Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Beware the new formula for Oral Balance
1/9/2014

Customer review by 1deevee

1.0 stars 1/9/2014 by 1deevee
by 1deevee

Beware - the formula for my beloved Oral Balance has been radically changed, and for the worse. Those good for your mouth enzymes are gone, and it now contains sodium hydroxide which burns my mouth, tongue and throat! What a loss. A great product for dry mouth sufferers is gone. The new one is more than useless for people with dry mouth. I used this product multiple times a day and now I'm looking for a replacement product and haven't been able to find anything.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1deevee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
it works
1/12/2016

Customer review by grandmamma

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by grandmamma
by grandmamma
Top 1000 contributor

I have dry mouth. Biotene was recommended by my dentist a few years ago and I have used it twice, sometimes more, a day. It is not bad tasting and isn't a substitute for salvia but activates your salvia glands to produce more. I take it with me EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmamma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Changed Formula Tastes Bad & Less Effective
9/11/2014

Customer review by TruthTeller101

1.0 stars 9/11/2014 by TruthTeller101
by TruthTeller101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Some time ago, perhaps the beginning of 2014 or thereabouts, Biotene changed the formula of this product. I used to swear by it for solving dry mouth problems overnight where long-term efficacy was required. However, the "NEW! PH-balanced formula" has been watered down so that its effectiveness longevity has been severely compromised. In addition, the new formula has a very caustic or acidic edge; inevitably one is going to have to swallow some of this goo during use, and in my case (and many others’ -- read the reviews on Amazon and on Biotene's web site) the formulation provides a very unpleasant throat-burning experience for a good 20-minutes after it is applied, which certainly doesn't help one get to sleep! This new product seems about as far from "pH-balanced" as you can get. The only reason I buy this product anymore is because it's the only real player in the game for relief that lasts longer than a couple of hours, and because I can still blend it with the contents of some travel packs of the old gel that I still have and have found more of online. After that stash runs out, I don't know what I will do. I guess I'm hoping Biotene realizes they made a huge "Coca-Cola reformulation" error and restores the old formula -- or at least remedies the horrible caustic edge this formulation suffers from. Wal-Mart does have the best pricing I have been able to find to date (another problem with this product -- it's ridiculously expensive -- prior to the reformulation you could buy it for $3.99 / tube).

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruthTeller101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the new formula is terrible.
12/21/2013

Customer review by jkhgjghu

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by jkhgjghu
by jkhgjghu

Biotene Toothpaste is no longer recommended by me. I can't even use it anymore because they changed the taste. The "mint" flavor now is overpowering. I have bought Biotene for years because every other brand was offensively strong in "mint", and Biotene was mild. I do not have dry mouth. But now, the box says "NEW Improved pH Balance", the cute flip-up cap is gone, and the taste is unbearable. Either I got a bad batch, or some new executive has screwed up what used to be a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkhgjghu
Lexington VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All night relief of dry mouth.
4/16/2012

Customer review by bubbleskey

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by bubbleskey
by bubbleskey

I use Oral Balance Gel every night for dry mouth. First I tried putting it on my tongue, but just swallowed it, so now I put it between my teeth and lips. Occasionally, I have to reapply it once during the night, but it usually lasts all night. It has a mild minty flavor. I love this stuff! Now I don't worry about my teeth falling out from chronic dry mouth. My dentist noticed a difference after I started using it. Yea.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubbleskey
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Biotene Dry Mouth Gel is the best on the market!
4/30/2012

Customer review by Snugscat

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by Snugscat
by Snugscat

I use Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Gel everynight and I put it on the roof of my mouth. I rarely have to reapply during the night. The only problem is finding it in the store when I need to buy more. I always buy at least six at a time. If you have a dry mouth problem, please try this and tell all your friends with the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snugscat
Biotene Oral Gel
12/17/2015

Customer review by travelingchick

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by travelingchick
by travelingchick

Using the Biotene Oral Gel at night before going to bed and when I get up overnight and get a drink of water helps to keep my mouth moist. For me the gel works better than the mouthwash.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
travelingchick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Dry Mouth is History!
11/26/2015

Customer review by LadeeAqua

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by LadeeAqua
by LadeeAqua

After suffering with Dry Mouth for more months than I care to count, I discovered this product. All I can say is Wow! What a difference! For the first time in ages, I am not waking up throughout the night feeling as if I've swallowed the desert. Biotene Oral Gel has a pleasant taste and is a breeze to use. It's amazing to me that just dabbing a little on the tongue makes such a difference. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadeeAqua
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/11/2012

Customer review by reyattee

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by reyattee
by reyattee

I could not make it through a day let alone a night without Oral Balance. I also put a bit on my upper denture before putting it in, seals better than Fix A Dent. I also use your toothpaste. Thank you for your products. Walmart does not always have oral balance on their shelf.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reyattee
Flowood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy I found this
7/23/2013

Customer review by Holiga

4.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Holiga
by Holiga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use a CPAP machine and have had a problem with dry mouth for years. I was looking at product reviews and this got good ones so I decided to give it a try. Glad I did! It is easy to use. It has an ok taste - not good but not terrible. I don't use as much as they say to use because I ended up swallowing a lot of it. I start with a little bit on my tongue - coat the inside of my mouth and add more if I need it. Helps me get to sleep and stay asleep longer. If I wake during the night I am able to grab the tube and use a little more without turning the light on. Not a miracle cure but it helps quite a bit. It seems a little expensive but you really don't use much. I expect this tube will last me about one month.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Holiga
Tolland MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Biotene Gel for Dry Mouth
11/13/2013

Customer review by Radar88

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Radar88
by Radar88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent product that significantly helps resolve dry mouth conditions. I use it each evening. Great price at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radar88
Villa Rica, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works well
11/16/2014

Customer review by DonBob99

4.0 stars 11/16/2014 by DonBob99
by DonBob99

little dab before bedtime and much relief from dry mouth due to pain Meds

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonBob99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for dry mouth
12/23/2013

Customer review by Faylene

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Faylene
by Faylene
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good product for dry mouth. I have tried everything out there. It was much better before they changed their formula, however. It now has a strong flavor that iritates inside of my mouth. Before, was a very bland mixture. Now it is way too strong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Faylene
S.F. Bay area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oral Balance ...great flavor..oral moisturizer
12/11/2013

Customer review by MarneMomma

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by MarneMomma
by MarneMomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So glad that the production problem has been resolved. This gel has been missed! Best product for dry mouth. Gel's flavor is far superior to the flavor of the liquid. Not that long lasting and not inexpensive, but the best.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarneMomma
md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HELPS WITH DRY MOUTH
12/20/2013

Customer review by workinghardwife

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by workinghardwife
by workinghardwife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my husband is bed-bound with a disease that makes it impossible for him to close his mouth. Consequently, his mouth is extremely dry. Biotene gel helps but we also use lemon glycerine swabs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workinghardwife
vancouver, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for c-pap and bi-pap users.
2/23/2014

Customer review by Buster40

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Buster40
by Buster40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband sleeps with a bi-pap and says Biotene Gel is a must for his dry mouth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buster40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Helps my gums
6/7/2013

Customer review by Mocitygranny

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Mocitygranny
by Mocitygranny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

This is pricy for the amt. in tube, but a good product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mocitygranny
Missouri City, Texasa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great for dry mouth
2/26/2015

Customer review by Phylly

5.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Phylly
by Phylly

My husband has dry mouth from radiation, he uses biotene every night. It's the only product he has found to help him sleep. Phyllis

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phylly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't Truly Tell.
7/11/2014

Customer review by McSwill

3.0 stars 7/11/2014 by McSwill
by McSwill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only been using it for a few days and it's hard to notice any difference. The Gobi Desert rolls on inside my morning mouth endlessly, however the more marked symptoms -- the senseless tongue like a foreign object in the mouth -- hasn't happened so far. All I can say is that it may work. If the difference becomes more noticeable I'll edit this comment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McSwill
Deming, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really works
1/20/2015

Customer review by GeorgiaGingersnap

5.0 stars 1/20/2015 by GeorgiaGingersnap
by GeorgiaGingersnap

This helps!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgiaGingersnap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews