Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 78 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Great for a beginner
11/22/2011

Customer review by CoryI

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by CoryI
by CoryI

I purchased Globe Bowl for my nephew and he LOVES it, it is simple for him to maintain and his parents like it even better because it is easy for him to take care of. The idea of an aquarium for him and learning to take on a little responsibility has worked PERFECTLY.....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Was this review helpful? (154) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoryI
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Bettas!
11/7/2012

Customer review by LeeLeezd

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by LeeLeezd
by LeeLeezd

I bought this bowl for my male Betta. I love how easy it is to clean & the color changing LED lights are very pretty. There is a button on the light that allows you to change the colors (one by one) or you can make them blink or fade into the next color (like in my video). The fact that it is made out of plastic makes it light weight, BUT it gets scratched very easily so be careful when handling it. I prefer glass, but I have a bad back so I'd rather have a bowl that isn't too heavy. This is a somewhat small bowl so you will need to change the water more often than a aquarium with a filter. I clean my bowl twice a week. Due to it's size, you can't add too many decorations... there is enough room for maybe 1 decoration & 1 or 2 small plants, but that's really all you need for 1 fish. It is a great bowl for a Betta if you are limited on space. I have mine on my desk. It is a very nice little bowl for the price. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (93) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeeLeezd
Ville Plate, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my Dorm room
1/7/2012

Customer review by Fishyfriend

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by Fishyfriend
by Fishyfriend

I got this fish tank when I decided I needed a friend in my dorm room. So I got my fish Davius and he loves the tank. The colors are vibrant and they stand out in the dark. I will say I got my money's worth. I would recommend for any starter in fish.

Was this review helpful? (73) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishyfriend
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/10/2011

Customer review by CVivar

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by CVivar
by CVivar

My son loves the fish tank, Very easy for him to take care of his fish. He loves the lights. Everything about it is worth the money. and kids will love it. very easy..

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CVivar
Danbury, ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It worths what it costs, but has some minor issues
1/18/2012

Customer review by jcrj12

4.0 stars 1/18/2012 by jcrj12
by jcrj12

This tank is a nice deal for the price. For 12 bucks you get a LED lights with 10 different modes and a plastic bowl that you cannot possibly break (It's plastic, not acryllic), even though the bowl does look a little bit cheap. But, the only real problem with this is that it's difficult to fit any aquarium accessories in this kit, namely the heater or filter. There is no opening for cords for your heaters or filter, and so you either have to do some DIY and cut the lid yourself, use the feeder opening for your cords, or you have to leave the lid half open, which would mess with where light fixture is facing and thus can make everything look weird. So if you are thinking about making a fully functional pico aquarium, don't go for this one because it's going to be ugly to add any accessories. But if you are getting this tank as a toy, just for the sake that it's cheap and can keep a betta, then sure, it works too provided that you don't mind doing water change every so often.

Was this review helpful? (79) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcrj12
Alhambra, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I dont normally review....
2/9/2013

Customer review by AmyLeeMcat

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by AmyLeeMcat
by AmyLeeMcat

but this tank is AWESOME!! It is the perfect size for a betta. kind of soccer ball sized. I had to laugh at the bad reviews. " don't put your betta in here it will DIE with out a heater!!" come on..not true. Maybe if you keep it in a super cold room..but not just normal room temperature. anyhow, I love the light setting that slowly fades through the colors. Red, green, blue, white. Its pretty bright and would make an awesome bed time lamp for a kid. My betta seems pretty content. Unlike those tiny tiny bowls that are just crewl these are a decent size for him to swim and do laps in. He has a plant that glows in there and his little fish house he loves. Another comment was that you couldn't put decorations in it...not true either. depends on if your trying to cram a log in there or something. but there are decorations that fit perfect. another bad review was that it distorts the fish and you cant see it...well it is a round shape. when you look directly at it and if the fish is in the extreme back it kind of magnifies it. but most of the time hes against the glass glaring at me anyway so i get a pretty decent view. Anyway This is an awesome little tank and i love it. My 10 year old son is now begging me for one so it looks like im going to be a repeat buyer. I highly recommend it. oh..and ppl saying the top gets scuffed up and they cant see the fish..im thinking they must mean the water scum that sticks to glass when the water lvl drops slowly...iv'e never had a scratch on this one and the tank looks beautifuly flawless..just keep the water lvl up i guess? lol

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyLeeMcat
NPR, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little tank!
2/21/2012

Customer review by acody

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by acody
by acody

I recently purchased this little tank at my local Walmart store for my dragon scale betta - Valentino. As far as I can tell, he really enjoys the tank and has plenty of room to swim around. I really like the different color lights and "light shows" this tank has. The only downside is that you have to go through all the colors and "shows" to shut it off completely.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acody
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this fishy tank!
9/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's the perfect size!! I have a beautiful purple beta along with an African dwarf frog in there and they both have plenty of room. It's super easy to clean. The only thing I wasn't expecting was the magnified effect the bowl has but that also has it's perks cus you can see the fish better at certain angles and the only bad thing is that sometimes at certain angles you can't see the fish at all. But for the price you get a great set up. The lights are super neat and not cheap like at all. The button is very nice and not cheap either. It seems like it will last and I'm very pleased with this product. I've already recommended it to my grandma! You'll love this simple yet efficient bowl!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Inland empire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My son loves it
1/6/2014

Customer review by lol6866

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by lol6866
by lol6866

So my only complaint is that the lid was hard to get off and in the process I made an indent in the bowl that wont pop back out. Other than that it was easy. I had him pick out all his own stuff for it and pick out the Betta he wanted. He name it Bob. Its been a great addition to our home.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lol6866
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The light is the only good thing
5/31/2012

Customer review by Alicein

1.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Alicein
by Alicein

Constant irreversible scratching along the top caused the bowl to seem constantly foggy and made it difficult to see the water quality.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alicein
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great starter tank for betta's
8/15/2012

Customer review by burrellssolomonjakester

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by burrellssolomonjakester
by burrellssolomonjakester

We bought this tank because it was a good deal for our first family betta, both my spouse and I have had betta's in the past and decided to get one so our daughter could also enjoy one. Im fairly impressed this tank is great our betta loves it, we fit one pound of decorative pebbles and a 4 inch tall ornament in it and he still has lots of room to swim. The lights are fun but we mainly keep it on the white light and turn it off at night. We only turn on the colors if we shut the lights off at night and you can see the colors better our daughter likes watching him swim. Weekly cleaning is required for this bowl.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
burrellssolomonjakester
canton, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I don't like the hood
6/5/2013

Customer review by north79004487

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by north79004487
by north79004487

The bowl is a nice size for a pair or trio of guppies or one birthing female guppy or a male Betta. I use it for birthing my pregnant guppies. I know the gestation period and when the guppies are about to deliver so I put my female in this bowl to give birth to her young and they hide in the live plants both floating and planted. When the female is done birthing, I put her back in with the males. The babies stay in this bowl until they are about a month old, then another pregnant female guppy is placed in this bowl while the previous babies are placed in a much larger tank for growing out. The hood is awkward to put on and take off. I change 25% of the water every week and it would be nice if the hood was held on with hinges but I choose to do without it. I don't like that the lights are electric either. I was hoping they would run on batteries so I could place the bowl anywhere - even on a coffee table away from outlets. So I don't use the hood. The bowl sits under a lamp and that gives the plants and fish plenty of light without the hood..

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
north79004487
West Virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
1/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Perfect for my 4 year old. Totally would recommend this as a great starter fish bowl! We use it as a nightlight also. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice :)
2/9/2014

Customer review by skyepaige

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by skyepaige
by skyepaige

Its really nice and the lights are pretty, its a really good bowl.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skyepaige
hazelton , pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Home for our Betta
12/14/2013

Customer review by YardFreaks

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by YardFreaks
by YardFreaks

Perfect size for our Betta. Too many options with light colors with no explanation of them. Their are 10 options with various speeds. It resets itself each time you turn it off so you have to find the correct lighting each time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YardFreaks
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/3/2012

Customer review by bree99

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by bree99
by bree99

got with fish bowl about 2 weeks ago, and it was perfect, way cool light's and my betta loves it, he even has his favorite color, in which he'll prance around and look all pretty.. The only downfall is, the blue light quite working, and only blinks really annoyingly, so i can't use most of the settings and can only be set on red, green or clear. Im not to impressed with that. But it really is a great starter kit, and the fish look cool, depending on the color of the fish.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bree99
OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutely Beautiful
7/11/2014

Customer review by LadyC1186

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by LadyC1186
by LadyC1186

I bought this for my Beta at work & everyone that passes my desk has to stop and compliment his new home. I loved it so much I bought a 2nd one for my home for my guppy & it makes a beautiful accent. It does everything it mentions. It is just PERFECT!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyC1186
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a long term thing.
11/21/2012

Customer review by FredBanana

2.0 stars 11/21/2012 by FredBanana
by FredBanana

I got this for my beautiful half moon betta. First of all, the flashing colors are not good for fish, as it obviously causes stress. So the only light that is exceptable is the non colored one, remember fish are pets not decorations. The light went dead about two weeks of using it for about eight hours a day. Then about another week later, the plastic started to deteriorate. About three inches from the top and down there was plastic coming off of the tank, it was getting into the tank and poisoning my fish! There wasn't much to do but get a new tank. And for references of anyone with a betta considering this tank, he soon developed fin rot, most likely in result to poor conditions, of which I, a first time owner take full responsibility for. The tank is not to his standards, they need a filter, which can not be used in this bowl without removing the lid (I tried, remember bettas can jump!) Also heaters in this small of a tank will fry your beautiful fish in no time. I suggest get a ten gallon with live plants (lilly bulbs at Walmart are great with the right lighting) add a thermometer, heater, and filter. He will live a long and healthy life. :) Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FredBanana
Waynesville, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it
12/18/2011

Customer review by amoy

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by amoy
by amoy

My 2yr daugther loves it. She feeds the fishes and watch them all day. The light is great too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amoy
fontana, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
OK
7/3/2012

Customer review by EchoBunny

3.0 stars 7/3/2012 by EchoBunny
by EchoBunny

I bought this for a betta. At one gallon, its an ok size, but the curve of the bowl distorts the fish. The LED lights wash out the color, or obscure the fish completely. It might be good for some other type fish that doesn't require air and filtration, but I'm not thrilled with it. I might put in a fake fish and use it as a nightlight for my niece. :) Pro: its easy to feed the fish and its also easy to get the lid off to clean and do water changes. And it is quite pretty. :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EchoBunny
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews