Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

73 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

73 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
20
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 72 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Good camera
3/12/2012

Customer review by Basil211

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Basil211
by Basil211

It's a nice camera. I've been happy with the capabilities for the most part. My only complaint, really, is that it's kind of slow so taking pictures in quick succession doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Basil211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible!
6/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I first got it thinking it would be a great camera! Got home got it out of the box, and tried it out. Well It is VERY slow taking pictures! And, when you go back to look at them, it does not look HD at all! I myself as a photographer do not reccomend this camera! I am going back to sony and returning this one!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Laurel Fork, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good replacement for a Powershot A470
9/21/2013

Customer review by nick1296

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by nick1296
by nick1296

I got this camera to replace a failing Canon Powershot A470 that started to have some autofocus problems and just didn't autofocus the way I remember it focusing. So far I'm very happy with my A470 replacement, however I do find some issues in this camera I can forgive for what this camera is. It doesn't have MMC card support, something my A470 has, but due to the nature of the cards being very unknown and now defunct in the industry, I can understand why this was removed. However, losing MMC support did have some advantages. For example, instead of MMC support, this camera has EyeFi support in place, which is nice because EyeFi cards are wireless and I can sync my pictures from my computer without using a USB cable or USB card reader to pull photos off the camera, so I think this will be a nice feature in the future if I ever need WiFi in this camera. On top of that, while it's no flash/low light performance is a little weak compared to other cameras I have used in the past and even own, it's expected this will not perform as well as a DSLR, but is very close to DSLR performance. The battery thing is the only real thing I don't think reviewers of this camera understand, and give this camera a bad reputation. These cameras are not meant to use Alkaline batteries, they have to use NiMh batteries or Lithium batteries. I have not tried Lithium-Ion rechargeable batteries in this, so I can not speak for if those work, or even fit the camera so these may also be a viable option if you can fit them in this camera and it takes them. Alkaline batteries do not last due to the flash capacitor killing them. I have tried them in this camera and I have seen how much power they normally have left, and the battery is still good for other things, it just didn't have enough to run the camera. These cameras demand too much power to use Alkaline batteries in them for long periods of time. I also don't really like how more controls are put in software on this, coming from the A470 which had quite a few buttons on it that weren't in software, however I have seen worse where everything except the review button and one button controls the modes in software, so I can overlook the nature of more software implementation on this. This also doesn't include a Composite video cable anymore, so if yours lacks this don't worry about it, it's not included in this camera. However it still includes a USB cable, even tough I don't need it. On Windows XP and above, you really don't need the software to pull your photos on this. Just plug it in and pull them off, since these OSes have a generic Canon camera driver built in. For Mac users, use iPhoto to pull your pictures off since Apple has Canon drivers built in to iPhoto. You can also use a card reader if you don't want to mess with Canon generic drivers or iPhoto. For Windows 2000 and below, use a USB card reader and that will work out for you. Linux users should use a card reader. This software problem has always been on Canon cameras for years, so this is nothing new. Some cameras might require the Canon software on Windows XP and newer in some rare cases. Other then a few features removed, and this camera being impossible to use without Canon software or a photo program that sees cameras, or even generic drivers in Windows XP, it's not a bad camera in any way

nick1296
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Camera
6/21/2012

Customer review by Sheila W.

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Sheila W.
by Sheila W.

I just purchased this camera, the Power Shot SX 150. I had a previous Power Shot (7 yrs old) and wanted the same quality pictures and dependability. This camera is easy to use and is great for everyone. It has nice features and a good price for the quality pictures that it takes. It is lightweight and has a good display area. I am very happy to be a repeat customer.

Sheila W.
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More zoom than what is advertised!
12/27/2012

Customer review by Jerry

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Jerry
by Jerry

The camera is of a design that offers much more than just an "automatic snap shot camera" in that you can control both exposure and focus manually when needed. One unlisted advantage of the SX150IS that I've found is that when used in the "W" mode (16 x 9) there is an effective added magnification of close to 15% due to a certain amount of "cut off" on the sides of image. This adds to the 33% effective magnification of the image (3771 x 2104). This increases the total apparent magnification from 336 mm to 504 mm. Very useful for taking pictures of birds and other small animals such as squirrels.

Jerry
Muskegon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Camera
3/1/2012

Customer review by Canon User

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Canon User
by Canon User

I purchased this SX150is due to the optical zoom and the pixel resolution; although I'd like to have seen 14 and 14 similar to my SX120is 10 and 10; hint, hint. My bigger reason for this purchase is being able to use the double-A batteries; I use to buy the SX5, 10's and 20's-series until they went away from the double-A batteries - bad move for CANON for me to desire that series. Can't beat replaceability and availability when battery needs arise. Would have really liked having the swivel viewer also. When I find a model that I like I will generally buy two of that model, one for a spare to put on the shelf; haven't needed to breakout any of the spares yet. I have Two A650is's, Two SX120is's, SX10is's missed getting my second SX20is (dang), two SX120is's and two SX130is's, two A720is's all have been good cameras; and I will have a second SX150is. My SX150is has been very nice to use (still learning it though). I use my cameras for vacations and recording tests on machinery and certifications. The 720P videos are really nice and still-pictures are commented on by engineers of how nice, clean and clear they turn out. I am ask a lot of time what brand of camera I use. Pictures from just a few millimeters to several hundred feet away come out very nice. Low light does not seem to be a problem, I rarely use the flash inside buildings. Just give the SX150is time to focus and grab the shot, I primarily use the P-setting on the dial. Scenic pictures enlarged on the wall of my office-cubical (enlarge to 16x20 inches) get a lot of positive comments of detail in a large print; I put new ones up often, everyone in the office seem to come by to see which has been changed out so they can admire the new picture. Oh yes, batteries, I use 8X Lithium as often as I can. I loaned a co-worker one of my SX120is's to take to Australia for a 3-week work trip - I recommended he use the Litium 8x, he only had to change batteries once; using just 4-batteries getting hundreds of pictures. The camera came back shaded in red iron ore dust where the silver is on the outside (iron ore dust stuck to everything) and the silver color hand-strap is now orange in color; it still works fine, CANON quality, another reason I buy two when I find a model I like. The flash does semm to take a little to long to my liking to recharge for a second or third flash picture, this is why I don't use the flash unless I truly need it. Like I said earlier though, I will have a second SX150is for safety sake, setting it on the shelf for back-up.

Canon User
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better then SX100 IS
1/8/2013

Customer review by Alex

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Alex
by Alex

i have this camera for about a month no slow stuff going on, its faster then my old camera too :)

Alex
Alaska Anchorage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hobby Photographer
10/27/2011

Customer review by Lemrob

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Lemrob
by Lemrob

I bought this camera for my wife and she really likes it. We have used it at home and on vacation a few times and am very pleased with the quality of the pictures. The nice thing about digital is that you can take several shots practicing and keep the ones you want. This camera is easy to use and I would recommend due to it being compact, light weight,and very easy to operate. I bought rechargeable batteries as it is cheaper to do it that way rather than buying new ones all the time. Very satisfied with its performance.

Lemrob
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera
6/15/2012

Customer review by Bruce

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Bruce
by Bruce

I'm a hobby blogger with very picture and video intensive content. I do quite a few reviews on small things. Earlier this year I purchased the SX130 IS for it's reputation for easy and excellent macro photography. I also started using the camera for video work to support my blog articles. I was really blown away by the quality of the video. Recently I started doing two camera shoots for my videos and added a SX150 IS to complement the 130. Aside from the one small change of the video recording button, the cameras are so similar that I don't have to struggle to remember which camera I'm using at the time when I have both cameras set up for a shoot. I struggled a bit with battery life on the original 130. I would get battery low on the lcd screen but it would continue to shoot for up to 30 minutes or more after the warning came up so I just learned to ignore it. I did discover that Sanyo 2700 Ni-MH rechargables provided excellent run times for the 130. I can do a whole day of video and pictures with a single set of the Sanyos. For those trying alkaline or lithium batteries, I think you will be wasting your money as I never got good service life from those battery types. I had some reservations about the 150 due to reports of poor battery performance, but the Sanyos have been great for powering this camera too. My only issue using this camera and the previous 130 version is the lcd is incredibly difficult to see in the very bright sunlight that is usually shining during my outdoor shoots. I also have a small concern with the change on the battery/memory door. The 150 has a slightly articulated door that wasn't on the 130. It makes it easier to change the batteries and remove the memory cards, but I hope it's as durable as the door on the 130. If I could suggest an enhancement for the future, it would be to add a higher fps option for video. I've had to purchase a competing product to fill my need for 120-240 fps video.

Bruce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nearly perfect
5/28/2012

Customer review by skinsdiver

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by skinsdiver
by skinsdiver

The only problem is the well-known limited battery life. I solved that by ordering Canon's compact Battery and Charger Kit CBK4-300 for longer battery use. I'll use it when I have access to recharging, but non-rechargeable batteries (in adequate numbers, of course) will do when I am in remote areas for a longer time. Controls can be complicated but need to be for a camera with its variety of effective functions--if you elect to take advantage of the complexity. But simpler usage is readily available and quite satisfying for undemanding usage. Some cameras are smaller but not close in price.

skinsdiver
Chicago suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
2/14/2012

Customer review by axarea

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by axarea
by axarea

I want a camera with long zoom and aa battery and it's perfectly match. The still picture very clear, easy user interface, many setting for manual/ preset modes.

axarea
charlotte, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
2/9/2013

Customer review by gonelegal

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by gonelegal
by gonelegal

I have heard a lot of complaints about battery life. I always use the Ultimate Lithium batteries or rechargeable batteries. I do not leave batteries in camera when not using. I always remove them at night and put them in when I know I am going to be taking pictures. Some people complain about the flash recycle taking so long. I find it is pretty fast at recharging the flash. I find I don't often need to use flash with the low light setting. The zoom is great when taking pictures as you don't have to stand on top of someone to keep clutter out of the picture. I use the zoom to cut out the clutter. I have only had the camera for two days, but it is a keeper. The pictures come out very clear. I believe that of all the cameras I own, this is going to be my favorite, meaning it will go everyplace with me. I have another camera that has like a 36 x zoom that I use when I will be out taking landscape pictures. I do like that this takes AA batteries so if I run out of power unexpectedly, I can always run to the nearest store and be taking pictures again in a few minutes.

gonelegal
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera!!
1/3/2013

Customer review by jojo220

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by jojo220
by jojo220

Love this camera. Received it just a few weeks ago but used it thru the holidays and it is just packed with features. The battery life is a common complaint however you don't have to use regular AA. The camera also takes NiMH batteries which are rechargeable. A set of NiMH batteries and a charger is very inexpensive, so don't let the battery issue be a concern. The lens is great, pictures clear. The camera has an "auto" feature for general point and shoot picture taking but there is also a "manual" feature that lets you control certain aspects. Overall a great find.

jojo220
Slippery Rock, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
use correct batteries!
2/2/2013

Customer review by snaphappy

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by snaphappy
by snaphappy

Great great little camera. I carry it in my purse all the time..never know when a photo op comes up. my children are grown and gone, but this wld be great camera for moms/dads to keep in diaper bags, to never miss a moment as the video is great too. I have seen many reviews complaining of battery life. This is not a camera to throw in 2AA alkaline batts and think they will last 12 months. I use only LITHIUM batteries in mine, battery life lasts and lasts (I take alot of photos and video). of course I always have a backup pair of batteries as well, I never want to miss a shot! I am looking forward to moving up to an EOS camera, but will still keep this gem in my purse for everyday. Only neg I have, like others..takes the flash forever to charge up, then recharge again after a shot.

snaphappy
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery life use rechargeable or Lithium
12/11/2011

Customer review by pda

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by pda
by pda

Good point and shoot. Clarity is good and good size.

pda
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LCD viewer -Batt Life-User Guide
6/1/2012

Customer review by vacation wiz

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by vacation wiz
by vacation wiz

Needed a replacement camera before taking a two week Euro cruise. Got the SX150IS based on price and the features that I was lookng for. But until you try taking pictures in bright sun the LCD veiwer is worthless. Not having the old viewer without the LCD functioning I thought it was a let down. Besides I think the LCD veiwer is killing the battery life big time, I believe. My old camera you could select the LCD window if desired. And now the Battery life which I think was another big let down. On a 12 day cruise I went through 12 alkiline AA batteries. Took about 1000 + pictures. Have yet to down load them onto my computer for a bigger view. But once I figured the battery life was low I started looking into other batteries without purchasing anything else. In reading other reviews I think the Lithium batteries will be my next purchase for longer life. Next the user guide dilemia. I have an IBM computer with the 2003 Windows software. And reading the info in the box it said that my computer would not accept the CD-ROM disc to download the user guide. Well don't beileve that. After not having instructions and not knowing how to use the features we just tried downloading and bingo it does work. Somebody needs to recalulate their facts. Just wish I'd had this before I went on vacation!!!!!!!

vacation wiz
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera (Thanks Canon)
3/24/2012

Customer review by canon fan

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by canon fan
by canon fan

I own a few Canon cameras. AE1, Sure Shot Ace Date - Both great cameras. Digital ones A550 and this one. You get alot of camera for you money. First, the lens is 12x optical zoom (meaning 28-336 MM) Second, has digital tele-converter 1.7 or 2.1. That more than doubles the lens. Third, You can have shutter or aperture priority. (remember your old camera) Plus there are so many other features. The first thing that surprised me was the way the camera ate batteries. Like cookie monster eats cookies. I solved that problem by buying Canons CBK-300 Battery and Charger kit. The last thing that surprised me was that you can buy a AC Adapter Kit ACK-800 and the DR-DC10 DC coupler. Can you imagine just plug you camera to the wall and you don't need batteries (so cool) great for parties and family gatherings. Remember this is a HD camera and the video is really cool. This is a great camera for everyday people.

canon fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good camera!
6/13/2012

Customer review by izzie

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by izzie
by izzie

This is a very good camera. The battery life is quite short however, with rechargeable batteries, it lasts a very long time! I am very pleased with this camera!

izzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Beginning
1/4/2012

Customer review by Claire

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Claire
by Claire

I recently got this camera as a gift, and I really enjoy everything about it so far. I was looking for the next step up-a digital camera that was not too expensive but would do things a cheapie would not. I am using it to learn more about photography, and it is the perfect thing to learn with. The auto feature is great for the beginning, but there is plenty of flexibility when you get more confident. I have already taken some wonderful pictures, and I am looking forward to taking many more. The battery life is on the shorter side, but better batteries should sort that out. The controls are easy to grasp, the picture quality is amazing, and it is all in all a great camera.

Claire
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/9/2012

Customer review by P'Dolo

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by P'Dolo
by P'Dolo

This is a real nice camera! It's easy to use and has excellent image quality. Another thing I like about this camera is how lightweight/portable.

P'Dolo
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews