Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 56 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Amazing LED TV, Amazing Price
11/14/2011

Customer review by Jesabella04

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by Jesabella04
by Jesabella04

I just got my LG 42' LED-LCD 42LV4400 on Saturday shipped to my house, for free, which I ordered Thursday afternoon. The TV is beautiful. It's an amazing picture. The sound is not as bad as I read on other reviews; however, I use this TV in my master bedroom, as opposed to a living room. The sound works fine for what I'm looking for. I'm so happy to have found a 42 inch brand name, top of technology #LED, 1080p, 120hz, etc# for such a reasonable price. Last year, I purchased a Sony Bravia, 40 inch, LCD, 1080p, 60 hz for 498 at Walmart. For 50 dollars more, I went up in size and up in technology. I'm very impressed by this TV thus far and would reccomend anyone to purchase it!

Was this review helpful? (310) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jesabella04
Mokena, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/25/2011

Customer review by Fantofabuloious

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Fantofabuloious
by Fantofabuloious

I received my LG TV on 11/22/2011. The setup was easy, Once I got it on all I can say is Wow! The color, sharpness is visually stunning! I am very happy. This is my first LG LED purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. This TV is simply amazing! The clarity is great & the sound. LED is definitely the way to go. I would recommend this TV to everyone out there looking for a great flat screen LED/LCD TV. The price point is also great!

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fantofabuloious
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
11/19/2011

Customer review by 5yes

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by 5yes
by 5yes

I have had TV for 1 week LG 42LV4400 very satisfied with the quality so far. Had to reprogram my cable box for 1080 because previous TV was not HD. Sound quality not as good as old TV but still acceptable. I am considering a sound bar. Overall very good buy and $250.00 cheaper than regular price at Best Buy

Was this review helpful? (76) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5yes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv, best value for money
11/29/2011

Customer review by Samnewer

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Samnewer
by Samnewer

Before buying this tv, i did lot of research and read all the reviews. I was little bit worried when i ordered this TV, because i never owned an LG tv before. But thanks to all the previous reviews. My Opinion: This is the best tv for the money. It is light weight, easy to set up (10 mins overall), It has very clear picture (you need to fine tune the settings) and good sound. I read in previous reviews that the sound quality isn't good. I don't expect it to be better than what it is. It's not a smart tv, but I knew that before I purchased and I already had a streaming player, it works well with that. Depending on the input quality of the video (blu ray player, dish tv, usb input (from the streaming player), online streaming), the video quality differs. That is expected, because if you don't have a full HD video input, you won't get the same in the tv. Pros: 1. Amazing picture quality 2. Good Sound 3. Value for money Cons: 1. USB input could have had the option to read video files too. It just reads photos 2. Viewing angle isn't great. If you view from the sides, the picture quality reduces a bit. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samnewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by travitron

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by travitron
by travitron

Overall I am very happy with my purchase of this TV. To get a 42in LED at this price is a great deal. The picture quality is amazing! I hooked up my ps3 and was blown away with how clear the picture was. I also watch a lot of sports, and it feels like I'm right there at the game! Not all of our TV channels are in HD, the ones that are I don't believe could look any better. The other channels are still clear, but you can certainly see the difference. As far as sound goes, I can't really complain. Most TVs these days do not have great sound, very few have speakers on the front. This TV's speakers are on the bottom, which I prefer, it gives the front of the TV a clean, sleek look. As with the picture quality, I found that the sound quality depends a lot on the channel I'm watching. Most channels I can keep the volume around 20 and I hear it just fine. The things I would change on this TV have to do with its inputs and outputs. It only has 1 composite or componet input. It would have been nice to have 2. Also, I had a surround sound system from my old TV that I had wanted to hook up, however this TVs audio out is not an RCA cable (the red and white cables#. It uses a 1.8mm audio out #the same as a portable mp3 player#. So to use my surround sound I had to buy an adapter #$4) that allowed me to hook up my surround sound. Not a big deal, just a little bit of a hassle. If you are looking for a nice LED TV at a reasonable price I would certainly recommend this one!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
travitron
Hays, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
11/27/2011

Customer review by MsThrift

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by MsThrift
by MsThrift

It arrived 2 days after purchasing. I set it up in no time at all and was enjoying great-viewing tv. Only hooked up to an antenna at my home and am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsThrift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK if you don't have HDTV service
11/17/2011

Customer review by Bdancer57

2.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Bdancer57
by Bdancer57

I've always bought Sony Bravia products in the past but my last Sony got a burn image in just a little over a year. Therefore, I decided to give LG a try as I have LG appliances in my house and I like them. I went to Walmart and looked at the TV in the store and it looked good. I ordered this TV online and was very pleased that it shipped so quickly. I was very disappointed though when the TV was set up. The picture looks like a poster with a gray tint to it. The quality is about the same as a cheap camera with few pixels. The color is not true and no amount of adjusting makes it better. I can't even tell if the TV has high defintion. The picture just looks dull and lifeless. I would not have orderd this TV if I had realized it was a LED/LCD TV. This energy saver thing drastically reduces the quality of the viewing experience. I'm very disappointed in this TV and would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (149) (136)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bdancer57
Mobille, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for $550
12/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this TV for 1 week and the picture is awesome. Don't believe the nay sayers with the color, etc. This TV has plenty of settings to adjust to give you the picture you want. What struct me as being a great TV for the price is the LED representation of black colors. It is unbelievable. Shut off the power saving feature and mess with the back light setting while watching a movie. I did so when watching the Lord of the Rings that has a lot of scenes that are very dark and I was blown away. I wanted a 1080p LED and when I saw this price drop $200 down to $550, i knew I couldn't go wrong. Plus, if you look at Consumer Reports, LG's are at the top of the list with Samsung and Sony with quality-but at a much lower price! Be wary of any brand that is resold as a 'refurbished.' That should say a lot. I will agree however that the speakers are just bad. In one moment you can't hear, you turn it up, then another scene, etc is too loud. I've ordered a sound bar to make up for it. Also, i do question the 120Hz refresh rate. My dad had a Vizio that is 120 Hz and his Tv shows motion much, much bettter but at a much higher price. If I had to guess, this TV is about 90Hz. But then again, this is a $550 TV. I feel this TV is more than worth the money and you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Almost perfect..
12/11/2011

Customer review by Iceman26

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Iceman26
by Iceman26

When i went shopping for a tv my first consideration was the price, second was the quality and third were the reviews. i went through several brands and this one's bad reviews were the speakers. i agree with everyone that is why i gave it a poor rating on the sound. i practically have the volume at 80 to hear it at decent level without wondering what was being said in the program. anyway, knowing a little about electronics, u can't really expect much from these led/lcd tv's internal speakers because of their thickness. i think these tv's were meant to have surround sound systems hooked up to them. anyway, despite the bad reviews on its sound i bought it cause i have external bose speakers which i bought for my previous tv and for a 1080/120 u can't go wrong with the price. there were 2 other off brand that sold for $350 for 42 inch LCD but they were garbage and this tv is actually an led/lcd so it's thinner than those 2. if u have a surround sound sytem to begin with, why spend all that money for a tv with better speakers. i would advice you to buy this with a surround sound system and u would have a better set up and u still won't break $700 compared to those other name brands costing $900 and up and you would probably still add a speaker system to it to get that cinema type sound. also in the future when u buy other tvs, u can still use your surround system on it so it's not a waste. for a 42" LED/LCD 1080/120HZ tv, u can't beat the price. also if you're looking for the smart TV, all u have to do is buy their smart tv converter box for $80. it'll only cost you $629 total vs their smart tv version which is selling for $899. if u only want to watch netflix on your tv and u already have the wii, xbox 360 or ps3, u don't even need the smart tv converter box. anyway, this tv is great if u already have a surround sound system.. if you don't then just turn the volume all the way up and use close captioning. lol..

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iceman26
jersey city, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by Javi00071

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Javi00071
by Javi00071

Awesome TV!! cristal clear Picture image use HDMI conections

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Javi00071
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
12/14/2011

Customer review by Dplumber

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Dplumber
by Dplumber

Picture is perfect. Will be ordering sound bar for watching movies. Definitely need to have HD service from provider for picture quality. You will also need the gold plated HDMI cable connection from source to TV. If I had not bolted the TV down, my cat would have knocked it over the first day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dplumber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Picture but...
12/4/2011

Customer review by BAM99

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by BAM99
by BAM99

When viewing in full HD or watching bluerays this tv is great but other than that its average. **ALSO THE SOUND QUALITY IS TERRIBLE** I had to buy a sound bar.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BAM99
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2011

Customer review by brandi423

3.0 stars 12/9/2011 by brandi423
by brandi423

This TV is not what I expected,but I guess for the price that is what you get..The picture and sound are not good..It is really hard to set these 2 things and when you try it does not help..Will probably be returning it and pay a little more to get better quality..

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brandi423
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase for the price
12/28/2011

Customer review by Blockheadnc

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Blockheadnc
by Blockheadnc

This is my first flat screen TV and after researching, this was the best TV that I found. The picture quality if good, the set up was easy. The sound quality could be better and will end up purchasing speakers or a theater system.

Blockheadnc
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Xmas Gift
1/2/2012

Customer review by johnmh44

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by johnmh44
by johnmh44

I had read the reviews and I was concerned about the sound. The TV was easy to set up. There was no problem with the TV. I am looking forward to buying a larger LED next Xmas.

johnmh44
East Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Quality
10/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The picture is so clear it feels as though you are looking at a live show! I would recommend this TV to anyone.

An anonymous customer
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow!
12/8/2011

Customer review by Kitty

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Kitty
by Kitty

Just a little tweeking was all it took. Picture is great. A mother and daughter were able to get it together in no time and it pretty terrific. I was worried that a 42 inch might be too big but now I wonder what we were doing without it!

Kitty
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice TV
6/7/2012

Customer review by QueenChic

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by QueenChic
by QueenChic

I love this TV, I haven't any issues with it so far. Crisp pic, sound could be a little better, but other than that I say you get the bang for your buck.

QueenChic
Kenosha, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
what you see at the store, you can have at home
5/4/2012

Customer review by Ron

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by Ron
by Ron

Often, what a tv looks like at the store, is not what you see when you get it home. This LG surpassed my picture quality expectations for the close out price. Yes, even the standard audio sounds very decent, even though the total volume capability seems weak. So far after a month's worth of chronic viewing, I'd have to say it's an outstanding value for the limited features (mainly no 3-D, no built in internet or wifi).

Ron
sacramento ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Impressed
6/7/2012

Customer review by Tester1

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Tester1
by Tester1

Truely impressed with my 42inLG ,120 Hz,1080 p Edge-lit LED/LCD High Def TV. I have it mounted to the wall. Its performance is awesome, colors are so brite and vivid. No blurs of any kind so far. Bought my set back in Jan of 2012 and I am totally taken buy it. It does adjust to room light automatically,which is sooo neat. I do use it back and forth with and without the suround sound system I have mounted below the set..when I use the sound system its awesome , floor rumble etc oh yea... ready for football. Also great for family night with a great DVD. I did buy and use quality cables for the Blue ray player and sound system, not sure if this helps or not but I didnt want to have problems in the future so I went all out and had it hooked up properly from the get go to include the wall mount and hiding of the wires with that pvc cover you can buy at the local hard ware store.. then painted the cover to match the wall and presto almost invisable. In summary I love my LG flat screen, my first by the way and now looking into an LG fridge with french doors on top and drawer freezer below with no ice or water in the door thingy.. I dont care for that .. Germy to me. So heck yes I recommend this product 110 % all the way. Sit back and enjoy, cause thats what I do on the weekend with my limited free time.

Tester1
Las Cruces, NM, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews