Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 51 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Average price for an average laptop these days.
3/31/2012

Customer review by zTiger

4.0 stars 3/31/2012 by zTiger
by zTiger

First of all, I would like to say that I build, repair and customize computers for a living; as well as setting up and securing networks. The WiFi out of the box is not great, but I have included a solution you can try first in this review. I would recommend this for the average user for the average uses. This is not going to be a super gaming system by far, or else you would be spending three to ten times this price. I just got one of these recently from someone that bought it with her income e tax return as a second computer, but then her car died and she needed the money, so I bought it off of her (with box, receipt, and everything) since I needed another laptop for the wife. It is about what I expected for the retail price these days. Overall, it is average. The lid/monitor casing is a bit flimsy compared to higher priced systems; but if you take care of your stuff to begin with, it shouldn’t be an issue. I see the complaints about the WiFi connection being horrible. I can say it isn’t the best of all the laptops I have used or repaired, but it is capable of being above average. The problem with the weak signal I found right away was the Power Management for the WiFi card. Try this before you decide to return it just for the WiFi problem. First things first… Click on the “Start” icon. Click “Control Panel”. Click “System”. Click “Device Manager”. Expand “Network adapters”. Go to the “Power Management” Tab. Uncheck “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power”. Click “OK” This in itself will greatly improve the power output of the WiFi card as there is not a specific power output control in the drivers for the device that I have found so far. Went from an intermittent signal to a solid four bars from my back porch which is all aluminum covered going through three rooms with wire mesh reinforced plaster walls, to my old Linksys router which is, itself, not in the best location. Your only other option is to get a USB external WiFi with antenna. These will give you the best WiFi signals on laptops by far compared to the internal cards.

Was this review helpful? (270) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zTiger
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything I need it to!
3/4/2012

Customer review by Callie2304

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Callie2304
by Callie2304

I don't normally write reviews, but I feel like the other reviews, other than one, do not do this lap top justice. My VERY expensive HP desk top crashed the night before SEVERAL of my college papers were due, so at 11pm with four papers to rewrite, I went to the nearest Walmart initially to replace my tower...but they didn't have what I wanted. So I bought my first lap top. Purchased on 2-21-2012, I have not had ANY of the problems that the other reviews have stated...and I do hit the keys pretty hard lol..not really used to the whole lap top experience yet! I have no problems connecting to my Wi-Fi..even on the oposite end of my house. It was easy to have this lap top recognize my existing printer, and I was able to load all of my needed software for school. The web cam was easy to figure out, and I am very happy with my hesitant purchase. For under 500 dollars in my time of need I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Callie2304
Owensville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome
2/29/2012

Customer review by penguin648

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by penguin648
by penguin648

I got this laptop about 2 months ago ( I bought it in the store) and its really good i've read the reviews and nothing like that has happend to me . I love my laptop it is the very first laptops i have ever had and I do very much like it . When i took it out of the box it didnt really "wow me" but when i turned it on and played with it for a while i really seemed to like it . I'm on it almost everyday and i always have to charge it everyday #matters how much you use it. # but now i take care of it and its easy to use its very nice and there are many unique things about it than other computers. You can make more personal touches than just a backround. I hope you buy this laptop and have the same experience as me ! But with the other reviews im sorry you didnt have the same results as i did . Thank you for reading!

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
penguin648
Pittsburgh PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is the best general laptop on the market
5/13/2012

Customer review by BadNarc

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by BadNarc
by BadNarc

This is my first laptop as I have a much large desktop HP which was my first computer and it is less than two years old. I researched all laptops because I wanted to get either a laptop or a smartphone to stay in contact with service providers and financial information while I am away from home for extended periods of time. I picked a laptop because they have built-in WiFi and WiFi is available everywhere now, then I picked an HP because I love their products and reliability. Setting up this computer took 5 minutes, then started in using it everywhere including libraries, McDonalds, and the local college campuses and it performs better than I had expected. The video is excellent, I use stereo headphones and the audio is awesome, and all features are super easy to use. This computer will do ANYTHING and is a far superior solution to a smartphone for us old retired people. I would recommend a carrying case or backpack for this and you will have communications wherever you go and, because of the built-in WiFi, operating expenses are ZERO! Matter of fact, if you want to use this computer for exercise, get a backpack (Walmart has them for this size computer) and WALK to your nearest McDonalds, Library, College campus, or any other WiFi area, then use the computer while drinking coffee, reading (Audio is awesome for music!), or just people watching.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BadNarc
Ozark, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awful..even for the price
12/20/2011

Customer review by roguenoodle

1.0 stars 12/20/2011 by roguenoodle
by roguenoodle

I bought this computer not expecting a whole lot for the price..I just needed something for browsing the internet and basic things. Taking it out of the box it feels very cheaply made,but again..for the price I wasn't expecting a quality item. After about half a day of using it as I normally would,randomly the keys stopped working..I couldnt delete anything or type anything. It was almost like the CTRL key was stuck on because when typing certain letters it was like I was using a hotkey.(" P "would bring up the print menu etc.) The only way to fix this problem is to restart the computer,and it happens at least once a day..VERY ANNOYING! The first time I watched a video on the PC the speakers crackled so much I couldn't hear anything else..no matter what the volume was set to,I even tried using headphones and that still didnt work. All in all I am very dissapointed in this item and I would not recommend it to anyone. Maybe I was the unlucky one who got a lemon and others may have a better experience,but I will be returning it asap!

Was this review helpful? (88) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roguenoodle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
great buy
3/4/2012

Customer review by cpujunky

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by cpujunky
by cpujunky

This laptop worked greta and is still running awsome for the last month and a half.Does everything watch dvd's to music...The wifi works great..I use a netgear n with comcast 15 mgs highspeed internet connection.Mind you we have playstation3 here and can watch netflix downloaded movies...the desktop and laptop can all be downloading and running things...Haven't been able to slow it down yet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cpujunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for most applications
3/5/2012

Customer review by LMD469

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by LMD469
by LMD469

Bought 2 of these for my kids (ages 8 and 10). On sale for less than 300. Does everything they need, watching movies, internet surfing, and playing games. Kids couldnt be happier with them, and I couldn't have been happier with the price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMD469
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price!
4/3/2012

Customer review by phouka67

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by phouka67
by phouka67

I've had this laptop 2 days and I'm very happy with it. I haven't had problems connecting to WiFi and found it to be very easy to set up, right out of the box. I thought the promotional version of the Microsoft software to be helpful, though I plan to download a full version of Microsoft and delete that. The display is large and nice, it's lightweight and easy to carry. I did not find the battery to last 5.5 hours like the advertising said, but maybe it depends on what you're doing with the computer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phouka67
Dunstable, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Horrible!!!
2/24/2012

Customer review by Jacksgirl09

1.0 stars 2/24/2012 by Jacksgirl09
by Jacksgirl09

This laptop has been junk right out of the box. The wireless will not stay connected, even being on the desk with the router. Trying to play even a Facebook game is a challenge for this computer. I have a 3 yr old netbook that works better and quicker. This is being returned to Walmart tomorrow since I have only had it for 3 days. I am going to Best Buy for something better.

Was this review helpful? (23) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacksgirl09
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/13/2012

Customer review by tomcatga

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by tomcatga
by tomcatga

I just purchaced this laptop and despite the 4 of 8 reviews that were negative I have to say this laptop is awsome not only was it easy to set up i went wirless as soon as i went tru the start up process it walked me step by step though it all and I was online within an hour of getting it home and some of that time was spent admiringing the laptop it self for the money its a darn good deal and super fast to use thanks HP and Wallmart for making this a painless expercience. I ordered it online and picked it up super fast. I definetly recommend this product to anyone from a novice user to a pro agian thanks tomcatga

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tomcatga
cartersville ga 30121
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent quality for price
5/10/2012

Customer review by ChildcareOwner

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by ChildcareOwner
by ChildcareOwner

I have a small business and this laptop is wonderful. When I move from room to room I just take it with me. It is very light and durable. I have had it for a month now and have not had any problems with it. Excellent quality for the price. Great product and a great laptop for a small business or someone starting out.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChildcareOwner
Punxsutawney, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/3/2012

Customer review by Guadaloupe1

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Guadaloupe1
by Guadaloupe1

I love my HP Black 15 62000 369WM Laptop P.C. with AMD core E 450. It's fast, beautiful pictures, as well as very clear. I'm very happy with my purchase. Actually ,what had made me purchase this laptop were the reviews...:) they were excellant! I'm a very happy camper, and I will tell all those that are in need of a laptop to purchase this one...:)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guadaloupe1
Hartford,Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent computer
6/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this laptop for my private classes and when I receive it it was absolute amazing, easy to use, great price, I can not express enough my happiness.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not what I expeceted
2/29/2012

Customer review by Silkkey

1.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Silkkey
by Silkkey

This notebook was horrid out the box ... takes 20 mins to establish a wireless connection that is 1ft away... windows7 may be the problem but its not a experience that i would recemend to anyone... i've had it for a week and its crashed 6 times not without me adding any apps... taking it back tonight

Was this review helpful? (12) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silkkey
Minneapolis, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, great value.
5/20/2012

Customer review by AZHomeMaker

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by AZHomeMaker
by AZHomeMaker

For this price you can't beat all the features it offers. Bright, sharp screen, all features you want in a laptop (web cam, memory, big HDD, DVD R/W, etc.). This is a great price for a name brand product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZHomeMaker
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
7/9/2012

Customer review by Silverdown

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Silverdown
by Silverdown

Laptop is great comes with useful pre-installed software. process programs and internet requests fast (on a cable internet connection), WiFi signal is strong if router is WiFi enabled and set correctly. Boots fast, Battery life last longer then 6 hours which is great and charges fast. if battery gets low the screen starts tog get lines in it which mean the battery is about to go out, that means it needs to be plugged in with AC Outet adapter and or charged. DVD drive runs well plays DVD's like a charm, USB ports all work nicely. the VGA monitor port also works well, The over all computer is sturdy and seems to be made well the keyboard may seem faulty because some of the outer keys make a weird sound went press/used but it works fine and shouldn't be considered a flaw since I have not has a issue with it. The mouse also is nice and works awesome, though the double is a little sensitive so you might need to watch when surfing the net. Graphics Card is great though it may not be able to handle newer games on graphic modes higher then LOW or the lowest setting, older games should work perfectly such as sims, sims 2, sims 3, halflife, tfc, tf2, secondlife , world of warcraft (on low) and diablo 3 ( on low ) On Low = Low Graphic setting. Cons/Flaws None product works great Disclaimer Do not take my review as the same thing you will get as some products may come with transport damages or factory faulty parts, I was lucky not to get any manufacture flaws and all my components work as advertised. I am not saying you will get a faulty product. This is just to keep myself in the clear when YOU read my review, and my review should be only used as that I got a good product and I think the product is worth getting not that I am telling you its the best or worse one to get. I am enjoying this product everyday since the 1-2 weeks I have owned it. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverdown
Sault Sainte Marie, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/7/2012

Customer review by th2art

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by th2art
by th2art

I've had mine for about a month and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
th2art
trinity nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a disappointment
8/13/2012

Customer review by Anest

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Anest
by Anest

It feels as though I just purchased an old computer. It's slower than my old computer and, were it not for the fact that I have virus protection software and know for sure that I have no virus, I would have thought this computer infected. It is the worst purchase I've ever made. I don't even have words for how upset this thing makes me. I only wish I hadn't thrown away the box so I could return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anest
Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop for the Price
6/5/2012

Customer review by Preacher2singer

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Preacher2singer
by Preacher2singer

Love it its a Great laptop with up grade options nice buy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Preacher2singer
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good computer for the price
4/12/2012

Customer review by johnsmd58

3.0 stars 4/12/2012 by johnsmd58
by johnsmd58

I brought this computer home the first time and despite the easy set up, had problems connecting to wifi, like many of the other reviewers. I spent an hour and a half on the phone with HP technical support, but was unable to get the problem fixed. I went to Wal-Mart the next day and they happily exchanged it for the same computer. Brought the new one home and had the same connection problems, although connection was a little better. HP must be aware of this problem by now, but tech support certainly didn't let on. I like the computer, as well as the price, so rather than go through another exchange or return, I will spend a few dollars on a different wifi device.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnsmd58
Big Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews