Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 458 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

458 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

458 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
168
4 stars
146
3 stars
57
2 stars
31
1 stars
56
1-20 of 418 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 418 total reviews
1-20 of 418 reviews
Decent product
8/22/2014

Customer review by Freeworld185

2.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Freeworld185
by Freeworld185
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freeworld185
Middletown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
11/7/2015

Customer review by Eliza

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Eliza
by Eliza

The product brought everything it needed. My uncle installed the full thing in 40 minutes and later screwed everything tight so it wouldn't fall apart. The barbell is great since my uncle hammered it together it has not shown any signs of weakness, and I have used it everyday for the past 5 days continuously, I think the problem people were having is that they weren't hammering the two separate pieces of the bar together well enough. As for the size of the seat I haven't used it to do bench presses but I have sat on it to do other exercises and it seems workable. I think it's a great machine especially with the price and that it brings both the barbell and 100 pound weights. It's perfect if we consider those details but it's pretty good even if you don't. If anything happens to the barbell or any other pieces of equipment in the future I'll add an update if there are no updates then be aware that it is working perfectly fine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eliza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A lot of bang for your buck!
1/19/2016

Customer review by SnowWhite84

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by SnowWhite84
by SnowWhite84

This is great quality for the price you're paying. The bench is good and sturdy and the set definitely serves its purpose. The only downside, in my opinion, is the width of the 20-pound weights. They are too thick to allow much more weight to be put on. Even with that being said, at $69, it was an insanely good deal for a set like this. Very impressed!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnowWhite84
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner bench
3/23/2013

Customer review by Patty619

4.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Patty619
by Patty619

Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patty619
San Ysidro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
fair deal
6/10/2013

Customer review by sillyUser

3.0 stars 6/10/2013 by sillyUser
by sillyUser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons) This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate. Pros: weights come with this Cons: unstable the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out

Was this review helpful? (102) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sillyUser
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
extremely surprising
4/7/2014

Customer review by amberloveschris4ever

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by amberloveschris4ever
by amberloveschris4ever
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.

Was this review helpful? (384) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amberloveschris4ever
rogersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very affordable, basic set
8/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cap barbell bench W/ weights
1/26/2016

Customer review by SleepingGiant1

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by SleepingGiant1
by SleepingGiant1

I had to replace this order because the box was damaged by the time it shipped to Las Vegas. When the set finally came to my house it was too heavy for the delivery man to get to the door, but by the time I got it put together with my brothers help, it was a really great weight set and all the pieces were there. I was worried about all the bolts and nuts not being there, so I put them all in a bowl and counted them out. I really like the weight set for the price I paid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SleepingGiant1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible experience
1/30/2016

Customer review by NotSATISFIED

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by NotSATISFIED
by NotSATISFIED

I started assembling the bench and realized one of the numbered bolts was missing. Now I'm stuck, I have go to Home Depot and purchase a matching bolt. Not only that the delivery driver said his delivery stated curbside only and left it on the sidewalk. Terrible experience all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotSATISFIED
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a semi-decent starter bench
7/14/2014

Customer review by Godzirrrraaa

3.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Godzirrrraaa
by Godzirrrraaa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple. There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like. All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Godzirrrraaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Weight bench
1/21/2016

Customer review by Blumachine

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Blumachine
by Blumachine

The weight bench is good. I put it together and had no big issues. Weight bar one of the pins to keep it together doesn't line up correctly but it won't go in completely. So the pin sticks out a bit. Other than that there hasn't been any other issues. Used bench a few times, no major complaints. You get what you paid for. This bench is not a heavy duty bench like in gyms.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blumachine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to assemble
1/26/2016

Customer review by Crazzi

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Crazzi
by Crazzi

Easy to assemble. Only think i would change is make the bench padding a little thicker. Otherwise this is great. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazzi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Christmas gift
12/27/2015

Customer review by Tcee

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Tcee
by Tcee

Bought this for my husband for a Christmas present. ..this is a very nice bench and weight set..pretty heavy duty. .I was worried with the price being so cheap but it exceeded my expectations. .every thing was in the box the screws and such was on a plastic card so nothing could get lost..the whole set is well put together. .like I said it's not cheaply done heavy duty steel..comes with a 100 pundits weight set..if you order this set you will be pleasantly surprised. .

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tcee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Missing weights
1/21/2016

Customer review by Brofesser

1.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Brofesser
by Brofesser

The box was damaged from shipping and some of the weights are missing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brofesser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reccommended
2/6/2012

Customer review by JoseAl247

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by JoseAl247
by JoseAl247

I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$

Was this review helpful? (377) (82)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoseAl247
elgin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not perfect
1/4/2014

Customer review by Tubman46

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Tubman46
by Tubman46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short! The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game. If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tubman46
Finksburg, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't meet expectations
4/13/2012

Customer review by vinnyg17

2.0 stars 4/13/2012 by vinnyg17
by vinnyg17

I purchased this set from my local Walmart based on the good reviews it had gotten. Spent a couple days researching online and decided to go with this set over others that were a little more expensive. I lift regularly at the gym, but purchased this to supplement some of the exercises I do. It was pretty easy to set up. The directions aren't extremely helpful, but it isn't that hard to figure out. The bench itself is sturdy but I found the bar and leg developer to be lacking. The leg developer is very small and hard to use. I am a 5'4" female, and it's even uncomfortable for me. I can't imagine someone much taller than me getting any use. In addition, the column to put weight on isn't very deep and doesn't fit more than 40 lbs because of the thickness of the vinyl weights. My second concern is the weight of the bar. It is only around 5 lbs or so, and I have to load weights on an empty bar on the floor, because it isn't heavy enough to support the weight on only one side until I can put on the 2nd plate. For the $67 I paid for it in the store, I guess I got what I paid for, but I probably would have thought twice about it in hindsight. Might be okay for a beginner, but it feels awkward to me compared to the machines at the gym.

Was this review helpful? (108) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vinnyg17
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE
1/13/2015

Customer review by Cya12345

1.0 stars 1/13/2015 by Cya12345
by Cya12345

First, Wal-Mart sent the item through Fed-Ex and the box fell apart. Their delivery driver would not accept the item and so Fed_ex called me to come get it. I refused and told them to pack it up and deliver. They did but this took several more days to complete the process and then finally, in a very crude wrapping of extra cardboard and plenty of tape, the item was delivered. Now the fun part, assembly. On the second step of the assembly I found that there were essential pieces missing that prevented the bench from being stable. Contacted CS and they said to ship it back and I told them that since the box was completely destroyed during the initial shipment I could not. They suggested I put it in several other small boxes and send it back. To much of a hassle. I told them to send me the parts to complete and they could not. Decided to go around them and order the parts from the manufacturer. Still waiting on those parts and I ordered this on 12/26. It is not 01/13 and have yet to use the bench in a workout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cya12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value
1/1/2016

Customer review by Sorange

4.0 stars 1/1/2016 by Sorange
by Sorange

My 17 years old and I put it together for my husband. It took us about 2 hours because my son ripped off the screws guide by accident when he was opening the screws pack. We had a hard time deciding what screws and washers were needed for the beginning steps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sorange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No excuses
12/1/2012

Customer review by Oldrick

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Oldrick
by Oldrick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really enjoy a good workout, but the hassle of trips to the gym have lost their appeal. It is nice to have this in the privacy of my own home. It was a good starting point. When I added a six foot solid bar, another 100 pound set, and a set of dumb bells, I have something really versatile I am six foot tall and I read the reviews that warned about the size of the leg extension and over came that by setting the bench's feet on 2x6x6 blocks and now have plenty of clearance. I feel like I got a really good start for the $70 price tag. This set has got me MOTIVATED and the results are everything I could ask for.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldrick
Westminster, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 418 total reviews
1-20 of 418 reviews