Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-19 of 19 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

HUH????
4/12/2012

Customer review by Ramjamm

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Ramjamm
by Ramjamm

Right out of the box, didn't work. Battery got fully charged and screen was full of lines of different colors. Very disappionted as this is the second one I ordered and will have to also rerturn. Perhaps the low price should have been a sign. P.S. No optical zoom as described. Model # on box is different from model # on camera.

Was this review helpful? (117) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ramjamm
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great little pocket recorder
12/12/2012

Customer review by Sandy1001

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Sandy1001
by Sandy1001

My old pocket camcorder died a d I bought as a replacement. Works perfect, no problems an takes good video.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sandy1001
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I Like It
2/24/2013

Customer review by copperhead83

4.0 stars 2/24/2013 by copperhead83
by copperhead83

This camera is really nice, takes good videos and pictures. Pro's Video quality, picture quality, battery life, size, audio quality, touchscreen Con's Box says dxg-5wov camera says dxg-5cov what's up with that, file format, nothing else I recommend a class 6 or higher SD card

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
copperhead83
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Paid $39, wouldn't say it is worth much more.
4/10/2013

Customer review by ITLKSEZ

2.0 stars 4/10/2013 by ITLKSEZ
by ITLKSEZ

I bought this camera mainly because of the price. It was $39.00 through Walmart's "Site to Store" option. (It took an insane amount of time to arrive at the store backed by a worthlessly vague tracking system, but that is another story. Let's just say I'm glad I wasn't in a hurry to use it.) I was in the market for a helmet camera to replace my old Tachyon XC helmet cam. Helmet cams typically start around $120 that have all the same recording specs that this camera had: 1080p HD video, 30fps, was tiny and light-weight. I felt I could look past it's shortcomings (not waterproof, no mounting options, no image stabilization....) for the price. When I finally received it, I was impressed with how much came in the box. Every wire that you could imagine, plenty of literature with detailed instructions, a charger and removable battery (the item's description said it had a non-removable internal battery), and a soft case (bag) for storage. Again, impressive for $39.00. I tried it around the house and everything worked fine. Colors aren't very vivid and transitions from light to dark were a little slow, but again, for $39.... After spending some time to make a Velcro mount for the side of my helmet, I tried it out. This is where I started to see it's real shortcomings. The audio is AWEFUL. Even in a quiet room, if someone talks too loudly, it records as distorted sound. The slightest breeze outside comes across as a gail-force wind. I would say it is too sensitive, but it seems to have a hard time picking up quiet sounds. When used as a helmet cam on a dirt bike, it renders the audio useless. between the wind noise and the loud engine, the audio is just garble. And without any type of image stabilization, the video, even when handheld, is shaky due to it's small size. I understand I am not using this camera for what it was intended, but my rating is being judged on this camera's intended uses. For the price, yeah, I guess I would recommend it. But I saw this camera's list price on Amazon.com was $199?!!! No way.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ITLKSEZ
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredibly inexpensive camcorder!
3/10/2013

Customer review by artspin54

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by artspin54
by artspin54

The camera is compact, user friendly, comes with all necessary cables, has beautiful definition and is simply incredible for a price that is so low that it's hard to believe. Truthfully I was expecting a toy but it is a very sophisticated camera that delivers above and beyond my expectations. Just purchase a memory card, charge the battery (charger included) and begin shooting movies or pictures.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artspin54
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Video Recorder
1/4/2013

Customer review by Lateefss

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Lateefss
by Lateefss

Brought for my boyfriend and he luv it. Comes with a black case and its slender and take really good video.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lateefss
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
2/21/2013

Customer review by dubu

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by dubu
by dubu

This is a great camera and for this price?? Unbeatable, I have been using DXG brand for a long time and I do believe is a great company with great products at an affordable price, also excelent customer service.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dubu
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camcorder
3/29/2013

Customer review by mamaseiler

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by mamaseiler
by mamaseiler

Unfortunately after receiving this camera my daughter went to see how it worked. After turning it on, the screen went white and nothing else. She was very disappointed. We thought perhaps the battery was dead, but after charging the battery she still got the same results. Not a happy story. It was returned and her money was given back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamaseiler
Newman Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camcorder, but not for vloggers.
4/17/2013

Customer review by VloggerCSM

4.0 stars 4/17/2013 by VloggerCSM
by VloggerCSM

I got this camera and quickly realized that on full 1080p, it "zoomed-in" on whatever you were shooting. As a vlogger, this wouldn't work for me because it was too "zoomed-in" on my face. It wasn't like that in the 720p mode but I got this camera for its full HD quality. Don't get me wrong, this camera had the quality and at a great price! It just wasn't quite what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VloggerCSM
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Limited
4/24/2013

Customer review by Abalese1

2.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Abalese1
by Abalese1

I bought this camcorder just to exchange some videos with a friend on You-Tube. The picture quality is not to bad for a $30.00 camera, but the sound is poor. Since I wanted to use it for some guitar videos-the sound was important. This however, is a nice little pocket cam that you can use in a crunch to shoot video. As I said, the video is not to bad and it's easy to use. Would be great for the kids. But if you need decent sound other than speech, this cam will not do the trick. Lets face it-"you get what you pay for."

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abalese1
Philly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awkward and broken
10/18/2013

Customer review by GodsKnightDavid

1.0 stars 10/18/2013 by GodsKnightDavid
by GodsKnightDavid

Awkward to use, stopped working 6 mos later and DXG is out of business or something, can't contact.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GodsKnightDavid
Del Rio Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
You get what you pay for
5/16/2013

Customer review by Bethany92596

3.0 stars 5/16/2013 by Bethany92596
by Bethany92596

The camera is EXTREMELY cheaply made. If you are getting this for a child, they will love it. However, if you're an adult and even want home videos and recordings of life events, don't get it. Very bad quality. I got it because I want to vlog on youtube, but the quality is too poor and I couldn't figure a way to let it sit on my dresser correctly to film myself (because the camera is vertical not horizontal.) I didn't care for it and I returned it right away.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bethany92596
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
camcorder, takes still photos also
6/23/2013

Customer review by ngla

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by ngla
by ngla

Neat little camera, glad I ordered it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ngla
la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 100 contributor
Horrible...
4/30/2013

Customer review by rvmicha11

1.0 stars 4/30/2013 by rvmicha11
by rvmicha11

...awful

Was this review helpful? (1) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rvmicha11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great choice for a basic camcorder
6/3/2013

Customer review by javabean1

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by javabean1
by javabean1

Nice touch with the touch-screen(no pun intended).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
javabean1
Yorktown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vary good camera and easy to use
4/28/2013

Customer review by Lac1700

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Lac1700
by Lac1700

Good for taking picture and video but sometimes hard to see video and picture in the sun

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lac1700
Waterloo ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/2/2013

Customer review by BIRD66655

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by BIRD66655
by BIRD66655

nice camera.Lots of features.love the.HIGH definition Features

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIRD66655
Bakersfield,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
u will be surprised!!!
6/25/2013

Customer review by toya27

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by toya27
by toya27

i was a little skeptical because of the cheap price but WOW...the quality was suprisingly great!! my boyfriend and i are very satisfied :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toya27
boston, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good at current pricing for daylight recording.
5/16/2013

Customer review by chinadude

3.0 stars 5/16/2013 by chinadude
by chinadude

Nice item. Works well for the short time that I tested it. It has an LED light for illuminating your subject, but the light is blue, not white or daylight.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chinadude
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.