Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-7 of 7 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

My Favorite Black Friday Purchase
11/25/2011

Customer review by trucker63601

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by trucker63601
by trucker63601

I purchased this TV last night 11-24-11 during the Black Friday sale, so far I can't find anything negative about this system, it takes a few minutes to set up the channels, I also added a wifi player to get internet content such as netflix and Vudu as this set IS NOT internet capable right out of the box. The base and frame are a glossy black, the screen is more a satin finish. all connections including 3 HDMI ports, composite video, RCA, and other connections are on the rear, there is no DVI connection and to connect this to a computer to be used as a monitor it would have to be connected via DVI/HDMI conversion cable.This TV has all the bells and whistles including 3 HDMI, 2 video, 1 component channel. Includes an average remote with batteries. Video quality is excellent, audio is average with sound being directed down from the bottom edge of the screen it is somewhat muffled but that can easily be remedied using an external sound system. On screen menu is simple enough to understand and easy to configure.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trucker63601
Southeast MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ClearPix X2 Engine = 120Hz
11/26/2011

Customer review by CraigO987

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by CraigO987
by CraigO987

When I bought this TV, I was kinda disappointed. I went to get that Sharp 42" at Best Buy, and of course, they were sold out. Best thing that could have happened as it turns out. What I got was this Emerson. The ad specs says it's a 60Hz TV, but it's not. With the Clearpix X2 engine, it is actually 120Hz. So, instead of a 60Hz for $250, I got a 120Hz and man, the 120Hz is huge over the 60Hz I already owned. Run, don't walk to buy this TV. Make sure it says ClearPix X2 on the box. You will be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraigO987
Lakeside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy the extended warranty!
4/10/2012

Customer review by ColoradoMark86

1.0 stars 4/10/2012 by ColoradoMark86
by ColoradoMark86

I, like the others in this review, bought this television during Black Friday. I have to admit, this thing was a beast compared to the television that I had before (20 inch). However, its color and picture quality were subpar. The audio is poor, I would suggest adding a speaker system. Again, for the price, I couldn't really complain. So now it has been 5 months. The warranty expired after 90 days. I call and they tell me that they will pay for the parts but I had to pay for labor. However, I live in an area that requires that doesn't have any "authorized" repair locations. Before opening the television, I know what is wrong with it. It doesn't power on, the fuse has blown. To just look at the television, I have to ship it to them, which is about 75 dollars both ways, and for 5 minutes of their time, will be charged 110 dollars in labor. On the phone, they tell me the inverter board costs 300 dollars. (the price of the television was 250 to me, 350 retail.) I am going to replace the fuse and attempt to repair the faulty part on the board. This will void the warranty but it is very cheap. If it doesn't work, I will pay 55 dollars online and buy a new board and just put it in and it should work again. So my suggestion would honestly be to spend the extra money and get a better brand television brand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoMark86
CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for the price!
11/25/2011

Customer review by tmrussell145

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by tmrussell145
by tmrussell145

I got this for a friend on Black Friday who isn't too tech savvy. I knew she didn't need all the bells and whistles or the highest video quality like what I look for. I didn't want it to have poor video either since I will be watching it too. There doesn't seem to be a lot of image clean up through the TV. Basically it will put out good images if you feed it good images. This means HD cable/antenna, Xbox360/PS3, and Bluray are really the only options for quality video. I tried Inception and Dark Knight bluray when I first set it up and I was impressed with the loud sound and the relatively good picture quality. Its no samsung/sony/Vizio but it more than gets the job done FOR $250! Can't be happier with the end product. Hopefully it lasts... The sound quality is okay but I have the new setup hooked to a sound system so I won't even be using the TV speakers. I think it is worth up to ~$350-$400 for the size, any more money and I would have gotten a Vizio instead.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmrussell145
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value, but not a great TV
11/26/2011

Customer review by Rbhouser90

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Rbhouser90
by Rbhouser90

I expected a bit more from this TV. I thought the deal was great, and for $248, I'm not complaining. I did think the picture wasn't very clear, especially for a 1080i. The sound wasn't too wonderful, either. I did have a major problem in that the sound does not emit on any standard definition channels. after calling Emerson today, I am getting a replacement TV, so hopefully the issue will be resolved. Overall, it's a great TV for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rbhouser90
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang for Buck
3/29/2012

Customer review by Ravenal

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Ravenal
by Ravenal

Bought this last year (2011) during the black friday special. Been using it as a computer monitor (1920 x 1080 resolution) and so far the picture is excellent. No dead pixels. Gloss black, fingerprint magnet, but doesn't bother me as i don't touch it much at all. I used this t.v not only as a monitor, but also for an xbox 360, wii, and regular t.v cable. The switch between inputs is satisfactory, it is nowhere instant, but surely not slow to the normal user. Switching channels from lets say channel 5 to 6 would take about 1.3 seconds, feels the same as switching channels from a brighthouse cable hd receiver mabob. As for computer gaming, there is no "ghosting" or noticeable lag when playing graphically intense games such as Battlefield 3. A note for using as a computer monitor. You may have to resize the desktop using the program for your specific graphics card. For example, i run a Nvidia card, i must resize the desktop with Nvidia control panel from 1920 x 1080 to 1824 x 1026 to make the picture fit within the screen, this was expected as it isn't a computer monitor but a t.v. There is no degradation of picture quality going from 1920 x 1080 to the lower resolution. Xbox 360 looks nice, but Xbox games are usually rendered in 720 so it might look less sharper when trying to be upscaled to 1080p this isn't the TV's fault, but rather the graphically limits on the xbox. Wii looks meh since it is hooked up through composite a/v cables, and is no where near 1080p, i believe it is rendered in standard definition which is 480p or something like that. Again, not Tv's fault but the graphical limitations of the hardware. For 248 dollars.... this is a steal i don't notice any difference in quality from other 1080p computers... it's just a resolution.... There is a difference between those tv's with the insane Mhz making it have the slow motion effect, though those make me seasick for somereason. Great deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ravenal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV for gaming or watching hd tv!
4/12/2012

Customer review by xboxconnoisseur

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by xboxconnoisseur
by xboxconnoisseur

This tv is good for xbox 360 and ps3 but you have to have an hdmi cable or else it will blur when moving. This tv is a good purchase for a kids room a bedroom or a gaming room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xboxconnoisseur
Andover Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day