Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
28
1-20 of 136 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Very worth it.
5/24/2014

Customer review by AshenShugar

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by AshenShugar
by AshenShugar

I have had mine for going on 3 years now. My 120lb Doberman would be a real challenge if not for this collar. Yes the plastic collar that came with it was trash, but you can remove the unit and put it on any collar you want, mine is currently on a 2nd much nicer brand name collar having outlasted the original cheap one and one nice one. The plastic cap that screws on was gone pretty quick having been chewed up so the waterproof is somewhat questionable now but he will still jump in the creek and river with it on. Just not past the neck so it does not get too wet. I charge it maybe twice a month, and it stays on except for the charging time. This collar has paid for itself many times over, and except for the couple of small issues above I have found that I can count on this collar to get his attention and distract him should he become fixated or go after something I did not want him to. A couple of instances were deer taking off near him by a busy road. I hated to use the shock and not the tones, the tones tend to take care of most issues, but the shock stopped him from running onto the highway. I trust this collar to allow my dog to run around and be a dog while still being "controllable".

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AshenShugar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/31/2012

Customer review by lamvols1

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by lamvols1
by lamvols1

My order was delivered in a timely manner and exceeded my expections. This device has proven to be a a outstanding training tool !

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lamvols1
Mount Juliet TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money.
11/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This started out great, it has good range wnd worked well. Then within 2 weeks the plastic strap started to crack everywhere. I have kept it together with Super Glue and Gorilla tape so if you buy this stock up on these items.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very very helpful =D
10/22/2014

Customer review by Tammyg49

5.0 stars 10/22/2014 by Tammyg49
by Tammyg49
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love it! Can u please give me info or a number my husband accidentlly threw away the box with charger in it! I don't have anything with the name or number to buy a charger. Any info would be great! Thanks

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tammyg49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/15/2012

Customer review by Maderaverde

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Maderaverde
by Maderaverde

I've been using this for about a week on my dog to keep her from jumping and running in the house. I've been using the positive tone system they include (the first 3 tones are used for positive behaviors such as sitting, staying, laying down, etc.) in addition to the negative tone (#4). I haven't had to use the shocks yet because she responds so well to the tones. The only gripes I have with the collar and remote so far include the way the buttons are situated on the remote (it would be easy to hit the "shock" buttons when you want to hit the "tone" buttons so I put a piece of tape over the "shock" ones) and that the plastic cover that goes over the buttons on the collar has to be screwed on and off (you have to do this to turn the collar off or charge it and you need a very small screwdriver). Something that may annoy other customers is that the collar constantly blinks (a red light) while it is on. This doesn't bother me and actually helps me find her when I'm playing with her at night in the back yard.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maderaverde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/7/2013

Customer review by Anthonysoto1

1.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Anthonysoto1
by Anthonysoto1

This product is advertised for hunters and outdoorsmen, it is water proof, has a 1/2 mile range and made for the field. Those facts are not true, the collar can not be wet at all, it only has a 1/3 mile range and it certainly is not made for the field at all. I have had to exchange my entire system several times because every time I take my dogs out to hunt they break. Either because they get wet, or the field conditions are to hard for the fragile collars. Lets not forget if you charge them for to long then they simply stop working. The only thing good about this product is that the company does have good customer service and will exchange your product if you are in your year long warranty period. The down side to that is that you have to wait about 10 days to get your new collars. So that equates to lost time in the field with your dogs. If you are a hunter, outdoorsmen or a professional trainer then this product is not for you, this is for the novice guy who want to simply to get Fido to come, sit and stay.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anthonysoto1
El Paso
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't think twice - just buy it!
11/25/2012

Customer review by okwriter

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by okwriter
by okwriter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched many brands online in a broad price range ($40 to $300) and finally settled on this one. Shipped quickly and easy set up. Best of all, it works GREAT! It has made a huge difference in our "high spirited" mixed breed (part Doberman). She is a precious dog but loved chasing our cats, plus there was always a battle when it was time to go inside after pottying. And if I leashed her, she fought me by chewing the leash and refusing to do her business. I only used the shocker the first few times she chased or wouldn't come to me - and hardly ever since. Now I tell her to COME and she usually does. If not, I play the beep and tell her again, and she comes immediately. Sometimes I just carry the collar and remote in my hand instead of putting it on her. Once she hears the tone, she knows to come. This collar is worth the money, and I wouldn't hesitate buying another or recommending it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (57) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okwriter
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better behaved
4/29/2014

Customer review by Gabby47

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Gabby47
by Gabby47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 9 month boxer puppy who was beginning to be a terror. He ate everything! He was a biter and wouldn't come when called. When my older, well behaved boxer, started picking up on the bad behavior, I decided it was time to do something. After reading reviews, decided to give this one a try. The collar has definitely made a difference in his behavior after only one week. There are still areas (such as eating my trash) that need to be corrected, mainly because I haven't actually caught him in the act. The major draw back is what everyone else commented on, the plastic cover over the on/off switch that has to be screwed on and off every time. If the manufacturer had made a slide on and off cover, it would be so much easier. Generally the #4 beep is all it takes to get his attention to stop what he's doing. By the way, the collar goes large enough for a bigger animal than I would ever have!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gabby47
Cedar Creek, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best tool. I've bought 2
4/29/2014

Customer review by Amoo1954

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Amoo1954
by Amoo1954

I love this unit for it's price. My dog quickly responded to the sound only. I've not had to use the shock since the first session when he tried to leave the yard. I have a 60 pound Lab so the shock is not very strong. It is, however, enough to get his attention and make him come back. Now, after a couple years, all I have to do is show him the remote hand held unit and he stops and lays down and that is using the sound only. I searched for a long time for the right unit to control my Baby Boy when he was a mere Lab puppy and full of energy, and this met all the requirements. It is not the easiest to access to charge because it is meant to keep the water out. But a small eye glass screw driver does the trick and makes the job easier and quicker. It is not completely water proof so if the pooch goes swimming in it, buy another, which is what happened to me. Good luck and kiss your puppy for me.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amoo1954
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Collar
3/14/2012

Customer review by Camogurl101

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Camogurl101
by Camogurl101

I will start off by saying that I have a Red Bone Coon Hound and a Chocolate Lab.... They were both very very AWFUL! They tore up everything they got a hold to, they would use the bathroom in their crates, an they both would bark an wine 24/7! Me and my boyfriend had tried all most everything including the collars that are for bark control, the spray bottles, an rewarding them when they did something good. None of these tecniques worked! So we went online an started looking, an we found this remote control collar! It is AWESOME, my dogs has made a 100% turn around! It is very simple to use, it has 4 tone levels and 4 shock levels. At first I wasnt to sure that this would work either, but when my dogs did something bad we started out with the #4 tone, an it worked! Because the noise that comes out of the collar is so loud to the dogs that they can not stand it! We rarely ever have to use the shock levels unless they do something terribly bad (like knocking our little gurl down because they are playing to ruffly) but other then that the will go outside an use the bathroom, the do not chew on things anymore, and when we tell them to go in their crates.... THEY GO! I am very satisfied with this product and will be telling others about it!

Was this review helpful? (116) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camogurl101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great training tool!
6/14/2012

Customer review by HAW777

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by HAW777
by HAW777

This shock collar is a good value and makes a perfect training tool. Have been using collar daily the past several weeks and have not yet had to charge the battery. I personally had great success with this collar as a training tool - only took 2 occasions of utilizing the shock to train my Doberman. I love that it has the positive and negative tones. Although, I personally have not utilized the positive tones except initiallty as a test. I used the negative tone and then the shock, as recommended. My dog quickly associated the negative tone with the shock, so I only had to use the negative tone alone to correct behavior after the 2 initial shocks. I used positive reinforcement in combination with the collar - which I highly recommend. My Doberman now responds to my voice correction, receives a treat, and the collar is simply on as reinforcement just in case. This collar and remote are super easy to use. I do wish the romate was a bit smaller, but that wouldn't deter me from repurchasing or recommending. It has 3 settings so you could use the collar for three different dogs, but I don't know how that works since I only have one dog. I had my doubts about using a shock collar for a long time. But, this collar and remote make a fabulous training tools in conjunction with positive reinforcement. So glad I got it. And I can tell my dog is happier too because her confidence is up - she knows what is expected of her and wants to do right!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAW777
WNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It does exactly what I wanted it to do!
4/25/2013

Customer review by Ari121

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by Ari121
by Ari121
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The price is awesome ...comes with a very large collar so it's great for big dogs. It's got a lot of extra collar left over. We adopted a 1 year old Great Dane and Boxer mix. This Dog Trainer addressed our 2 major issues: bolting out of the yard, and he is so fast we have to wait and hope he comes back to us safely, we have never been able to catch him. Also, he gets his "crazy eyes" on when he sees our 2 cats and goes after them. For each issue we used the shock option one time and ever since that just the tone on a couple of occasions. He does NOT like the tone at all and immediately stops what he is doing...running or/and chasing! As a side note, I charge it every 2 or 3 days. Charging is pretty quick and you can charge both the collar and remote at the same time. Also, the directions were very simple and clear.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ari121
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great trainer
8/23/2012

Customer review by zoeylove1192

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by zoeylove1192
by zoeylove1192
Walmart associate

My dog used to be crazy, never came when I called and had to chase her down. I only actually use the 4th tone, the stop/no tone, but it works for just about anything. I got it because she would start barking at 5 in the morning right under my window, so pulling the remote in bed with me, I would ring her twice and then shock on the lowest level...she has been blissfully quiet for the last 2 weeks. Love that its rechargeable, charged it when I first got it and haven't had to since. The tone alone gets her to come, stop whatever shes doing, etc. I'm glad I got this product, was well worth it. actual collar was kind of flimsy and came off, so it got chewed up, so got another plain collar at petco and drilled holes in it for the prongs and works just fine. so if the collar gets messed up, no prob, unit works just fine on another collar. My dog is a 45 lb sharpei/pitt stubborn 10 month old, so she was wild and ignored me when i tried to stop her, WORKS GREAT, shes so much calmer and does as she is told. I wouldn't have approved of using it on her until i tried it on myself. no i didn't put it on my neck, just put my finger over the prongs and tried each level, because you wouldn't use something on your dog if it would hurt you right?

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zoeylove1192
Benton, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
7/23/2012

Customer review by PLS2003

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by PLS2003
by PLS2003

My Son's Blue Tick Coon Hound was always running off the minute the door was open. It was a continuous problem to have the neighbors contact us or the police to get the dog. Once I made this purchase all our troubles stopped. The dog immediately realized that his days of running off were over. It is the best training tool out there for the price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLS2003
Dillsburg, PEnnsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
3/6/2014

Customer review by Boseph

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Boseph
by Boseph
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our dog is a large Chesapeake Retriever, smart but stubborn. He likes to run over to the neighbors where they have a pool. Chessies are a smart, rugged breed. They love water, whether it is a pond, creek or pool. Our dog would not listen to commands when running loose and at every opportunity run towards the neighbor’s property. I put the collar on him for the first time, turned him loose and he headed to the neighbors property. I hit the tone button and he did not slow down. I hit the #3 correction button and he stopped in his tracks and ran back hiding under our truck. It took some coaxing to get him out. Since then all I have to do is give a command and touch the tone button. He stops and runs back to me. One shock was all it took. Yesterday we took him to our farm. Before, he would bark at the cattle. One touch of the tone button corrected that problem. This system is well thought out, where a harmless tone gets his undivided attention without shocking the dog every time. I however have two issues: 1) The collar has a plastic cover secured by two flimsy small screws. You have to remove the cover to turn the collar off and on. One screw came loose during use. I fear the cover will be lost. 2) The unit is made in China.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boseph
Cottageville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product for the Money
1/11/2012

Customer review by Familyshopperof11

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Familyshopperof11
by Familyshopperof11

Have been using for about 2 weeks. Has helped control my dogs bad behavior, chasing cars, and trying to bite our neighbors. We used the shock mode for those. Inside the house we use the tone buttons. They work great also. Helps control his bad behavior inside, fighting with our other dog, growling at family members and learning to sit, etc.

Was this review helpful? (136) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Familyshopperof11
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It seems to have calmed down our new dog.
9/25/2014

Customer review by jmptlp

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by jmptlp
by jmptlp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a little early to tell, but I think this High Tech Pet trainer collar will help us with training our new dog. We just adopted this "just" one year old Pitt Bull/Shepard mix, and she is very energetic. So far, we've just used the tones and they get her attention, so she is paying attention more to what we want her to do. The #4 tone that we are using with her when she barks, and we don't want her to, gets her to stop barking and then she looks around like she wants to know where that tone is coming from. It's funny to watch. We haven't had to use the shock buttons yet, but we haven't worked with it outside yet. I think it will work alright for keeping her out of gardens, and in our yard, when we take her outside with us. I've used one of these collars with another dog to teach bounderies, and it worked on that dog. I am hoping this collar will work also. It should, she's responsive to the tones inside.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmptlp
Ludington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great training tool
2/26/2012

Customer review by schwabiewife

4.0 stars 2/26/2012 by schwabiewife
by schwabiewife

The first collar I received was a dud, couldn't get it to stay turned on. I contacted their customer service (High tech pet) and they were super friendly and sent a new one out straight away. It has helped a lot with training our dog. Before the collar if he got out he'd run around and it was difficult to get him to come back. Now he has gotten so much better, most of the time we only need to use the tone. Once in a while when he gets to playing with the neighbor dogs it takes the shock 1 or 2 to get his attention, but totally different dog, let me tell ya. It's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (53) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schwabiewife
E. Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good trainer!
2/10/2012

Customer review by TrollGirl80

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by TrollGirl80
by TrollGirl80

I was a little worried about getting a remote trainer for my dog, I've never had to use one before and I was worried about the stimulus it would give my dog. But I tried it on myself first, it's really not that bad at all, and it was simple to use. I used the lowest setting only once on my dog, and have only used the tone since then. When he hears the tone, he stops what he's doing and goes on to do something else.

Was this review helpful? (51) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrollGirl80
Cheboygan MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/13/2012

Customer review by madamaj

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by madamaj
by madamaj

This was the best investment I could have made. I have already recommended this product to my friends. My dog “was” an excessive barker and squirrel chaser. When he goes out, he’s like the neighborhood choir director by starting all the dogs in the area barking. He would ignore me when I called him and was just plain unruly. Training was fast and easy. I’ve only used the shock at the lowest level, twice. His response to the positive and negative command tones is unbelievable. He immediately comes to me. Now we can sit out in the evenings and he’s just calm and laid back. I’ve watched him watch the neighborhood cat roam without moving or barking. The only downside, I wish the collar came in sizes. My dog is only 11 pounds and it’s so big on him. It looks awkward but it works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madamaj
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews