Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Fun for the kids!
12/10/2012

Customer review by Cottonmom

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Cottonmom
by Cottonmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son has one of these and loves it!! His friends love it too--so we bought another one as a Christmas present!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cottonmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun Cotton Candy Maker
1/10/2012

Customer review by InMyPerspective

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by InMyPerspective
by InMyPerspective
Walmart associate

This cotton candy is very compact and can quickly make cotton candy. We all had fun using/playing with it. You can easily make cotton candy in just a few steps. First preheat the machine for a few minutes to warm it up; second pick out the hard candy or sugar candy that you would like to use; third put the candy in the machine. Finally wait for a little bit and you are ready to put them in the paper cones. And you can eat what you have created! I like how you have the option to put various hard candies flavors in the machine! There are tons of possibilities… still have to decide which one is my favorite. The downside is that you may have to continually put more hard candy; I couldn’t create a full size cotton candy ball with just two hard candies. But I guess that was expected since this machine is small. Also, please note that the cotton candy maker does not come with the candy kit (which is a nice addition). You will need to buy it separately.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InMyPerspective
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Walmart associate
A great find for the family.
11/27/2011

Customer review by OneFlush

4.0 stars 11/27/2011 by OneFlush
by OneFlush

I bought my retro machine to make cotton candy at my wedding. One of the reasons this one is so much more awesome than other machines is the fact that you can use hard candy in it. It's best not to use sticky hard candy (like jolly ranchers) and stick with the truly hard stuff (like butterscotch). I really like that you can also use the sugar free hard candy as well that way diabetics and the dieters at the wedding were able to enjoy it as well. I do recommend that if you're hardcore about cotton candy and want the authentic taste, go ahead and buy some flossine (you can find it on auction sites for cheaper for small quantities). I got 10 different flavors for ~10 bucks and they make 120 servings each. Use this and regular granulated sugar to mix up the same stuff the pro's use. The "flossugar" that you can buy has starch in it which can clog up the machine so it's best to make your own. Overall, I'd definitely buy again!

Was this review helpful? (75) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneFlush
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for a quick taste of a favorite "fair fare"
12/22/2012

Customer review by TheMom101

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by TheMom101
by TheMom101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was purchased as a gift for me. I had bought another one from the same company for my granddaughter. My daughter had one when she was little and it was very, very hard to clean! This one looks good, makes great cotton candy, and, perhaps most important, comes apart for easy cleaning. My only complaint is that the top ring (the clear one) doesn't snap on to the bottom one tightly and it vibrates and that makes it a good bit louder than the other one. Making cotton candy from hard candy is a plus, but I quickly found out that if you use only hard candy the cotton candy dissolves "crunchier" than if you mix the hard candy with sugar. I usually use half a candy cane broke up in small pieces and almost a tablespoon of sugar. That gives it the flavor and color and makes a softer cotton candy. It is vey easy to clean. The part that actually melts the candy/sugar comes off and can be cleaned by letting it soak in hot water for a bit. Would I recommend it.... absolutely!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMom101
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really cool
10/26/2011

Customer review by HiDef0715

4.0 stars 10/26/2011 by HiDef0715
by HiDef0715
Walmart associate

We love cotton candy in our house--I had no idea it'd really be this easy to make it. The only tough part is not eating it all :) I've mainly been making the cotton candy with the cotton candy sugar that comes in the separate kit, just because I prefer the traditional taste. However, it was cool watching the hard candies become cotton candy--I would just recommend that you let the spinner preheat a little longer for the hard candies--it makes the cotton candy come out better. The appliance is really easy to use, and clean up is not that bad--it's a little too large to store on a countertop, so I keep in the closet, but it only takes me about a minute to set up the unit #the first time took me about 3 mins).

Was this review helpful? (114) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiDef0715
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Great cotton candy maker!
12/9/2013

Customer review by jazzyg6

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by jazzyg6
by jazzyg6
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read some reviews about this machine, most were good. it's true that you don't get muchcotton candy when you use hard candy and sticky candy isn't the best to use, cotton candy texture is not soft and fluffy, more like stiff when you use jolly ranchers. we bought this machine to use for my daughter's 2nd b- day. again, hard candy isn't the best choice if you want a lot of cotton candy like at theme parks. we bought floss sugar, regular cotton candy sugar and omg! talk about big fluffy and exactly what I was going for. it works great! read instructions, very important because it tells you exactly how long to leave the machine running. for hard candy run 5min for it to heat up. for floss sugar let it heat up for 10min. The floss sugar we bought was the same brand and it came with extra plastic cones and bags to make multiple at a time, keeps them fresh. When we do her party it's best to make the cotton candy in advance then bag then. if any one wants seconds, then we'll be pulling out the machine. one more thing... watch YouTube videos on how to properly catch the floss sugar for cotton candy. have fun!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jazzyg6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/15/2011

Customer review by MelbaTuna

4.0 stars 12/15/2011 by MelbaTuna
by MelbaTuna

This product does work. It actually makes cotton candy that tastes like at the carnival. You have to let it heat up, very important, takes about 5 mins, and at first it seems like it is not going to work, the cotton candy is just flying out, but once it gets going and you get it wrapped once or twice around stick, it is so fun, just keep adding sugar and it will make enough. We got it last year, and now this year, my kids just want more sugar!

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MelbaTuna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Deceiving
11/25/2012

Customer review by Jadegem2002

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Jadegem2002
by Jadegem2002

This machine has the looks and price but like the saying goes "You get what you pay for." I wanted to make cotton candy for my son and daughters birthday party. I had about 20 children and thought i could make some for the adults. OMG I would have had to start making cotton candy like two weeks before because it takes for ever to make a big roll of cotton candy like you would at a carnival or circus. And the hard candy works but when you eat it it gets all hard in your month. I used jolly ranchers and the hard life savers. waste of money but the kinds had extra candy in there take out party favor box. Dont buy this. Save your money and splurge on the bigger machines . However, if you want to buy this just to have a sample then okay but dont expect to have a big thing of cotton candy in a few minutes bc it will take a while. set up is easy and so is clean up. i just soak in it hot soapy water.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jadegem2002
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
10/26/2011

Customer review by kaiterstim

4.0 stars 10/26/2011 by kaiterstim
by kaiterstim
Walmart associate
 Rated by Mom

Very cute cotton candy maker, truly looks old-fashioned and is sturdy. Does make cotton candy well, but at a slower rate than I expected primarily because the space to put the candy/flossing sugar is small and needs to be refilled often. It does heat up quickly and is really easy to clean. Kids loved it! p.s. rating durability as good, because I have only used it twice so don't have a good read on it's durability.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaiterstim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
 Rated by Mom
9/22/2012

Customer review by Thomkinwin

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Thomkinwin
by Thomkinwin

Awesome....Got this for kids b-day party. Loved it used hard candy and took a few times to get the hang of it but it made enough for the 16 kids at the party. Super hit..Neighbor is even thinking about getting one now. I watched a youtube video on how to make the candy with the machine first and that helped a bunch I think. Totally worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomkinwin
Leicester VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Really Fun Product!!!
12/30/2012

Customer review by Mommyof3Sweeties

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Mommyof3Sweeties
by Mommyof3Sweeties
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for a shared family Christmas gift for our kids. From teen to 6 years old. They have had so much fun with this and its ease of use too, they have used it each day so far since they got it on Christmas. There is some cleaning up after to keep the stickiness down after multiple uses, but nothing warm water and mild soap won't wash off. My daughter says she loooves it (she is 6) and my teens with their friends had a good time trying different flavors and making it themselves. Mostly I got this because 2 of my 3 kids have red dye allergies and we usually can not get cotton candy at fairs and things, usually its pink or blue made on the same machine as pink, so now we can make our own, red dye-free. I would recommend this product, super easy to use and fun trying different flavors. We have used plain sugar, flavored sugar and hard candies. All work and taste great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyof3Sweeties
Wrightstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
small results
3/27/2013

Customer review by SHELLLS

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by SHELLLS
by SHELLLS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

the results are small but you can add more candy to get a bigger ball. my grand daughter just loves it. the fact that floss sugar is hard to find around here and that you can use the hard candies is a great plus. although the floss can be ordered online, the kids just don't want to wait for it. when the kids have movie night they have the popcorn maker, the cotton candy maker, and the snow cone maker, all they need now is the hotdog maker and their theater is complete, no need for the high price of going out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHELLLS
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
I would highly recommend
5/19/2016

Customer review by Hendrickskd

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Hendrickskd
by Hendrickskd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this for our son's graduation party. It worked well and our guest got a kick out of it. We did find that 3 lifesavers were the perfect amount to make a nice size (not huge) amount on the stick. I am looking forward to using it again soon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hendrickskd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/6/2013

Customer review by Amanda4654654

1.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Amanda4654654
by Amanda4654654

I could only make one decent sized cotton candy cone at a time. After that the heating element would clog up and I was unable to use it until after it was cleaned. The heating element becomes very hot, so you can't remove it for cleaning for some time. It was also difficult to remove. I am packing this up for return today. IF you buy this, though I would not, regular table sugar works the best. We tried the floss and various hard candies; the regular sugar made the most authentic looking and tasting cotton candy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amanda4654654
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
its ok..
12/28/2012

Customer review by roror0

3.0 stars 12/28/2012 by roror0
by roror0
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it takes a while to make a cone. the kids are enjoying it, but, kind of like the easy bake oven. the thought is cute, but in reality, fair. the plastic shield rattle a lot you have to kind of hold it in place. The kids try to hold the plastic tube and rotate it around the inside, but when it touches the medal the candy kind of melts. it's better to work from the top, and grab the candy web and roll from above the maker.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roror0
east hanover, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/29/2012

Customer review by miasgrandson

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by miasgrandson
by miasgrandson

I have just purchased this item... makes great tasting cotton candy... it will take a little pratice making them... but will still be fun...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miasgrandson
Dickson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/13/2012

Customer review by Misscrochet

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Misscrochet
by Misscrochet

I bought this for when my grandkid's come to visit. This works great and is so fun, tried several kinds of hard candy and broken up candy canes and all of them worked. First time it sounds like machine is broken, but after the 1st 10 minutes of warming it up, it worked great and the noise level died down.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Misscrochet
Pratt, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for small events
3/6/2013

Customer review by funevents

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by funevents
by funevents
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for a sleepover sweet 16 party and it was a hit! It was the one thing that everyone couldnt wait for their turn. Being able to use hard candy made it even better; the girls had a blast mixing flavors. Reminder...please allow 5 min for it to completely warm up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
funevents
Douglasville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome for party
2/28/2012

Customer review by Jiggykat38

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Jiggykat38
by Jiggykat38

This was a BIG hit at my sons' birthday party. It was cheaper than renting one and will be able to be used at future fun gatherings.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jiggykat38
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it!
2/12/2012

Customer review by momtoashdan

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by momtoashdan
by momtoashdan

My entire family enjoys this product, very easy to use and makes wonderful cotton candy. We like that you can use any hard candy, including sugar free cotton candy. Also cleans very easily. Good price for the product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momtoashdan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews