Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 184 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 176 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
great camera
10/24/2012

Customer review by JerseygirlJen

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by JerseygirlJen
by JerseygirlJen

I bought my Cannon 3 weeks before my daughters wedding. The pictures turned out beautiful and i am no way close to a professional. They were so clear and the zoom lens is great

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerseygirlJen
Northwestren Panhandle of Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/17/2012

Customer review by Neededsomehelp

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Neededsomehelp
by Neededsomehelp

I was not ready for a for a digital SLR....so I bought the next best thing....the Canon SX40HS. 12.1 mp AND 35x Optical zoom was perfect for me. LOVE everything about the camera and the real test is this week. A trip to the Smokies and the Blue Ridge Parkway for a week. All the pictures have come out great so far....and I like the little "getting started" manual that comes with the camera. Got a GREAT deal from Walmart for $349....I could not pass it up. The controls are simple (thats the way I like it) and it's easy to use right out of the box. Looking forward to many good years ahead using it. It works soooooo well...I may never feel the need to buy a SLR to get great pictures. If you are "on the fence" about buying this camera....come down from the fence and head to Walmart before they are ALL GONE!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neededsomehelp
Tinley Park, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great improvements
10/7/2011

Customer review by PacificNorthwest

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by PacificNorthwest
by PacificNorthwest

Pros: I purchased this camera the first day it became available, with the hopes that the low light performance issues of earlier models had been resolved. I am happy to say that the low light performance of this model is great. I have an earlier model, Canon PowerShot S5 IS, and was very happy with that camera but have found more "noise" in the photos than I would have liked. The new PowerShot SX40 HS, has improved low light performance, and improved image stablization. I took pics with both cameras for comparison, and have found amazing improvements with the SX40 over the earlier model. This camera takes great pictures. Cons: My only two complaints are: 1) As is becoming more typical with manufacturers, you receive an abbreviated manual with the camera, but the more in depth manual is provided on disc. Somewhat inconvenient. 2) The lens cap doesn't stay on much better than previous models. All things considered, I highly recommend this model.

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PacificNorthwest
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
VERY PLEASED WITH THIS CAMERA!!!
10/22/2011

Customer review by kint

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by kint
by kint

I bought this camera yesterday to take to the Gr Smoky Mts. I was very pleases with the quality, clarity and color of the shots I took. I have a Nikon D5000 DSLR and the shots I took today were very close in comparison to my much more expensive nikon. I bought this camera because with my nikon It is very difficult to carry a large camera bag with 3 lenses around on a senic outing/hike. I have previously owned a Canon SX20 and this camera takes much better shots. I only bought this camera for pictures as i don't take videos so i can't coment on the video capabilities. All the early reviews I read about this camera were right on. I would definetly recomend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kint
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/15/2012

Customer review by PurpleRose

3.0 stars 3/15/2012 by PurpleRose
by PurpleRose

I purchased this camera to replace my Canon SX120IS. Wanted something that would work better with doing things & going places with grandchildren. I LOVE the variable angle LCD screen. That was one of the major reasons I went with this camera, it was something I really wanted in a camear. The first DAY I used the camera the pix looked really good. BUT when I used the camera at night, the flash don't work right. I could stand in one spot and take pix over and over of same thing, I MIGHT get the flash to work 1 out of every 10-15 shots. You CANNOT get young children to stand still for 5 minutes or more, just trying to get the flash to work to take a pic. When a child is doing something special or has a special expression, or an amazing moment and the flash doesn't work, you can't take the pic over again, it's lost forever. I did return the camera to place of purchase. I can't take a chance on a camera and have it not work right when. I feel the cost of the camera is to much of a risk. :-(

PurpleRose
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this camera
4/19/2012

Customer review by JLTx5

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by JLTx5
by JLTx5

I was looking for a camera that would take good pictures in school gym and low lighting, this camera does an awesome job for both. The zoom is amazing. I have just used a few settings and the pictures turned out awesome. There are several settings you can use for the more advanced or you can put it on auto for a basic point and shoot with not so basic results. I read a lot of reviews and this camera had the best reviews for the price range I was able to afford. I absolutely love this camera, it exceeds all my hopes and expectations. I would buy it again or recommend it in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLTx5
Jonesboro, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loved it at first, developing some problems
9/14/2013

Customer review by law

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by law
by law

Right out of the box, I had a lot of fun with this camera. It worked beautifully, though the one thing that is hard and I wish could be changed is the abillity to control the focus a bit more (I focus on a certain thing, but the little focus box jumps around onto something else). The zoom is a winner! I've taken photos with this that I've only been able to dream of taking before. The low-light setting is excellent, even in poor lighting. This worked like a dream for easily 6 months, but then I began getting lens errors, and now I am getting a completely fuzzy picture in the view finder when trying to get a picture. This camera has been used a lot, but it has been babied--well cared for, lens cap on when not in use, stored in a zippered case to protect from dust. That said, I would still recommend it, but I am concerned about how long it will last as the lens error actually shuts the camera off, and there is no know reason for this. My 11-year-old has tried this and LOVES it.

law
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use, and great quality images!
12/5/2011

Customer review by carrie1200

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by carrie1200
by carrie1200

This camera is a great compromise for someone who wants all the ease of a point and shoot camera, along with the image quality of a DSLR. It's beginner-friendly -- most everything is self explanatory, and the camera guide (on a disk) is comprehensive. There are also enough manual controls to satisfy photographers with more experience. I've been using my new camera for around two weeks now, and have no problems whatsoever. The images are consistently clear and sharp, even in low light. The zoom is, of course, fantastic. I'd definitely recommend this to a friend! While it is expensive, it's very much worth the cost. Just don't forget to order your SD card! It's not included, and there is no internal memory!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carrie1200
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A fun superzoom
5/1/2012

Customer review by JohnG

4.0 stars 5/1/2012 by JohnG
by JohnG

I bought this camera to supplement by Canon G12, which I like very much. The G12 has a metal body, more manual control dials, better LCD viewfinder and more sophisticated exposure options (including High Dynamic Range, built-in neutral density filter, and more ISO settings). BUT the SX40 adds incredible zoom power, backed up by excellent image stabilization. Build seems solid and camera is easy to hold. The SX 40 is a bit more comfortable for my larger fingers, bigger but not heavy. Macro work requires figuring out some annoying items, like the tendency for the minimum focus range to go up fast as you increase focal length. However, this camera IS capable of very nice macro shots once you learn a thing or two. Cool moon shots also possible. Autofocus is decent but not fast. The ability to add external filters (like a circular polarizer, with Canon adapter) and larger external flash units is a big plus! I don't care about video, but I'm told this camera is good for that.

JohnG
Escanaba, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Feature rich camera
10/30/2012

Customer review by spookyone

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by spookyone
by spookyone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera has a wide angle, non changeable lens with a decent optical zoom. I really like the wide angle because it enables me to get everything I want into a single frame. It's a very good package of features that one would normally have to upgrade to the pricier models like the Rebel in order to get. Although I have not used the video feature much yet, it can shoot in true 1080 HD and also has high speed feature that enables one to shoot awesome slow motion movies. I particularly wanted the moveable LCD display because it can be pivoted so I can take the picture and be in it too, while being able to see the output for compostion adjustment. What I am not particularly fond of is the location of some feature buttons on the hand grasp because I often "one hand" it and accidently activate some function I didn't intend to by "fat fingering" them. It's just a matter of getting used to the grip, I think. The sale price was $100 off which makes it worth it to upgrade over the usual point and shoot compact digitals that Canon makes. This is my personal camera purchase but I also purchased this model for my work because it has a second to none macro feature that is quite amazing for fine, very close up, shots. I've been using this model at work for about 8 months so was aware of it's capabilities before I purchased my own. Combine all of this with a 12.1mp picture quality ccd with decent optics and it's a deal. By the way, be sure to purchase at least the 16GB X10 high speed card for it to utilize its fast transfer speeds and reduce cycle time between shots.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spookyone
Trona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent camera at a good price.
1/6/2013

Customer review by topcat116

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by topcat116
by topcat116
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video is typical Canon well built and thought out package. I have used Powershot cameras for years and am rarely disappointed. The camera shoots well in low light situations, and with 12MP resolution, keeps the picture focused. It offers a range of shooting senarios, and includes rapid fire photos for action shots. Controls are well thought out and placed in convenient places. The HD video is controled from a single button on back that has a red dot. The 35x optical zoom is only surpassed by the newer SX50 HD, which also features WIFI. The 2.7 LCD screen is bright and crip and easy to see. It folds out for self portrait veiwing, or folds down on the back. A single button control can switch to a veiwfinder, or simply fold the LCD down. The SX40 has everything I was looking for in a digital camera, at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topcat116
Lansdale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camera has great options
12/3/2011

Customer review by h2ostormjd

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by h2ostormjd
by h2ostormjd

Really liked everything about the camera. Battery lasted well and took great shots. Only thing wrong is that there is no paper manual. Being on a disk is not always user friendly. But I really like my camera.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
h2ostormjd
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this camera!
9/18/2013

Customer review by LJT8969

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by LJT8969
by LJT8969

I purchased this camera a year ago to take on vacation. The camera is very easy to use and the pictures come out very clear. The zoom on this camera is amazing! I have taken pictures of wildlife from a distance that look like I am standing right next to them. The thing I especially like about this camera is that you can either look through the view finder or use the LCD. I find it hard to see the LCD in bright sunlight with sunglasses on, so use the view finder for outdoor pictures. The LCD opens away from the camera base and tilts, so you can actually hold the camera over your head and tilt the LCD down so you can see what you are taking. Fantastic feature! I highly recommend this camera to anyone interested in the ease of a point-and-shoot camera that also has some added features. I have taken amazing pictures with the macro lens and also unbelievable pictures of a hummingbird at my feeder with the continuous shooting feature! Love this camera!

LJT8969
Londonderry NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/23/2012

Customer review by jennybecky

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by jennybecky
by jennybecky

I wanted something that I could use at my daughters sporting events, and this camera is excellent for that. Every picture I've taken has been clear and crisp....even in the sports setting. I've had this camera a little over a month, and I've taken hundreds of pictures. If anything, that is my only complaint: All the pictures are so good, I find it hard to delete them!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jennybecky
Sanilac County, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Big Bang.. Small bucks..!!
3/24/2012

Customer review by Tool Doctor

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by Tool Doctor
by Tool Doctor

Never had a camera before Nov. of 11'.. Did my homework with reviews and hit the mother lode with this camera. Printed out the manual and made my own notebood which I studied for two weeks with camera in hand. Not a lot it won't do once you take time to understand just what it will do. Being retired I have time to shoot 30-50 shots a day. Love the zoom for wildlife on my property and find the mode settings work great.. Also love the Auto Exposure Bracketing mode as I have already learned Photoshop and started shooting High Definition Range imaging with the AEB mode and taking it to Photomatix for merge and tonal mapping. For only owning a camera for 5 months I have advanced in photograhpy well IMO and having this camera in my hand with it's capabilties is a major factor.. There are a few things I wish for in capability but I keep in mind I did not purchase a full blown DSLR.. Again.. big bang.. small buck and love this tool in my hands..!!

Tool Doctor
Metro Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous carry around camera!
2/18/2012

Customer review by jmistudio

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by jmistudio
by jmistudio

This is a great camera to take along all the time! The image quality is excellent and the camera is rich with features. I shoot with the 1DS Mark III but that is a bit much to lug around all the time, and with the all the lenses needed to match the range of this little marvel, my case would weigh about 40 pounds. Truth be told, the image quality can't compare to the 1DS Mark III, but I had no illusions that it would. The bottom line is that because this camera is so easy to carry around, I have captured a lot of great images that I would have missed while the 1DS Mark III was back at the studio. I also have a G9 and an SX1 which are equally great carry around cameras, but the range of this camera's lens is what sets it apart. The one BIG thing those other Powershot cameras can do that this cannot, is capture RAW files. That is really my only serious complaint. If the SX40 could capture RAW it would be the ultimate carry around!

jmistudio
NYC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for the price!!
5/23/2012

Customer review by HollywudSC

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by HollywudSC
by HollywudSC

I purchased the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS to take on an upcoming vacation. I wanted to give myself time to experiment with all the features prior to my trip. The camera has met all of my expectations. I have been very satisfied with the user-friendly settings. I even tried taking a picture of the moon---I was absolutely blown away!! I simply held the camera one early monring and zoomed in and captured an amazing view of the moon. I can't wait to take it on my cruise. Thanks Canon!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HollywudSC
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Off to a good start
2/5/2012

Customer review by shorty

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by shorty
by shorty

Just received my SX40 HS yesterday shipped in from XXX in just a few days. The Getting Started Guide was great and I am up and running in all basic areas. Everything is straight forward, and I would urge an adventurous novice user to take the plunge like I did. Product registration iseasy. The Zoom quality is truly fantastic and really intuative to use. It will add great creative depth to the photos I take. In terms of manuals/software syncs, the package includes a CD and assums everyone still has CD ROM capabilities on their PCs, which I dropped 2 laptops back. The downloads for manuals etc are on the website, but not referenced in the packaging. Easy to find by searching the Cannon site The full user manual is 220 pages long so I have some homework to do. That was a bit danuting; maybe they have tutorials etc to break this into chunks. One step at a time! Overall a very good purchase and step up experience for me so far.

shorty
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera
3/22/2013

Customer review by GA Photog

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by GA Photog
by GA Photog

Have used the SX40 at home and traveling to France, Spain and Israel. Used primarily in auto mode but also have used manual mode for special situations. Produced excellent shots and videos in a variety of settings. The zoom lens is beautiful, just to test it, I did a max zoom on 2 birds standing on Masada ruins about 150 feet away and they came out crisp, clear and in focus. Picture quality in a variety of settings, from French & Spanish cities to Pyrenees mtns and Israeli deserts were all great in auto mode. Should say that I have had Canon digital cameras for years now and therefore are used to their controls, however I find them easy to use and straight forward. And I have never read the user guide, just use it for reference. I Have another camera from a different mfr that has now been relegated to backup status. Only downside is the size of the camera. It is not heavy but considerably larger than the normal digital model, had to get used to not being able to carry a camera in a belt case. This is why satisfaction received 4 stars instead of 5.

GA Photog
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Camera & Pictures! Easy to use!
1/24/2012

Customer review by TEALADY

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by TEALADY
by TEALADY

I recently bought the Canon SX40 HS and used it at a wedding; I could not have been more pleased with how the pictures turned out! In quite a number of the pictures I was using the telephoto lens at quite a distance (bride groom putting the ring on his bride's finger and it looked so close that you would have thought I was within one foot of them but I was at the 840 mm length and it was in great focus without a tripod). I used the "auto" setting for all of the pictures. The wedding area was somewhat low-lit, but the camera did not need a flash, which was great! This is the best point and shoot camera I have had. The reviews I read before buying were very accurate and helped me make the decision to purchase it. Some of my friends have seen my camera and what it produces and are interested in getting one. I rate it number 1. The only thing I did not like was the delayed time between the shot just taken and when it was ready for the next shot; that left a lot to be desired. However, the overall attributes far out weight this one factor. I give it an A+.

TEALADY
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews