Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 318 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

318 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

318 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
71
3 stars
29
2 stars
14
1 stars
88
1-20 of 232 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews
3/31/2012

Customer review by tucknut1

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by tucknut1
by tucknut1

This is an excellent product, small, easy to hook up, and snap to set up. The universal remote is great. Less than $30.

Was this review helpful? (136) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tucknut1
nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It does the job
4/10/2012

Customer review by Rostar

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Rostar
by Rostar

The most difficult part was configuring the remote, but once done, it was awesome. I control my dvd, tv, and the device with the universal remote, and the functions are impressive. There is even a button to let you view the signal strength and so many other features. I have noticed that when the signal is too weak, it will reset completely, but beyond that, I am quite pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (65) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rostar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a good buy
4/14/2012

Customer review by jimwhoski

4.0 stars 4/14/2012 by jimwhoski
by jimwhoski

I was skeptical at first about purchasing a brand I wasn't sure about but for the price I couldn't pass on trying this. I bought it for a friend who was in a pickle and has a 3 year old how missed watching his educational tv and animated movies. I used an RCA flat antenna that doesn't need adjusting and was able to get all the local channels accept for ABC, channel 7, out of NYC. The town the tv is located is in Hoboken,NJ a few miles away from the station in NYC. At first she was able to get 22 stations but after hooking up a splicer to accept the digital antenna and using the cable connection as an antenna, even though the service was discontinued, I was able to get a total of 28 channels in all with 5 of them being spanish speaking channels. All in all, they are grateful to be able to watch tv once again. In the future I will try a stronger antenna an exterior type to recieve even more channels.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimwhoski
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/4/2012

Customer review by SALSANYC

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by SALSANYC
by SALSANYC

THE BOX IS VERY LIGHT WEIGHT WORKS GREAT, NICE LOOK, GREAT PRICE, I GOT A GOOD PRODUCT, FOR THE $, KEEP IT UP SUNKEY...BLESSING

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SALSANYC
ORLANDO, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good until it broke
4/25/2012

Customer review by missmopar

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by missmopar
by missmopar

It stopped working less than a week after I got it. It has a boot screen that displays "Sunkey Systems", then it displays whatever channel you had it on. One morning I turned it on and the box said boot, but it just went to a black screen. I was unable to turn it off from both the box and remote and was unable to use any of the remote options. However, it was good while it lasted. It was easy to set up and use. You can use either the coax (mono) or the s-video (stereo) to connect. the The universal remote was nice. The sound was kinda weird though. The higher the volume was on the tv, the more "noise" it made. If I turned the tv volume down to make the "noise" go away and the box's volume up, I could barely hear a show or movie. If it didn't stop working I would say it was a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missmopar
Puyallup, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Died in two days.
4/5/2012

Customer review by Mezilikazi

1.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Mezilikazi
by Mezilikazi

Within two days of using it, it stopped showing the TV, the menu, or anything. Just a black screen. Returned it for a different model because the only good thing about it was it had the decency to become useless so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mezilikazi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Very undurable
10/30/2012

Customer review by withdreday

1.0 stars 10/30/2012 by withdreday
by withdreday

This thing worked fine for a month and then one day, I turned it off to save energy, and the the thing never worked again. And to add insult to injury, the tech support number DOESN'T answer. Ever! Do your self a favor and just spend the extra 10 bucks on the Magnavox converter. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
withdreday
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work
4/6/2012

Customer review by justme200

1.0 stars 4/6/2012 by justme200
by justme200

I was hoping to avoid a monthly few from the cable company, but this box does not work. I tried on multiple TV's and cable connections (where existing HD converters work fine), but it never recognized a signal. Will be returning this product and looking for a new solution.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justme200
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
NEED A REPLACEMENT
6/6/2012

Customer review by NEEDREPLACEMENT

1.0 stars 6/6/2012 by NEEDREPLACEMENT
by NEEDREPLACEMENT

I have only had this product for 3 weeks and it does not work properly. It will turn on and that is it. I am unable to view any channels, all I have is a blank black screen on my television. I have call the manufacture 5 days ago EVERYDAY, no one answers to take my call. I call every day and have to leave a message concerning this defective product and no one will return my calls!!!! I am left with a product that does not work, while I paid in full to Walmart for something that I can't use. No one will return my calls to get a replacement or my money back. So whatever you do DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!!!!! YOU WILL BE LEFT WITH A PRODUCT THAT DOES NOT WORK, WHILE BEING STUCK WITH NO WAY TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK OR A REPLACEMENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEEDREPLACEMENT
N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Failed to work properly
10/9/2012

Customer review by covinastudio

1.0 stars 10/9/2012 by covinastudio
by covinastudio

Couldn't get the converter to work. Called for support 5 consecutive days, at least twice a day. No live person, only recorded message asking me to leave a phone number and my call would be returned when someone was available. The someone was never available on their end, although I patiently waited for a returned call that I never recieved.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
covinastudio
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Absolute garbage
6/21/2012

Customer review by Vitrious

1.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Vitrious
by Vitrious

I dropped cable months ago and wanted something so I could watch local tv on an old 13 inch set in my bedroom. The thing seriously last for about a month and a half then just stopped booting. Of course, I didn't save all the original packing so I can't return it. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! I'm not made of money and I cannot believe this thing doesn't work in such a short time. What a waste of 30 bucks!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vitrious
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
7/24/2012

Customer review by lilbabebear

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by lilbabebear
by lilbabebear

I had a RCA converter box and it was good but this Sunkey is way better. I am enjoying TV stations that I would have to be paying cable to get. Get this little box and enjoy cable free tv.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilbabebear
Lufkin,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/10/2012

Customer review by jacquee211

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by jacquee211
by jacquee211

I am extremely happy with this converter box. I was shocked by the price & was skeptical it would turn out to be, get what you pay for !!! Well i got lots & for less money than most others & their higher priced ones. It was simple & easy to hook up & love the digital read out on front of it. Happiest yet was saying good bye to $80+ a mth cable bills. I had no issues with the on line ordering as well. I already have a friend who is ordering this same product as well as my brother is going to also. I definitely would recommend to anyone looking to purchase a converter box & hope they too will be as happy as me & my wallet !!! Bye bye cable, hello cash in my pocket !!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacquee211
deltona, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Guess it can't be beat for the price
5/7/2012

Customer review by rcatman

3.0 stars 5/7/2012 by rcatman
by rcatman

It gets really hot so don't feel comfortable leaving it on a long time. In an

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcatman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/25/2012

Customer review by feelingused

1.0 stars 7/25/2012 by feelingused
by feelingused

It's a piece of junk. Purchased it on 7/14 & today, 7/25, it is broken. Will not come on.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
feelingused
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not last a month!
6/19/2012

Customer review by E2GGO

2.0 stars 6/19/2012 by E2GGO
by E2GGO

Was working fine for about 28 days, then when it went to boot, it just stopped working and froze. No channel, no nothing. Could not turn it on or off. Unplugged it, turned it on again, and it did the same thing. Costumer service would not answer the phone that was in the book to call for help. Walmart did great in helping with returning it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
E2GGO
Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
7/10/2012

Customer review by PeachStateLady

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by PeachStateLady
by PeachStateLady

This product is such a GREAT BUY!!! 1st: The price is VERY REASONABLE... CHEAP even, by comparison... but NOT A CHEAP product! 2nd: It has a multi-functional-universal remote which made it possible for me to cut down on the number of remotes I was using previously. 3rd: This converter box is the BEST... it has so many MORE functions than the comparable RCA (from WalMart) or APEX (from Best Buy). I get 38(+/-) channels! What a deal... better than local basic cable! Plus, it has multiple guides for viewing what's coming on next. 4th: It's a piece-of-cake to program! I'm mechanically inclined, but it was EASY! So glad I decided to try this one, instead of the RCA one, and had it delivered to my local WM store for free! What a deal!!! Only ONE CAUTION I might add: When installing, BE SURE TO SIT THIS PRODUCT ON IT'S SIDE, OTHERWISE IT GETS VERY HOT, and might over heat. I've had no problems, but noticed the heat after a few hrs of operation. Hope this info helps someone to enjoy the FREE airwaves!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeachStateLady
Newnan GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked less than 24hrs
9/4/2012

Customer review by RAF1965

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by RAF1965
by RAF1965

This product worked great for about six hours and then would not boot up. There is no reset. Product was returned.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAF1965
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This unit is junk!
7/2/2012

Customer review by discontentment

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by discontentment
by discontentment

We received this unit and turned it on fine. We watched the news and then turned it off after about 45 minutes of viewing time. When we went to use it the next time the unit wouldn't turn on with the remote control. When we turn it on manually, it says "boot" and then 4 horizontal lines show up and that's all... no television viewing at all. We called the phone number as directed in the manual and have not spoken to any "real person" as of yet. This is purely "junk" in my opinion and it wasn't worth the $30+ dollars that was spent on it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
discontentment
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Sunkey Converter Box
9/3/2012

Customer review by Shopconscious

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Shopconscious
by Shopconscious

Works great with bunny ears! I have two more expensive converter boxes in other rooms of my home and this one works just as good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopconscious
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews