Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 175 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
VERY PLEASED WITH THIS CAMERA!!!
10/22/2011

Customer review by kint

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by kint
by kint

I bought this camera yesterday to take to the Gr Smoky Mts. I was very pleases with the quality, clarity and color of the shots I took. I have a Nikon D5000 DSLR and the shots I took today were very close in comparison to my much more expensive nikon. I bought this camera because with my nikon It is very difficult to carry a large camera bag with 3 lenses around on a senic outing/hike. I have previously owned a Canon SX20 and this camera takes much better shots. I only bought this camera for pictures as i don't take videos so i can't coment on the video capabilities. All the early reviews I read about this camera were right on. I would definetly recomend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kint
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great improvements
10/7/2011

Customer review by PacificNorthwest

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by PacificNorthwest
by PacificNorthwest

Pros: I purchased this camera the first day it became available, with the hopes that the low light performance issues of earlier models had been resolved. I am happy to say that the low light performance of this model is great. I have an earlier model, Canon PowerShot S5 IS, and was very happy with that camera but have found more "noise" in the photos than I would have liked. The new PowerShot SX40 HS, has improved low light performance, and improved image stablization. I took pics with both cameras for comparison, and have found amazing improvements with the SX40 over the earlier model. This camera takes great pictures. Cons: My only two complaints are: 1) As is becoming more typical with manufacturers, you receive an abbreviated manual with the camera, but the more in depth manual is provided on disc. Somewhat inconvenient. 2) The lens cap doesn't stay on much better than previous models. All things considered, I highly recommend this model.

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PacificNorthwest
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use, and great quality images!
12/5/2011

Customer review by carrie1200

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by carrie1200
by carrie1200

This camera is a great compromise for someone who wants all the ease of a point and shoot camera, along with the image quality of a DSLR. It's beginner-friendly -- most everything is self explanatory, and the camera guide (on a disk) is comprehensive. There are also enough manual controls to satisfy photographers with more experience. I've been using my new camera for around two weeks now, and have no problems whatsoever. The images are consistently clear and sharp, even in low light. The zoom is, of course, fantastic. I'd definitely recommend this to a friend! While it is expensive, it's very much worth the cost. Just don't forget to order your SD card! It's not included, and there is no internal memory!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carrie1200
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Camera has great options
12/3/2011

Customer review by h2ostormjd

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by h2ostormjd
by h2ostormjd

Really liked everything about the camera. Battery lasted well and took great shots. Only thing wrong is that there is no paper manual. Being on a disk is not always user friendly. But I really like my camera.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
h2ostormjd
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this camera
4/19/2012

Customer review by JLTx5

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by JLTx5
by JLTx5

I was looking for a camera that would take good pictures in school gym and low lighting, this camera does an awesome job for both. The zoom is amazing. I have just used a few settings and the pictures turned out awesome. There are several settings you can use for the more advanced or you can put it on auto for a basic point and shoot with not so basic results. I read a lot of reviews and this camera had the best reviews for the price range I was able to afford. I absolutely love this camera, it exceeds all my hopes and expectations. I would buy it again or recommend it in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLTx5
Jonesboro, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/17/2012

Customer review by Neededsomehelp

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Neededsomehelp
by Neededsomehelp

I was not ready for a for a digital SLR....so I bought the next best thing....the Canon SX40HS. 12.1 mp AND 35x Optical zoom was perfect for me. LOVE everything about the camera and the real test is this week. A trip to the Smokies and the Blue Ridge Parkway for a week. All the pictures have come out great so far....and I like the little "getting started" manual that comes with the camera. Got a GREAT deal from Walmart for $349....I could not pass it up. The controls are simple (thats the way I like it) and it's easy to use right out of the box. Looking forward to many good years ahead using it. It works soooooo well...I may never feel the need to buy a SLR to get great pictures. If you are "on the fence" about buying this camera....come down from the fence and head to Walmart before they are ALL GONE!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neededsomehelp
Tinley Park, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good pics but issues
11/1/2011

Customer review by Yam8310

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Yam8310
by Yam8310

I bought this camera to replace 2 new Kodak Z990s that possessed the same issue of the clock going off by 4 hours every day, and then being right for 20 hours. I am glad I made the change. The SX40 is much, much easier to change settings in manual mode, has more zoom, and tells the correct time 24 hours a day.

Was this review helpful? (46) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yam8310
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Feature rich camera
10/30/2012

Customer review by spookyone

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by spookyone
by spookyone

This camera has a wide angle, non changeable lens with a decent optical zoom. I really like the wide angle because it enables me to get everything I want into a single frame. It's a very good package of features that one would normally have to upgrade to the pricier models like the Rebel in order to get. Although I have not used the video feature much yet, it can shoot in true 1080 HD and also has high speed feature that enables one to shoot awesome slow motion movies. I particularly wanted the moveable LCD display because it can be pivoted so I can take the picture and be in it too, while being able to see the output for compostion adjustment. What I am not particularly fond of is the location of some feature buttons on the hand grasp because I often "one hand" it and accidently activate some function I didn't intend to by "fat fingering" them. It's just a matter of getting used to the grip, I think. The sale price was $100 off which makes it worth it to upgrade over the usual point and shoot compact digitals that Canon makes. This is my personal camera purchase but I also purchased this model for my work because it has a second to none macro feature that is quite amazing for fine, very close up, shots. I've been using this model at work for about 8 months so was aware of it's capabilities before I purchased my own. Combine all of this with a 12.1mp picture quality ccd with decent optics and it's a deal. By the way, be sure to purchase at least the 16GB X10 high speed card for it to utilize its fast transfer speeds and reduce cycle time between shots.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spookyone
Trona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/23/2012

Customer review by jennybecky

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by jennybecky
by jennybecky

I wanted something that I could use at my daughters sporting events, and this camera is excellent for that. Every picture I've taken has been clear and crisp....even in the sports setting. I've had this camera a little over a month, and I've taken hundreds of pictures. If anything, that is my only complaint: All the pictures are so good, I find it hard to delete them!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennybecky
Sanilac County, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing camera
5/28/2012

Customer review by Moneychanger1

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Moneychanger1
by Moneychanger1

This camera is loaded with features that you would only find on high-end cameras. Need to order a SD card, which is not included to make it work? Great telephoto lens.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moneychanger1
Hale, michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
is okay
5/10/2012

Customer review by sand1234

4.0 stars 5/10/2012 by sand1234
by sand1234

i just purchased this camera. the 35x zoom is awesome. the battery life is great. it does seem a little heavy and bulky for my busy lifestyle. i wish it had an automatic lens cover , rather than a lens cap. i feel like with 2 young boys, traveling and everything that the lens will get scratch. i wish i could find a point and shoot close to this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sand1234
sandy ridge, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera for the price!!
5/23/2012

Customer review by HollywudSC

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by HollywudSC
by HollywudSC

I purchased the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS to take on an upcoming vacation. I wanted to give myself time to experiment with all the features prior to my trip. The camera has met all of my expectations. I have been very satisfied with the user-friendly settings. I even tried taking a picture of the moon---I was absolutely blown away!! I simply held the camera one early monring and zoomed in and captured an amazing view of the moon. I can't wait to take it on my cruise. Thanks Canon!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HollywudSC
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome camera, amazing pictures
6/10/2012

Customer review by airborne03

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by airborne03
by airborne03

Great wildlife point and shoot camera. Picture and video quality are exceptional.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
airborne03
Palm Bay Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for some shots
3/30/2012

Customer review by z1r2p3

3.0 stars 3/30/2012 by z1r2p3
by z1r2p3

After much debate between an SLR and this camera, I decided that I didn't really need an SLR and chose the Power Shot for the high mp and zoom. The zoom is fantastic but I am not happy with the action shots this camera takes. My kids are young and are not in intensive sports yet, so I thought the Powershot would be adequate for what I needed. I was so unhappy with the Powershot, after taking it to a camera shop to verify I had the settings right I then ended up getting a Canon Rebel SLR. However I do still like the Powershot for the 35x zoom an SLR lens that gives you a similar zoom would cost a fortune so I still use my Powershot but for any active shots you can't beat an SLR.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
z1r2p3
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Camera
5/28/2012

Customer review by andthenthereweretwo

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by andthenthereweretwo
by andthenthereweretwo

This is a great camera, takes beautiful pictures and is easy to use. Definitely the way to go if looking for a good quality camera for a decent price, not top of the line but you wouldn't know it with the way the pictures come out. Only negative comment I have is that I would like for it to take pictures a little quicker in sequence but maybe I just haven't figured out how to do that yet since I've only had it for two weeks. Either way I would definitely recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andthenthereweretwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great camera for the price.
9/29/2012

Customer review by ZOOMBUG

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by ZOOMBUG
by ZOOMBUG

Purchased this camera rather than a digital SLR and I am amazed at all the functions in this camera. Picture quality is great as are the videos. Cannon support for this camera is great. I called cannon support with a few simple questions and all were answered and I was given several web sites to refer to for even more info. Overall all I give this camera 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZOOMBUG
covington georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great pictures
8/13/2012

Customer review by PickfordJim

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by PickfordJim
by PickfordJim

I needed a camera that was simple to use and I did not want to carry additional lenses around to get close up shots. My Son recommended this one and I am so happy that I listened to him. I have enjoyed it since the day I got it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PickfordJim
Pickford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
SO HAPPY!!!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Mom2BoJo

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Mom2BoJo
by Mom2BoJo

I am thrilled with this purchase! This camera makes me look like a pro, and all I have to do is point, and shoot. There are options galore, but really they aren't needed to get a high quality, professional looking photo. The camera does all the work! I highly recommend this camera. The only recommendation I make to the manufacturer, is to PLEASE include the owner's manual with the product! It is only available online and that will be very inconvenient for reference during vacation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2BoJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Love This Camera!!!
9/1/2012

Customer review by WVUFanatic0826

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by WVUFanatic0826
by WVUFanatic0826

We wanted a camera to take good quality pictures of our teenage son during his sporting events. Wow...easy to use and terrific pictures! I would reccomend a monopod if you are going to use the full zoom and want the best quality pictures.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVUFanatic0826
Keyser, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Crisp, clear shots. Fairly easy to use.
11/23/2012

Customer review by larz12

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by larz12
by larz12

My first camera, 30 years ago, was a Canon Sure Shot, and I had not met its equal in a digital until using an Olympus 10 years ago that I just plain wore out. In the past two years, I've purchased a Canon and an Olympus, each for about $200 on sale, point and shoot with good reviewst, and I was found them both disappointing. The colors were not all that great, the zoom made the photos fuzzy, and the batteries didn't last long. What I wanted in a camera, this camera has provided: True colors: love, love, love the lens on this camera! The colors are clear, crisp, true to life, indoors and outdoors, wildlife, scenic views, skin tones. Zoom that doesn't distort/create noise: This was fun to use! I shot bird photos, and it looked like the birds were sitting right in front of me. No details were lost, color and clarity remained fantastic even zoomed all the way out (optical zoom only). Good battery life: Several hundred shots and three hours later, the battery had plenty of life left to it. Next day, without recharging, took many more and still the battery is going strong. It's too soon to know just how long it will last, but so far, I'm impressed. Easy to hold: So many cameras are small now, and this fits my hands well. It has a nice shape to it, making it easy to hold securely. Strap (neck strap comes with it): Nice strap, and that matters because my first camera broke only because I dropped it, and most cameras bought in this family have come without any strap at all. Ability to override auto settings: Though I haven't tried this much yet, I have the option to set this to manual. I can even save my favorite manual settings. This is the one area I need to work at a bit; the menu is just a bit more complicated than I'd like for it to be, and there is no printed user guide. It should be noted that I had not read the user guide before using this camera other than to read the cautions and stuff you need to know to get it going (charging and using the battery, what size card and where to put it, etc). Macro setting: I found it once, haven't found it again, need to learn where it is. The photos I took using it were excellent. See above--I just need to learn my way around the menu better. Viewfinder: I like using a viewfinder, and most point and shoots don't have them. I like this a lot! It will save using the LCD screen all the time, and I enjoy composing a photo. LCD screen: Very nice. It can be closed so that screen is protected (I do this while using the viewfinder and when not using the camera). When open, it can be set at various angles, which I suspect I'll use a lot, especially when getting photos at school plays, in crowds, and wherever it helps to hold the camera at an odd angle to get the shot. The only con I would mention is the lack of user guide. There is one, but it's not in print. I find the printed books that used to come with cameras to be helpful--tuck them in the camera bag for quick reference. I do need a bag; none of mine are right for this. I am using a Sans Disk SDHC card that I got on sale. That's the brand I've used for years and never have had troulbe with, so I stuck with what I know and don't regret it. It worked beautifully in this camera. There is the ability to add lenses and even an extra flash. Though I didn't set out to find a camera with these features, I was torn between this and a Sony that is similar. The Sony lacked these features, so I went for the one that had similar reviews, features, and price but gave me more options.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larz12
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews