Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

60 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

60 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 60 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Sometimes life hands you lemons, other times fish.
10/9/2012

Customer review by IshFish

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by IshFish
by IshFish

I found four fish at a bus stop and they were already hours into being crammed into a bag, and someone had almost popped the bag with their bike. Needless to say I needed a tank and I needed one fast and no beta cube was going to fit four fish. I have to say this tank fits perfectly three minnows (one didn't make it). They zoom from side to side and dart up and down. It fits a nice amount of rocks a small plant, and a moon rock cave (also bought from walmart but can't seem to find online). The only true issue I have with this tank is the lid. One fish, the one in the lower right of the corner of picture attached, is a jumper. I swear his little body shudders in your mind you hear "space is kita!" and up he goes. Yes, he can make it past the lid, he did yesterday. Right now I have a jar of beech nut baby food sitting on the tank cover trying to figure out a way to secure it. So it's good for small fish, but be careful with the hyper types.

Was this review helpful? (70) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IshFish
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect size for 1 Betta
7/4/2016

Customer review by BettaExpert101

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by BettaExpert101
by BettaExpert101

I like that it's long, it's actually more spacious than it looks. It fits 2 fake plants and gives the Betta plenty of space to swim around in. My Betta seems so much happier going from the little store container to this. I would definitely not recommend putting the divider in.. It would be too small for 2 bettas but for 1 it's perfect.. (Sorry the picture shows my kitchen, LOL)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaExpert101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect For Dorm Rooms
8/5/2013

Customer review by BettaBatch88

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by BettaBatch88
by BettaBatch88

Not being allowed to have a real pet in confined space, I began looking into a 10gallon tank to have tropical fish. But the price to get everything started, the rocks, filters, nets, plants, heater, thermometer, I was already spending more money on supplies for fish than books. So i settled for this inexpensive box expecting it to fail. Rocky (who was named so due to his surviving 2 full days in nothing more than a damp broken cup when I rescued him) is now thriving. He loves using the plants I got him as a hammock. Hiding underneath the overlapping leaves resting. And now that I'm back home and had the option to put him in a bigger tank, He didn't take well to it and back in his home he went. 2 years later, he's still going strong.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaBatch88
Godfrey, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't Beat This Price!
2/19/2013

Customer review by timetoshop2012

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by timetoshop2012
by timetoshop2012

I Purchased Two Of These Aquariums, Except Mine Has A Different Looking Stand Than The One Shown On The Box. These Are The Perfect Size For My Betta Fish. My Fish Have Plenty Of Room To Swim, And Cleaning It Is A Breeze. The Price Is Unbeatable! Also, I Love That It Comes With An Optional Divider, Just In Case You Want Two Betta Fish In One Aquarium. Highly Recommend This Product!

Was this review helpful? (51) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timetoshop2012
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
A little small but my betta loves it.
5/26/2014

Customer review by Angelfacemoma

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Angelfacemoma
by Angelfacemoma

The tank is rather small but it definitely beats the small bowls they keep their bettas in at the stores. Who knows how long they've been in them. I first put my betta in a 5 gallon with 4 small tetras. After about 3 weeks he started to look puny and his fins were smaller and just didn't look as full. He was very unhappy so I picked up this small little tank for temporarily. He has been in it now for about 2 weeks and is loving it. He swims around all in there, he now follows me when I go by him, which he didn't do in the bigger tank. He's eating a lot better. He is recovering nicely. The tank doesn't have a light but to be honest I don't think bettas care too much for a light. Mine seems happier without a bright light. It's long instead of square so it gives more room to swim. Lastly it just looks nice, with a cute little stand and lid. It comes with a divider but I wouldn't recommend two bettas in here, I'd just spend 5 dollars for another one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angelfacemoma
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great
6/18/2016

Customer review by Doll1157

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Doll1157
by Doll1157
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great size and easy set up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doll1157
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much too small
11/21/2011

Customer review by mykindaparty

1.0 stars 11/21/2011 by mykindaparty
by mykindaparty

This tank is too small for one betta fish, never mind two. Contrary to popular belief, bettas do no thrive in tiny tanks because where they come from in the wild (rice patties of Asia) they actually have plenty of space to swim around in. The myth comes from teh fact that during droughts a Betta can survive in a shallow puddle of water. This does not mean they enjoy it, they would much prefer a larger area if possible. Thisis comparable to the way that you would be able to survive uncomfortably while living in a closet versus how muh happier you would be if you had free reign of the entire house. Please do your Betta fish a favor and give them as much space as you can! Walmart has a few wonderful 5 gallon aquarium kit you could check out! Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Was this review helpful? (202) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mykindaparty
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great for alternative uses
2/8/2014

Customer review by Whippet640

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Whippet640
by Whippet640
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to admit, I did not buy this Aqua Culture Betta View .5 Gallon Aquarium to use for a fishtank. It is very small, the tank itself is 9 3/8 in. long, 3 in. wide and 5 in. tall and has a base, a vented lid and an insert to be used as a divider (which would give your fish about 4 1/2 x 3 inches of room). If you intend to purchase this for it's specified use, please be aware, it is a HALF GALLON tank, (0.5 gallons), that is not very big. I purchased this for my granddaughter to use with her aqua sand and sea monkeys, and I have to say it is perfect for that, we are both very pleased! Great little tank at a great little price! Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whippet640
Canastota, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not appropriate for any fish!!
6/29/2016

Customer review by BettaLover

1.0 stars 6/29/2016 by BettaLover
by BettaLover

Contrary to popular belief for a betta to thrive the need 2.5 gallons minimum, a heater and a filter, tanks like these are why bettas don't live long and are "boring" they are actually very intelligent fish and a very active and curious if kept correctly. This however does make an okay temp tank for sick betta and water changes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaLover
Would recommend to a friend? No
great little tank
12/6/2011

Customer review by jacwo2

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by jacwo2
by jacwo2

I got this tank in August, and I think it's great. The long shape gives the fish plenty of room to swim around-- more than those cube tanks that are so trendy right now. I like that it came w/a stand, too, since the raised tank is easier to see on my end table. I haven't tried to use the divider. The lid is good, since bettas are known to jump out of the water. I put some rocks and a little plant in it-- still plenty of room, but you need to buy the tiny plants. I did end up having to get a heater and thermometer (there's a notch in the lid so you can run a cord out and still shut the lid) bc it gets cold in the house. I change the water and rinse the rocks every week since there's no filter. It does great and the price can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (80) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jacwo2
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for bettas - larger & with a LID!
12/31/2011

Customer review by MyTwoCentsForYou

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by MyTwoCentsForYou
by MyTwoCentsForYou

I've had many bettas. So many of the tanks/bowls/set ups you see are far too small for them - let alone a plant they may want to rest on, too. (Bettas do like to "hammock," sometimes.) I purchased this tank for a friend who had been wanting another betta after a long while, but needed one with a cover. She has cats - and unknown to many, bettas do have a habit of jumping, as well. It is perfect. The cats lost interest in the fish (other than just watching it now), as they quickly gave up on the ability of getting a paw in there, and it's a wonderful low maintenance tank for her home desk. Did I mention at the price, you can't be beat?

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyTwoCentsForYou
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Get what you pay for
7/25/2016

Customer review by Hoosier

2.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Hoosier
by Hoosier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was much smaller than I thought but not worth the time to take back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hoosier
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT REALLY FOR BETTA FISH LIKE IT SAYS
7/17/2016

Customer review by lilly

1.0 stars 7/17/2016 by lilly
by lilly

it says .5 gallon if you don't know that's half of a gallon and I get it betta fish love open space and even though it says for betta the just want you to think that to buy it because most like bette truly this is for a cheap fair goldfish and decoration so THIS IS ONLY FOR GOLD FISH

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Good for Bettas
8/8/2013

Customer review by BettaGirl23

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by BettaGirl23
by BettaGirl23

I bought this tank because it was cheap and I wanted a betta for my desk at work. it was way too tiny for him, much less two betta, it looked really cheesy on my desk and no ornaments fit in it so my betta was really board and miserable. I recomend going up the extra $15 and getting the Tetra 1.5 gal. it llooks beautiful on my desk and my betta is much mor active and puffs at anything that comes close to the tank, which he didn't do before. also the the 1.5 gal came with a light and filter. and the feeding hole can be used to stick plants through, its not hard to lift the lid to feed him. all in all this is a waste of $5.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaGirl23
Alamogordo, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reprehensible, but not completely useless
4/7/2016

Customer review by Panama

2.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Panama
by Panama

Absolutely not suitable for fish. Nobody with legitimate experience is going to recommend putting a betta in a container that is literally only as wide as a full-grown betta is long. The packaging recommends bettas, guppies, zebra danios, white clouds, or platies as possible stocking options, along with a baffling "do not overcrowd" message. The idea of cramming any fish into a container the size of a soda bottle should leave no room to wonder whether or not the tank is "overcrowded." It's blatantly irresponsible to advertise such behavior. That isn't to say that the product is completely useless. I have two cherry shrimp, a ramshorn snail, and a fair amount of live plants in it, and it's been without issue (nitrate levels stay below 20, no ammonia or nitrite). Shrimp and snails produce far less waste than fish, so the plants are able to filter the tank pretty easily. Triops and small insects are also good potential inhabitants, or it could be used as a terrarium just for plants. Sadly, interest in alternative animals for smaller containers is never going to gain momentum if companies continue to perpetuate the myths that have pervaded petkeeping in past decades. Onto the tank itself. For those wondering, the packaging states the dimensions as 10" x 3.5" x 6.5," including the lid and "stand." I measured 9.25" x 3" x 5" for only the container. The lid doesn't sit flush with the trim at the top of the tank by design, something that annoyed me at first, but I don't notice anymore. The bottom trim is actually a rather nice touch. It has a refined and reserved look to it that's rather difficult to find in small tanks, though the advertised gaudiness of brightly colored plastic plants and neon gravel doesnt work toward thus point. It's a good size to fit on mantles or larger windowsills. There is nowhere you could place a light, and no holes to run a wire through the hood if you were to try and put a light inside the tank. Overall, four stars for design, but I'm inclined to halve it on account of the appalling advertising.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Panama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No. Too small, get something else.
6/13/2012

Customer review by mursey

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by mursey
by mursey

Look, this is WAY too small. Stores tell you bettas don't need any room but that is a myth and a selling point. It isn't true, it's cruel, this is way too small. Please look up betta care before you put them in something this small. They like swimming horizontally so a rectangular or wider shaped tank is best, 2.5 gallons is really minimum. Don't get a betta if that is too much for you to handle. There are plenty of other tanks at Walmart, don't get a tiny torture device for a fish just to shut your kid up. Man up and buy something bigger or just forget it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mursey
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Tank! Fantastic Price!
3/16/2012

Customer review by ExecuShopper

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by ExecuShopper
by ExecuShopper

This tank is perfect next to my desk. Since the lid is black and doesn't allow for light I removed it and attached a perch light. Also used a small bag of natural sand found in the craft/flower section - washed thoroughly. The tank is set up with live plants, a tiny clown killifish, scuds, Cypridopsis vidua and a couple of cherry red shrimp. No filtration necessary as the plants and regular water changes keep it clean. I love the modern sleek look and the size is perfect. If you're into nano tanks and micro life this is a great buy. I agree, this tank is too small for Bettas!

Was this review helpful? (25) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExecuShopper
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
nice
1/17/2015

Customer review by Alex

3.0 stars 1/17/2015 by Alex
by Alex

no lamp, no air pomp, no filter BUT for this price is OK :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for Bettas
7/24/2015

Customer review by ElTaino

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by ElTaino
by ElTaino

Yeah, contrary to the popular belief, clown fish can not thrive in a 55 gallons tank never mind 2. Where Clown Fish come from (the coral reefs of the planet) they have plenty of room to swim around. It is like a rich person moving to the guest house. Now on the serious side, I've been having Betta fish since I was in elementary school back in the 70's in small bowls. Recently my daughter showed up in my house with a Betta fish she purchased with a nice attractive color pattern. My local Walmart is a five minutes drive and I purchased this .5 gallon bowl. It is quite sturdy and for the price, you can't go wrong either for your home or your office desk. In fact, I'm planning on getting another Betta and this will be the tank I will chose for it as well. I highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElTaino
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very low mantanice
8/24/2011

Customer review by starlight2003

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by starlight2003
by starlight2003

i bought this for my first fish i bought 2 male Betta its low maintenance it was not a hassle to set up the divider works great it fits on my small table so i don't have to worry about where iam going to put it because it small you can fit it just about anywhere . my fish are healthy and they love it i would recommended it for first time fish buyers and for people who have a tight schedule but love fish

Was this review helpful? (61) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starlight2003
untied states, georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews