Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Fun and easy with great results
10/10/2011

Customer review by TenTwentyFive

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by TenTwentyFive
by TenTwentyFive

Overall this was pretty easy and fun to use, and the pretzels turned out great. It doesn't come with pre-mixed dough (I wish it did) but you can buy it separately, or get store-bought bread dough, or mix your own! I tried the first recipe in the manual - traditional soft pretzels. The only ingredient you may not have in your kitchen is yeast, everything else is pretty basic (flour, baking soda, butter, salt, brown sugar). You mix the dough, roll it out and stamp out the pretzel shapes with these cookie cutter like stamps. Then you dip the cut-outs in water and put it into the pretzel mold -- this was the trickiest part and I wasn't able to get perfectly shaped pretzels initially because it's not that easy to get the dough exactly into the mold (but I got better after several tries). I was skeptical about how the pretzels would turn out since it seemed like such a simple recipe but they were delicious! I made the dough before hand and brought this pretzel factory to a party with me and rolled and baked them live -- everyone loved having fresh, hot, soft pretzels and they were a huge hit! The only concern I'd have is around durability, I used a fork to pry the pretzels out of the mold and ended up scratching the non-stick surface a bit -- so just be careful and maybe use a spatula instead.

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TenTwentyFive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
fun project for kids and adults
10/18/2011

Customer review by ahhhhhhhhh

4.0 stars 10/18/2011 by ahhhhhhhhh
by ahhhhhhhhh

This was a better than expected item. I assumed this would work just as well baking them in an oven, but after using I found the quick cooking times very suprising. Evenly cooked, browned, and nice texture finish when you follow the mix instructions. I enjoyed making the pretzels using the companion mix (sold separtely) I made only the large pretzels -- the small ones seemed like too much effort. I was challenging enough getting the larger ones in the right position in the press. Anyway -- fun to do!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahhhhhhhhh
calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
fun and tasty pretzels!
11/19/2011

Customer review by bato24

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by bato24
by bato24

Making pretzels at home is fun! I have two young boys who always want hot, fresh pretzels when we go to the mall. The instructions were easy to follow and we mixed the dough and let it rise for about 30 minutes. We then rolled it out and made sure it was well floured before using the pretzel cutters. The tricky part is getting the cut pretzel into the mold in the machine. After the first two - I got bette and easily placed them and had perfect pretzels. As a time saving measure, I'm going to try using pre-made pizza or bread dough which the instructions say you can use as well.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bato24
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Soft Prezel Lovers Will Love the Prezel Factory
12/18/2011

Customer review by PGayleE

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by PGayleE
by PGayleE

I do everything 'quick and dirty'.... the pretzel cutter took too long. Instead I used a heart shaped biscuit cutter(any kitchen dept. carries them)I placed this on the appropriate shaped pretzel mold on the pretzel factory. The hot mold does a good job of stamping the heart shaped dough into the traditional pretzel knot. The cutting goes quick and the pretzel still looks great.I think the pretzel factory soft pretzels are perfectly browned and taste great. The best part you can customize your dough or just buy ready made dough at the store. A little practice and you'll be a pro. Here is my dough recipe: I use a cup w/w bread flour to 3 cups white bread flour. This improves the whole grain nutritional value of the pretzel. I also use a Cusinart to mix my pretzel dough. If you go on line there are recipes for using this techique

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PGayleE
Bellevue ,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
For people who really, really love pretzels
1/10/2012

Customer review by lisatravels

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by lisatravels
by lisatravels

I'm always skeptical of appliances that just do one thing. They take up space, rarely get used, and often break easily. The Nostalgia Electrics Soft Pretzel Factory does just one thing, but it's not too big to store, and it seems very durable, so I imagine you could get a lot of use out of it. Will you use it very often though? I think if your family loves hot pretzels, and you like to make treats from scratch, then yes. This is something you can use on weekends, after school or on holidays and have fun with. The recipe book has lots of ideas for different types of pretzels and dips, and you can come up with your own combinations as well. However, pretzels are much more involved to make than cookies or cupcakes or brownies. You have to let the dough rise for at least half an hour, then knead it, then roll it out and cut out the pretzel shapes. The cookie cutters included aren't very sharp, so I also spent time getting the dough out from where the holes should be in the pretzel and reshaping it. It's slow going, although once you've made the dough I *think* you could freeze it or refrigerate it and make pretzels fresh each day until you run out. The manual says you can also use store-bought dough, so I tried a cinnamon roll dough from a can and that worked pretty well and was much faster. Make sure you OIL the molds before using them, and only use wood or plastic to remove the pretzels to avoid scratching it. I just grabbed them with my fingers and they came right out, but the scraper from a George Forman grill works well, too. In the end, the pretzels were very tasty (just using the basic recipe and dipping in melted butter, then sugar and cinnamon or caramel dip). I'm just not sure if I want to put that much time and effort into a snack.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lisatravels
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
2/2/2013

Customer review by Shopper244

3.0 stars 2/2/2013 by Shopper244
by Shopper244

product looks great, cooks very well, after use i waited for it to cool down and used the correct items to clean the surface. The non stick material ended up chipping a very little bit on the edge. (after 1 use) using the dough cutters you have to press down pretty hard though. overall a good product just a few defects.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper244
parish,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
4/1/2012

Customer review by kraftyjh

4.0 stars 4/1/2012 by kraftyjh
by kraftyjh

Makes really good pretzels. But be sure to make only what you will eat the day you make them. Because shelf life is very short, by the next day they will be very hard and stale,

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kraftyjh
AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week