Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

26 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

26 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 26 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Stunningly poor product - absolutenly NOT as advertised
1/11/2016

Customer review by James

1.0 stars 1/11/2016 by James
by James

Used the gloss gumdrom followed by the gloss clearcoat. Was painting a basswood guitar body & this paint is absolutely worthless. Took months to dry but never did dry, paint melted n peeled off at room temprature. had to sand down to wood & respray multiple times. Directions on can are wildly inaccurate as krylons own "tech support" said to leave each coat 5 days between additional coats at which point it still wasn't dry a mere touch would leave fingerprints. laying it on a surface would leave deep gouges even on a completely smooth surface.

James
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
AWFUL coverage Plan to buy a LOT
5/18/2012

Customer review by 1andonlyme

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by 1andonlyme
by 1andonlyme

If I could give this less stars and a worse review, I would. The directional sprayer on this paint is HORRIBLE. It causes most of the paint to spray into the air and not on what you are trying to paint. I bought three cans of rustoleum primer and three cans of this. The rustoleum covered 4x the area that this did. I will need to buy at least 4-5 more cans to complete my project. A LOT of the paint is wasted as it sprays into the air. I was holding the can 4" from my project to try to get the paint onto it, but then it started to get runs in it. So it caused a COMPLETE MESS. I am no novice at using spray paints. I've been using them for 40 years. This is the most wastefull spray paint I've ever used. Blotchy uneven finish will cause you to have to go over and over it even when you think your done. If you stand back and look you will see "holidays" in the paint. If I had it to do over again, I'd choose a different color so I could buy a different brand. Never again, Krylon!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1andonlyme
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Great paint!
5/15/2017

Customer review by Ironduke

5.0 stars 5/15/2017 by Ironduke
by Ironduke

I restore and customize bicycles as a hobby and I sometimes use Krylon paint for some of my projects and I have been very pleased with Krylon Colormaster spray paint. It sprays on nice and smooth and for a general purpose spray paint is quite durable and scratch and chip resistant. I have been using Krylon spray paint for over 30 years and cannot understand all the bad reviews on such a great product. Krylon really makes great paint and I feel that the paint Krylon makes today is way better that the paint they made 30 years ago so keep up the great work and continue to make great paint products.

Ironduke
Elmhurst, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great paint
5/8/2017

Customer review by KFett

5.0 stars 5/8/2017 by KFett
by KFett

I really can't understand the problems people had with this paint. I used the Krylon paint trigger attachment and painted PVC for rod holders on my kayak. No drips at all and dried in​ minutes. Nothing peeled at all. I did about eight coats in a camouflage pattern and it's amazing. It's been exposed to rain and lots of water with no problems at all. I then used it as a topcoat on a wooden motor mount with zero issues. No chipping or peeling. The nozzle never clogged, I turned it upside down and sprayed to clean the nozzle when done. I think the paint is amazing. Wish I could attach pictures. Great product. Sorry most of you had problems.

KFett
Buck's Country, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Competitors must be bunking the reviews!
5/8/2017

Customer review by MorzArt

5.0 stars 5/8/2017 by MorzArt
by MorzArt

I am an artist, and I don't understand why the negative reviews. I have tried all the brands of spray paint and Krylon is the best. The nozzle and spray are the easiest and best coverage....never have splatters like with the other brands. Drying time is awesome. The only problem I have is locating it :( I live in a small town, with the 3 big box stores and they no longer carry Krylon. This is a major bummer, but I am now willing to drive 35 miles into the city to find it!

MorzArt
Bastrop, TX 78602, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Ridiculous
5/3/2017

Customer review by j88325is

1.0 stars 5/3/2017 by j88325is
by j88325is

I have never had a paint can clog more than this. I have three cans and every single one of them clogged like crazy all the way to empty no matter what I did, Simply put not happy at all.

j88325is
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!
3/26/2017

Customer review by Woodworker

1.0 stars 3/26/2017 by Woodworker
by Woodworker

Can I leave zero stars?? I so wish I had read the reviews BEFORE trying this stuff! Custom built a cabinet panel door out of new poplar and birch plywood. Wanted a high gloss black finish and ended up with more orange peel than a Florida citrus grove! I have never seen or used a spray paint that was this poor of a product. I mean how can you even put this junk on the shelves and offer it for sale?? This should be recalled for being a flat out defective product. I have used the cheapest 10 year old half empty can of paint with great results. Not this stuff. I now have to wait for this junk to actually dry (it's been over 18 hours in a warm dry furnace room) then use a paint stripper to remove it so I can re-paint it with any other product that is not made by Krylon.

Woodworker
Traverse City, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I love Krylon!
7/28/2012

Customer review by Dunwoody01

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Dunwoody01
by Dunwoody01

My wife decided all our outdoor patio furniture, including table, four chairs, and a wooden bench needed to be refinished ... I went with this Krylon product and am very pleased with the results. I got the old green covered with only two coats, it flowed out to a nice even coverage, it did not run easily and looks professionally done. Wife is pleased, I'm pleased. It did take three cans of paint to get both coats, but I think a lot of the reason was so many of the surfaces were rounded (table and chair legs) and it made it harder to not waste paint. However the only way to have avoided the bit of waste would have been to get a bucket of paint and brush it on. That was NOT going to happen. I love my spray paints! The directional spray head didn't make much difference to me, except when I painted the bench. It did help to be able to change the paint pattern when moving from the seat to the back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dunwoody01
North Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Does not work
3/6/2017

Customer review by CPart

1.0 stars 3/6/2017 by CPart
by CPart

Any of these paints plus primers that are supposed to be time savers are junk. It takes 48 hours to completely dry and they smell the whole time. Go back to separate primer that dried in 12 minutes, and then you could paint with paint that dried in 12 minutes, completely dry in 1 hour. Now that is a time saver and a lot better finish with a lot less smell. I now buy the old Krylon online wherever I can find it.

CPart
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Terrible product
2/16/2017

Customer review by alice

1.0 stars 2/16/2017 by alice
by alice

This drips all over the place..although the color was good the product is a waste of money. I wish I had read the other reviews before I bought it!

alice
Delta, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible Coverage and Application
2/10/2017

Customer review by designer

1.0 stars 2/10/2017 by designer
by designer

Used this product to paint photo frames made of different materials. I made sure to shake the can and follow the directions but it was splotchy and runny. Had to sand drips even with a light application. Not satisfied with the finished product at all. I will have to redo everything and I see others had the same issues.

designer
Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst spray paint ever
8/20/2016

Customer review by Emma

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Emma
by Emma

I've never left a review for anything, but I don't want anyone else to waste their money on this "spray paint" like I did. I bought a can of this spray paint in ivory to paint some picture frames for a project. The first can I bought didn't work at all so I went to the store and exchanged it (I should have taken that as a sign but I figured it was just a faulty can). The second can worked well enough to cover one picture frame, but then it started splattering ever. I figured it was just empty so I bought another can to finish my project. The third can worked for about 30 seconds, then kept clogging every 10 seconds. I spent almost an hour trying to fix the stupid thing but I eventually gave up. Now I'm going to go spend even more money and switch brands so I can redo everything because this "spray paint" is an absolute joke.

Emma
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Garbage
12/5/2016

Customer review by Morax

1.0 stars 12/5/2016 by Morax
by Morax

Painting for 30 plus years. Everything from rattle can to 4 part custom mix. This product is junk. In spray both. Clean plastic. Prepped as normal. And first coat it runs. Second coat peals the first coast right back off. Don't waste your money.

Morax
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Worst spray paint EVER.
3/8/2016

Customer review by Yucca5

1.0 stars 3/8/2016 by Yucca5
by Yucca5

I have painted for years from small craft projects to major home projects. I can say that 100% this is the absolute worst spray paint I have ever used. 7 cans to paint two rocking chairs and it's still not completely covered. I assumed that having the primer with the paint, I could avoid the lack of coverage somewhat. I was wrong! I used Coral Isle over a light turquoise and after the first coat, it looked like a very fine mist of transparent pink over it. By the time I get them completely finished, I could have bought new rockers for what I will have spent in paint. Back to the store to get some more....DON'T BUY THIS PAINT unless you want your afternoon project to turn into 3 trips to the store and 2 days of spray painting. Very disappointed.

Yucca5
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
five cans wasted
7/22/2016

Customer review by green

2.0 stars 7/22/2016 by green
by green

just spend days finishing a table with the gloss citrus green and will have to strip it and re-do it again . . . with a different product. With the spot spray tip it was impossible to get good coverage on the table top without lines and streaks - even when maintaining an overlap. The paint does flash off and dries quickly but this it not good on larger projects. Now the issue is we bought Colormaster gloss clear to even out the table top and it lifted and cracked the green basecoat. it may be ok for small projects like a birdhouse but without a fan tip I would not recommend it for anything larger.

green
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Horrible Product
5/15/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I do a ton of painting projects, but decided to use this product because the color was exactly what I was looking for. Any other spray paint would have taken only a couple of coats of paint. This product has taken at least 5 coats so far and the color is still uneven! I've only completed half the project, and am thinking I will go ahead and use a different product to finish. The cost of this item, definitely doesn't make the project economical with the amount of paint you will need to complete. Very disappointed and will never purchase again.

Disappointed
Dallas, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Recoat times don't mean anything
6/24/2016

Customer review by Dc123

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Dc123
by Dc123

I spray paint for a living and am very aware of how paint receipt times matter very much, as well as all the other factors like cleaning your surface after sanding, etc. I can basically never spray a second coat of this paint without peeling. It blows my mind how they have formulated this paint to make it so delicate to use. There goes 2 days work while I wait for everything to dry, then sand off all the krylon so I can use another paint and wait for that to dry.

Dc123
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product was better
6/30/2016

Customer review by George100

3.0 stars 6/30/2016 by George100
by George100

I paint probable 300 cans a year on traffic signal heads. This product was much easier to apply when it had the EZ touch 360 tip, paint came out much better than with the new (old) no runs-no drip tip. Please bring back the 360 tip or let me know were I can purchase replacement tips for the 100 or so cans I already have.

George100
Carson City, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!!!
6/25/2016

Customer review by SteveInTheTropics

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by SteveInTheTropics
by SteveInTheTropics

I use this (cherry red GLOSS #52101) paint+primer on aluminum and fiberglass and it is GREAT! Color is great and product handling during application is great. Stays on perfectly... going on two years; still looks great. I continue to use it for various projects and I have had zero problems.

SteveInTheTropics
FL Right Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect Finish, No Sanding Required
5/17/2016

Customer review by Andres005

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Andres005
by Andres005

I used the gloss white to spray paint metal skateboard trucks. I sprayed about 5-6 coats because the drying time is so fast. After they dried, the finish looked like they were powder coated...way better than I expected. I know that I did not do a great job prepping the surface and the coverage was excellent.

Andres005
Aurora, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews