Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 358 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

358 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

358 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
211
4 stars
90
3 stars
25
2 stars
6
1 stars
26
1-20 of 293 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 293 total reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews
Much better than expected.
11/26/2011

Customer review by LVmomoffour

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by LVmomoffour
by LVmomoffour

This is the first mp3 player that I am purchasing for my 7 and 8 year old girls. I really didn't want to buy something that seemed cheap and chintzy. It isn't. It's very sleek looking and quite attractive. I wasn't sure about whether or not to buy this as I paid just under $20. for it. I went ahead and opened the box and after some time of trying to figure it out I was finally able to upload some songs. The sound quality is AWESOME. I am extremely impressed and so happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (217) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVmomoffour
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great MP3 Player for the price!
11/29/2011

Customer review by wingostar

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by wingostar
by wingostar

Well I bought this MP3 player on black friday as a simple put in the car beater mp3 player. It was super inexpensive and I figured if I am going to buy a cheap mp3 player at least I am getting a good brand. It has exceeded well beyond my exceptions. It has great sound quality, very simple to use, and it doesn't feel cheap. It feels like its is put together very well and looks sharp to boot. If all you want is a music player this more than does the job. So far only thing I am not to excited about is the fact that the color part is a gloss. It will show up scratches on the surface for sure. Otherwise amazing deal as long as you understand its a simple device with a very simple purpose. Well out performs anything even close to the price range. If there is anymore at the store i plan on buying a few as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (110) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wingostar
Zephyrhills,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
This Winner beats a shuffle!
12/2/2011

Customer review by Lakhu

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Lakhu
by Lakhu

Pros:Excellent sound,Supports FLAC format upto 1.1 mbps, Simple and easy User Interface with color display,12-13hrs long lasting battery,Just plug and charge no cables running around,Includes Songbird,can create playlists,has shuffle feature.Comes with an excellent quality earphone no need to buy expensive ones, Cons:No FM Radio,No bookmarks for Audiobooks,No clip to hookup

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakhu
Concord,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Plays music but no playlists
11/26/2011

Customer review by caseyt2003

3.0 stars 11/26/2011 by caseyt2003
by caseyt2003

This inexpensive mp3 player does what it does: play music. Thus far I have NOT discovered a way to make and play playlists on this device (like for the treadmill). It also does NOT have a "bookmark" function like some other devices, which is VERY helpful if you're big into audiobooks as I am. However, Philips is a reputable brand, so it's probably better than many of the other cheap mp3 players available. I purchased several of these on Black Friday 2011 for Christmas gifts to nieces and nephews who are not iPod toting kids.

Was this review helpful? (76) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caseyt2003
Morton IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2011

Customer review by Spike111111

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Spike111111
by Spike111111

I bought the $40 unit a couple years ago and was eager to try this new model at $20. The sound is still excellent even if you don't select FullSound or equalizer (though I use real headphones and give no opinion on the included earbuds). They added a middle button to the main controls, though nothing uses the "compass point" model; you navigate menus with just up/down/in/back. They removed the digital clock, and this unit has no radio nor provision for photos and movies (which would be pointless on that tiny screen). Its small size is a marvel, but the screen and buttons are so small that the older model might be better for in the car. It will shuffle your music and remember the sequence and exactly where you were in which song when you turn it off, resuming with a single button press--if music was playing. If you paused the music or were fooling around in the menus when you turned it off, it seems to start over and you have to reshuffle. When attached to a PC, the player appears as a new "hard disk" and you can manage files on it in the usual way, such as copying files by Drag 'N' Drop. But the Philips Songbird software is inside the player and it will try to install Songbird onto your PC. The full manual is inside the player too, in Acrobat.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spike111111
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Bought 4 of these for the grandkids for Christmas
12/3/2011

Customer review by Randy405

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Randy405
by Randy405

I bought 4 of these for the grandkids for Christmas. When I plugged in the first one I installed the drivers and Philip's Songbird software. The toolbox that installed (it runs in the system tray# said the MP3 player needed a firmware update from 1.08 to 1.13 and it downloaded and installed the firmware. I imported my iTunes library and synced the device. When I plugged in the other three I bought I update the firmware and then let Songbird load the music. Pros: Inexpensive #these things seem to get lost easily# Sync with iTunes library via Songbird Easy to use, did not even need the manual! No cables to loose, USB port built in like a thumbdirve Cons: A little slow to load the songs #400 songs takes around an hour to load) But since you only have to change those occasionally its not a big deal

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randy405
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Met our needs
12/5/2011

Customer review by plf3

4.0 stars 12/5/2011 by plf3
by plf3

My 8 y.o has been asking for an ipod but when I asked her what she wanted to do with it, she simply wanted to listen to music and clearly did not have a real idea of what the big name product could do. So, I began a search for an inexpensive mp3 player that would fit the bill. This met my requirements. I got it in pink with a pink speaker case to match. We gave it to her for her birthday yesterday. She was thrilled and carried it around all day. For the price (I paid under $20 for the player at my local Wal-Mart store plus a $10 case) - I'm thrilled. What I like: Cute colors - sleek design does not look cheap. Easy to work. price good sound quality What I didn't like: Must use philips songbird software download to put music on it. We had some trouble downloading the software but eventually got it to work. Must purchase songs through the philips software program. Songs were on average about 30 cents more per download than I have seen at places like Amazon. The songs that came preloaded on the player were not appropriate for an 8-year-old but I was able to delete them once we got the Philips songbird program running. There does not seem to be a way to create playlists or organize the songs. Overall, great little product and perfect for a kid or even an adult who just wants to listen to music without all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plf3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as advertised
1/6/2012

Customer review by CompDev1

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by CompDev1
by CompDev1

I really like this player and it's easy to create playlists. I hate using packaged SW to make the unit work well and with this one you don't have to. All you do is create folders for albums, artists, genres, etc and put them in the Music folder that's already on the player. You probably don't even have to do it that way but I decided to leave their folder arrangement as-is. No different than creating folders on your hard drive and dragging & dropping songs. Just select the folder (playlist) you want to listen to using the menu and enjoy. I guess you can use their SW to do this if you like but I prefer not to. It's easy to use and works very well especially considering the price. I've seen some reviews regarding it's reliability and I've only had it a few days so the jury's still out on that point. I did buy mine on-line and after Black Friday, so maybe mine wasn't a part of that "bad batch" someone thought may have been shipped to Walmart around that time. If it continues working then buying it was a Home Run. If it dies, Walmart's always good about it's return policy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CompDev1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great 1st mp3 player!
12/27/2011

Customer review by Laurohio

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Laurohio
by Laurohio

My 9 year old daughter received this for Christmas and LOVES it! It's easy for her to navigate. I easily downloaded music through Windows Media from the cds she already owns. Sound is great. The ear buds didn't stay in her ears so she's using another set of headphones. Great first mp3 player. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Laurohio
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Grab This!
2/9/2012

Customer review by tudefit

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by tudefit
by tudefit

I wanted an MP3 player for running. I bought a SanDisk but returned it as the volume had only 2 settings, neither loud enough, and it faded during my runs and then came back up. So I saw this and bought it but at the price I wasn't expecting much. Wrong! The sound on this is amazing and the stereo is off the charts. I told my wife this sounded better than my stereo. Plenty of range for the volume which is extra nice as I can plug in headphones and wear them around my ears but not on them, if that makes sense. The earplugs with this are not comfortable but everyone I know who has a mp3 says you need to buy them separate. The screen is nice size and it's easy to operate. I can't tell you yet about longevity as I've only used it a few times but right now I would say if you want a player only, get this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tudefit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Defective, but would be great if it worked
12/8/2011

Customer review by cmioujef

2.0 stars 12/8/2011 by cmioujef
by cmioujef

The player I bought was defective; would not show or play mp3 files I loaded from my computer. Called Phillips tech support and spoke with an intellegent, helpful, native English speaker (certainly much above the norm for tech support). After trying some fixes which didn't work, she told me they'd been getting a slew of calls since the day before with defective players. Apparently Walmart received a bunch of defective ones and sold them on Black Friday (probably not knowing they were defective). The player had some preloaded songs on it so I could tell that audio quality is excellent, controls are adequit and not flimsy (not so with some other low cost players). Price on these is wonderfully low, if only they'd work properly.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmioujef
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor design, bad device management software
1/29/2012

Customer review by G24U

1.0 stars 1/29/2012 by G24U
by G24U

Do not buy this product. The play list will only play songs in alphabetical order and if you attempt to use Songbird to develop a play list, you will never get it loaded on the MP3 device. Not worth the time, trouble or money!!! Going back to Wal-Mart for a refund. Note, earlier models were not this bad. This is definitely a step backwards.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G24U
Would recommend to a friend? No
This MP3 is amazing!!! :) :)
12/17/2011

Customer review by hellokittygirlxx36

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by hellokittygirlxx36
by hellokittygirlxx36

I just got this 2 days ago...and it is wayyy better than my other one before! BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hellokittygirlxx36
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Okay for a basic MP3
12/25/2011

Customer review by JAA54724

3.0 stars 12/25/2011 by JAA54724
by JAA54724

Bought this in purple for my 7-year-old for Christmas. I am currently working on loading music, and have been at it for the better part of the day. The User's Manual (ON the device) is clear, but took some time to find it on the device. Pros: Cute Simple hook-up/no cords to lose Cons: Separate music software download REALLY slow to load music-- Predicted 13 hours for 300 songs :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAA54724
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do Not Purchase This Item
4/17/2012

Customer review by MasterG7

1.0 stars 4/17/2012 by MasterG7
by MasterG7

While the price iwas attractive, this product is not worth its cheap price. It simply did not work. I had to return it for a refund. It was a waste of time waiting for it to be delivered and trying to make it work.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MasterG7
Dover DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
great little unit
12/28/2011

Customer review by count4eternity

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by count4eternity
by count4eternity

Bought 2 of these for my grandson. Loaded about 65 Contemporary Christian songs on each one, and they still have room for a few more. (I like that is has NO radio, so I'm not also giving him access to bad music. ) I especially like the fact that you can charge this MP3 from your computer's USB port, or from a $15 wall charger, so there's never any expense for batteries. I also bought a $20 rechargeable speaker, in case he got tired of wearing the earbuds. Wow, what a great sound!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
count4eternity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound
5/25/2012

Customer review by emeyeen

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by emeyeen
by emeyeen

I bought this for my 10- and 6-year-old kids, and they love this. This does not have AM/FM radio, games, stopwatch, photo album, and etc., but it's ok to listen their favorite music. I have iPod, but I don't use much thing but listening music. Also, sound quality is very good. Just one thing of little bit negative, I created folders for each album on my computer, and only about 4 folders can be displayed under the "album" menu on this player. I can see all the list under the "folder" menu, but for better user interface, I would be happy if I can choose them under "album". When my husband saw that my kids enjoy this, he wanted it. I bought one more for him too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emeyeen
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this player.
6/15/2012

Customer review by Quiltmama31

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Quiltmama31
by Quiltmama31

This player has the most incredible sound! I didn't expect it. It rivals the sound I have heard from larger systems. Very clear. Great player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quiltmama31
Springfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great sound with great headphones..great value!!
6/17/2012

Customer review by cleanenergy

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by cleanenergy
by cleanenergy

A great value with great sound and very good headphones!!..i ride to the beach with my board, fins and my MP3 player and couldn't be happier...easy interface...simple to load from my laptop..and the sound is full and strong!! This is my third Phillips MP3 Player and they just keep getting better for less money...the perfect combination for a really great listening experience that creates a lot of Joy throughout my day!! Mahalo Phillips and Mahalo Wal Mart!! Stoked, Dale

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleanenergy
Kauai,HI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!
5/1/2012

Customer review by UPSTATENYBARGAINSHOPPER78

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by UPSTATENYBARGAINSHOPPER78
by UPSTATENYBARGAINSHOPPER78

I wanted a mp3 player but I didn't want to spend a forturne on it. After much research I found this beauty and it fits the bill! By the price you would think it would be cheap looking but it is very sturdy and well made! I managed to put my whole CD library on this player and I still had room to add more songs! Directions are vague and not helpful at all but I managed to learn how to use it on my own because it is that simple to use. No need to download the songbird software because you can just use the drag and drop method. Also, the sound quality is surprisingly superb and clear for a $15 mp3 player!! I have no complaints at all I would purchase this mp3 player again and again!! Matter of fact I am about to purchase more for some of my family members!Definitely a must buy!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UPSTATENYBARGAINSHOPPER78
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 293 total reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews