Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 29 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Powerful and holds up to the weather
12/18/2013

Customer review by eShopperExtraordinare

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by eShopperExtraordinare
by eShopperExtraordinare

I bought this set of lights for my night commute home and I am very pleased with the distant these lights can reach. It made a speed sigh glow over 50ft away. Also, they have hold up to the weather whether it's raining or snowing they still work. As an extra precaution, I taped some electric tape under the rear light to hold it in place after reading some other reviews of it falling off during bumps. So far the tail light has not fallen off and it clicks into place. Would definitively buy again.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eShopperExtraordinare
Tremont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very nice light
10/22/2011

Customer review by GadgetGuyMark

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by GadgetGuyMark
by GadgetGuyMark

The headlight is very bright for a light in this price range. (I compared it to a Planet Bike Beamer 5 from Aaamaaazon and a Zefal 5620 set from Waal Maart. The Planet Bike headlight was noticeably dimmer. The Zefal headlight was beautifully made but so dim that it was useless. I returned those lights and kept the Bell.) Of course, the Bell will be dim compared to more expensive headlights. But price is the key here. The headlight mount is very good. It is nice that the headlight takes 3xAA batteries. That is more capacity than most lights in this price range. My only gripe about the headlight is that the battery cover is impossible to remove if one follows the instructions. Instead, I simply put my fingernails in the gap at the front of the cover and pulled backwards. (Also, I'm not sure how "waterproof" the headlight is: there are no rubber seals on the cover. But I'm guessing that there won't be a problem and that if there is a problem, I can just put a piece of Scotch Tape over the joint.) The taillight is very good. My only gripe about it is that the hinged mount has notches inside that are meant to help keep the light pointed at a certain angle once it is tightened. Fine idea, but when the light is mounted to my seatpost, one notch aims the light too high and the next one aims the light too low. This is dumb and I will have to figure out a way to override the notches. They should figure out a better way to keep the taillight angle. Overall, I really like this light set.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadgetGuyMark
Athens, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Has some shortcomings
9/23/2012

Customer review by BigBirdPhila

2.0 stars 9/23/2012 by BigBirdPhila
by BigBirdPhila

First of all, if you have larger diameter handlebars (31.8 mm), keep looking. The headlight bracket is not big enough to wrap around such handlebars. Then, there are other issues. Neither light has a rubber gasket to protect it from rain. The battery access cover on the headlight is difficult to remove, in my opinion. The taillight cover is easy to remove, but you must be sure to snap it all the way back in place or it will easily fall off on your next ride. The nut on the headlight bracket does not come with a lock washer. I was afraid that it would work itself loose eventually. I found a small star washer in my toolbox. The bracket itself does come with two rubber grommet inserts, which might create sufficient pressure on the nut to keep it from loosening. I didn't want to take the chance. If you have to remove either or both of the grommets to make room to wrap around your handlebar, you will need some sort of lock washer. The nut, if it loosens far enough, will fall off on the trail (there is nothing limiting how far it can back out). On the plus side, both lights are bright. I liked the fact that the headlight uses 3 AAA batteries instead of just 2.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBirdPhila
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Headlight, bad tail light.
7/18/2012

Customer review by JohnATtheFALLS

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by JohnATtheFALLS
by JohnATtheFALLS
Top 25 contributor

I go for my daily rides around sunset so my lights are important to me. I also always turn on my rear flashing light even in daytime I purchased this light set to go with my new Schwinn Aluminum Comp Mountain Bike. The light set and bike just turned over 200 miles today ... except the light set is no longer a set. First, the headlight is perfectly bright enough to let me go down unpaved roads at about 14 miles an hour at night. It is impressively bright. I love it. This light cannot be left out in the rain. I have ridden with it in the rain but after the ride, the battery cover needs to be removed and the water blotted up from the inside. Left outside in a 24 hour rain, enough water could leak in to wet the batteries. My older Bell headlight is just as bright but has o-ring seals. The tail light is as bad as the headlight is good. Battery covers for most devices do not need to be held on with anything too substantial. Small grooves for the cover, lightweight locking tabs to make the cover come off easy. This is what the tail light has for a battery cover. The mount for the light to the frame needs to be heavy duty with generous use of plastic to make the mount resistant to road shock. The mount should be attached solidly to the main body of the light. The nice heavily built mount is actually attached to the weakly built battery compartment door. When removing the light to replace the batteries, the battery compartment door lets loose before the light ever fully slides off the mount. So when I arrived home after my evening ride, I found that my rear light had departed my bicycle. All I have left is a very substantial mount attached to the battery compartment door which was weakly attached to the light that is now lying along the roadside somewhere.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnATtheFALLS
Adirondack Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
Takes a licken' and keeps on ticken'
8/14/2012

Customer review by Yrdog

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Yrdog
by Yrdog

I don't see why there would be any negative reviews for this set. I have so desperately abused these and though they are cracked, missing pieces of plastic, scratched, dinged and very ugly at this point they still work just like the day I bought them... Highly recomended!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yrdog
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great set for $20.
2/25/2014

Customer review by BCSignGuy

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by BCSignGuy
by BCSignGuy

I have used this set now for over a year on my Recumbent Trike. The front light is mounted to an accessory bar & the rear light is mounted to my Pannier Rack. Although I don't do a lot of night riding I am really impressed with the amount of light from this set. I would give this set 5 stars if the mounting pieces were better designed but for $20. these are a great deal. Buy 2 sets, add a couple of washers to the mounting screws & have more light than units costing $100. or more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BCSignGuy
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very useful.
1/4/2012

Customer review by SuperLuigi24

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by SuperLuigi24
by SuperLuigi24

This set works wonders when I'm riding at night. The headlight is so bright that it just shoots the beam straight down the road when active. The taillight, on the other hand, is very nice. I would recommend this set to other people. I fell in love with the set when I first installed it on my bicycle.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperLuigi24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Terrible - Won't stay mounted - It WILL fall off
7/27/2012

Customer review by pentatonic145

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by pentatonic145
by pentatonic145

The bracket that the front light (the big, bright white one) slides into has a tiny little 1mm catch that is supposed to keep the light fastened. It does not work at all. Even just riding on the sidewalk, the vibration caused the light to fall off twice in a 40-minute ride. Returning this junk.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pentatonic145
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excecellent set
5/8/2014

Customer review by alcor1017

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by alcor1017
by alcor1017
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased my bike and found out I needed a light set so I selected this Bell set because of the features. It was esay to assemble and install. Overall, a great set and a great value. Phil

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alcor1017
Manistee, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/17/2012

Customer review by GEWilliams

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by GEWilliams
by GEWilliams

Both lights are very bright which makes me very visible while on the road. The blinking options are great, especially at dusk. Once full dark settles in, I switch the headlight to steady on and leave the tail light blinking. So far both have worked as described and have been reliable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GEWilliams
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
Tail light switch failed after four rides.
8/11/2012

Customer review by InFairview

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by InFairview
by InFairview

The TAIL LIGHT worked fine initially. After four rides, the four modes of the light became radom. You didn't know which light mode was coming on. Then it stopped working for a while. Then it started working fine for one ride. Now it will not go in some of the modes, and it will not shut off (You have to remove the batteries to turn it off.). The HEAD LIGHT is working fine--so far. This is one of the more expensive lights that Walmart sells, and it is poor quality and not worth the money. I need it for commuting and it is completely unreliable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InFairview
Fairview, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
5/15/2014

Customer review by quint1964

4.0 stars 5/15/2014 by quint1964
by quint1964
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only problem is the slip rings dont hold. had to make extra hold with a brace. but the lights work great. strobe in the snow and drivers over 50 yards away could see. instead of 2 slip rings 1 thick one would fit better. other than that it works great. life of battery is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quint1964
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent- exceeds my expectations
9/29/2015

Customer review by Allen

5.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Allen
by Allen

Exceeds expectations

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked great...until it rained
7/9/2012

Customer review by Tod333334432

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Tod333334432
by Tod333334432

The optics were bright and worked well. The first time it rained the head lamp shorted out...VERY disappointing. If you buy this unit keep your recept.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tod333334432
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/9/2011

Customer review by nosaint2

1.0 stars 10/9/2011 by nosaint2
by nosaint2

The Headlite lense clouds over within 2 months and the lense is easily scratched. The light does not provide adequate illumination if you travel more than 15 MPH. The switch failed on all 3 of the headlite units after approximately 3 months of summer night time use. I usually traveled approximately 15 to 20 miles every night. I was forced to insert a jumper wire across the switch in order to control the unit. I am no longer using them. I am now using a different headlamp.

Was this review helpful? (13) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nosaint2
Hopacong,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great on a "beach cruiser" type bike
9/26/2012

Customer review by IzzyRider

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by IzzyRider
by IzzyRider

I was hesistant at first after reading mixed reviews but I decided to gamble on it. I works great for my use. Wife and I go biking in the evenings around the neighborhood on our cruiser style bikes. It illuminates about 90% spot light spectrum and about 10% of perifery broadcast light. I had no problems mounting it and I can't vouche for how long it will hold up as I tend to take care of my bikes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IzzyRider
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
bike light
8/26/2015

Customer review by Victor

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Victor
by Victor

this light works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Victor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bright lights!
12/3/2014

Customer review by DeJay24

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by DeJay24
by DeJay24

These lights are very bright! Easy to install. The only thing I would recommend is for a variation of mounting styles. Example if the rear light had a swivel mount for 360 degree movement. Other than that, I would buy these lights again. For the money, for the money you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeJay24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible headlight pattern, good taillight
8/8/2014

Customer review by Jima54

3.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Jima54
by Jima54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The taillight is literally the shining stat of this light set. Of the five LEDs in the taillight, three are directed straight back and two are angled at about 45 degrees off to each side providing a reasonably bright pattern over a wide viewing angle. While I would have preferred just one steady and one flashing mode on the taillight, I can live with having to cycle through the four illuminated modes to turn the light on or off. Unfortunately the headlight does not fare so well in my view. Having it powered by 3 AA cells is nice for longer battery life, which is good because the battery cover is real difficult to remove. The real problem is the headlight’s illumination pattern--it is pretty horrible. It has a fairly bright center, surrounded by a dark shadow, and outside the shadow is some moderate illumination. If it is adjusted so that the bright center forms a 3 ft wide ellipse 15 to 25 feet in front of the bike, there is a dark area at about 8 to 14 feet in front of the bike. I don’t know about you, but I sure like to know what is 8 to 14 feet in front of me. Closer than 8 ft, you once again regain some illumination, but it is rather uneven. The headlight may be adequate for nighttime riding if there is some significant ambient lighting, but I would not recommend it for riding in total darkness.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jima54
Gardner, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great set for the price!
6/16/2014

Customer review by Madbusop570

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Madbusop570
by Madbusop570
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Needed some light for dusk riding near home and found this set online but before I purchased I did some research and decided to purchase. Could've spent more and better lights but this set is great. My neighbor was approaching and said he could see my lights almost 3/4 mile down the road. So with that I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madbusop570
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews