Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 407 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

407 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

407 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
128
3 stars
54
2 stars
27
1 stars
48
1-20 of 367 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
extremely surprising
4/7/2014

Customer review by amberloveschris4ever

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by amberloveschris4ever
by amberloveschris4ever

i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.

Was this review helpful? (234) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amberloveschris4ever
rogersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reccommended
2/6/2012

Customer review by JoseAl247

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by JoseAl247
by JoseAl247

I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$

Was this review helpful? (313) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoseAl247
elgin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great for the entire family
9/24/2012

Customer review by rere1979

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by rere1979
by rere1979

I bought this product for my 15year old son.But everyone in the family is using it.The bench was very easy to put together.It is a great home gym

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rere1979
Chester,Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
fair deal
6/10/2013

Customer review by sillyUser

3.0 stars 6/10/2013 by sillyUser
by sillyUser

TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons) This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate. Pros: weights come with this Cons: unstable the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out

Was this review helpful? (83) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillyUser
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't meet expectations
4/13/2012

Customer review by vinnyg17

2.0 stars 4/13/2012 by vinnyg17
by vinnyg17

I purchased this set from my local Walmart based on the good reviews it had gotten. Spent a couple days researching online and decided to go with this set over others that were a little more expensive. I lift regularly at the gym, but purchased this to supplement some of the exercises I do. It was pretty easy to set up. The directions aren't extremely helpful, but it isn't that hard to figure out. The bench itself is sturdy but I found the bar and leg developer to be lacking. The leg developer is very small and hard to use. I am a 5'4" female, and it's even uncomfortable for me. I can't imagine someone much taller than me getting any use. In addition, the column to put weight on isn't very deep and doesn't fit more than 40 lbs because of the thickness of the vinyl weights. My second concern is the weight of the bar. It is only around 5 lbs or so, and I have to load weights on an empty bar on the floor, because it isn't heavy enough to support the weight on only one side until I can put on the 2nd plate. For the $67 I paid for it in the store, I guess I got what I paid for, but I probably would have thought twice about it in hindsight. Might be okay for a beginner, but it feels awkward to me compared to the machines at the gym.

Was this review helpful? (88) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vinnyg17
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/1/2012

Customer review by TASMOTOM

4.0 stars 3/1/2012 by TASMOTOM
by TASMOTOM

THIS PRODUCT WAS PERFECT FOR ME AS I HOPED. IT WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND HAD ALL THE EXTRAS. GOOD PRICE AND VALUE.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TASMOTOM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dont make a mistake
8/23/2012

Customer review by Jaydown

1.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Jaydown
by Jaydown

I read a few of the reviews and I bought this. I want to save you the time and disapointment DONT BUY THIS I give it no stars and is not worth the money. It is cheaply built and not sturdy at all. You will not be pleased with the bar bell it is not wide enough for a grown man. I think if i cant return it i will give it to my 10 year old son it fits him perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (58) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaydown
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very affordable, basic set
8/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Bench!
11/28/2013

Customer review by hgcurly

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by hgcurly
by hgcurly

I recently started to lift weights. This bench is really sturdy. I would feel comfortable going over the 300lb limit. My only concern is the bar it comes with. Does not seem too durable. But for the price, I can definitely buy another bar to continue to add more weight. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hgcurly
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great beginner bench
3/23/2013

Customer review by Patty619

4.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Patty619
by Patty619

Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patty619
San Ysidro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not for people over 6"00. easy assembly not sturdy
2/8/2013

Customer review by Fitnessbenchreviewer

1.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Fitnessbenchreviewer
by Fitnessbenchreviewer

I used to work out daily at gym. Now that I became busy I do not have enough time to go to gym. So I decided to buy a bench to work out at home. After reading many good reviews of this item, I decided to buy it. Good things about this item are cheap, and it comes with 100 pound weight. It is pretty easy to assemble too. I don't know why people say it is sturdy, it really is not that sturdy. Maybe I expected too much from this bench. Tall people should not buy this. You will not be able to work out in a good form. If you are beginner and shorter than 5'5 I would recommend this. If you are not, i recommend you to buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fitnessbenchreviewer
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/29/2012

Customer review by tRIPPDAWG

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by tRIPPDAWG
by tRIPPDAWG

I WORK OUT DAILY AND THIS HAS BEEN A REALLY GOOD BANG FOR THE BUCK.. NOVICE OR EXPERT WILL GET A DECENT WORKOUT. I HAD TO MODIFY THE BENCH TO ACCOMMODATE MORE WEIGHT. JUST SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT...

Was this review helpful? (69) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tRIPPDAWG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/13/2012

Customer review by mufasa4

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by mufasa4
by mufasa4

cheaply made. bar is very light and won't hold much weight. i should have saved my money and purchased something of higher quality

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mufasa4
saint louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a semi-decent starter bench
7/14/2014

Customer review by Godzirrrraaa

3.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Godzirrrraaa
by Godzirrrraaa

The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple. There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like. All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Godzirrrraaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bench
8/24/2014

Customer review by Laxislife421

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Laxislife421
by Laxislife421

Im a 16 year old who plays lacrosse. I wanted to get into better shape. So i bought this. A lot of people said it was a very unsturdy bench. All those people must be really bad at building, cuz this thing is amazing. I built it myself in about an hour. This was definitely worth it. And its really cheap. Sure, the bar isnt as big as i thought, but hey, when i need a new bar, ill buy one.

Was this review helpful? (46) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Laxislife421
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
1/10/2013

Customer review by tennesseedeerhunter

2.0 stars 1/10/2013 by tennesseedeerhunter
by tennesseedeerhunter

I bought this at my local wal mart store. I normally read up about an item before I buy it, but this was an impulse buy. I didnt expect it to be just great for the price I was paying, but I also didnt expect it to be as horrible as it was. I got it home and assembly was fairly easy. When I got it set up it was very flimsy. I put the weights on it and it would nearly fall over when you touch it. I made sure all the bolt were tightened. Needless to say, I returned the product to wal mart for a full refund. This is not for you if you want a sturdy built weight bench.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tennesseedeerhunter
Waynesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not perfect
1/4/2014

Customer review by Tubman46

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Tubman46
by Tubman46

I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short! The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game. If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tubman46
Finksburg, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the price
3/4/2012

Customer review by lovetomovemybody

4.0 stars 3/4/2012 by lovetomovemybody
by lovetomovemybody

This item is ok. good for the price. Not the best of course but a great value.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetomovemybody
fresno ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cautiosly Recommending...............
10/8/2012

Customer review by BabyCougar31

3.0 stars 10/8/2012 by BabyCougar31
by BabyCougar31

I wanted to love this set. After reading reviews about its size I figured it would be perfect for me since I'm 5'1. The assembly was easy HOWEVER the bolts that it comes with are impossible to screw tightly. I took two bolts from an elliptical 260 I purchased here and they fit perfectly. So while it is assembled I refuse to use it as is since its not sturdy. Once I purchase about 12 of the bolts that actually screw all the way to a tightening point then I'm sure it will be worth the price. I have no idea why I'm having this issue I have no problem using a wrench and I've assembled plenty of items by myself but those bolts simply will not tighten

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyCougar31
San Ramon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great value!
3/11/2012

Customer review by jojoblack770

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by jojoblack770
by jojoblack770

This weight bench is very sturdy and easy to put together. You can't beat the price for this bench which comes with 100 lbs of weight. This is a plus especially when your first starting to lift weights as I am and can't afford to spend a lot of money on barbells and weights separately. I recommend this product to everyone who is looking to save money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jojoblack770
Vernon Hills ,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews