Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

140 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

140 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 118 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
A Real Secret
2/17/2012

Customer review by Saltwaterjim

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Saltwaterjim
by Saltwaterjim

I just bought my second Go Gear MP3 player because I like the ease with which it interfaces with Audible.com and because it has a great FM radio. I like to switch from radio to books as I please. This model makes it super easy once you realize audio books are in the music section and the radio is in it's own section, very easy. This model also has a stronger receiver than my last Go Gear did. I have not used the video yet. It is not my thing, although I am hoping to put my wedding video on it for some happy time. I think an MP3 player without a radio is a complete waste of money. I have had the Classic Ipod. It was OK, but no radio. Got rid of it. I think Philips products are completely under-rated. They are light weight, functional, small, and great sounding. The price is also good news. Thank you, Philip's for making such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saltwaterjim
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a really good product
2/3/2012

Customer review by Mary15473

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by Mary15473
by Mary15473

didnt really know what to expect buying my first mp3 player and was a little hesitant about the price since i really didnt want to spend more than $25 but i did and thought it would probably not even work or i wouldnt be able to even understand it but its farelly simple to use and the sound quality is amazing. its way more than i expected for my 1st mp3 player. i expected cheap breakable and ripped off but this is farelly durable and is a good price for its features.

Was this review helpful? (48) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mary15473
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My second Phillips Gogear Vibe, Great Mp3
1/25/2012

Customer review by ncshopr

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by ncshopr
by ncshopr

My second phillips Gogear Vibe, great Mp3 player. I wanted more space, went from 4gb to 8gb

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncshopr
matthews, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy.
2/9/2012

Customer review by Whatsthepointofnames

4.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Whatsthepointofnames
by Whatsthepointofnames

I was asking for an apple ipod for Christmas but instead i got this. At first glance I thought'd it'd be pretty trashy but i found out otherwise. I go skiing with this mp3 player every week and its performed excellently. The battery life is phenomenal. I went one day and had it on for 7 hours straight without so much as a pause and the battery still showed more than 3/4 power and worked fine all the next day without a recharge. Its simple to use and transfer music and the layout is basic but comfortable. The screen size not as tall as a ipod nano's but i think it is a good bit wider. The radio is nothing to amazing but i can still get signal all over the place. And for so cheap of a price this is a great buy. I DEFENITLY RECOMMEND THIS MP3 PLAYER.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whatsthepointofnames
Mid-west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Start for a Cheap Music Player
2/5/2012

Customer review by AnnAnemasShopper

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by AnnAnemasShopper
by AnnAnemasShopper

I just bought this for $40 and so far it's a great cheap music player for the price. The thing I like most so far is being able to skip the Songbird software installation altogether and just drag and drop my own mp3 files. After the files are copied over, I can use the "Music" category to browse by artist and album, or I can use "View Folders" to choose and play back by folder just as I dragged them over. No cumbersome synchronization or playlist creation process is needed to play back a music collection you already own and have tagged, especially if you still like to listen to whole albums or full-length concerts. The biggest limitation is that the screen is way too small to actually enjoy watching any video or browsing through photos. It's only real usefulness for photos and videos would be as a portable backup or transport. This model doesn't have an extra memory card slot, so you'll have to live with the 4GB or 8GB size that comes inside. This is really not a problem for me, however, because 8GB is still big enough to carry around 1,000 songs or more. This may, however, be a problem for someone else who wants to carry several videos around or is into lossless music formats that are bigger than mp3's. The FM radio actually works a lot better than most others. I was able to pick up a lot of radio stations while sitting in my living room where most portable players can't pick up anything. I live on the outer fringe of reception areas between Washington, DC, and Richmond, VA, where I usually have a hard time picking up any radio stations indoors. Navigation buttons and menu screens have actually gotten easy to use after I sat in the living room for about half an hour checking everything out. The only lingering problem I have is it's very easy to push the volume up or down by accident when I pick it up with my right hand to turn the power on or off, which is fairly common where I use it most while driving. Since I usually only need to turn the power on and off while I'm parked, however, even this is not a very big deal for me. It's still too soon for me to say anything about the durability but nothing feels flimsy or cheap. At $40, I can afford to buy two and wouldn't be disappointed if each one lasts a year.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnAnemasShopper
King George, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound...
1/26/2012

Customer review by ravengirl62

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ravengirl62
by ravengirl62

A little hard to put the music on it, had a much different format than my last mp3 player but once you get the hang of it its easy. Great sound and looks good too. Easy to connect to the computer via a usb cord. Works fine.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ravengirl62
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exellent Product and Value
1/24/2012

Customer review by GuitarJohn

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by GuitarJohn
by GuitarJohn

I bought this unit based on price and appearance. My son likes his 2Gb unit I bought him a year ago, so I decided to go with this unit for myself. The unit looks like other brands that cost 50% more. You can select the background color for the display to suit your personality; blue, green, grey, pink or red. Easy to navigate through the screens to set various features. Numerous graphic equalizer standard settings and one that you customize. The earplugs have a soft rubber coating and are reasonably comfortable with excellent sound quality. I expected to have to replace them immediately. I was wrong. The software that comes with the unit is a combination of a music player and internet explorer. It syncs the unit and updates the software of the device upon connection. Excellent product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GuitarJohn
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
After 6 mo it won't turn on
3/12/2014

Customer review by Allnameshavebeentaken12

1.0 stars 3/12/2014 by Allnameshavebeentaken12
by Allnameshavebeentaken12

Loved it for the first 5 months, then started having trouble turning it off and on. Now it won't come on at all. It still comes up when you plug it in to recharge, but won't come on when you push the on button.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allnameshavebeentaken12
Anderson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great For the Price.
5/15/2012

Customer review by CaptainRad

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by CaptainRad
by CaptainRad

I bought this for use at work. I work 12 hour shifts running a CNC Lathe - that gets really boring if all you have to listen to are the voices in your head. This holds a lot of music. I've loaded over 100 cd's onto this and have only used up half its memory. They were not kidding about the battery life either. I listen to it through the entire 12 hour shift and still have 3/4 of juice left on it. I also listen to it while I mow my lawn - gotta crank it up for that though. The one small thing that bugs me about it is the playlists. There are only 3 of them and each one only holds 120 songs. I like a lot of different kinds of music and trying to create a playlist with a little of everything is hard to do. Not a huge problem though - I can deal. Overall, I wished I had bought this months ago and would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainRad
Cambridge, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
great product
2/25/2012

Customer review by calhobwiz

4.0 stars 2/25/2012 by calhobwiz
by calhobwiz

I am very pleased with this MP3 player! The unfortunate part is, I had to load their Songbird software for some of my songs to work. But once it was loaded all the songs worked so I guess it was worth it. I like the look and the good quality feel of the player. I just wished there were other color varieties.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calhobwiz
Spring Lake, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good entry-MP3 for the money, but...
3/4/2012

Customer review by TechieMAguy

4.0 stars 3/4/2012 by TechieMAguy
by TechieMAguy

Pros: Good capacity value at $5/GB. "whopping" 8 GB Can play videos and pics. FM tuner Nice, short USB cable Cons: the build can be very bad quality. Specially, the front control buttons seem to be made of cheap, flimsy plastic. Does feel as if it was almost going to fall off. Uncomfortable headphones No FM recording (not essential to me anyway) No RockBox build for this model. Comes with Phillips "Songbird" which didn't feel like the best MP3 manager software ever, but rather bloatware. But you don't have to install it. Would buy this again. I may actually get a second one for the car soon.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechieMAguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad hardware and software
4/19/2012

Customer review by ScoobieSnack

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by ScoobieSnack
by ScoobieSnack

After numerous restart attempts I figured out that I had to execute the Songbird software using "Run as Administrator" to keep it from crashing. A Google search of Songbird shows that many other dislike the program. Google it to see the many hassles that others are having. It appears that unlike other brands you cannot move Overdrive digital audio books into the Audible folder. Because of this features such as bookmarks will not work. After upgrading the firmware it worked for less than 4 hours of use. The GoGear ViBE has crashed and none of the buttons make the unit respond. I have tried pinning the reset button numerous time but it does not come back to life. About the only good thing about the product is the nice set of earphones. This product is going to be returned.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScoobieSnack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Quite Pleased
3/15/2012

Customer review by Natalkya

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by Natalkya
by Natalkya

I'm quite pleased with this MP3 player. It's my first one and I find it fairly easy to use. I had a little difficulty getting familiar with the Songbird software. It didn't seem very intuitive to me, but having got through it the first time it's working fine. I bought the player to listen to lectures while walking and the small size (easily fits in a pocket) and lock feature make it ideal for that. The sound is great and can be adjusted even while the other keys are locked. I'd recommend it to friends and I'll definitely consider other Philips products in the future.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Natalkya
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable sound!
2/18/2012

Customer review by NanaAndPapa

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by NanaAndPapa
by NanaAndPapa

The first GoGear I bought must have been a "lemon", so I had to return it (no problem). I am more than satisfied with my replacement. It holds tons of songs, and I can't believe how incredible the sound is. I hear instruments & words I never did before. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaAndPapa
Southington, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/13/2012

Customer review by macsimuss

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by macsimuss
by macsimuss

Really good product - sounds great and the best feature is that you dont have to use or install any special program on the computer to load and delete music. Loving it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
macsimuss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I hate this item
4/24/2012

Customer review by Chiennoir

1.0 stars 4/24/2012 by Chiennoir
by Chiennoir

I ordered 2 of these MP3 players. I have been using computers since 1982 and I think I know my way around them. This has got to be the worst item I have ever experienced. I cannot get it to sync. I just gave up. The software is horrible and I wasted so much time on this. I am going to make it my life's mission to let anyone intending to buy this item NOT TO. Life is to short to have to be subjected to endless frustration and irritation. I wish I never purchased it. Save your money and sanity and avoid this horrible product!

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiennoir
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great product for the money!!!
3/26/2012

Customer review by easylamb22

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by easylamb22
by easylamb22

I am new to mp3 players I am 59 and do not need anything eloborate. This Philips serves my purpose excellently. very pleased very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
easylamb22
berlin Nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
stopped working
4/8/2012

Customer review by jtreasures

1.0 stars 4/8/2012 by jtreasures
by jtreasures

I purchased this as a gift, it froze and couldnt play any music, couldnt exchange it. The company provided a new one and it needs to be charged constantly. not a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtreasures
Lancaster CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great all-around unit; worth every penny
4/19/2012

Customer review by tboneturner

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by tboneturner
by tboneturner

The sound quality of this unit (With "Full Sound") is exceptional. I have a pair of BOSE headphones and this just sounds great! This is a replacement for a player that lasted three years and then died. I really got to like the Phillips products, so I got another one. The "Songbird" software is great as well; it allowed me to get 1448 songs on my music player! It downloded most of the songs in my library, even ones that I hadn't heard for months. It works great and is lots of fun. Would reccomend to anyone who wants an exceptional mp3 player for a terriffic price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tboneturner
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good inexpensive MP3 player
4/22/2012

Customer review by disc4321

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by disc4321
by disc4321

I only had this MP3 player for about 2 weeks. So far I am extremely happy with it. I had an iPod Nano 4th generation before, and I can say that though Philips GoGear Vibe is much less expensive, I like it much more. It is small and elegant, supports FLAC and APE (lossless formats), has 8 GB memory, very intuitive navigation and very good sound (I use it with my old Elago earphones which are somewhat better than the ones included with the player).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disc4321
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews