Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 781 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

781 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
630
4 stars
122
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 679 total reviews
Excellent machine and a perfect price
4/26/2009

Customer review by Niteroi

5.0 stars by Niteroi

I wanted a serger mostly to sew stretch and thin fabrics like jersey blouses, lingerie and also to help me hem sheer lightweight fabrics for scarves. I have had this machine for 3 weeks. This serger is hassle free when it comes to tension. Very easy to adjust tension and basically all I had to do was play with the differential feed. These are the things I have made since I got it: 1)A pair of denim pants - I used 4 thread overlock stitch to finish al the inside seams. 2)A thin jersey nightgown – all sewn with 3 thread overlock stitch and hemmed with rolled hem making a lettuce edge. 3)I hemmed a sheer lightweight scarf using the rolled hem. Perfect!! 4)A serger scrap bag – I finished the inside seams with 3 thread overlock stitch and I used 2 variegated threads in the upper looper to sew the scrap bag pockets together. 5)A sewing basket liner - I used the rolled hem on cotton to hem the ruffles of the liner and I also finished all the inside seams with a 3 thread. This Serger goes from denim to lightweight fabric with no problem at all. It comes with 2 Cds with videos to watch on the computer. One Cd is instructional, on how to use the serger. The other one has special techniques. Both are very helpful. It also has a booklet with all the settings for the special techniques. I do suggest getting a few books from your local library or buying a few. It can be of a great help if you can’t take classes. This Serger also comes with an extra pressure foot but I have used mostly the blindhem one with the guide. I did test the gathering foot and it helps when sewing 2 fabrics together or to insert ribbon on the edge. Most people complain about the threading process with sergers in general. Threading a serger is and will always be a more complex process than threading a sewing machine. But I learned quickly to thread this one. The lower looper has kind of a hook (I guess it is what they call threader) and it helps to thread it. I got dental floss to help me get the thread in the holes and it is a piece of cake now. The learning curve is just a bit longer than learning how to use a sewing machine. Threading this machine is hassle free. I like that the foot controller (pedal). It allows me to go slowly or fast. This can be very helpful when sewing slippery fabrics, curves or corners. It is very easy to remove the stitch finger to make the rolled hem and easy to put it back. You don’t even need to re-thread the machine. This machine comes with a trim trap but I didn’t like it because it has to be removed to open the door. The trim trap gets on the door way and it is also small. That’s why I made a scrap bag with pockets so I can also store the accessories I need to operate the machine. The knobs to adjust the stitch length and width are a bit hard and uncomfortable to turn, mainly if you just want to tweak it. I would have preferred it they were dials instead. But no big deal here. The light is fine. This serger has suction cups on the bottom so the machine doesn’t move on the table. It is pretty steady and it doesn’t vibrate much. I like that it is lightweight and that it has a handle to carry it. I also like that it came with a plastic cover. I didn’t rate durability because I have had it for a short time but overall it is a wonderful machine for an excellent price. It sews all kind of fabrics with no tension problems. I am very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (582) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Niteroi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
AWESOME, EASY, OUTSTANDING
9/12/2009

Customer review by TailoringandUpholstering

5.0 stars by TailoringandUpholstering

Im a new student tailor, but an older furniture upholstering technician. I have used industrialized machines, european, asian, american. For the projects that I have been doing with furniture upholstering and now tailor I am happy to recommed with flying colors the BROTHER Surger. This machine's overall quality deserves 5 stars across the board. I gave it 4 stars on the durability aspect due in part for only minor physical strengths. They are the thread tower - Very Flimsy, and the pullout free arm converter. Very plastic, very flimsy. Otherwise I can't say enought AWESOME points on the overall machine. Very stable, at high speeds, EASY, EASY, EASY threading. Worked out of the box and purposely took ot the treads from the guids to rethread, and you can't go wrong. First time rethreading and it worked as expected. Comes with CD's (2) of them. One is about the machine and the other about the versatility of stiching types. This machine can replace a reqular sewing machine for most home projects. Cord is long enough so that it does not need an extension cord. Cutting blades, are very sharp, stiching type such as rolled hems are easily done on the fly without having to switch out throat plates, or accessory foot. Uses regular home sewing machine needles. Comes with multiple extra feet, is able to stich about 22 different kind of variable stiches including flat lock. Again just because a machine is produced in another country and sold for more does not mean that it is any better. If you are into starting and completing your projects with minimal technical machine trouble purchase this machine. I have now had this machine for about 3 months, and have sewn on it without any troubles for about 350 hours total usage time. Not a click, not a misalignment, not any type of trouble. TIP: Purchase the best thread and it won't snap your line. Most of the time its not the machine it is the quality of the thread. Okay happy sewing I hope this review helped...!

Was this review helpful? (789) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TailoringandUpholstering
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow!! What a great serger!
12/1/2008

Customer review by txsewingmom

5.0 stars by txsewingmom

This is my first serger to ever use. I have a very basic Brother sewing machine that has been wonderful so I decided to stick with Brother products. After seeing all of the wonderful reviews here on this product, I jumped in. It sat in the box for about a week since I didn't really have a place to put it (and honestly I was a bit intimidated). I finally got it out and began playing with basic serging and the gathering foot using the thread that came preloaded. I played so much that one of the spools actually ran out!! So I HAD to learn to thread it. After watching the included CDs and looking over the manual, I did it! I've had it for about 2 weeks now and have rethreaded 4 or 5 times (to change colors) and can now do it without looking at the manual! I love the gathering foot and capabilities as it saves me SOOO much time when sewing clothing for my daughter. The rolled edge hem is also a quick and beautiful way to finish edges of ruffles! I am so happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone! I've included a pic of a ruffle on jeans that was finished on the bottom with a rolled edge hem and gathered with my serger.

Was this review helpful? (400) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
txsewingmom
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Three Years and Still Love It
3/4/2011

Customer review by CraftyOnes

5.0 stars by CraftyOnes

I love reading reviews, however, so many times people who write them have just recently purchased, and while it helps to know that people love a product out of the box, I also like hearing how the product holds up over time and use. I have owned this serger for three years now and I still love it!! I have used it to make cotton scrubs, fleece tops and pajama bottoms, flannel pajama bottoms, linen tops and capri pants, and lighter-weight denim capris, among other projects. Once you get the hang of threading it is really simple, and you can follow the pictures right on the machine. It really does give a professional look to your projects with clean seams, and is a great companion for your regular sewing machine. If something were to happen to it, I would buy the exact same model tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (233) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CraftyOnes
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Exceptional Value
2/5/2010

Customer review by MaryKS

5.0 stars by MaryKS

I have never written a product review before; however, after receiving and using my new Brother 1034D serger yesterday, I am compelled to write one now. This machine is a very good quality machine for an exceptional price. I have owned a "jet air" threading machine, which recently "died" after 10 years. I needed to have a serger quickly to finish a project and really did not want to pay over $1000 for a new machine. After researching several websites with consumer feedback, and reviewing videos of this machine, I decided I could not lose ordering this serger with quick shipping from WalMart, where I still paid less than any other advertised price where this machine is sold. The machine is not difficult to thread, sews beautifully, and the CDs and booklets are extremely detailed and helpful. If I may add for folks new to serging, one of the best books around is a Rodale publication "Serger Secrets-High Fashion Techniques for Creating Great-Looking Clothes." It is a 1998 publication still in print and extremely relevant regarding this particular machine.

Was this review helpful? (229) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MaryKS
Staunton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine and worth the money!!!
1/9/2011

Customer review by DeviousDesigns

5.0 stars by DeviousDesigns

So you are like many others; doing your research and reading these rewiews to decide whether to purchase this serger. Well I am the owner of Devious Designs & Amped Fitness in Columbus, Ohio. Recently I made the choice to update a number of our older sergers. Like you, I did my research and came across this Bother Over Lock unit. I ended up purchasing one from Walmart for $190. We got it right on time and kudos to Walmart for there excellent processing and shipping. The unit is set up and ready to use right out of the box. And for those who may fear threading a serger, this unit is a snap to thread! It is the easiest one I we have ever threaded. Brother made it idiot proof with color coding and step/numbering inside the door. Plus there is a informative dvd and instruction manual. I'm also very impressed by the unit's power to zip through multiple layers of denim and other tough fabrics! This unit is compaable to our industrial grade machines. In fact, we have been so impressed that we four more and they are being used daily for 8 to 10 hrs a day with no problems! The only only down fall I see is that if this is your first serger, matching fabric, needle, and thread tension may be a bit tricky to get just right. But there is a chart on the owner's manual to help you. Overall this machine is very durable, multi-functional, and very attractively priced. In no time you'll be sewing like a true professional and wondering how you ever got along without this unit! Just remember that we use it to produce swimwear, fitness wear and many other outfits you buy and wear! We loved it so much that we now own 5!!!! Happy sewing and Kudos to Brother and Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (110) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DeviousDesigns
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Serger
6/28/2010

Customer review by Scruffie

4.0 stars by Scruffie

After reading hundreds of reviews about this machine, I knew I would be happy with it. I make washable furniture slipcovers and have to use a serger for all of the inside seams. After months of fighting with my old serger, and constantly re-threading it, I decided to buy a new one. I borrowed my neighbors Brother Serger to finish a project and really liked it. Now that I have my own... life's good again! I love the lower looper's easy threading! I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants to have worry free serging.

Was this review helpful? (94) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scruffie
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
12/3/2010

Customer review by sewingsuzie

5.0 stars by sewingsuzie

I'd never used a serger and expected some difficulty threading it from stories I'd heard. Not so. The serger is easy to use, and does an excellent job. I've been very pleased with the Brother serger and sewing/embroidery machines I own.

Was this review helpful? (52) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sewingsuzie
Effingham, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCEPTIONAL VALUE AND HIGH QUALITY MACHINE!
10/15/2010

Customer review by BabyBoutiqueShop

5.0 stars by BabyBoutiqueShop

I received my new Brother Serger today. So far I have made a denim book bag, 3 contoured burp cloths and 10 cloth wipes made of flannel material. I did not have to adjust the tensions between the two different fabrics at all. After learning how to thread the machine (about 30 minutes) I can now thread it like a pro. With its color coded guide its very easy to thread. Just remember to start with the green first. Its a heavy weight machine NOT PLASTICY and cheap at all. It will do light weight fabrics as well as heavy weight fabrics all on this one machine. Learning the different stitches was fun too. I just had some scrap fabric and did a run on the different stitches and decided which one I liked the best before finishing my projects.

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BabyBoutiqueShop
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Performs Perfectly
1/30/2008

Customer review by TexaradoOne

5.0 stars by TexaradoOne

I have sewn for over 40 years but never owned a Serger and while there are multiple Sergers to choose from I needed to find a simple to operate machine in the $300.00 range. The Brother 1034D fit my search perfectly. Part of what sold me on this model is the positive reviews I read, the price and the offer of a DVD. The machine arrived several days before I expected it (which was great), the DVD was very informative, the machine is easy to use and thread and it is working perfectly for what I need. I was so impressed I recommended it to my daughter and she also ordered one from Wal-Mart too!! If you are looking for a serger that is easy to use, one that produces nice neat seams and one that is very affordable this is an excellent choice.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexaradoOne
Brighton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Serger
4/28/2010

Customer review by 60Rocks

5.0 stars by 60Rocks

I bought the Brother 1034D Serger from Wal Mart at their great price point and can say; it is a wonderful machine and makes a wonderful addition to my regular sewing machine. Fun to use. Don't let sergers scare you; they're great machines.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
60Rocks
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/8/2009

Customer review by Sewtellme

5.0 stars by Sewtellme

This is my first serger after many years sewing. This machine is very easy to thread. In fact, it took more time to thread the machine from scratch than to untangle the thread sent with the machine. I just completed my first project with the serger and the finish is great. The machine is so quiet, I can sew while my husband and I are watching TV. I can't believe I waited so long to get a serger but the consolation is that I got such a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sewtellme
CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Brother Serger 1034D
8/8/2007

Customer review by sewingforgrandkidsnow

4.0 stars by sewingforgrandkidsnow

I have only had the serger a few weeks so have not really got to use it a lot. I did find the instructions on how to thread and how to use it very plain to understand. Only thing I could see that I felt was a stepdown from my old serger was this one seems to be more plastic where my old one was heavy metal. Still working my way through all of the information but so far so good. Thought the CD was very good although the loud music that went with it was a tad distracting.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sewingforgrandkidsnow
Radcliff KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A great little serger
6/30/2010

Customer review by TsGrandma

5.0 stars by TsGrandma

It's been a long time (probably almost 40 years) since I've used a serger. I used to work in a womens garment factory and was trained to use one. I'm thrilled to see that the machines made for home use are of such high quality and have great features. I've had a Brother sewing machine for 39 years and chose to purchase the Brother serger after reading the reviews and reflecting on the perfect operation of my Brother sewing machine. The instructions were clear and well illustrated. The DVD instructions were very helpful. A serger is not a single needle sewing machine and as such, it does take a minute to figure out what's going on if you've never used one. So a little patience is needed for new users. But once you've gotten the hang of it, you will be in love and wonder how you ever lived without one! My daughter is dying to get her hands on mine after she saw what it could do. I'm afraid she's going to have to get her own. I'm not sharing!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TsGrandma
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great value for the money
4/11/2011

Customer review by Sewlizard

4.0 stars by Sewlizard

This machine is easy to thread, uses Schmetz needles, and it is fast. The tension adjustments are very fine and produces a beautiful stitch. I have used many different brands and if you only want to invest in one machine this is the best value for your money.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sewlizard
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful serger
12/30/2009

Customer review by Tigerkitten

5.0 stars by Tigerkitten

I am very pleased with this serger. Sews great and wow the different things you can sew with it. I would highly reccommend this product to anyone. Got to love that Brother.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tigerkitten
Dadeville, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Happy with my very first serger!
4/2/2014

Customer review by Mahmah25

5.0 stars by Mahmah25

I am new to serging but am an experienced sewer. When I got this yesterday for an early birthday gift, I was intimidated by it. But, after reading the manual and oiling it (per page 57 of the manual), it was ready to go! Threading is SUPER easy if you can read...they have the steps on the machine where each thread goes by color code. It was awesome considering I heard sergers could be difficult to thread. I have been playing around with the different stitches and settings and making notes (copied the page inside back cover) so I can build a notebook of fabric, needles used, tension settings, etc. to get the stitch on my sample. It will save me time in the future! I am VERY satisfied with this machine and it is a great price! It will definitely compliment my Brother sewing machine in my sewing room. I will ONLY buy Brother if I had a choice between this and Singer! I now have the embroidery/sewing machine Brother LB 6800 and the Brother SQ9050 sewing machine and am completely happy with all three!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mahmah25
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Totally Awesome
3/9/2010

Customer review by CallyD

5.0 stars by CallyD

This is the first serger I have owned, But I have used sergers in the past. I love this machine. The price is great, the accessories, the CD that tells you what you machine can or can't do, the lint trap the booklet that gives specifics. I researched this item and others for a while, then I purchased it. I made two skirts since I got this serger. I recommend this to any one.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CallyD
St. Croix, VI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beautiful and easy to operate! Two Thumbs Up!
7/13/2011

Customer review by BettyandBarney

5.0 stars by BettyandBarney

My husband and I own five sewing machines and an embroidery machine but have never owned a serger. We were concerned about them being hard to thread and operate. We read the reviews on the sergers in our price range and were pleased to read how much people liked this model. Youtube has several videos showing how this machine works and a great video on how to thread it. We decided we would take a plunge and buy this serger. We bought it Site To Store and it was here in four days. Much to our surprise it came threaded and ready sew right out of the box. They even included a sample that was sewn on this serger. The fun began when we decided to replace the spools of thread that were on it with cones of thread. We tried swaping them out one at a time and the thread broke. Lesson learned when changing thread it is best to change all four. In the sequence shown in the manual. It took a couple tries to get it threaded right but next time it will be a lot easier. The machine comes with two CD's that show how to thread and operate the serger but we liked the one on Youtube where it is explained threading step by step. This serger runs very smooth and quiet. It comes with extra feet. It does a beautiful job. We have expermented with several thicknesses and types of fabric. So far we have stuck to using all four spools and have never tried it without the knife. We think this is a great serger for home sewing and you can't beat the WalMart price. Some places are selling the same machine for $100.00 more. If you are looking for a quality serger then I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BettyandBarney
Eatonton, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
This is a great machine.
8/7/2007

Customer review by cldfront

4.0 stars by cldfront

For the price, you cannot beat this serger. I've used mine almost daily for two years and it is a workhorse. I'm considering upgrading to a Babylock but my 1034 keeps working so well that it's tough to swallow a $1500 replacement. I'd highly recommend this machine. It's an exceptional value.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cldfront
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 679 total reviews