Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 953 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

953 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

953 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
761
4 stars
155
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 851 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 851 total reviews
1-20 of 851 reviews
Excellent Serger
6/28/2010

Customer review by Scruffie

4.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Scruffie
by Scruffie

After reading hundreds of reviews about this machine, I knew I would be happy with it. I make washable furniture slipcovers and have to use a serger for all of the inside seams. After months of fighting with my old serger, and constantly re-threading it, I decided to buy a new one. I borrowed my neighbors Brother Serger to finish a project and really liked it. Now that I have my own... life's good again! I love the lower looper's easy threading! I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants to have worry free serging.

Was this review helpful? (110) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scruffie
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent machine and a perfect price
4/26/2009

Customer review by Niteroi

5.0 stars 4/26/2009 by Niteroi
by Niteroi

I wanted a serger mostly to sew stretch and thin fabrics like jersey blouses, lingerie and also to help me hem sheer lightweight fabrics for scarves. I have had this machine for 3 weeks. This serger is hassle free when it comes to tension. Very easy to adjust tension and basically all I had to do was play with the differential feed. These are the things I have made since I got it: 1)A pair of denim pants - I used 4 thread overlock stitch to finish al the inside seams. 2)A thin jersey nightgown – all sewn with 3 thread overlock stitch and hemmed with rolled hem making a lettuce edge. 3)I hemmed a sheer lightweight scarf using the rolled hem. Perfect!! 4)A serger scrap bag – I finished the inside seams with 3 thread overlock stitch and I used 2 variegated threads in the upper looper to sew the scrap bag pockets together. 5)A sewing basket liner - I used the rolled hem on cotton to hem the ruffles of the liner and I also finished all the inside seams with a 3 thread. This Serger goes from denim to lightweight fabric with no problem at all. It comes with 2 Cds with videos to watch on the computer. One Cd is instructional, on how to use the serger. The other one has special techniques. Both are very helpful. It also has a booklet with all the settings for the special techniques. I do suggest getting a few books from your local library or buying a few. It can be of a great help if you can’t take classes. This Serger also comes with an extra pressure foot but I have used mostly the blindhem one with the guide. I did test the gathering foot and it helps when sewing 2 fabrics together or to insert ribbon on the edge. Most people complain about the threading process with sergers in general. Threading a serger is and will always be a more complex process than threading a sewing machine. But I learned quickly to thread this one. The lower looper has kind of a hook (I guess it is what they call threader) and it helps to thread it. I got dental floss to help me get the thread in the holes and it is a piece of cake now. The learning curve is just a bit longer than learning how to use a sewing machine. Threading this machine is hassle free. I like that the foot controller (pedal). It allows me to go slowly or fast. This can be very helpful when sewing slippery fabrics, curves or corners. It is very easy to remove the stitch finger to make the rolled hem and easy to put it back. You don’t even need to re-thread the machine. This machine comes with a trim trap but I didn’t like it because it has to be removed to open the door. The trim trap gets on the door way and it is also small. That’s why I made a scrap bag with pockets so I can also store the accessories I need to operate the machine. The knobs to adjust the stitch length and width are a bit hard and uncomfortable to turn, mainly if you just want to tweak it. I would have preferred it they were dials instead. But no big deal here. The light is fine. This serger has suction cups on the bottom so the machine doesn’t move on the table. It is pretty steady and it doesn’t vibrate much. I like that it is lightweight and that it has a handle to carry it. I also like that it came with a plastic cover. I didn’t rate durability because I have had it for a short time but overall it is a wonderful machine for an excellent price. It sews all kind of fabrics with no tension problems. I am very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (685) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Niteroi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Wow!! What a great serger!
12/1/2008

Customer review by txsewingmom

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by txsewingmom
by txsewingmom

This is my first serger to ever use. I have a very basic Brother sewing machine that has been wonderful so I decided to stick with Brother products. After seeing all of the wonderful reviews here on this product, I jumped in. It sat in the box for about a week since I didn't really have a place to put it (and honestly I was a bit intimidated). I finally got it out and began playing with basic serging and the gathering foot using the thread that came preloaded. I played so much that one of the spools actually ran out!! So I HAD to learn to thread it. After watching the included CDs and looking over the manual, I did it! I've had it for about 2 weeks now and have rethreaded 4 or 5 times (to change colors) and can now do it without looking at the manual! I love the gathering foot and capabilities as it saves me SOOO much time when sewing clothing for my daughter. The rolled edge hem is also a quick and beautiful way to finish edges of ruffles! I am so happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone! I've included a pic of a ruffle on jeans that was finished on the bottom with a rolled edge hem and gathered with my serger.

Was this review helpful? (471) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txsewingmom
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCEPTIONAL VALUE AND HIGH QUALITY MACHINE!
10/15/2010

Customer review by BabyBoutiqueShop

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by BabyBoutiqueShop
by BabyBoutiqueShop

I received my new Brother Serger today. So far I have made a denim book bag, 3 contoured burp cloths and 10 cloth wipes made of flannel material. I did not have to adjust the tensions between the two different fabrics at all. After learning how to thread the machine (about 30 minutes) I can now thread it like a pro. With its color coded guide its very easy to thread. Just remember to start with the green first. Its a heavy weight machine NOT PLASTICY and cheap at all. It will do light weight fabrics as well as heavy weight fabrics all on this one machine. Learning the different stitches was fun too. I just had some scrap fabric and did a run on the different stitches and decided which one I liked the best before finishing my projects.

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyBoutiqueShop
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Serger
4/28/2010

Customer review by 60Rocks

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by 60Rocks
by 60Rocks

I bought the Brother 1034D Serger from Wal Mart at their great price point and can say; it is a wonderful machine and makes a wonderful addition to my regular sewing machine. Fun to use. Don't let sergers scare you; they're great machines.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
60Rocks
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/8/2009

Customer review by Sewtellme

5.0 stars 3/8/2009 by Sewtellme
by Sewtellme

This is my first serger after many years sewing. This machine is very easy to thread. In fact, it took more time to thread the machine from scratch than to untangle the thread sent with the machine. I just completed my first project with the serger and the finish is great. The machine is so quiet, I can sew while my husband and I are watching TV. I can't believe I waited so long to get a serger but the consolation is that I got such a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sewtellme
CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Totally Awesome
3/9/2010

Customer review by CallyD

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by CallyD
by CallyD

This is the first serger I have owned, But I have used sergers in the past. I love this machine. The price is great, the accessories, the CD that tells you what you machine can or can't do, the lint trap the booklet that gives specifics. I researched this item and others for a while, then I purchased it. I made two skirts since I got this serger. I recommend this to any one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CallyD
St. Croix, VI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Happy with my very first serger!
4/2/2014

Customer review by Mahmah25

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by Mahmah25
by Mahmah25

I am new to serging but am an experienced sewer. When I got this yesterday for an early birthday gift, I was intimidated by it. But, after reading the manual and oiling it (per page 57 of the manual), it was ready to go! Threading is SUPER easy if you can read...they have the steps on the machine where each thread goes by color code. It was awesome considering I heard sergers could be difficult to thread. I have been playing around with the different stitches and settings and making notes (copied the page inside back cover) so I can build a notebook of fabric, needles used, tension settings, etc. to get the stitch on my sample. It will save me time in the future! I am VERY satisfied with this machine and it is a great price! It will definitely compliment my Brother sewing machine in my sewing room. I will ONLY buy Brother if I had a choice between this and Singer! I now have the embroidery/sewing machine Brother LB 6800 and the Brother SQ9050 sewing machine and am completely happy with all three!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mahmah25
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great little serger
6/30/2010

Customer review by TsGrandma

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by TsGrandma
by TsGrandma

It's been a long time (probably almost 40 years) since I've used a serger. I used to work in a womens garment factory and was trained to use one. I'm thrilled to see that the machines made for home use are of such high quality and have great features. I've had a Brother sewing machine for 39 years and chose to purchase the Brother serger after reading the reviews and reflecting on the perfect operation of my Brother sewing machine. The instructions were clear and well illustrated. The DVD instructions were very helpful. A serger is not a single needle sewing machine and as such, it does take a minute to figure out what's going on if you've never used one. So a little patience is needed for new users. But once you've gotten the hang of it, you will be in love and wonder how you ever lived without one! My daughter is dying to get her hands on mine after she saw what it could do. I'm afraid she's going to have to get her own. I'm not sharing!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TsGrandma
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome, Easy to Use Serger
9/18/2013

Customer review by HVVC

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by HVVC
by HVVC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read reviews of this Brother 4-3 Serger on several sites and on all sites it was very highly rated. I bought one and have found it to be an awesome, easy to use serger. It comes pre-threaded with color coded threads so you can test serging it as soon as you get it. I liked that - all I had to do was un pack and plug it in, and already I could test run it. Then came the hardest operation - re-threading it to (in my case) black thread.. The dvd and the instructions booklet gave very good instructions on how to do this, walking me through the process. In minutes I was off serging my own items. I like/liked this serger so much, and found it at such a good price, that I bought a second one - so now (because I do a lot of sewing) I keep one always threaded in black thread and one always threaded in white. I'd always been scared of sergers before, I thought they were very had to use and thread - but this one has sold me on serging and I am very very happy I got it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HVVC
san jose, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine!
3/20/2013

Customer review by brendagal

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by brendagal
by brendagal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first serger and I love it! I reviewed the Singer and the Brother online and out of almost 600 reviews, only 18 were 1 to 3 stars on this machine, whereas the Singer had around 44 reviews and they were mostly bad and mediocre. I read the book and watched several videos on youtube before I tested it out. I broke the thread on the lower looper right off the bat because I forgot to pull the spindle up all the way before I tried to test it. I went to the video on youtube from the lady that shows you how to thread it (not the cd that came with it) and I re-threaded it with no problems. I have sewed one dress and re-threaded with white thread since it came with multicolored thread that was not working with my color theme. I threaded it with no problems and the machine sewed perfectly. I have been sewing since I was a young girl and I have used several brands of sewing machines throughout my life. I also have the Brother Disney Embroidery machine. I think it will do nicely for what projects will be sewing at home.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brendagal
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Budget Purchase
11/17/2015

Customer review by EJC79

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by EJC79
by EJC79

This serger is a good buy for the price I paid. I love the handle for the presser foot. Best thing about the whole machine. There are a few things that could be improved on however. Lint builds up very fast on the lower loopers and must be cleaned after every use. It is difficult to clean out underneath but if the whole end could be removed easily it would make it possible to get out lint that has traveled into the mechanics. The machine is quite noisy but it doesn't affect the beautiful stitch it makes. Also the tray that catches the "cut off" is rather flimsy and doesn't catch all the lint like it should. A swing out presser foot would make threading needles easier. I guess I'm spoiled as I have had a Serger for 28 years that had the swing out foot, heavy duty tray, and ability to open up the lower loopers for cleaning and oiling. But that machine is now deceased and the new 1034D is satisfactory as it is a price I can afford and it has been pretty easy to operate.

EJC79
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Try this Serger!!!
7/7/2008

Customer review by luv2sewinco

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by luv2sewinco
by luv2sewinco

I just recently got back to sewing/learning sewing and wanted to try a serger, but didn't want to spend a lot of money. After trying this serger, I am so glad that I didn't waste any unnecessary money for a more expensive model. It does everything that I need it to do when sewing clothing for my four children. I love the gathering foot! It takes some getting used to, but works fabulously for skirts!!! I showed a friend of mine who sews how fast and easy I can sew a skirt with gathers and her mouth was on the floor! She will most likely be buying this serger in the future too. My only complaint is the instructions for a first time serger owner left me with extra questions. After searching the web for other serger tutorials and videos, I answered my questions. I did have a little trouble threading the machine at first, but after playing around with it, I figured this out on my own too (and now the instructions make more sense). I totally recommend this serger!!! So great for the money!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv2sewinco
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Exceptional Value
2/5/2010

Customer review by MaryKS

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by MaryKS
by MaryKS

I have never written a product review before; however, after receiving and using my new Brother 1034D serger yesterday, I am compelled to write one now. This machine is a very good quality machine for an exceptional price. I have owned a "jet air" threading machine, which recently "died" after 10 years. I needed to have a serger quickly to finish a project and really did not want to pay over $1000 for a new machine. After researching several websites with consumer feedback, and reviewing videos of this machine, I decided I could not lose ordering this serger with quick shipping from WalMart, where I still paid less than any other advertised price where this machine is sold. The machine is not difficult to thread, sews beautifully, and the CDs and booklets are extremely detailed and helpful. If I may add for folks new to serging, one of the best books around is a Rodale publication "Serger Secrets-High Fashion Techniques for Creating Great-Looking Clothes." It is a 1998 publication still in print and extremely relevant regarding this particular machine.

Was this review helpful? (265) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaryKS
Staunton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good basic serger
10/5/2011

Customer review by cc121474

4.0 stars 10/5/2011 by cc121474
by cc121474

My serger of 25 years gasped its final breathe so I decided that I wanted a basic serger as I don't sew as much as I use to. I ordered this one through Walmart paying the extra for fast shipping and home delivery as I was in the middle of a Cinderella dress for my granddaughter. The machine arrived promptly and after reviewing the instructions I sat down ready to go. The machine gave the most horrendous grinding of motor parts - which obviously was disappointing. However, I took it to my Walmart and they refunded everything! (I was happily surprised at that). I then planned to return home to reorder the Brother's serger, but ended up purchasing the Singer serger in store. I had it for 2 days, enough time to review the instructions and realize that it is the hardest serger to thread I've ever seen. It went back, I reordered the Brother Serger and I am very happy with its performance and the ease in threading. For the price it works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cc121474
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great For The Average Project
12/7/2008

Customer review by PanamaBob

4.0 stars 12/7/2008 by PanamaBob
by PanamaBob

I bought this for my wife and she is providing the input for the review. She is thrilled by the ease of threading the machine, tension adjustments, and overall use. She said that one of these days, she will actually look at the CD's provided to see what else the machine can do. She immediately sewed a nightgown and then proceeded to make curtains and pillows in the first 2 weeks she had the machine. She loves the fact that the machine uses standard sewing needles and regular spools of thread. In addition, the trimming tray (that captures all of the cuttings) is a very nice feature. She does recommend using a scrap piece of material to ensure thread tension(s) are correct before actually sewing a project. She did confirm that setting the tension a little tighter on the left needle does indeed sew a nice gather stitch as stated in the users manual. Overall she is very pleased with the price and performance of this machine.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PanamaBob
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Difficult to thread and rethread and rethread
6/8/2014

Customer review by Trixdie

1.0 stars 6/8/2014 by Trixdie
by Trixdie

This is my first serger so I have heard sergers can be hard to thread...well it is TRUE! I advise anybody who purchases this machine look for you tube videos for help! The manual that comes with this one is very short and vague. It really helps me to see the examples real people post online from their own personal use. I spent hours threading and rethreading because the thread kept having issues or breaking ! It came pre threaded with clown colored thread (yellow, red, green, and blue??) and it was threaded wrong! I sure hope over a short period of time I learn to enjoy this machine or I will be sending it back. I was so looking forward to having a serger and this one had high reviews. Last summer I bought a Brother SE400 sewing-embroidery machine and I Love it very easy to thread and use and I am a self taught beginner sewer. Hopefully I can change my rating after more trials hopefully it is something minor I may be doing wrong. Funny thing they say use quality thread but they didn't??

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trixdie
Holly Pond
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Something to note
1/9/2008

Customer review by Spoyldrotn

4.0 stars 1/9/2008 by Spoyldrotn
by Spoyldrotn

Love the brother's threading ease. It does not handle anything thicker than the #30 thread, so if you want to edge blankets and such decoratively don't get this machine. It will not handle the thick #10 or embroidery floss. This was the reason that I bought the machine and was disappointed to learn that after purchase. Other than that it is easy to use and seems fairly durable and user friendly. It looks nice and does a nice job trimming-almost too nice. It makes it difficult to chain off or double back unless you really know what you are doing. There is no medium speed at start up. To get the machine to start sewing at all it is full throttle, and then it lets you back off your speed. This makes intricate work every difficult to do as well as cornering and indentations in the pattern. Thread will miss the fabric entirely. Not the best machine to learn serging on. But veterans will do just fine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spoyldrotn
Preston, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My First Serger
9/13/2013

Customer review by Soaper72

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Soaper72
by Soaper72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Honestly I had no idea what to expect... I had never owned a serger nor had I ever used one... I just knew what I wanted to do and I didn't want to spend a lot of money just in case it didn't turn out well. I took it out of the box, set it up and then decided I REALLY needed to read the instructions! The first day was a little frustrating but that was my learning curve, not the machine because once I finished reading the instructions (this is key if you don't know what you're doing) I was able to do everything I wanted to do within 48 hours! This little guy really chugs! Don't bother with the little spools of thread it comes with unless you want to practice on scraps, just go ahead and buy thread on cones too. Once you understand the threading process it's no trouble at all to change out cones, colors or anything else you want to do. I'm very happy with my little serger and very glad I took the plunge with this particular model. It's easy, it gives my projects just the look I wanted and I didn't spend an arm and a leg to get it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soaper72
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Three Years and Still Love It
3/4/2011

Customer review by CraftyOnes

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by CraftyOnes
by CraftyOnes

I love reading reviews, however, so many times people who write them have just recently purchased, and while it helps to know that people love a product out of the box, I also like hearing how the product holds up over time and use. I have owned this serger for three years now and I still love it!! I have used it to make cotton scrubs, fleece tops and pajama bottoms, flannel pajama bottoms, linen tops and capri pants, and lighter-weight denim capris, among other projects. Once you get the hang of threading it is really simple, and you can follow the pictures right on the machine. It really does give a professional look to your projects with clean seams, and is a great companion for your regular sewing machine. If something were to happen to it, I would buy the exact same model tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (311) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraftyOnes
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 851 total reviews
1-20 of 851 reviews