Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
907
4 stars
189
3 stars
19
2 stars
12
1 stars
21
1-20 of 1045 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1045 total reviews
1-20 of 1045 reviews
Great Machine at Great Price!
2/7/2017

Customer review by Morgan

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Morgan
by Morgan

I did a lot of research on sergers before choosing this one, and I'm so glad I did! I'm fairly new to sewing, and here are the things I was looking for: low price, sturdy, enough functionality to take me through the next stages of my sewing hobby, easy to use. I got my 1034d and started using it straight away with the thread that came with the machine. I made a knit tunic in a couple of hours! Learning how to thread the machine was very straightforward, and I got it on my second try, using a combination of the manual and some Youtube videos. I was intimidated by the idea of using a serger, but now I feel very confident! So far I've only used a 4-thread overlock stitch for sewing seams on knits, using the all-purpose foot.

Morgan
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great addition to my sewing tools
2/10/2017

Customer review by bebemascari

5.0 stars 2/10/2017 by bebemascari
by bebemascari

I am very pleased with this Serger. The projects look much more professional than with the regular sewing machine zig-zag. I believe that the light weight fabric pieces will last longer with the finished edges using a serger. I still need to learn to use the Serger to it's full potential and I am excited to see what else it can do.

bebemascari
Germantown, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
2/7/2017

Customer review by Joycek

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Joycek
by Joycek

I bought the serger for my birthday and was quite intimidated after reading the instructions and watching the videos. I decided to take the plunge and purchsed a jersey knit to make a loose flowing jacket. I haven't completed it yet, but I found threading the machine was really quite easy and I am really enjoying working with it! I recommended it to my sister before I'd even tried it, I'm sure she'll love it as much as I do.

Joycek
Mesa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's sew easy!
2/7/2017

Customer review by Nancy 54

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Nancy 54
by Nancy 54

It's really sew easy to use. Color coordinated threading make threading the serger a no brainer for sure. I wish I wasn't so intimidated by this machine and I wish I would have bought it sooner. The gathering foot makes gathering so much easier then the old fashion way. I can't say enough it's definitely one of my most favorite purchases too date!

Nancy 54
Whittier, California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Serger review
2/9/2017

Customer review by Nikki

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Nikki
by Nikki

I thought it was going to be hard to thread it it was easy. I just need to learn all the different stitches and get better at them.

Nikki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE my Brother 1034D
2/1/2017

Customer review by DiAnneNativeTexan

4.0 stars 2/1/2017 by DiAnneNativeTexan
by DiAnneNativeTexan

I love this serger so far! It is my very first serger, and honestly I didn't see a reason to purchase one. NOW...I don't know how I could live without it. The ONLY suggestion, is a longer cord. The foot pedal and power cord need to be a longer. I have issues with the foot pedal cord a bit too short.

DiAnneNativeTexan
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Husband Surprised Me
1/29/2017

Customer review by Foxy Lady

5.0 stars 1/29/2017 by Foxy Lady
by Foxy Lady

There were no real lessons or classes with my Brother Serger as it was purchased through a retail store's web-site. I did take one class in the store that helped but being determined, I'm working through this by myself. Love the 1034D and I'm getting more comfortable and confident all the time. I must remember it is NOT a sewing machine & will not go in angles or circles (YET). I was so happy & surprised with the Serger.

Foxy Lady
Kansas City, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy to have a serger like the 1034D
1/7/2017

Customer review by Linda A

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Linda A
by Linda A

I have no previous serger experience, but have been a longtime sewist and wanted one for better project finish and sewing knits. Strong reviews and a good price point led me to choose the Brother 1034D. It's been very direct to use. Instructions have been thorough, and videos (on the CDs or on the internet) have helped as well. I've been able to thread the machine by reading the directions and following the color-coded dots, and have used the 4-stitch overlock to finish seams and sew stretch fabric, as well as doing a rolled hem (removing the stitch finger and using suggested settings) to make cloth napkins for gifts. Very happy with my purchase and the Brother product. Enjoying what a serger can do for my sewing projects. Thanks!

Linda A
Micanopy, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy New surge user
2/3/2017

Customer review by Patj1234

4.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Patj1234
by Patj1234

I got my surger for xmas. I've wanted one for 5 years. After a little practice i am so happy for this machine, it saves so much time on projects.

Patj1234
Davidson nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine for the price
1/26/2017

Customer review by Monie

4.0 stars 1/26/2017 by Monie
by Monie

I got my Brother 1034D for Christmas. I am still learning how to use it, but it's a great machine for the price. I recommend this serger if you are ready to move to the next level of sewing and want cleaner finishes. Threading it is not all that difficult as others have said. It comes with two dvds plus the manual. If you take the time to watch dvds and read the manual cover to cover you will be an expert in no time.

Monie
Yukon, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.
1/27/2017

Customer review by Launa

5.0 stars 1/27/2017 by Launa
by Launa

Haven't had a lot of time during the Holiday to use this new machine.

Launa
Bountiful, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easiest serger to use
1/22/2017

Customer review by Alaska Tish

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Alaska Tish
by Alaska Tish

I found this serger to be very easy to use. AFTER I read the instructions.

Alaska Tish
Anchorage Ak.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Budget Purchase
11/17/2015

Customer review by EJC79

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by EJC79
by EJC79

This serger is a good buy for the price I paid. I love the handle for the presser foot. Best thing about the whole machine. There are a few things that could be improved on however. Lint builds up very fast on the lower loopers and must be cleaned after every use. It is difficult to clean out underneath but if the whole end could be removed easily it would make it possible to get out lint that has traveled into the mechanics. The machine is quite noisy but it doesn't affect the beautiful stitch it makes. Also the tray that catches the "cut off" is rather flimsy and doesn't catch all the lint like it should. A swing out presser foot would make threading needles easier. I guess I'm spoiled as I have had a Serger for 28 years that had the swing out foot, heavy duty tray, and ability to open up the lower loopers for cleaning and oiling. But that machine is now deceased and the new 1034D is satisfactory as it is a price I can afford and it has been pretty easy to operate.

EJC79
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great serger
12/26/2016

Customer review by caslam

5.0 stars 12/26/2016 by caslam
by caslam

Before I used my new machine, I watched all of the YouTube videos I could find. Finding the threading 'shortcuts' fascinating, I gave them a try. I ended up with a mess! My previous serger was quite old and extremely challenging to thread. Decided to follow the instructions on this machine and found that it was very much easier to thread than the so-call easier shortcuts! It's almost as easy as threading my sewing machine! This is a great machine and very easy to work with. So far I'm finding that the tension has been easy to work with. The price was great. I would strongly recommend it to anyone. Thank you Brother!

caslam
La Conner, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pressure Foot Shaft Assembly
12/21/2016

Customer review by Jan 44444

3.0 stars 12/21/2016 by Jan 44444
by Jan 44444

I love everything about my 1034D, but had an issue finding the Pressure Foot Shaft Assembly part applicable to my serial no. I finally figured out the issue. At one point the body on the 1034D was shortened, so the part I ordered was shorter in length and would not fit my machine. It turns out, I needed the longer shaft and was able to find one myself at a sewing machine repair center in West Palm Beach, FL (Not Brother). It is now in service with a local business man in my area. Can't wait to finally use it. I wish the plastic tip at the end of the shaft assembly was not plastic and was metal and welded to the shaft, would save alot of headaches.

Jan 44444
Valrico, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good machine
1/13/2017

Customer review by amy6

4.0 stars 1/13/2017 by amy6
by amy6

I was intimidated at first but I just keep practicing and I'm getting more confident. I would suggest Youtube for great tips, the DVD is very basic.

amy6
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
1/15/2017

Customer review by Hazelnut

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Hazelnut
by Hazelnut

Love this serger! It sews great an very easy to thread!

Hazelnut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So much better!
1/10/2017

Customer review by Eudith

5.0 stars 1/10/2017 by Eudith
by Eudith

I had another brand serger. I really could not use it because I could never get it threaded correctly. I am using this one every chance I get. I can change the thread color in a jiffy and the seams are beautiful.

Eudith
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It makes sewing simple
1/9/2017

Customer review by NanaD24

5.0 stars 1/9/2017 by NanaD24
by NanaD24

The 1034D was a great buy and it makes sewing a dream. It is a lot more complicated than my regular machine. I would advise reading the manual and searching the web for tutorials for threading the machine. I have watched the video 3 times.

NanaD24
Sun City West, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The machine is very nice.
1/6/2017

Customer review by bennielou

4.0 stars 1/6/2017 by bennielou
by bennielou

Sews a perfectly flat seam. Very easy to set up and use, especially with the DVD videos. Learned some new ideas to use the machine. The 4 star rating is only because the machine is quite noisy. The machine seems to be a good quality machine for the price.

bennielou
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1045 total reviews
1-20 of 1045 reviews