Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 21 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Good idea, bad construction
3/6/2012

Customer review by Kent56

1.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Kent56
by Kent56

I bought two of the Bell baskets as they were readily available. I have found they do not hold up to use. They would be ok if you only carry very light loads. I use mine for grocery shopping. On my second shopping trip, I had the panel connectors open up and allow my groceries to fall out to the ground, (one juice bottle rolled into the storm drain). I have tried using metal cable ties to hold the baskets together, and have had to stretch bungee cords across them to limit the stress on the connectors. This should not be necessary and would not be if Bell used strong connectors. In the past I have used WALD fold up baskets, and loaded them more heavily than the Bells, and never had a failure. The Bell panels seem the same as the WALD, but the connectors are cheap, lightweight metal. I have bought the WALD baskets to replace these shoddy Bell baskets. Comparing the two side by side is like comparing a Ford focus to a Lexus...I recommend spending the extra $5 a basket and buy from WALD.

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kent56
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Great concept, flimsy construction
1/25/2012

Customer review by Nordlogic

2.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Nordlogic
by Nordlogic

This is a good-size basket, it fits a shoulder bag or daypack with a laptop, or a reusable grocery bag. The concept behind the product is also good: to be able to fold the basket when riding without an extra bag or to save parking and storage space. However, the construction of the basket is badly flimsy. The basket walls are held together by 8 clamps in the corners, the clamps are made to be movable, to enable the folding of the basket. These clamps come easily loose when the bike is ridden on a rougher surface, breaking the basket. My basket broke within the first hour I used it on city streets, and then some more. The plastic ties that come with the basket come loose too, so I used metal paper clips to tie around the corners and fasten the basket together again. That fix has lasted.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nordlogic
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's nice to have a folding basket but.....
8/20/2012

Customer review by TommyGunn9999

3.0 stars 8/20/2012 by TommyGunn9999
by TommyGunn9999

As others have noted, this basket is held together by these metal brackets which are basically thin strips of metal wrapped around the wire frame. The design is not rugged at all and the metal brackets will start to come undone just from the normal bumps in the road. I still say it is a worthwhile purchase, but go ahead and pick up a pack of good zip ties too. If you put zip ties around each of the brackets, they are MUCH more sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TommyGunn9999
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I was hoping for
5/12/2012

Customer review by MOREnessy

1.0 stars 5/12/2012 by MOREnessy
by MOREnessy

I thought this basket was going to be worth money but now I regret buying this so much . I am very disappointed it doesn't even fold anymore. Now it just looks cheap and it is...

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOREnessy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ok for carrying light weight items
1/15/2014

Customer review by CHRIS2PHER850

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by CHRIS2PHER850
by CHRIS2PHER850

ok for carrying light weight items. I using mine on handle bars. In addition to the straps I added another straps( an old dog collar or buy one for a 1$ at dollar tree) below the originals. SEE MY PHOTO.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHRIS2PHER850
PENSACOLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bell Bike Basket
7/13/2014

Customer review by Katharine12

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by Katharine12
by Katharine12

FANTASTIC thing. Very simple. It collapses flat against the side of the bike too. I would get leather thongs to tie it on though, because the two belts it comes with are loose and weird. The collapsability is totally cool. It is strong. You cold put a market bag in it easily or a very well behaved dog. Could strengthen the grip to the rack with zip ties too.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katharine12
Santa Barbara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would give it a zero if I could
11/23/2013

Customer review by kiramea

1.0 stars 11/23/2013 by kiramea
by kiramea

Less than a month after I bought this, the basket came completely apart. Luckily there were no cars coming and I could pick up the pieces and put them in my other basket. In order to be confident that they would hold up I zip tied all the corners. That works okay, but very unsightly. I finally modified by cutting nylon webbing (the type that is used in those synch ratchet cables), weaving them around the top and bottom, and then snapping them together. Only time will tell if that works. As soon as I can I am buying something else.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiramea
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
bad constructure
11/12/2013

Customer review by soykim

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by soykim
by soykim

I bought it few weeks ago. this morning, I lost my bag. I put it in the basket, and than when i got to home, the basket was broken and my bag was gone. I spent $ 20 on it, but lost $800 (wallet, money, ipad, keys, bag, etc.) I have never written review, but this time i though i need to do and let customers know how bad it is. Please don't buy this product. spend more money for good quality.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soykim
savannah, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth using as-provided
9/1/2013

Customer review by banzo

1.0 stars 9/1/2013 by banzo
by banzo

I customized mine after if broke 2nd use. Used galvanized, pipe clamp strapping/nuts/bolts/washers to replace all sixteen cheap original hinges. Coated bolt heads with Goop to avoid scratches. Made custom rack mounting from pannier hooks and plastic pipe (friction retention in rack frame). Rack received primary impact from a motorist, mangling his fender/saving my leg from destruction! Rack folds flat when not in-use to avoid catching on objects. Loaded with gallons of milk/canned goods/groceries reinforced by two shock-cords under bottom. Too much trouble to customize another one but glad this one saved my leg! Beware of drivers from the rear!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banzo
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flimsy
8/9/2014

Customer review by Michael1947

2.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Michael1947
by Michael1947

I can describe this basket with one word, flimsy. It basically comes down to the metal clips used to hold the sides together. They're too thin and lightweight to hold the baskets sides together with any sort of a load inside. Ironically I bought theses baskets to put on my bike so I could ride to my brand new Walmart Neighborhood Market and haul home some groceries.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michael1947
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Problems with BELL Folding Baskets for bikes
2/7/2014

Customer review by Abikeman

1.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Abikeman
by Abikeman

I had purchased two BELL Folding Bike Baskets for my 18 speed Mountain bike. After mounting one of the Bell Folding baskets onto my mountain bike according to the instructions provided with the packaging. With in a few minutes of riding my mountain bike after installing one of the Bell Folding Bike baskets, the whole assembly fell apart. The whole basket device came apart. All of the clips that secure the basket together came apart allowing for the basket to disassemble. The design of this Bell product needs to be investigated. As it does not hold its own weight, it is not able to stay assembled after installation on a bike. This is one product I do not recommend Walmart Customers purchase due to the poor design and over pricing. This Bell product does not live up to the claims made by the manufacture. Thank You for this opportunity to express my thoughts and opinions. A. B.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abikeman
Tampa Bay, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Convenient folding basket
10/13/2014

Customer review by BossDayShopper

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by BossDayShopper
by BossDayShopper

We purchased this folding basket as a Boss's Day gift and really like the convenience of being able to fold the basket flat when not in use. It is very versatile and can be mounted to the handle bars or the back rack. The only thing we couldn't figure out was what a couple metal brackets and bolts were for and there were no instructions explaining what they were for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BossDayShopper
Eagan, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
6/18/2014

Customer review by Smithey73

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Smithey73
by Smithey73

Bought for my daughter for her birthday was a good price, and she love to put her toy puppy in it and ride.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smithey73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful basket and the perfect size
7/4/2015

Customer review by Bobbi

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by Bobbi
by Bobbi

I needed a big basket for the rear of my bicycle one that was large enough to hold a beach bag this one is the winner it was the perfect size!!!! I did use ALOT of zip ties to hold it in place but it is perfect does not move when I am riding my bike. I did not use any of the hardware included because I read over the other reviews and they said the hardware wasn't helpful so I just used zip ties.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobbi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Adaptable bike basket
3/24/2014

Customer review by JustCruiserGuy

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by JustCruiserGuy
by JustCruiserGuy

If you carry your bike around a lot on or in your veh this is a wonderful way to get the basket out of the way when loading and unloading. It folds up and/folds out within a couple seconds and a 4 yeear old kid could do it. Very practical creation for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustCruiserGuy
Lake Elsinore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works with minor modifications
10/22/2013

Customer review by drdanc

3.0 stars 10/22/2013 by drdanc
by drdanc

I put one of each on my kids' bikes. Their backpacks fit perfectly, which is a big help since they don't have to carry 16+ lb. backpacks to school on their back anymore. The basket needs to be reinforced with (at least) strong plastic ties which makes it more rigid. If you intend to mount it on top of the bike rack as I did, consider a permanent mount with the same ties or buy more straps to tie it down. Overall, a good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drdanc
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/9/2013

Customer review by Voodooblue

2.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Voodooblue
by Voodooblue

The basket was just to heavy,,,I returned it...If you are not concerned about weight,,,then its OK. This is made of heavy wire and it will be crucial in a light bike....I returned it..

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Voodooblue
Miami Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Item
6/11/2013

Customer review by Beboyyou

1.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Beboyyou
by Beboyyou

Bell need to take mane off this folding basket NO, No Good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beboyyou
Pensacola,Fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Flimsy piece of junk
9/19/2014

Customer review by hanmeng

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by hanmeng
by hanmeng

I've been tying a "milk crate" type plastic storage box to the rack on the back of my bike, but I've been concerned that it not only makes me look like a weird old guy, the center of gravity might be a bit high and I've got to kludge the rear light, so I thought this was going to be a great improvement. WRONG. The parts include a couple of brackets and screws in addition to the flimsy "leather" straps, but the instructions didn't mention them and I couldn't figure out what they were for. While I was trying to figure out how to attach it, I found that it couldn't easily be folded up and the panel connectors were already getting bent out of shape. I'm returning it and l'll stick with my Storex large file crate & keep it weird.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hanmeng
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
modification needed
4/15/2014

Customer review by duvexy

3.0 stars 4/15/2014 by duvexy
by duvexy

The basket did not fit the bike rack that I had purchased so my dad had to come over and re modify the basket in order to fit on top of the bike rack. Initially they basket was supposed to be on front of the handle bars or off of the sides. Which is not a good idea as it will be in the way of the gears. My dad had to re modify it and the parts they sent to put the basket it on the bike were cheesy and my dad and I had to use a coat hanger instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
duvexy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews