Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

16 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

16 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-16 of 16 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

AWFUL coverage Plan to buy a LOT
5/18/2012

Customer review by 1andonlyme

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by 1andonlyme
by 1andonlyme

If I could give this less stars and a worse review, I would. The directional sprayer on this paint is HORRIBLE. It causes most of the paint to spray into the air and not on what you are trying to paint. I bought three cans of rustoleum primer and three cans of this. The rustoleum covered 4x the area that this did. I will need to buy at least 4-5 more cans to complete my project. A LOT of the paint is wasted as it sprays into the air. I was holding the can 4" from my project to try to get the paint onto it, but then it started to get runs in it. So it caused a COMPLETE MESS. I am no novice at using spray paints. I've been using them for 40 years. This is the most wastefull spray paint I've ever used. Blotchy uneven finish will cause you to have to go over and over it even when you think your done. If you stand back and look you will see "holidays" in the paint. If I had it to do over again, I'd choose a different color so I could buy a different brand. Never again, Krylon!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1andonlyme
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
five cans wasted
7/22/2016

Customer review by green

2.0 stars 7/22/2016 by green
by green

just spend days finishing a table with the gloss citrus green and will have to strip it and re-do it again . . . with a different product. With the spot spray tip it was impossible to get good coverage on the table top without lines and streaks - even when maintaining an overlap. The paint does flash off and dries quickly but this it not good on larger projects. Now the issue is we bought Colormaster gloss clear to even out the table top and it lifted and cracked the green basecoat. it may be ok for small projects like a birdhouse but without a fan tip I would not recommend it for anything larger.

green
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Recoat times don't mean anything
6/24/2016

Customer review by Dc123

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Dc123
by Dc123

I spray paint for a living and am very aware of how paint receipt times matter very much, as well as all the other factors like cleaning your surface after sanding, etc. I can basically never spray a second coat of this paint without peeling. It blows my mind how they have formulated this paint to make it so delicate to use. There goes 2 days work while I wait for everything to dry, then sand off all the krylon so I can use another paint and wait for that to dry.

Dc123
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product was better
6/30/2016

Customer review by George100

3.0 stars 6/30/2016 by George100
by George100

I paint probable 300 cans a year on traffic signal heads. This product was much easier to apply when it had the EZ touch 360 tip, paint came out much better than with the new (old) no runs-no drip tip. Please bring back the 360 tip or let me know were I can purchase replacement tips for the 100 or so cans I already have.

George100
Carson City, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!!!
6/25/2016

Customer review by SteveInTheTropics

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by SteveInTheTropics
by SteveInTheTropics

I use this (cherry red GLOSS #52101) paint+primer on aluminum and fiberglass and it is GREAT! Color is great and product handling during application is great. Stays on perfectly... going on two years; still looks great. I continue to use it for various projects and I have had zero problems.

SteveInTheTropics
FL Right Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Would not Recommend
6/17/2016

Customer review by jmowry1975

1.0 stars 6/17/2016 by jmowry1975
by jmowry1975

I bought 3 cans. All were very poor. One can the color never came out, only clear spray. When i did get color out it dried gray and not black. Please bring back the paint without the primer in.

jmowry1975
Johnstown, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Horrible Product
5/15/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I do a ton of painting projects, but decided to use this product because the color was exactly what I was looking for. Any other spray paint would have taken only a couple of coats of paint. This product has taken at least 5 coats so far and the color is still uneven! I've only completed half the project, and am thinking I will go ahead and use a different product to finish. The cost of this item, definitely doesn't make the project economical with the amount of paint you will need to complete. Very disappointed and will never purchase again.

Disappointed
Dallas, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I love Krylon!
7/28/2012

Customer review by Dunwoody01

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Dunwoody01
by Dunwoody01

My wife decided all our outdoor patio furniture, including table, four chairs, and a wooden bench needed to be refinished ... I went with this Krylon product and am very pleased with the results. I got the old green covered with only two coats, it flowed out to a nice even coverage, it did not run easily and looks professionally done. Wife is pleased, I'm pleased. It did take three cans of paint to get both coats, but I think a lot of the reason was so many of the surfaces were rounded (table and chair legs) and it made it harder to not waste paint. However the only way to have avoided the bit of waste would have been to get a bucket of paint and brush it on. That was NOT going to happen. I love my spray paints! The directional spray head didn't make much difference to me, except when I painted the bench. It did help to be able to change the paint pattern when moving from the seat to the back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dunwoody01
North Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect Finish, No Sanding Required
5/17/2016

Customer review by Andres005

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Andres005
by Andres005

I used the gloss white to spray paint metal skateboard trucks. I sprayed about 5-6 coats because the drying time is so fast. After they dried, the finish looked like they were powder coated...way better than I expected. I know that I did not do a great job prepping the surface and the coverage was excellent.

Andres005
Aurora, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Worst spray paint EVER.
3/8/2016

Customer review by Yucca5

1.0 stars 3/8/2016 by Yucca5
by Yucca5

I have painted for years from small craft projects to major home projects. I can say that 100% this is the absolute worst spray paint I have ever used. 7 cans to paint two rocking chairs and it's still not completely covered. I assumed that having the primer with the paint, I could avoid the lack of coverage somewhat. I was wrong! I used Coral Isle over a light turquoise and after the first coat, it looked like a very fine mist of transparent pink over it. By the time I get them completely finished, I could have bought new rockers for what I will have spent in paint. Back to the store to get some more....DON'T BUY THIS PAINT unless you want your afternoon project to turn into 3 trips to the store and 2 days of spray painting. Very disappointed.

Yucca5
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
back to sanding again lost a day
3/20/2016

Customer review by landry

1.0 stars 3/20/2016 by landry
by landry

sand prime and 2 toats on plastic baby chair and it dint bond to it now must sand all over again ("/$%?&?%$/$) sorry for the blasfame but im not verry happy

landry
qc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Stunningly poor product - absolutenly NOT as advertised
1/11/2016

Customer review by James

1.0 stars 1/11/2016 by James
by James

Used the gloss gumdrom followed by the gloss clearcoat. Was painting a basswood guitar body & this paint is absolutely worthless. Took months to dry but never did dry, paint melted n peeled off at room temprature. had to sand down to wood & respray multiple times. Directions on can are wildly inaccurate as krylons own "tech support" said to leave each coat 5 days between additional coats at which point it still wasn't dry a mere touch would leave fingerprints. laying it on a surface would leave deep gouges even on a completely smooth surface.

James
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Outstanding, glass-like finish
3/22/2016

Customer review by firecat

5.0 stars 3/22/2016 by firecat
by firecat

This is an outstanding spray paint in a can that can allow you to achieve a very controllable spray grade finish that is as good as anything you can achieve with 'spray' capability including rivaling professional spray guns. I achieve 'glass-like', factory finish with this paint which is why I want to share some insights. There has been some critical reviews of this paint that I believe are the result of the fact that the best method of application for this spray paint is a little different from Rustoleum spray paints for example (other products people are first used to). My experience with the Rustoleum products is that they go on heavier, and as an oil/enamel take a typically, very long time to dry (my experience is overnight). The heavier coat per application makes it harder to control the 'layered' spraying that achieves even coverage and glass like finishes. The ColorMaster goes on very thin but dries almost immediately allowing many subsequent coats in rapid succession (5, 10 minutes between the coats). If you try to achieve complete coverage too quickly it may run. Furthermore (my experience is with Satin white), the first or second coats hardly begin to turn the sprayed object to 'color'. Stay patient because you will see why this is an asset and not a hindrance when you get to the final finish! Recognize that after several applications, easily achieved with the fast drying nature of this paint, the color buildup will occur. Because the paint allows you to apply thin layers, you can achieve an even, very smooth finish and it is dry to touch in an hour! When objects are sprayed dust or dirt circulating in the air will stick to the surface between coats (unless you are lucky enough to spray in a 'clean room'). Also, you may think you prepared the surface for paint, but when the paint is applied certain imperfections that were not visible may now show up - this is just a fact of prepping and painting. With a Rustoleum product you have to wait until the next day to lightly sand it out! With the Colormaster, I can lightly wipe off any dust that sticks between coats because it dries to touch (this may be a 20 minute between coat application). I can also sand with say 400 or 600 grit between coats the same day (in an hour or so). Several coats of ColorMaster, say 4-5, a light sanding of 600 grit even with an orbital, and 2-3 final coats and I have glass - even on wood! Again, I cant do this with the Rustoleum - because its not even dry yet. Bottom line: the fast drying capability of Colormaster not only is an asset if you want to handle the work piece the same day - this fast dry capability allows you to tend to the surface between coats within minutes. Overall, I find the colors brighter and more appealing, and ultimate surface smoother, than any other brand. Note: always shake the can thoroughly and start the spraying on cardboard or a test object to make sure the paint is spraying smooth and not spitting. I find that the Colormaster has a short shelf life and if it sits too long 3-6 months an occasional can will 'spit' (i.e.; not spray smoothly).

firecat
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fastest drying
1/19/2016

Customer review by Tommy

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Tommy
by Tommy

I'm not sure what the other reviews here are on about, Krylon is one of the only brands I trust when it comes to spraypaint. Like any job preparation is key, you need to make and prime correctly to get good finishes and spray in light coats to build up to the correct coverage, but once you know how to spraypaint you can get good results. The dry time with color master is nice, working in theater having a piece that can be finished the day before is key.

Tommy
Detroit, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A mess
1/20/2016

Customer review by nickus98

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by nickus98
by nickus98

I have been using spray paint on furniture for years. I recently bought Krylon in black satin and it is very much a gloss. I can live with the gloss, but cannot live with the uneveness and bumpy mess that is now my filing cabinet. I have sanded and reapplied twice. It won't go on evenly. I don't even know what to do with this piece now.

nickus98
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Absolutely No Good
1/13/2016

Customer review by GranburyMike

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by GranburyMike
by GranburyMike

Bought a can of this spray paint to paint the exterior of a doll house and it was absolutely worthless. Paint sprayed clear most of the time regardless of how much shaking was done and used the whole can before covering more than 6 square feet. I would believe the paint "went bad", if this is possible.

GranburyMike
Granbury, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male