Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 172 reviews
5 stars
147
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 161 reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Red Heart Yarns
1/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I found it much better to shop online for yarns than going to the store. When I go to the store, I always fill the cart up with so much yarn, I'm always shocked at the total when checking out. Online, I got the same yarn, but could carefully watch the total in my cart. It forces you to carefully pick out what you really want. I use the jumbo yarns as borders around finished pieces, so I generally need more than the standard skeins This year I made baby blankets and scarves to donate, instead of giving family new ones - my sister's idea. I hope they make someone else's day just a little brighter this year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great yarn for stuff like my neck pillow.
11/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I buy this yarn when I'm working on certain big projects, such as the neck pillow I recently made. I'm on a very strict budget and the price of Red Heart Super Saver makes these projects affordable. It very easy to crochet with and has a nice shine to it. It isn't as soft as some of the other 100% acrylic yarns out there, but I've crocheted a lot of stuff with it and it's definitely worth buying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for yarn braids
6/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this yarn to braid my natural hair in the colder months and it does a good job of keeping my hair moisturized and looks pretty natural even with the difference in luster.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Yarns bought
9/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love this Red Heart Black fleck yarns..love all the colors..will buy bunches of it anytime I see it in the local walmart store... can't get enough of it there...so went online and ordered..was very happy with that experience too
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bigger Skeins are great for bigger projects
11/26/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love Red Heart yarn but I extremely LOVE the Super Saver Jumbo yarn. When I am making a big project, it is so much easier to continue crocheting without running out of the color I am using or finding out that I didn't buy enough of the color and then having a variance in the additional skeins bought at different times. The price and convenience of the bulk size makes it so easy to love Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo yarn. It is and does what its name says. The yarn quality is among the finest there is at super savings. I enjoy shopping online and then when my order is ready, conveniently head to Walmart and pick my order up. When I shop online, I can see all the colors available and plan my projects around what Jumbo colors are available now. I recommend Red Heart and I tell people what yarn I use for all my craft projects. My grandchildren love my crochet blankets and I love Red Heart yarn for being durable yet soft wash after wash.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Turned Out Great
3/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I don't know much about yarns, but a bedridden friend requested some to keep her busy making gifts. I found the yarn online with Walmart and had it shipped as my friend lives in another city. The order was promptly processed. I received a gift created by my friend and found the item to be soft, washable, warm and pretty. It appears to be nice yarn, reasonably priced, and because of Walmart's online business I was able to find a color not found in the local stores, satisfy my friend, and keep her busy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE !!
12/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This 14 oz. skein of Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo Yarn is my absolute favorite with 744 yards. This is by far the best buy for the money. I knit warm hats for cold homeless people all year long and donate them to charity in winters. Red, White & Blue "Jumbo's" are always in my basket thanks to Walmart's steady supply at THE best price. Thanks Walmart! Hatmaker in Nebraska
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic Yarn!
11/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this yarn with site to store and was very pleased with it's quality. This yarn is very soft, 744 yards long, 14 oz weight, this is a worsted weight 4 yarn, comes with a scarf pattern, recommended 6 mm (US J-10) crochet hook, and it's 100% Acrylic yarn. Great quality yarn for a really low price. It's a fairly thin yarn for a size 4 but it's nice for single stitch crocheting a blanket or socks. Very nice yarn at an unbeatable price!! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/4/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this yarn via internet as the color selection was much greater than in my local store. It is for an afghan and I find the yarn rather stiff and not as soft as expected. Since I had started the afghan I will complete it and see what hapens once it is washed. I have used Red Heart yarn in the past and have not run into this problem before. May only be the super saver - don't know. Won't use it again until I check out the quality of the product in store first.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Red Heart is the best
11/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used Red Heart yarns for over 50 years, and can honestly say that it is the best yarn I have ever used. The Super Saver skeins are a dynamite way to package and present the yarn. I have never had a problem of any kind with it. It washes and dries very well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Some hats/scarves for X-Mas presents
12/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Jumbo can make 2 hat and scarf sets. I always get Red Heart, don't have to worry about dye lots, it's extremely reasonable without the sale. I get a quick pattern and can throw it together in a matter of days. Something hand made is special and with the cost of everything going up, especially crafts. This brings me back to a time when you could actually save money by making your own.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great except it always tangles...
12/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My wife has been using this yarn to knit a blanket, but it always seems to tangle up in a very complicated way. I think if you buy this yarn, you might want to start by making it into a ball first by unraveling it from the outside of the original orientation. Anyway, it it pretty soft for acrylic and it is warm as a blanket.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good quality for the price
1/29/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This yarn is very durable and convenient for the price, its much better than some others more expensive. Can be used for knitting or crochet as well. It is easy to care and never loses its color, brightness or its shape. I recommend it for any project that requires yarn because it is easy to manage and for its durability.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good value
3/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I only wish it were a little softer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good general purpose yarn for the price
4/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you're making afghans or other simple projects, this is great yarn for the price. Some of the colors split more easily, have a different texture, or are occasionally inconsistent in strand width, but, after all, it's yarn. Not the best for making quality clothing, due to acrylic's tendency to fuzz up with washing and wearing, but if you're a beginner or are making craft projects, this is a good yarn to consider before paying more for better quality natural fibers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It was great to get these delivered to my home. I'm not a "shopper", I like to avoid crowds at all cost. Delivery was fast and accurate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST VALUE ON YARN
1/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I make hats and shawls for cancer patients, and although i would like to get a better yarn for these sick people... i do what i can.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great quality and value
9/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love Red Heart yarn and have used it for many years. I love it for afghans, hats, scarves, mittens, etc. Washes and wears well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Red Heart
1/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This yarn was very easy to work with. I didn't get all tangled up and was very soft. I made hats out of it for some friends..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
really big
9/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I did not expect so much yarn, but it is a very good value. I will need to find a few more projects that use black yarn
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-