Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-15 of 15 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Simple Installation Made Difficult
1/18/2012

Customer review by JackRock

1.0 stars 1/18/2012 by JackRock
by JackRock

The blanket was so compressed in the packaging that it could not be flattened for a straight cut. The tape would not adhere to the blanket and not enough was included to install the blanket on a 40 gallon water heater.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackRock
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product, great alternative to fiberglass
9/5/2014

Customer review by lr57

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by lr57
by lr57

For covering my hot water heater this is the best choice because it is so much cleaner and easier to cut than fiberglass. Not difficult to use, and there was plenty of tape in the package. One suggestion; cut the tape in smaller pieces and be gentle with it - the first piece I cut was too long, I took off the paper backing and it curled on itself, only got to use half the piece. My fault not the product's fault. The only problem is it does not fit the water tanks as it says, but none of them do, I don't know what kind of water tanks manufacturers measure, but all these blankets are the same size and none of them fit the tanks. I had to use 2 blankets, I used one entire blanket and cut the second one in order to cover the whole tank.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lr57
daytona beach,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the size it states-cut too short!
12/10/2013

Customer review by waylo88

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by waylo88
by waylo88

We had purchased the first one only to see that it is cut very, very short on one end. Goes from 63 inches to 75 inches it will not reach evenly around heater to cover correctly. Reordered another one and it is cut the exact same way. It would leave a 12 inch gap when installed around the bottom. Don't know how you cannot see it is not cut to the right length on both ends when manufactured! I would give zero stars if possible.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waylo88
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Bigger and thicker than I thought it would be.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Happycns

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Happycns
by Happycns

It cut to size very easily with scissors. The only negative is that the adhesive tape that came with it would not stick to my heater - only blanket and when removing backing it tended to curl into itself and was not easily uncurled. We will see if it saves me some money on my utility bill

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happycns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
enjoying
11/8/2013

Customer review by soldier7

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by soldier7
by soldier7

We are enjoying this water heater blanket. It was easy to cut to fit around pipes and controls. The only problem we had was there was not enough tape.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soldier7
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
really great!
6/16/2014

Customer review by yahoo9999999

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by yahoo9999999
by yahoo9999999

really great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yahoo9999999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so good, buy two! (seriously - buy two)
2/9/2015

Customer review by FPerfect

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by FPerfect
by FPerfect

this blanket saves you money, re-uses an otherwise discarded resource, and isn't unpleasant to deal with - what more could you ask for? regarding complaints that one blanket is not big enough to cover a standard water heater: that's true. i've used these blankets to wrap both short and tall 45 and 50 gallon tanks, and one blanket won't cover completely. you'll need to buy two. it's also true that this blanket is the exact same size as all the other water heater blankets on the market, so you'll have to buy two no matter where you get them. oh, and it's nice that the manufacturer includes tape with the package - one less thing to realize you need in the middle of the project.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FPerfect
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the duck is the man
12/6/2014

Customer review by snazzycat

5.0 stars 12/6/2014 by snazzycat
by snazzycat

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snazzycat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use!
4/15/2013

Customer review by aagr

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by aagr
by aagr

This is so easy to do! Save money on your gas bill! Also seems to block some of the nose from my hot water heater.

aagr
Omaha, NE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Daily
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
7/9/2013

Customer review by indawoods

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by indawoods
by indawoods

a bit hard to get cut to size but seems like it will work good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indawoods
pocahontas ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely better than fiberglass
1/11/2015

Customer review by nzune

4.0 stars 1/11/2015 by nzune
by nzune

I am very pleased that I bought this over the common fiberglass blanket sold at home improvement stores. My heater had only a 1.5-2 inch gap to the wall on two sides and it took some work to squeeze it in, releasing a LOT of dust. If it were fiberglass, I would have had an itchy mess. Do still wear a mask even though this is denim. My blanket measured almost exactly 70 in x 48 inch which just barely wrapped around my 50 gal gas heater, covering the top 48 inches, exposing the vents on the bottom foot. I did not need to cover the top, because it is gas. The tape provided was just adequate, but I had a roll of aluminum tape to secure the top. I took off one star for false advertising. I think as big if not more difference goes to insulating the pipes in and out of the top of the heater. The amount of heat siphoning going on there was remarkable. I used foam wrap made for pipes for fire rating then wrapped with aluminum tape.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nzune
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Value
1/21/2015

Customer review by motherof3bargainshopper

4.0 stars 1/21/2015 by motherof3bargainshopper
by motherof3bargainshopper

Very easy to put on. After putting on, woke up the next morning with warm water without allowing the water time to heat up. Can't wait to see how much of a difference my heating bill is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motherof3bargainshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No muss
2/18/2015

Customer review by MikeK

4.0 stars 2/18/2015 by MikeK
by MikeK

This is a good quality product from a known brand. Installation was easy with no problems that the old itchy fiberglass versions have. There was plenty of material to cover my 50 gallon tank with about a 2-3 inch overlap. The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was because the tape that came with it was extremely thin and tore easily and was extremely difficult to separate from the backing. Well, at least getting it started to release from a corner. Luckily, I had some foil tape on hand that was at least twice as thick to reinforce the seam and help with the attachment to the top of the tank.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
much better than fiberglass
8/4/2015

Customer review by SimoneA

4.0 stars 8/4/2015 by SimoneA
by SimoneA

I second many of the good reviews here - this is much thicker and better quality than expected. The price is much better on Walmart than the big box store nearby. It fit my AO Smith water heater without issue and was really easy to cut and tape. I'm really glad I didn't get fiberglass one, because I had to touch the inside more than I thought I would and easily get irritated skin. It seems to have helped my hot water heater efficiency some, so it was a worthwhile purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimoneA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
will not make thengrade
11/22/2014

Customer review by auto741

1.0 stars 11/22/2014 by auto741
by auto741

this is to small, to short and not long enough. does not match the size printed on package. will take two units to fit a 50 gal. heater

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auto741
Would recommend to a friend? No