Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 217 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

217 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

217 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 153 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
This has been a decent laptop so far.
3/1/2012

Customer review by CorsairII

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by CorsairII
by CorsairII

I have read many reviews where a product is cut down because the buyer didn't read the specification. For instance, one bought a desk top and when they got home discovered it didn't have wireless, duh, it was stated in the specification that it didn't have wireless. So, I am rating this laptop from a hardware perspective and not because Windows 7 is slightly different from XP and requires some time to learn and also I am not comparing it to a $1,000 laptop that has more bells and whistles. I was looking for a basic unit because I don't play game and only store pictures, I don't play movies nor do I need other high powered graphic. My old laptop, a Thinkpad T20 is/was working fine but XP will be out of style soon so it was time to move to Windows 7 and of course that in itself required new hardware. In this unit I have sufficient memory - 2 GB - a 320 HD, a DVD that burns, and a sufficient number of USB ports (3). Wireless, Ethernet, a card read, and a camera so I can watch myself type. I found a neat utility that can be configure to allow the touch pad to be disable if a external mouse is attached. This is an HP product even though it labeled Compaq and has HP utilities installed. Battery life is very good. So, for a basic laptop with a very nice display and a price that is almost unbelievable, I'm a happy camper!

Was this review helpful? (449) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CorsairII
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Computer!
3/25/2012

Customer review by MNMom2M

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by MNMom2M
by MNMom2M

Especially for the price, you cannot beat this computer. I would buy another one in a minute. I like to attach an external optical mouse and it works great on the arm of my easy chair.

Was this review helpful? (114) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MNMom2M
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
overall its a good laptop and also my first laptop
3/30/2012

Customer review by craig1983

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by craig1983
by craig1983

i dont download anything but i do watch videos on youtube and watch movies and listen to music on youtube and cds and dvds and it works just fine an excellent value! i read one review and it said be careful with the screen so i open it from the center not the corners. i use the wifi its great i took it on vacation and got resturaunt reviews and directions. searching the web is fast enough

Was this review helpful? (102) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craig1983
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/12/2012

Customer review by DOHCKILLER

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by DOHCKILLER
by DOHCKILLER

good over all laptop. have had it for 1 month work great just what i needed the only flaw is the right clicker broke 4 days after i got it still works but have to click in the corner of it over all very good laptop for the price!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (114) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DOHCKILLER
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great computer for the price
4/5/2012

Customer review by ANGEG33

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by ANGEG33
by ANGEG33

This computer met all my expectations than some, it came with an ereader called Blio that works great, the speed is excellent and the programs load fast. I would definitely recommend this computer.

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANGEG33
Lucerne valley,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware of HP warranty
3/7/2012

Customer review by kmen

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by kmen
by kmen

Beware - HP will consider any defect in the screen (big black blobs which happened to me after 6 months) as being an accident caused by the purchaser and not covered under the warranty. They consider any problems like this as being caused by the user, even simply opening the laptop from one corner or the other if you can believe that. Under no circumstances should you buy this (or perhaps any HP laptop) without an extended warranty that covers accidents. Calls to HP were pointless and their best offer was to repair the screen at a price that was almost as much as the laptop. Shameful and shortsighted on their part. Look elsewhere and double check warranty!!!!

Was this review helpful? (137) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmen
Would recommend to a friend? No
It Works For Me
6/23/2012

Customer review by CupCayke

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by CupCayke
by CupCayke

Bought this laptop on a limb - I think Its the daredevil in me! I was in walmart just browsing around - had no intentions on buying a computer/laptop when I walked into walmart that day but I saw it for an amazing price and picked it up - so glad I did. I'm not a high techy person. I am a normal internet shopping, everyday emailing, social networking and picture sharing person. I don't download music or movies on this laptop - I have a desktop for the heavy stuff. I just needed something that I could carry and still be able to social network, shop and email on the go. And it works fine! I also let my kids watch their dvds on it which is great AND I had this laptop for 5months now and I just discovered its built in camera - how cool is that?! So if you're a pretty basic computer person and don't need it to create award winning tunes and videos I think this could work. I love my laptop and I loved the price that I paid for it as well!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CupCayke
Everett, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Price vs work computer
4/4/2012

Customer review by Spinner428

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Spinner428
by Spinner428

I shopped for a everyday computer for work and moblie internet. But my budget is under 380.00 just for computer. I shopped Wal-Mart store. I shopped Best buy Office Depot and Target. No luck for a good deal. So I shopped the dot coms. Amazon WalMart Target ebay. The Next day after shopping Wal Mart sent me an email with the BUNDLE priced just right. I checked the bunble deals and this is what was in the deal .... ( same comper that was 298 at black friday) I got everything I needed just for my Computer budget total 308 computer ,plus mouse stick & bag and taxes all under 369 ! How does it do work wise? Great Picks up wifi quick. regular internet work just as easy as in home office. Games just fine for what I play. Photo storage works great also. My next addition will be GoPro camera. .... Over a great buy and a great laptop for the price !

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spinner428
North Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much Better than expected!
7/25/2012

Customer review by groingo

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by groingo
by groingo

I bought this one knowing it was a low end computer but have been very impressed at its performance and features and not so much with customer support (India). The computer was slow and cumbersome out of the box till I removed the "Bundled" software and turned some non essentials off, then things picked up quickly. I also updated the graphics software from the Intel site (not available from HP) which added more features and speed! Battery life is great and I have been able to easily get over five hours to a full charge (once I re-set the CPU fan to thermostatic control from always on) and power use is down from 29 watts when plugged in to 10 watts! The support for an external monitor, wireless and camera also a nice surprise but the nicest thing is the keyboard which LACKS the numeric keypad....(the one nobody ever uses) which frees up a lot of space making the keyboard easier to use and much less crowded). Overall this is a great value that just keeps on giving! The Bad: Customer support was dismal and definitely India based as the techs were nearly impossible to understand between the thick accents and phone delay and lack of good information and verrrrry long wait times. The second gripe is the flat black finish on the computer that shows every touch (body oils) but that is it! Definitely what could be called a "Sleeper" product!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
groingo
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best laptop ever!!
7/29/2012

Customer review by Paylorl

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Paylorl
by Paylorl

I got this laptop because I dropped my 14 inch dell by accident which I only had for a year. There were some parts still working in my dell laptop, so instead of buying another "top of the line" laptop I decided to get the Compaq. My old dell computer had four gigs of memory, therefore I moved it to my compaq. My compaq is the speed of lighting! Not to mention it is very quiet unlike my Dell and the webcam doesn't malfunction like my dell did it works at the speed of a click. Just the other week I played a blu-ray movie in it and the picture and sound quality was beautiful this laptop comes with HD quality. WIN WIN WIN! I usually don't write reviews for products, but the compaq deserved it. So if you aren't sure about getting a cheaper laptop, I would recommend you try it for a week or so and see if you like it. It works for me, and I am a full time college student. Not to mention the battery life is AWESOME. I could go on and on!!! I'm done!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paylorl
Roxboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT purchase!!!
5/9/2012

Customer review by Dreaaa

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Dreaaa
by Dreaaa

I purchased this laptop for school & it has been amazing so far! no problems or anything. It satisfies my needs for the moment. It only has starters for Microsoft Word and Excel, no powerpoint, so if you are a student purchasing this, you will have to purchase the Microsoft Office program separately. The fact that it can run with the battery and without it while it is plugged up is very convenient. I am over all satisfied with everything. A great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreaaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Cheaply made - died after one year of use
3/14/2012

Customer review by kmdickson

1.0 stars 3/14/2012 by kmdickson
by kmdickson

I should have known not to buy the bottom-of-the-barrel laptop, knowing that with most things in life, you get what you pay for. But this one is especially disappointing, in that I expected a $300 machine to get more than a year's worth of use. After 13 months, the motherboard and CPU are both failing, and it will cost more to repair than to just buy a new laptop. Please spend the extra hundred bucks or so and get a Dell, HP, or Asus. That's what I plan to do.

Was this review helpful? (73) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmdickson
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding budget laptop!
5/13/2012

Customer review by CB1969

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by CB1969
by CB1969

We LOVE this little laptop! We have a 2-year-old iMac and a 1-year-old HP laptop, and this Compaq is faster than the HP and almost as fast as our Mac using Google Chrome browser. This is also the most user-friendly PC we have every seen, and we really like the value of Compaq design with HP components. We also love how tough it is, and it has survived daily rough handling by our two homeschooled kids. We could not be more pleased with this laptop and highly recommend it to anyone, other than a serous gamer, as an awesome budget computer. We researched extensively before purchasing and couldn't find a better value than this laptop at Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CB1969
Chimacum, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful computer for the average user
4/3/2012

Customer review by steph2689

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by steph2689
by steph2689

this is a good product and is very easy to use and install the items that come with it the only problems i have with it are the fact that the screen gets bigger and smaller on it's own by accidentally pressing the mouse a certain way and your typing gets messed up easily by accidentally pressing a wrong button...but other than that it's a nice computer and has a nice large screen size!

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steph2689
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the price
5/29/2012

Customer review by Lila68

4.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Lila68
by Lila68

I bought this computer for my daughter. After about 1 year the hard drive went bad. The warranty paid for a new hard drive. We sent it out and they fixed the problem and she had it back in a week. She has not had any other problems with this computer.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lila68
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A long lasting, cheap super buy
5/31/2012

Customer review by Yonae

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Yonae
by Yonae

I have had this laptop for over a year now. I bought it for my 3 year old at the time and has lasted him. It is durable and he uses it every day. He drags it into many different rooms in the house so the HDD must be seated really well and well built, as my T60 laptop didn't stand the same kind of treatment day to day. He had spilled juice on the keyboard and I ended up making use of the factory restore setting. In case anyone was wondering it worked perfectly -- many of the factory images don't come through when you need it, and this one did. The part to replace the keyboard was very inexpensive - 10 bucks off ebay. Still runs good as new from the day I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yonae
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Compaq b;acl 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop
7/22/2012

Customer review by Kundalini

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Kundalini
by Kundalini

Bought this for my wife. She has been using it for about 3 weeks and loves it. She added a wireless mouse, not being accustomed to the sensitivity of the touch screen mouse on the laptop. The built in wi-fi is a feature she enjoys most. Internet connection is fast and easy. Great laptop, good value, happy wife.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kundalini
Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/10/2012

Customer review by Misty253

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Misty253
by Misty253

This computer is perfect for everyday use. I had hoped for a little bit of a lower price since it is not top market, but the prices of laptops are skyrocketing. If you need a laptop that does not need to be a workhorse, I would suggest this one. Though it can be used as a workhorse, the original RAM installed will not be sufficient to keep up with the usage that may be required of a workhorse. That said it would be a cheaper solution to simple buy more RAM and save yourself some money.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Misty253
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Presario yo!
4/3/2012

Customer review by solo2

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by solo2
by solo2

My new lapTOP with a celeron dual core processor and ddr3 memory works great. For the money no other dealer has a laptop at 3 hundred dollars with an intel processor. The celeron works great with 2 gig of memory, maybe four would be better. Keyboard layout is typical for all 15.6 inch laptops and I get five hours of work on one charge if I use power saver in the power tab in control panel. I can noT ask for more in value and performance. my only negatives are two. First, to add memory, no door is present and a dealer has to take the laptop apart to add two new chips. Secondly, ddr3 memory freezes. The speed increase of ddr3 over ddr2 is neglibible. I have another similar laptop e-machine with a single core and ddr2 and it does not freeze

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solo2
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
a nice laptop
3/29/2012

Customer review by treebeeme

4.0 stars 3/29/2012 by treebeeme
by treebeeme

I got this laptop as part of a "bundle." It was reasonably priced, it's not too heavy, is upgradeable and has a slot to read my camera memory card. Since I went from an itty-bitty netbook with a tiny keyboard and no CD drive, this is a huge improvement! I am quite pleased with the screen size and overall quality of the laptop.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
treebeeme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews