Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 22 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Great Value for anyone looking TVs of this size
11/27/2011

Customer review by SwampLands

4.0 stars 11/27/2011 by SwampLands
by SwampLands

I snatched this TV set at $98 on a Black Friday 2011 sale at a local Walmart store. All in all this Television comes with all minimum input/output connections. Specifications are not easy to find, but they are available on the outside of the box and are as follows: It has 1 component input, 1 RCA Input, 1 SVGA monitor input, 1 PC/Audion Input, 1 HDMI Input, 1 Coaxial Input, 1 Headphones output and 1 Digital Audio Coax Output. All connections go on the back of the TV. There are no side ports available. The package includes the TV, 1 plastic stand, 1 power cable, 1 remote control and two complimentary AAA batteries. When turned on the TV is rated at 29W Power Output, which complies with Energy Star requirements. It also supports Dolby Digital Inputs, HDTV Input and bidirectional HDMI technology. The website for support of SANSUI products is www.sansuiproducts.com and this TV is distributed in the US by Orion Sales Inc. 3471 N Union Drive; Olney, IL 62450. The unit is very light, it weighs a little bit less than 8 pounds and LxPxH dimensions are 18.6"x6.9"x14.3". This TV set is wall mountable using a mount kit compatible with VESA pattern 100x100. Orion will cover this product for wormanship and manufacturing defect or malfunction for 1 year if used under normal conditions. Warranty is void due to negligence, misuse, etc.. If you want a hassle free warranty, you can purchase extended warranty through walmart, which is probably the way to go. The setup of the TV is very straightforward. You decide if you are going to mount or put the unit on a stand. The stand comes with two pieces which are easy to attach using screws that come with the unit. Once your TV is assembled, you proceed to connect all devices. In my case I have regular cable and a satellite box. I used the HDMI Input for my satellite box and the coax connection for the cable. You also connect the AC cord. Upon turning on the TV, the first menu prompt for what mode you want to run, whether store mode or home mode. The store mode is used for display on stores where the brightness is set at the highest, which is not Energy star compliant. In my case I changed the mode to Home and proceeded with the channel search since I have a cable and I need to program the TV with the channels available by my Cable Provider. The TV will search and program all Digital and Analog channels available though the network. THE REVIEW Screen looks great and colors are sharp and vivid. Perhaps the best images come through my HD channels. I can gladly to report when compared to previous experiences, that the sound from these speakers is fair and acceptable. Most LCD TVs I had previously owned at these blockbuster prices had terrible sound. This TV is not one of them, despite the TV selling under $100 it delivers standard audio by itself. Of course having headphone output, you can add additional media speakers or stereo output. I don't see anything that suggest, the TV will support surround sound. I was concern a little bit with the lack of 1080p resolution, but looking at the image and how small the screen is, I really don't see any significant difference between this TV and my larger 1080p TV. I have this TV set in the kitchen and I can see the image from almost any angle. I think this TV delivers more than I expected and being a 19" Tv selling for $98 is like paying $6 per inch, which is a deal that I can only find with refurbished TVs of similar sizes. Other larger TVs cost about $10 per inch.

Was this review helpful? (130) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwampLands
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Much better than we expected for $98
11/25/2011

Customer review by Momofone00

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Momofone00
by Momofone00

I bought this for my son to have in his bedroom. It was only $98 during Black Friday sales and it was a much better deal than we expected. I set it up and we are watching the Ironman movie on it. The picture is fabulous and the sound is very good...as a matter of fact, the sound is better than that of the 32 inch Samsung in my bedroom. We love the matte finish...it doesn't shine and have glare from any small light in the room. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momofone00
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This is the $98 TV!
11/26/2011

Customer review by Freeemind

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Freeemind
by Freeemind

Got my ticket for this at 10PM Thanksgiving night. Waited 2 hours until Midnight with my hand on the pallet. They had 4 pallets of these and only about 30 people waiting for them. I was out the door at 12:05 AM with this new TV in hand. Was easy to set up. Remote even came with batteries. Picture and color are very good. Looks as good as my older and larger 1080i TV. Colors are even the same. Is definitely worth the money! The mount is only designed to attach to the bottom. You would need a kit to wall mount this. I was worried that this would be a stripped down model for the price. I was wrong! Nice little TV!!! I went back during the day and they still had some of these for sale at $98.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freeemind
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Price terrible product
11/26/2011

Customer review by brooksmomma

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by brooksmomma
by brooksmomma

Ok let me say that this tv looks nice, it is lite and easy to set up. However, after setting it up and leaving it on for 2-3 hours the picture started blurring and everything was purple and pink. I unplugged from the electric, and unhooked the cable and restarted the tv and it still wouldn't go back to a normal screen. Granted I only paid 98 bucks for this tv, it was a special buy and would normally be more expensive. I have to make another trip to Walmart to return this product. So much for the great Black Friday deals and steals. I am returning 2 of these tv's because I don't want to take the chance that the other one will do the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (35) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brooksmomma
Minford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/29/2011

Customer review by willis85

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by willis85
by willis85

Bought this tv 2010 black friday for a 2yrs room. Works great, played every night on repeat for 1yr. house just got broke into an of all the tvs they took this one. Must mean something. Great buy for a kids room or just to have another tv around.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
willis85
Mpls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly good picture/sound quality
11/28/2011

Customer review by Stjamesg8

4.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Stjamesg8
by Stjamesg8

I've had a 14" Sony tube tv in my office for many years and it's been very reliable and still works great, but my eyes aren't what they used to be and it was getting difficult to read the small print and crawls on that 14" screen. Even with glasses, I was squinting to see the scores during a sports event. I'd been seriously considering a small flat screen for a while and when I saw this tv for $98 on black friday, I thought what the heck. Setup was a breeze and I was pleasantly surprised by the picture quality, color, and sound. At first with the default settings, skin tones were too red for my taste, and contrast too high, so did some tweaking and got it looking pretty good. Here are my custom picture settings. Keep in mind I have the basic cable plan and not alot of HD channels, so mostly watch standard tv. Custom settings: Dynamic Gamma=OFF; Film Mode=OFF, DNR (digital noise reduction)=OFF; Brightness=29; Contrast=50; Sharpness=40; Color=16; Color Temp=Standard; Backlight=14. Changing the tint to 8 creates more natural, pleasing skin tones. Dynamic Gamma created too much contrast for me and the lighting kept fluctuating, as the setting would adjust automatically to scene changes. DNR does in fact reduce digital noise/graininess, but in the process creates unnatural "blocking" of onscreen images making everything appear digitally altered with a "plastic" look. I've seen this on many flat screens and hate that look. I'd rather see some graininess and a more natural appearance. But that's just me. BTW, the graininess issue is basically when viewing standard channels, not HD. HD channels look excellent. Naturally, as with any tv, some channels are inherently better than others. To me, the sound quality is very good with decent depth and balance of bass/treble. Unlike many small flat screens, especially the cheapies that sound like a tin can at best, this tv's sound is surprisingly good. The only issue I've noticed is a very slight hum when the volume is low, which is where it is often set while I'm working. But it's so far in the background, I don't notice it when I'm not thinking about it....and trust me, I have plenty of more important things to think about. I like the ability to quickly change picture size/format on the fly via the remote and several are offered. This tv has many useful adjustments and so far fits my needs well as an office tv located close to my desk. As mentioned in another review, I like the matte frame which doesn't reflect any room light. In fact, I like the simple all-black design with no distracting trim. No, not perfect but for 98 bucks....hey, I'm happy. Hopefully it'll last a while and time will tell. I'm aware that Sansui isn't exactly at the top of the electronics chain and this is a disposable product. Even if it lasts only a year, I'll feel like I've gotten my money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stjamesg8
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great HDTV for $98
12/1/2011

Customer review by FLTPT

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by FLTPT
by FLTPT

I just bought this item yesterday after searching for an inexpensive HDTV for my Florida room for $98. I read the reviews and to be honest I was a bit apprehensive about the sound and the picture quality from reading the 2 terrible reviews that were given. After setting it up, the picture quality is perfect as well is the sound. I was so pleased I went back a few hours later to purchase another for my bedroom with exactly the same results. I have a much bigger and more expensive HDTV in my living room which of course is much better, but for the price/size I didn't expect that from this one, although it surpassed my expectations. I would highly recommend this item to anyone that is looking for an inexpensive, small screen HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLTPT
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little TV
12/2/2011

Customer review by Sweetpea812

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Sweetpea812
by Sweetpea812

I bought this TV two years ago (Black Friday deal) online for my kitchen. It was easy to mount on the wall with an articulating wallmount (swings in whatever direction you need) Actual TV setup was a cinch. It's being used everyday when I am in the kitchen. This TV gets plenty of use and no problem thus far. The picture quality is great. Actually, better than the Samsung led that I have in my bedroom. Great TV for a great price. (I think I paid a little more for it a few years ago than the $98 2011 Black Friday sale price). Definitely a recommended item.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetpea812
Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wasn't looking for a TV
12/4/2011

Customer review by JoeBinAZ

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by JoeBinAZ
by JoeBinAZ

Purchased in store on 12/2/11. Originally I saw online for $110 and passed on it. Lucky I did; was in local store and it was still $98 from black fri; they actually had a bunch left. So I picked up. Seems pretty solid no dead pixels. Changed settings as someone suggested here and looks great. Major plus is lots of inputs, works with Wii component cable. Extremely happy with purchase, just hope it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeBinAZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Problems, Can't recommend, Returning
12/1/2011

Customer review by StoweSkier

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by StoweSkier
by StoweSkier

I too got this for the Black Friday price and I was really hoping this would be a nice buy. But I can't recommend this TV for several reasons. The biggest problem is the sound - I'm getting a soft buzz when the sound is on. If I turn the sound off (setting 0) no buzz, but at 1 and up, I get the buzz. This might not be a problem if you are watching from a distance and have the sound up, that will cover most of the buzz, but I have this TV on my desk and the buzz is unbearable. I was hoping to fix this by hooking the TV up to PC type speakers, but the buzz is even worse through the headphone output. I even tried two different speaker sets, but buzz was everywhere. The other problem is that while the picture quality is fine with a HD source, hooking this TV up to a standard definition source results in an unacceptable picture, worse than using a SD TV. I use Dish Network and have this TV on the SD output of my 722 receiver and the picture quality for this set up is not good. To be fair, many HD TVs don't render a SD input very well, but some are better than others. This one however is very bad at SD and should not be used with a SD source.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StoweSkier
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great picture
12/3/2011

Customer review by sky7777

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by sky7777
by sky7777

This set has the best picture of any tv I've had on HD. On analog it's just about the same as other sets including a Toshiba I had. I think the old crt tv's were better at displaying non HD tv. Most channels now are in HD so this is not really an issue for me. The colors on this set are phenomenal. Very vivid, bright and crisp. The set is built well also. Can't say the same for the apparent "99 cent store" remote control which has no brand whatsoever. Came with Maxell batteries which was a nice surprise. Sound does have the buzz that someone described but I am never that close to the tv to care about it. If you sit within a foot or two you might hear it unless you turn the volume up. All in all for $100 this set is worth it by far. Also, it's big enough for a good size bedroom. I sit about 6 feet away and it's big enough. I would buy Sansui tv's in the future, especially if priced below the competition. This is a Japanese brand from the 1950's so I kind of knew the tv would be good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sky7777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's a keeper!
12/4/2011

Customer review by mll1152

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by mll1152
by mll1152

I was very skeptical when I purchased this little TV (unfamiliar with the brand) but, I took a chance and it was well worth it! I've not had it very long but it does and has everything I needed for a small room TV. The picture is sharp and the sound is clear (not tiny sounding).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mll1152
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
12/11/2011

Customer review by jlburma

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by jlburma
by jlburma

We bought one of these TV's for a bedroom to replace an older model. Was a great purchase as it is a good TV for what we were looking for that we went back and bought 3 more for other bedrooms in the house. Very happy with the picture, sound and looks of the TV. For the price, you really can't go wrong!! Great deal for the money!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlburma
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Frustrated!!!!!!!
12/10/2011

Customer review by DadNamedJim

1.0 stars 12/10/2011 by DadNamedJim
by DadNamedJim

I bought my first one on Black Friday. I thought it was a great deal until I brought it home. It must be a jolly TV because it hummed all the time. No problem, I'll get a replacement...............right? Well, his twin is just as jolly! NO THANKS!!! I'm returning this and getting a better quality replacement. The only bright side: I know what company NOT to buy electronics from!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadNamedJim
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Great computer monitor, Awful TV
12/13/2011

Customer review by Treedown

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Treedown
by Treedown

I returned this tv to Walmart after 1day because of the buzz in the sound. it seems it has a super cheap power supply with bad filtering thus the awful 60 hertz hum. I found it quite good as a computer monitor. The stand is fixed in position but it can be wall mounted. The bad power supply makes an otherwise acceptable product unusable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Treedown
Would recommend to a friend? No
Little price, big disappointment
12/8/2011

Customer review by bigsug1

1.0 stars 12/8/2011 by bigsug1
by bigsug1

Bought this tv for elderly mom and set it up. Power cord that connects from tv to outlet slipped out of the tv socket continuosly. The picture quality is a hot mess. I fustratingly attemped to clear the picture on one channel, the next channel need adjusting also. And this went on throughout. Some stations was too dark and some too light. I purchased it Sunday and I'm taking it back tomarrow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigsug1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sansui TV..not a good look
11/26/2011

Customer review by Lauralye1

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Lauralye1
by Lauralye1

I saw that this TV would be on sale for $98 on Black Friday so I went to Walmart really early on Black Friday so I could stop by the electronics section and get a look at the display TV before I stand for hours in line to get one. Well...when I saw this TV, my immediate response was WHAT THE...OH HECK NO! The screen was extremely discumbobulated. Dark and Fuzzy! I barely could see the colors on the screen. I wouldnt put that TV up in a dog's house. This is just my personal opinion. I suggest anyone who is interested in this 19 inch mess to go look at it first or if its a must have online sale (example: $98) buy it and keep your paperwork in case you decide to return it. I wouldnt spend $30 on it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lauralye1
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Outstanding TV set
12/6/2011

Customer review by Cocolabine

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Cocolabine
by Cocolabine

I purchased this TV set on Black Friday 2011 for 98$. I didn't have to wait in line as I used the Site to Store option. What a nice TV set it is. Beautiful and crisp colors and incredible sound for a so small TV set and for the price. I was astonished by its quality compared to other TV's I owned. Installation and set up was easy and in a matter of minutes, it was ready to work after scanning all digital and analog stations available over the air in my area. I am glad I made that purchase and I was very satisfied with the excellent service provided by Walmart. I will recommend that TV to everyone. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cocolabine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't Last!
1/26/2012

Customer review by rengle

2.0 stars 1/26/2012 by rengle
by rengle

I've had this TV for less than a year. About two weeks ago the picture just stopped working! The TV comes on for 5-15 minutes and then totally stops working! Horizontal lines every color of the rainbow consume the entire screen to where you can't see any picture. So disappointing. I really liked this TV and am very upset I have to replace it, well after the 90 day return policy WalMart has!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rengle
St. Pete, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by WICarGuy

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by WICarGuy
by WICarGuy

Saw this in the store and thought I would give it a try. Took it home, set it up and the picture would only stay on for a few seconds before the screen went black (waited as long as 5 minutes to see if it was simply scanning for channels). Tried to get it to work for way too long before returning to exchange for a new TV. Got that home, set up and realized the first set definitely had a picture problem, as the new set had a constant buzz to it. Back in the box, back to the store, done with this TV. Picture seemed decent, and probably a decent cheap TV if you are a bee-keeper or like the buzzing sound of a hummingbird. Otherwise, I'd stay away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WICarGuy
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews