Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

8 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

8 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-7 of 7 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1/14/2012

Customer review by davecinoregon

1.0 stars 1/14/2012 by davecinoregon
by davecinoregon

This lens is not an auto focus lens like the Description says that it is I tryed to use it its worthless I even called Bower and asked them how to get it to auto focus they said that it dosent and that walmart needs to to fix the description. The guy I talked to at bower said that this lens is only good for stationary objects. Will not work on anything that moves. So whats the point in having this kind of zoom if you can just walk closer? save you money the only reason it gets on star is becuase you cant give a half star

Was this review helpful? (29) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davecinoregon
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Decent Lens for the Price
4/16/2012

Customer review by mx200394

4.0 stars 4/16/2012 by mx200394
by mx200394

A lot of people who would buy this lens most likely do not know how to use the len. The Bower SLY500pc is actually everything I was looking for in a high powered lens. I love how it is completely manual. When I did film photography there was no auto focus, you had to know what you were doing, so this lens made me feel right at home. Though it says 500mm focal range, I would say it is more close to 400mm. It is light enough that if you shoot with a High ISO, and Shutter you do not need a tripod, For low lighting you will need a tripod, and a shutter trigger which Walmart does sell also. The Mount that I got was for Canon EF/EOS but what I love is I spent some extra money and bought a mount for my Olympus OM-10 and it works great with the film. For Starting out photographers, I would not suggest this, but for people who have a lot of time behind the camera this lens is good quality, for the price of others that are 1000 dollars or more.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mx200394
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great lens for the money
3/23/2012

Customer review by lyhphotography

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by lyhphotography
by lyhphotography

this is a great lens for the money need to use a tri-pod and cable release though but you are only paying $110 for a 500mm lens i have taken great shots of all kinds of wild life around the south west and desert if you take the time to learn how to use this lens it will work great for you. great lens if you dont want to spend $1500 for an AF IS lens.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lyhphotography
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
3/3/2012

Customer review by paidnful

1.0 stars 3/3/2012 by paidnful
by paidnful

info. given is not all true. not a good connection to all cameras that its pose to attach to.. shutter barely opens..

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paidnful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
GREAT DEAL!
5/3/2012

Customer review by coldcrank

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by coldcrank
by coldcrank

I've seen a couple poor reviews on here for this lens but I cant figure out where they are coming from! I'm not an expert in cameras by any means and I was worried I wouldnt be able to work this or get a good photo, but everything was so self explanatory and the photos turn out fantastic. In the day light I can shoot writing on buildings 3 blocks away! w/ the FStop8 you need a fair amount of light, and at this distance you'll need a tripod, but for the price this lens is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coldcrank
35mm vs Digital
7/4/2012

Customer review by Sciveo

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Sciveo
by Sciveo

I had a friend take our wedding photos (married 28 apr 2012) who had a nice Digital camera, pictures turned out great! So, I asked Kevin (My bud) how much the camera was...WOW! But, I wanted to get better pictures at low cost for my manual camera. When I had gotten home, the day after I had received the lens.... A nest with 4-5 babies and the parents hugging in the nest... without this lens I would not have the great photos I have (FYI..bird nest was about 300-400 feet away). Also I did not have to spend billions on a new camera...it is a win win...great Item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sciveo
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not bad,fixed zoom,manual focus,clear view
12/1/2012

Customer review by tkg1061

3.0 stars 12/1/2012 by tkg1061
by tkg1061

Using on Canon Rebel T3i. Lens does well. Fixed zoom, manual focus,doesn't allow full function of the flash especially the top mount flashes. That is where the higher end lenses do well, this lens should be use with a camera tripod (lens has tripod mount that works well) and should be used with a remote shutter otherwise the slightest movement, even wind will cause pics to blur (does not have image stabilizer) remember this is a low cost lens without the extras. I'd recommend this for those on a tight budget and want a decent quality telephoto lens for longer range without disturbing wildlife, etc I have attached a photo that was taken using the lens @ approximately 90+/- yards away

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkg1061
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.