Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 64 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Color is horrible _ no depth
11/18/2011

Customer review by vir2

1.0 stars 11/18/2011 by vir2
by vir2

I purchased a LG TV 47" Class LED LCD tv/tvacl model 47L v4400 on Nov. 6, 2011 and set it up on Nov. 17th, 2011. I could not believe the poor color. The price was very good and we use the factor automatic setup. Even when the color was adjusted it did not make a great difference. All the colors are very faint. I returned this TV Nov. 18, 2011. I would not purchased this model for 50% lower than I paid for it. 47" size is great for my sitting room. Maybe this TV was a factor line blooper.

Was this review helpful? (83) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vir2
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Worst TV ever!
11/20/2011

Customer review by Kme57

1.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Kme57
by Kme57

I purchased this TV Yesterday and it's on it's way back to Walmart tomorrow. Absolutely the worst tv I have ever purchased. Picture is blurry and Hazy. Color is very poor. We have adjusted everything possible and the picture is still horrible. As others have said the sound is awful. The speakers are on the back of the tv. WE have the sound on 90 so we can here it. The sound is also very high pitched and annoying. If we hung it on the wall as planned we wouldn't be able to hear it and the sound would also e muffled. I would not recommend this tv to anyone. It is not worth the box it came in.

Was this review helpful? (125) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kme57
Bossier City, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
11/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this today, returning it tomorrow. Lot's of motion blur no matter what setting I put it on. Sound comes out the back and not the front, kind of distracting. Very grainy picture. No features what so ever, can't even see a guide for the channels you are watching. My 4 year old 32" vizio LCD has better picture, sound and features than this tv does. I could't even watch a blu ray on it because of the motion blur. Maybe I just got a bad unit, don't know and after tomorrow won't care!!!

Was this review helpful? (167) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a bad TV...
11/9/2011

Customer review by Rondo07

4.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Rondo07
by Rondo07

Ok after returning an defective Philips 47" TV I bought this unit...my review so far sound quality is poor but the picture with HD programming pretty good. Hooked up to a blue ray player looks really good. I am not an expert on tv's but for what it is it so fa it seems to do its job pretty good for the price I guess.

Was this review helpful? (72) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rondo07
Valencia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
this is energy efficient electronic
12/13/2011

Customer review by SightLand

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by SightLand
by SightLand

for those complaining about picture quality, this is an energy efficient LCD that comes out of the box as "default" in "auto" mode. for those using this in darker shaded area and do not like the picture quality, turn off the energy efficient option of "auto" to "off". "auto" mode will adjust the brightness automatically to lighting variation and in "off" mode you will see exactly same high quality picture as you did at the store[bright area]. Energy rating for this LCD is $17/yr which is about 50% more efficient compare to typical LCD today. Sound quality is about similar for this type of LCD with tiny speakers and powerless sound. I have sound bar connected to complement the lack of "sound" for factory speakers. Overall this is an extremely good deal as of this week at $629 [$100 cheaper than Amazon] so buy this if you need LCD this month. Like all electronics, it may be even cheaper next month.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SightLand
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too many minor issues
12/13/2011

Customer review by OCFootballMom

2.0 stars 12/13/2011 by OCFootballMom
by OCFootballMom

I read the reviews and was torn. I just purchased this TV on Friday 12/09/11. I will be returning this TV for a Vizio or a Samsung, maybe even an Hisense or Element! Let me get right to it make this brief and not drag it out. THINGS THAT ARE WRONG WITH THIS TV: 1. The Picture Quality is Dull, Dark and Horrible (My Current 32inch Samsung and Vizio are brighter) REFER TO MY PHOTOS pic#2 - To see how dark it looks no matter the setting at night. No TV should ever look this dark. 2. The sound is Extremely low, yes (HOWEVER, as long as you have a soundbar/entertainment theater you are good to go!) 3. There are not enough outlets on the back of the LG TV 4. The TV has 'movement' glitches while watching it (This right here was the icing on cake for me going back to the store this week) *FYI* A friend of mine has an Element and Hisense LCD HDTV and both picture quality is amazing compared to this LG-LED-LCD. So if you do not mind these above cons then enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCFootballMom
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Tv!
12/11/2011

Customer review by Batts81

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Batts81
by Batts81

I read all the reviews on this after I put the tv on layaway. I just got it on 12/9/11. I hooked it up and the picture wasn't awesome but it was nice, I was only getting 720p on all channels. Hit the enter button and see what your cable is bringing up as. I called LG and they said it was my cable box. So I went into my settings in my cable box (verizon vios) and put it to 1080i . Now the picture is AWESOME! The speakers are not in the back they are under the tv pointing down. The sound is fine once you get use to it or just hook it up to surround sound and turn off the speakers. Also the tv does not support 480i and you should put the HDMI cable in HDMI3, it says it in the book if people read it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Batts81
Davenport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worse LCD TV ever!!!
11/21/2011

Customer review by guitardude68

1.0 stars 11/21/2011 by guitardude68
by guitardude68

This is without a doubt the worse LCD tv I have ever seen. I bought it based on the price and reviews I had read. I always expect a new tv to look horrible straight out of the box because they usually need adjustments to match your room and personal taste. This tv was no exception. The picture was overly dark but the backgrounds looked pretty good so I just assumed a couple adjustments and I would be satisfied. Well, that didn't happen. As I said, the backgrounds looked pretty good. The problem was mostly with skin tones and whites. No matter what I did, there was a horrible, washed out look to all faces and a weird blue tint to everything... especially whites. The second issue was with the sound. Again, I didn't expect a lot from the sound due to the depth of the television. I had read reviews and most of them had commented that the sound was not great. However, I was not prepared for just how bad the sound really was. It honestly sounded like a small transistor radio in a tiled bathroom. There are a lot of pretty good reviews on this tv. Perhaps mine was defective. I did notice that a lot of the newer reviews are negative. Maybe LG changed something about the newer models or perhaps they just had a bad run of defective LCD panels. I find it hard to believe that anybody that saw the same tv I did could possibly find it in their hearts to give a positive review on something this bad. Needless to say that I took mine back. I replaced it with a lower model Samsung that was around the same price. I'm really glad I did that as the Samsung obliterates the LG in every way, despite not being LED and only having a 60hz refresh rate. The Samsung has a much better picture with no weird blue-ish tint and the sound is surprisingly good as well. My advice would be to not take a chance on this model. There are a lot of LCD tv's in this price range. I honestly believe even the cheaper models would have to look and sound better than this one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guitardude68
Prestonsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
12/9/2011

Customer review by skm1234

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by skm1234
by skm1234

I bought this product because LG is a decent brand. The price seemed great! It's a LED with 1080 and 120 hz and I was wonder why this product was marked so low. When I got it home and hooked it up...I see why. It's horrible. The speakers are on the back of the TV and it seemed like cheap speakers. I was going to mount this and spend an extra $100-$150 for a sound bar. But, the picture is very poor. Flesh color seems off and watching sports is pitiful. I have HD hookups and I tried to mess with the coloring on the TV. Horrible. If you watch a movie, it's OK. But, you want to watch sports and regular TV, then buy something else. I would rather spend an extra $200 and be happy than use this... BE CAREFUL!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skm1234
little rock, ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Disappointing
11/21/2011

Customer review by RanTan

2.0 stars 11/21/2011 by RanTan
by RanTan

The sound on this television is just awful unless you connect to a surround sound system. The picture quality was average at best. Returned it after only a few days and will be purchasing something better soon... hopefully.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RanTan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money... Dont buy this TV.
12/1/2011

Customer review by ThatMan

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by ThatMan
by ThatMan

LED TV???? YEAH RIGHT! The Picture on this TV is terrible... I have a 4 year old 37inch LCD TV right next to this one and the picture is 10 times better.... I have an HD/DVR with my cable company and you can not see a difference in the HD channels vs the non-HD channels...The sound on this TV is pretty bad too... The speakers are in the rear of the TV. So if you plan to sit behind your TV then you will be able to hear just fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThatMan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/26/2011

Customer review by JAKKD

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by JAKKD
by JAKKD

We have been very happy with this TV. The picture is really good. The only thing is the sound, because the speakers are in the back, but if you attach a sound system or speakers of some kind, it is fine. It has all the features we were looking for in a tv. We have had an LG before and are very happy with that brand, so we purchased another one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAKKD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
This IS A GREAT TV REGARDLESS TO OTHER REVIEWS
11/27/2011

Customer review by Goldturkey

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Goldturkey
by Goldturkey

This is by far the best tv I have gotten:D I was skeptical getting this tv based on all the reviews it has been given. SOUND: the sound is bad on the tv it self is alright. It comes from the back of the tv. You sound also invest into a home entertainment system. Preferably a blu-ray combo. PICTURE: The picture on the tv is great. One side note it that when you don't have a HD connection , it will look weird. Also If it seems fuzzy but just decrease both of the noises in the advanced menu. This is a big slim tv and you all sound buy this tv:)

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goldturkey
Las vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/20/2011

Customer review by Diamondgoat98

4.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Diamondgoat98
by Diamondgoat98

Nice size t.v. not bad for the price not as clear as the philips 240Hz. I am satified with purchase and oh yeah t.v. arrived at my home in 2 days with free delivery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diamondgoat98
Phila. Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not perfect, but not horrible
12/17/2011

Customer review by DoubleDeluxe

4.0 stars 12/17/2011 by DoubleDeluxe
by DoubleDeluxe

Overall, I'm happy with my purchase of this TV. The picture is wonderful. I do not see any lag or blur at all. It's easy to work and set up. My Xbox looks smooth when I run through the DVI/PC port, but leaves a lot to be desired when running through the component jacks. The sound is not spectacular at all on this TV, but I fixed it by plugging up my set of Logitech computer speakers to it. I will be investing in a Home Theater system in the future to cure the sound problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoubleDeluxe
r a l e i g h , n c
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by cole34

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by cole34
by cole34

I can't say much positive about this tv. Well the tv itself, does look nice. However I experienced horrible haloing. Very poor sound. An annoying buzzing noise that doesn't stop. I have purple tinted bars moving vertically through my screen constantly (not that noticeable though). The stand is very flimsy. The overall picture is fuzzy and seems to lag or perhaps its delayed despite it being a 120hz. I have all the proper HD hook ups as well. I expected a lot more out of an LG tv from what I have heard. I have wasted my time/money and will be exchanging this tv tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cole34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Disappointed
12/5/2011

Customer review by IAMBA

1.0 stars 12/5/2011 by IAMBA
by IAMBA

Originally I couldn't believe the deal I got on this 47" LG, as I was under the impression that pretty much any TV by this brand was a safe bet... turns out that it was too good to be true. This is apparently LG's low-end model, with poor picture, horrible sound, and very limited features. I would not recommend this model to anyone. I ended up returning it and spending a little more to get the LW5300, at Walmart, which is a significantly better TV.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAMBA
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
11/29/2011

Customer review by Dan495

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Dan495
by Dan495

Bought this TV the other day and i am pleased with it for the price i got it for. I don't have an HD cable box yet so cable TV doesn't look great since it's being received in SD. Blu Ray movies and video games look spectacular on it. It doesn't have as many options as some TVs do but there is enough. My biggest complaint with this and many of the newer TVs is that the speakers aren't great. I highly recommend buying a sound bar or some sort of home theater to go with it. I picked up a Sony sound bar and it works great with the TV

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dan495
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound needs improvement!
12/14/2011

Customer review by Wildyank1

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Wildyank1
by Wildyank1

Has great picture quality, but the sound is awful. Volume needs to be raised high to hear anything.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildyank1
Deland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Others don't know what they're talking about
3/20/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/20/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I actually bought this LG 47LV4400 (new/used) on Ebay for the low low price of $450. For that price, any 1080p, 120Hz, 3HDMI, 47" television is worth it. Those were my criteria for a decent tv. To be fair, I'll add these disclaimers. I was upgrading from a 37" 480p CRT. I have never personally owned an HDTV but have had plenty of experience viewing others from my friends. This tv is an LED 1.8" thick product and I will judge it as such. Value: As I've mentioned before, great price although i have high standards and can be very patient in order to get what i want for the right price. Features: I want to mention the features first because it seems as if some people don't realize there are two menu options. One menu with the given remote is called "QMenu" or quick menu. this menu allows you to cycle through the presets on the tv such as "standard, vivid, sports..." for picture as well as sound, picture ratio, sleep, and captions. These settings are alright but obviously everybody's eyes see the world differently so you have the option to adjust them via the "HOME" option. This menu allows you to change picture contrast, brightness, sharpness, color, tint, color temperature, "fresh contrast", "fresh color", gamma, black level, eye care ... and that's just for picture. Honestly, these are more options than I could ever want but more than enough to make the average person happy. One of the determining factors on picture brightness is actually the energy savings mode. Putting it on maximum darkens the screen but you would obviously save energy. Turning it off makes the screen really bright. Picture: I hooked up my xbox and switched it to HD settings. Finally I can read the words on video games! Everything is crystal clear and it has made the experience much more enjoyable. Picture quality is not going to look fantastic if you plan on watching regular cable (EDTV) because it broadcasts in 480p anyway. Sound: It's not the best sounding but its not terrible. I keep the volume around 10/100 and i sit anywhere from 8-20 ft away. Those reviews that say they need the volume on 90 must have it sitting out in the middle of an open field or have carpet on their walls because if you know anything about sound propagation, it would never need to be that loud. My TV sits near a corner which naturally makes the sound about 50% louder than normal. Placing it against a wall would increase the sound by about 25%. I notice that the commercials tend to have poorer quality. Perhaps it's the loudness or just noise in general but I don't have a problem with programs. Keeping in mind that the tv is 1.8" thick, I didn't expect amazing speakers. As suggested by others, you can always get or use your current sound system. Other thoughts: I love that it only weights 40 pounds. I was able to move it around and set it up myself without too much difficulty. The screen is MATTE which is great when it comes to reflections. Don't expect no reflections at all but it is much better than glossy. 3 HDMI ports, Component ports, and a PC port will all come in handy. The stand is completely sturdy. It even comes with an extra screw to ensure the tv doesn't tip over if you're worried. Although the stand is sturdy, the TV itself is large enough to wobble because of overhang/levers and such but it shouldn't worry you much because how often do you touch your tv? Just be as careful around it as you would be around any expensive equipment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews