and can leave messages. Not sure if that's a bug, or I just don't understand the function. It would be nice if I really could block certain numbers. The WiFi function is nice, except it's not automatic. It will automatically disconnect after 5 minutes of activity. Then you have to manually connect again. You can change the time out setting (I set mine to 15 minutes, but may increase it even more), but sometimes it will get disconnected even before timing out. If you're using the $30 plan, it's a good idea to use WiFi when you can. It has the added benefit of not showing you that annoying dialog all the time, that shows you how much data you've used.

Was this review helpful? (159) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TarkusLV1
Roseburg, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Sunflowers48

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Sunflowers48
by Sunflowers48

I really like my Samsung T528G!! I just wanted to say that it does work in my area, when I put in my zip code it said it would not work, but it does work!!!

Was this review helpful? (204) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunflowers48
Ozark, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks like the Eternity, but isn't
10/17/2011

Customer review by JethroP

2.0 stars 10/17/2011 by JethroP
by JethroP

While under contract with AT&T, I had a Samsung Eternity for nearly two years. I absolutely loved that phone. However, I got sick of paying AT&T's price for monthly service, so I switched to Straight Talk. I have no issue with Straight Talk; can't beat $30/mo for 1000 mins/1000 texts/30MB data. I was very excicted to see this phone arrive in Straight Talk's lineup. It looked just like a Samsung Eternity, but, in some ways, it falls short. I had the phone for a little more than two weeks and took it back. The main reason was I simply could not use this phone/get adapted to the touch screen. The Samsung Eternity had a feature in the settings that allowed you to callibrate the touch of the phone to the user. No such feature exists on this phone. I found myself hitting letters one time and then three of them would appear; would try to type and the screen would freeze; and so on. It had many of the same features as the Eternity, but, the lack of calibration was the clincher for me to return the phone. Otherwise the browsing was pretty good and wi-fi was awesome on a phone that didn't require the $45/mo unlimited plan. It also didn't have as many ringtones pre-installed as the Eternity and it didn't feel like the phone could take ordinary abuse (being dropped accidentally) without falling apart. It felt pretty cheap to me. This is the first Samsung phone I've ever owned and been disappointed with, which is why I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JethroP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good phone
10/17/2011

Customer review by Crazycrow1

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Crazycrow1
by Crazycrow1

After reading some of the negative reviews I was some what hesitant to purchase this phone, but the touch screen format and the 3G and wireless connection abilities sold me on it. I ordered site to store on Wednesday night and picked it up on a Friday. Not only that, it was $20 less than one in the store. I use an IPad, so the touch interface was a plus. The phone has worked flawlessly and met all my expectations. Even the much maligned Straight Talk customer service when I called about setting up voice mail went well. I am on the At&t network with the phone and even in a rural area it gives good service. The wireless is sweet! The camera for a 2 pic is good. All functions are easy to find and use. No, it is not an IPhone, but for the price, it is a good phone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crazycrow1
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The smartest non-smart phone?
11/6/2011

Customer review by huskerfan0425

4.0 stars 11/6/2011 by huskerfan0425
by huskerfan0425

After reading the reviews for this phone I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Set up/opening: The packaging and set up instructions on the phone are pretty straight forward. I think the older folks and non-tech savy could get in and be ready to use the phone without technical assistance. Construction: I will start by saying that the phone itself is well made and feels pretty solid. I haven't dropped it yet, but it feels like it would take a few drops without serious damage. The screen is made of glass, I think, so that is a plus. All of the buttons have a nice feel to them. The charging cord is kind of chintzy, but all you do is charge with it so not a big issue. Smartness: This phone is not on par with more expensive models. Saying that, this phone is not a real smart phone only because it doesn't have an OS(Android or the Apple one). Meaning it only runs generic Java based programs through a program designed for this phone. So the only thing you will miss with this phone is the neat apps. Don't be discouraged because of that though, this phone is awesome for the regular user who doesn't need the junk. Useage: The phones screen and text useage has been a review debate here. I think the screen is great, but the texting is a bit of a letdown. I have used slider phones with the push button qwerty keyboards and they are alot better, but in the half month I have used the touch screen I have become much more proficient. Calling sound is good, I can hear others and they can hear me. Enough said. Speaker function is loud and clear. The phone locks during calls so no cheek dialing. Extras: This is what sold me on the phone overall. The things that I never used on my old phones, such as the calendar, alarm, calculator, and others are all so well laid out that they make the phone seem like a real smart phone. The alarm allows you to choose what days you want each alarm to come on, and how long the snooze is and how many times it comes on. The calendar is very useful. It lets you set appts. simply and has the alarm function for those as well. Hands down best feature of the calendar is the repeat function. If you have the same appt. every week you don't have to enter it in over and over again, just once and hit repeat, awesome. The phone also has WiFi, I use it pretty much every day and have had no problems with the dropping issue others have complained about. Overall: This phone is very user friendly and fairly simple to use. The texting is a little tough, but it works well. If you buy get used to the T9 text function, it is your friend or your worst enemy. The build is good. Battery life is very long, I left mine on the counter for five days and it still wasn't dead when I came back. Functions are amazing, if you like to be organized this phone is very handy. If you want to venture out into the touchscreen "smart" phone world this phone would be a good entrance.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskerfan0425
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT WORTH THE BOX IT WAS PUT IN!
10/21/2011

Customer review by whtailhntr00

1.0 stars 10/21/2011 by whtailhntr00
by whtailhntr00

I've had this phone for three and a half months now, like others have posted it is the dumbest "smartphone" ever! About four times a day it will give the time and date set back in Dec 31st 2010. It turns off on it's own just sitting on the desk. I've had lots of dropped calls, where other Straight Talk phones haven't had any problems. I've been on the phone with customer service more times than I can remember. The phone on numerous occasions the phone would not go to the message page, it just says intializing. When customer service was called they said their systems weren't showing anything wrong with the phone. I've had several cell phones over the last fifteen years, but this one is the worst phone i've ever owned. I do not recomend this phone to anyone not even for target practice, which is what I ended up using mine for!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whtailhntr00
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BAD PHONE!!
10/23/2011

Customer review by Redbush

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by Redbush
by Redbush

For two months straight after i got it, this phone has been dropping calls, freezing and locking up. For two months straight I've been trying to get straight talk to fix it but they won't. so save your money and don't buy this phone!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redbush
Fort dodge
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst touch phone ever
10/27/2011

Customer review by queenery

1.0 stars 10/27/2011 by queenery
by queenery

I have owned countless touch screen phones, both high and low end. This is the absolute worst one. The locking feature (press and hold an on screen button) takes a couple of tries to access the phone. The texting interface is very ANTI user-friendly and even highly experienced / fast paced texters have to take their time on this phone. The widgets are glitchy and sometimes get stuck on the screen. If you use a memory card to hold additional pictures then it is hard to access them. As far as the hardware goes, this is the least durable touchscreen that I have ever owned. A one foot drop will leave a very nasty crack, even if it doesn't fall face down.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queenery
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do Not Get This Phone
10/28/2011

Customer review by GitPlayer

1.0 stars 10/28/2011 by GitPlayer
by GitPlayer

Not a good phone. Touchscreen is slow and the QWERTY touchscreen keyboard is too small to be useful. I could deal with that, but what I can't deal with is all the problems. It randomly reboots itself and often just dies even when battery icon indicates there is plenty of charge left. Sometimes windows or alerts will flash with beeps for no reason and will not stop until you pull the battery, plug in the charger, then put battery back in (in that order). Most recent problem is messaging sometimes will not initialize so I can't send or receive messages, and even when I get it back, it no longer recognizes my contacts so only the phone number displays not the contact's name. StraightTalk has agreed to replace phone but I doubt the next one will be any better. Read up on this model of phone and you will find plenty of other people who have similar issues.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GitPlayer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Makes a better paper weight than a phone.
10/12/2011

Customer review by TWB1990

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by TWB1990
by TWB1990

I was excited when I saw this phone in-store. It had a very promising touch screen and seemed like the phone for me. The first day was great, the only problem I had was getting used to the touch screen keypad (which is expected). But starting day two the phone started acting up. The time and date would be completely off (12-31-10 when it was 10-09-11). It stayed like that all day and while it was like that the service was sketchy (at best). It continues to go back to doing that. I would NEVER recommend this phone to anyone else. I am taking this phone back as soon as Straight Talk sends me a new SIM card for my previous phone.

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TWB1990
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected, nor hoped for.
10/22/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/22/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very skeptical when it came to buying this phone. I wanted to keep my service, and my phone number, and was looking at the new Andriod. I found out that ran on Sprint. No thanks. This phone was my next option. I needed a new phone since my previous Straighttalk phone was starting to give, which I completely understand after two years. So I went for this phone. Everything started out okay, but I was still unsure. I have not had this phone for two weeks, and it is going back tomorrow. T9 is helpful, but adds serious lag to typing. Texting on this phone is frustrating and annoying. Answering a phone call is quite the hassle, you have to hold the Accept button for far to long. I can't access my messaging whenever I want, "Initializing" pops up and then does not open my inbox. The "Touch and Hold to Unlock" Button does not always work. I'll try three or four times before I just use the side button. The date keeps messing up. I am just very disappointed with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad
10/11/2011

Customer review by Mandie823

1.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Mandie823
by Mandie823

My husband bought me this phone back in july and for the first week it was great but since then i have had nothing but problems with it. It restarts itself alot, shuts off for no reason, half the time i cant make out going calls or messages and i have to turn it off and back on like 10 times before it will work again. When i called customer service (numerous times) they told me there was nothing they could do because they said their computers showed that my phone was working, so they wouldnt replace it and even if they would have it would take 2 weeks. As soon as i can i am getting a new phone and throwing this thing in the trash. THE WORST $100 WE'VE EVER SPENT.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mandie823
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
bad phone
10/13/2011

Customer review by Sweetpea11577

1.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Sweetpea11577
by Sweetpea11577

I was excited 2 get this phone I have been wanting it SO BAD.. everything worked fine.. for the 1st 2 days on the 3rd day it crashed it wouldn't charge up or anything luckily I was still in my 15 days warrenty with walmart so I carried it back.. my advise is NOT to by this phone is u want a touch screen go with a company that has had touch screens 4 a while like at&t they have had time 2 work out all the little bugs unlike straight talk.. my sister has had her's about 3 mnts now & it freezes up on her & she cannot access facebook apps & other things!

Was this review helpful? (13) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetpea11577
panama city fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned after 2 days
10/26/2011

Customer review by nurserumble

1.0 stars 10/26/2011 by nurserumble
by nurserumble

Liked every feature of the phone with the exception of the touch functions. Hmmm. Given that you have no choice but to use the touch screen, that's pretty big. The touch screen does not respond properly - especially with anything less than summer-warm hands (i.e. had to keep blowing on my hands to get it to respond#. The touchpad keys are tiny and aren't calibrated well #and there is no way to recalibrate). They also don't respond quickly. A text that would take me 20 sec was taking well over 1 min. Doesn't seem like a big deal - unless you often rely on having 20 sec to send a quick message. Any mistakes often resulted in sending the text as I attempted to push the 'back/erase' key. Again, no big deal if you don't mind sending multiple confusing texts to a bewildered recipient. Only reason it took me two days to return it was because I didn't have time the first day. With all of the touch-screen technology available, there is no reason to settle for something this non-responsive.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nurserumble
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok phone for beginners
9/12/2011

Customer review by BigDaddyD5

2.0 stars 9/12/2011 by BigDaddyD5
by BigDaddyD5

I have always used high-end android smart phones. Well, mine broke and I didn't have the $$ to replace it immediatelty. This phone is a good phone it's just not a real smart phone.

Was this review helpful? (37) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDaddyD5
Southwest MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hated it. Returned it.
9/29/2011

Customer review by LatteLisa

1.0 stars 9/29/2011 by LatteLisa
by LatteLisa

I had this phone for a few hours and just couldn't deal with it. Every time I touched a letter or number it entered the wrong one. Takes too long to open a message and view attachments. I wouldn't pay $10 for the phone.

Was this review helpful? (27) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LatteLisa
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just a pain
11/2/2011

Customer review by Alleythedog

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Alleythedog
by Alleythedog

I bought this phone mainly because It was touch screen and thought that is going to be a good phone. Well I was wrong this phone and I have had a love hate relationship from day 1. You can be talking on it and it will just restart its self out of no where. It is so irritating when you are talking to your boss and the phone turns it self off twice.I love the touch screen and the fact that it is light and slim makes it supper easy for travel and everything but Its now worth the head ache. I bought this phone when it was $99 I thought that was a good price at the time. Well they have since reduced the price and and it is too high in my option. I hope that if you do buy this phone that you dont have the same luck as I did but from what I read your chances are slim.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alleythedog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone Great Price
11/6/2011

Customer review by puddin84

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by puddin84
by puddin84

I had the Nokia E71 smart phone and decided to drop it into my drink the other night HAHAHA (accident). Well I had to get another phone and wanted a touch screen and went ahead and purchased the Samsung touch screen. It has not given me any issues at all and I live in the mountains, the signal is great and the phone has not been acting weird at all. I have read all the reviews before and after I got the phone and all I hear is bad, bad, and worse about it. I do not know if these people have abused this phone or what but mine has not froze, cut off on its own, or lost signal/dropped calls. Come to find out after I allowed my Nokia E71 to dry out and kept it apart for a day, I put it back together and it works like a charm LOL. I guess paying $200 for that phone was well worth it since it took a whole cup of mountain dew and still works like I had just purchased the phone (crazy). I still plan on using the Samsung touch screen for now and hopefully I do not encounter all the issues everyone else has mentioned on this site and others.. Great Buy

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
puddin84
Princeton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews