Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 480 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

480 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

480 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
173
4 stars
151
3 stars
61
2 stars
33
1 stars
62
1-20 of 440 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 440 total reviews
1-20 of 440 reviews
Decent product
8/22/2014

Customer review by Freeworld185

2.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Freeworld185
by Freeworld185
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product

Was this review helpful? (16) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freeworld185
Middletown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the price it certainly does the job
6/8/2017

Customer review by BurnedEarth

4.0 stars 6/8/2017 by BurnedEarth
by BurnedEarth

I needed to purchase two pairs of pliers to tighten the nuts which was a workout all in itself. For the price I cannot complain. I am worried someone might put the bench together and not tighten the bolts which could lead to serious injury. I also feel the legs holding up the weights bar should have been separated at least a half foot more because I have to adjust my hands to the felt grip after pressing the bar up from its legs. There is a really helpful video on YouTube titled Bench Press Assembly Video I wish I had seen before attempting to assemble with just the instructions given. Please tighten your nuts or the bench will be extremely loose possibly falling over! I recommend having someone put this together if your hands are frail or cannot squeeze a pair of pliers tight enough to hold a bolt while using another pair of pliers to tighten the nut.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BurnedEarth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner bench
3/23/2013

Customer review by Patty619

4.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Patty619
by Patty619

Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patty619
San Ysidro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Great
11/7/2015

Customer review by Eliza

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Eliza
by Eliza

The product brought everything it needed. My uncle installed the full thing in 40 minutes and later screwed everything tight so it wouldn't fall apart. The barbell is great since my uncle hammered it together it has not shown any signs of weakness, and I have used it everyday for the past 5 days continuously, I think the problem people were having is that they weren't hammering the two separate pieces of the bar together well enough. As for the size of the seat I haven't used it to do bench presses but I have sat on it to do other exercises and it seems workable. I think it's a great machine especially with the price and that it brings both the barbell and 100 pound weights. It's perfect if we consider those details but it's pretty good even if you don't. If anything happens to the barbell or any other pieces of equipment in the future I'll add an update if there are no updates then be aware that it is working perfectly fine.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eliza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fair deal
6/10/2013

Customer review by sillyUser

3.0 stars 6/10/2013 by sillyUser
by sillyUser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons) This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate. Pros: weights come with this Cons: unstable the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out

Was this review helpful? (109) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sillyUser
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Don't See What Everyone Is Complaining About
12/29/2016

Customer review by rsmelto

4.0 stars 12/29/2016 by rsmelto
by rsmelto

I put the bench together in about an hour. No problems. THE BENCH IS ONLY WOBBLY IF YOU TRY TO SHAKE IT. I have one gripe. I Incline Bench Press 165 lbs on the Smith Machine at the gym, where you can move the bench around beneath the bar. I can't move 80 lbs inclined on this thing because the bar is so far behind your head. That's because everything is one piece. You can Incline Dumbbell Press, but not Barbell. That won't concern most people. Most people just flat bench press. And the average person is just going to hang clothes on home exercise equipment. I got this, a dumbbell set, and another 100 lbs barbell set for something basic to use when it's not possible to make it to the gym.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsmelto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
extremely surprising
4/7/2014

Customer review by amberloveschris4ever

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by amberloveschris4ever
by amberloveschris4ever
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.

Was this review helpful? (427) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amberloveschris4ever
rogersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a semi-decent starter bench
7/14/2014

Customer review by Godzirrrraaa

3.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Godzirrrraaa
by Godzirrrraaa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple. There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like. All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Godzirrrraaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very affordable, basic set
8/7/2014

Customer review by angelduzt

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by angelduzt
by angelduzt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.

Was this review helpful? (47) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angelduzt
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
2/23/2016

Customer review by AidenNessa

3.0 stars 2/23/2016 by AidenNessa
by AidenNessa

I bought this on walmart.com and had it freight shipped to my home. It was damaged during shipment and damage to the box was apparent when it was unloaded from the truck. When I opened the box the upholstery on the bench had a major rip/tear in it. I overlooked it and decided to cover it after waiting forever on the shipping. I got it put together pretty easily and quickly. After full assembly, the bench is smaller than it should be and not very sturdy. When I sit or lay on it it wobbles and has me wondering if I am actually working out instead of just testing it out if it would hold up through it all. The clamps that hold the weight on do not fit onto the bar easily and take a lot of jiggling around to get on. I guess you get what you pay for. It was the cheapest option that included weights. It is a bit dangerous though because while adding weight to one side, if you don't hold the middle while you walk around to add weight to the other side the already weighted side will slam down since the bar is too light to hold it steady. Overall not a big fan and contemplating returning it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AidenNessa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reccommended
2/6/2012

Customer review by JoseAl247

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by JoseAl247
by JoseAl247

I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$

Was this review helpful? (396) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoseAl247
elgin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Not perfect
1/4/2014

Customer review by Tubman46

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Tubman46
by Tubman46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short! The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game. If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tubman46
Finksburg, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Somewhat Dangerous
8/11/2014

Customer review by SteelyDanfromYokohama

2.0 stars 8/11/2014 by SteelyDanfromYokohama
by SteelyDanfromYokohama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I suppose I was suckered in like most by the price. Assembly is pretty straightforward, but the structural components are generally inadequate, even for the rated weight. With 100lbs. on the bar rest, there's a serious tendency for the vertical supports to to tip away from the bench, reducing the entire item to a twisted steel mess. I had to brace the head end of the bench against a column to keep the verticals from tipping and then bending at their attachments. The bar is actually okay for the rated weight so long as you rest it on a hard surface when tapping in the pop rivet-like pins, so that they expand against the bottom of the bar. The weight set itself is probably worth the money, but before supplementing it you'll want to get a solid, threaded bar and a much heavier duty, more stable bench.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteelyDanfromYokohama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No excuses
12/1/2012

Customer review by Oldrick

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Oldrick
by Oldrick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really enjoy a good workout, but the hassle of trips to the gym have lost their appeal. It is nice to have this in the privacy of my own home. It was a good starting point. When I added a six foot solid bar, another 100 pound set, and a set of dumb bells, I have something really versatile I am six foot tall and I read the reviews that warned about the size of the leg extension and over came that by setting the bench's feet on 2x6x6 blocks and now have plenty of clearance. I feel like I got a really good start for the $70 price tag. This set has got me MOTIVATED and the results are everything I could ask for.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldrick
Westminster, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good value for a smaller person
1/2/2014

Customer review by APG1

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by APG1
by APG1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this weight bench set for my husband for Christmas. He's only had it for a few weeks, but so far he really likes it. I can't speak for the durability of this set, but the quality seems good for the price point. It took us between one and two hours to put it together. We are pretty handy and have decent tools. A good wrench set helps. Assembly is definitely a project, with lots of washers and bolts. Speaking of washers, it came with five fewer than we needed, but we had some extras at the house, so we were able to make it work. The bar is relatively light and lighter-duty than a standard bar that you would find at a gym, but it is sufficient for the weights that came with the set. It is very nice that there is an apparatus for leg exercises on a bench at this price point. A lot of other reviews cautioned that this bench is too small and has too low of a weight limit. I guess that all depends. My husband is about 5'5" and 160 lb. The bench is more than large enough for him to comfortably work out on, and the 300 lb weights and person limit is not an issue. If you're 5'10" or taller or weigh 200 lb or more, this is probably not the set for you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
APG1
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't meet expectations
4/13/2012

Customer review by vinnyg17

2.0 stars 4/13/2012 by vinnyg17
by vinnyg17

I purchased this set from my local Walmart based on the good reviews it had gotten. Spent a couple days researching online and decided to go with this set over others that were a little more expensive. I lift regularly at the gym, but purchased this to supplement some of the exercises I do. It was pretty easy to set up. The directions aren't extremely helpful, but it isn't that hard to figure out. The bench itself is sturdy but I found the bar and leg developer to be lacking. The leg developer is very small and hard to use. I am a 5'4" female, and it's even uncomfortable for me. I can't imagine someone much taller than me getting any use. In addition, the column to put weight on isn't very deep and doesn't fit more than 40 lbs because of the thickness of the vinyl weights. My second concern is the weight of the bar. It is only around 5 lbs or so, and I have to load weights on an empty bar on the floor, because it isn't heavy enough to support the weight on only one side until I can put on the 2nd plate. For the $67 I paid for it in the store, I guess I got what I paid for, but I probably would have thought twice about it in hindsight. Might be okay for a beginner, but it feels awkward to me compared to the machines at the gym.

Was this review helpful? (111) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vinnyg17
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Wish I Had One
6/22/2016

Customer review by Hannah

4.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Hannah
by Hannah

My dad bought one of these last year and every time I stayed at his house I loved using this set. It's perfect for beginners and for people that just want to stay fit with medium exercise. It's very easy to assemble and the weights are sleek. My problem is that I bought this item 3 times and it was never delivered. If you live in the DC/Baltimore area, don't even bother trying to order this. I had it delivered to my house twice and to the store once; all three times FedEx lost my package and I only ever got the bench. It's like they have a phobia for delivering the weights. Even though Walmart complied with refunds and returns, I would have really liked to have gotten this weight set. It's the best price for what I want and it was really easy and comfortable to use.

Was this review helpful? (32) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hannah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the entire family
9/24/2012

Customer review by rere1979

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by rere1979
by rere1979

I bought this product for my 15year old son.But everyone in the family is using it.The bench was very easy to put together.It is a great home gym

Was this review helpful? (85) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rere1979
Chester,Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Excellent bench for the price!
8/29/2012

Customer review by NicholasGrandmama

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by NicholasGrandmama
by NicholasGrandmama

I purchased this bench and I'm very pleased with it. I'm a 50+, 135 lb female, and I tell ya, this bench works for me. It arrived in a timely manner, and was a piece of cake to assemble. It's a perfect fit for the designated area, and overall serves me well. I'm pleased with the purchase and I am soooo enjoying my workouts. I even purchased additional weights to enhance my workouts! =)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicholasGrandmama
San Deigo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Missing parts
2/5/2016

Customer review by Amit

1.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Amit
by Amit

It has been a more than a month since I ordered this set, it came from Walmart in reasonable time, but I have not been able to use it at all. I assembled the bench without an issue but when I started the barbell, I found that the set is missing parts to assemble the bar (roll pins x 2, spring clips x 2) I called the customer service and after a few tries got through. they promised me that they will send me the missing parts. I event got a email confirmation that I will be getting the parts. Till date the parts have not shown up in the mail. I have called them but no one picks up the phone, no one returns voice mails and the email to customer server bounces back. So this is a good deal as long as you are lucky to never need customer service.

Was this review helpful? (32) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amit
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 440 total reviews
1-20 of 440 reviews