Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 21 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Major Flaw Forced Return In Otherwise Great Value
3/3/2012

Customer review by Justin5326

1.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Justin5326
by Justin5326

I bought this TV at the end of December - the unit was shipped to the retailer December 14th and I picked it up on December 29th. The picture is fantastic, Vizio apps were a nice added touch, the internet hooked right up . . . and then I hooked my HDMI cable box up to it. Any HDMI cables broadcasting a signal to the TV create a high frequency squealing noise. If you're over 35-40 or don't have sensitive hearing and don't mind just turning the volume up a couple clicks its no big deal. For me at 28, it's maddening. I called Vizio and they were very prompt in having a repair technician come out to the house. They sent him out with a new main board, power board, and bluetooth module for my TV, as well as his own blu-ray and HDMI cables to test it. He tested and confirmed hearing the issue, much louder now that the case of the TV was off. He replaced the parts one by one, testing each time to see if it helped the problem and each time the problem was identical. After this Vizio escalated my issues and said they were sending me out a new TV. This is where things got ugly. The shipping company was so inconsiderate and incompetent that taking a half day off work wasn't enough, they completely missed their 4 hour delivery window by more than 2 hours and had to make me take a second half day to deliver the TV. When the TV finally arrived it was a refurbished unit with paint chipped off the stand mounting brackets and clear signs of wear and tear, I guess a new case was just too much money for Vizio to spend on a replacement unit for a TV that had left their factory less than 11 weeks ago. Icing on the cake, exact same identical issue as verified by their repair technician weeks prior. I refused delivery and called Vizio back. I got snotty service from their Utah CSR and the call center supervisor. It took threatening small claims to recoup a days lost wages and the full cost of the TV to get the issue escalated to their corporate office. When I got a call from Irvine the next day the CSR read the same script with the same 'I don't care' attitude and was more concerned with regurgitating the same 3 sentence replacement policy rather than using their head and getting someone involved who could help. I've since gone to a few retailers and verified that floor models of the TV are making the same high frequency squeal, audible as far away as 15-20 feet to my ears. I come from an engineering background, and told them on the phone from the start (as did their on site technician) that its a design issue with the electrical on the main board. Here I am two months later and countless hours wasted on the phone all trying to help a company out. It's so bloated and incompetent that each person I talked to refuses to even acknowledge there could be a problem with the TV design or involve someone that can speak to it. Two months ago I was excited about a US based electronics company and wanted to help them fix an issue and avoid a larger recall or worse - as with the Samsung LNT line - a massive class action lawsuit that would cost them millions. Instead, I'm now taking my TV back to the retailer for a full refund and there's no chance I'll ever own a Vizio product for the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful? (188) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justin5326
Birmingham, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING PICTURE! CRISP CLEAR DEATAILS!
2/5/2012

Customer review by Honeyroast

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Honeyroast
by Honeyroast

We bought the M3D550SR on 2/2/12 so we have only had it a few days but we can't get over the how freaky clear the picture is! It seems like you are standing behind the movie camera filming and when you are close up to someones face you can see every hair and wrinkle-every minute little water droplet,speck-everything. The picture even seems to have depth to it that we don't see on our other TV. We are big movie watchers and its amazing just how much we were not seeing before. We plugged it in and got everything hooked up and it immediately found our wireless and walked us through the setup with on screen directions. The QWERTY remote is really great and makes typing a breeze. We found the apps list and easily added some apps we wanted. We need to update to a 3D DVD player so have not had a chance to view that. The sound quality is fine- I wouldn't say excellent but we run it through our suround when we watch movies and thats excellent! I will see if I can come back and add to the review after time to update our experience . For the price and features we thought this was an excellent value- Best Buy had a 47 in. on sale for the same price as this 55 with comparable features. This is a whole lot more picture!

Was this review helpful? (98) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honeyroast
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Awesome TV
2/20/2012

Customer review by NGlensFalls

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by NGlensFalls
by NGlensFalls

I just bought this TV and its incredible. I haven't tried the 3D yet but The Netflix movies are in HD and its so clear and sharp its hard to describe. The PS3 Blue Ray playback as well as regular discs is fantastic. I have Directv HD DVR and the Vizio remote was easily programmed for the DVR so I can use one remote the tv remote with its Querty keyboard for chatting on facebook or twitter. Did I mention the built in WiFi works great. I bought this 55 inch model instead of the Sharp 60 inch Aquos because this is 3D and Vizio is an American company. The price was comparable. I added Walmart's 3 year protection for $129 which is a third of a three year plan from the manufacturer. I was pleased with my 42 inch HDTV but it is like analog compared to this tv.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NGlensFalls
Glens Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Impressed
2/20/2012

Customer review by STMARYSONE

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by STMARYSONE
by STMARYSONE

So far I'm impressed with this TV. This is my second Vizio and they continue to impress me. Picture quality is good. Mounted this one over the fireplace in the Family room. As light as it was it still took two people to hang it on the wall. Just too wide to pick it up by myself. Only tried the 3D once. Not sure if it was the show or the TV but the 3D was al little fuzzy. I'll rent a 3D movie and check it out more thoroughly. Watched the Super Bowl and the picture was awesome. Wi-Fi was easy to set up and works pretty well. I’ll need a faster connection to utilize it to the fullest. So far I just love it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STMARYSONE
Saint Marys, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Close to a WOW
2/25/2012

Customer review by DTTocs

4.0 stars 2/25/2012 by DTTocs
by DTTocs

After spending quite some time researching various 3D capable televisoins (not to mention boring all my friends with purchase validation input), I landed upon this Vizio. Two reasons for it; price point and comparitive features 'hype'. Thus far, I'm mostly impressed at the dollars vs. performance benchmark. Below are some initial impressions... Pros: HD picture quality: Crystal clear, defined lines, smooth motion, impressive color seperation. Out of box setup: easy base/mount assembly, intuitive and straight forward on-screen TV setup instruction for either coax qam programming or cable/satellite dvr hookup. 3D performance: clean picture with very little jitter or L/R eye 'crosstalk', easy access user definable 3D field depth and (best of all) no audio/pix lag. Cons: 3D sync/setup: be aware that you must set the TV and all connected devices @ 24Hz for 3D. This is not clearly stated in the manual and caused a full afternoon of trial and error to access 3D on both PS3 and PC (Nvidia graphics) HDMI connect. Audio: THIN Although there are a variety of user-definable dolby vs. TRS vs. PCM settomgs. no freguency settings exist to control high/mid/low speaker response. If you buy this TV and you're an audiofile, budget in an external sound source, becuase the onboard doesn't quite get you there. Remote Control: It feels flimsy. The plastic casing is paper-light; every time I slide out the qwerty keyboard I'm concerned about splitting it in half. After all my homework, I had it narrowed between this and a similar features/size LG at $200 more. Both passive 3D, both similar/quantity apps, and both diagonal viewing screen size. The only difference is the LG had 2D to 3D upconvert. I tried to 2D/3D upconvert this TV, and it actually locked it up to remote/on-board buttons nonresponder and I had to powercycle the TV to free it up again. So - not a con becuase the TV doesn't claim the feature, but DON'T try and up-convert - it doesn't like it, and upconvert is worth $200 too me. Overall A--or B+ depending on who grades your papers. If not for the audio and experimental 3D tweaking to make it all work, it'd be an A+ and no matter how you slice and dice it, it's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DTTocs
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Black Screen Of Death
4/12/2012

Customer review by WB1972

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by WB1972
by WB1972

I have had this TV for less than a week and it has locked up twice (not responding to the remote, unable to power off or on, screen goes black). Only fix is to unplug it for several seconds and then plug it back in. Today the wireless internet stopped working. I am taking this back and will go with another brand.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WB1972
Taylors, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/22/2012

Customer review by lovevizio12

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by lovevizio12
by lovevizio12

Bought this TV after weeks of comparison shopping and checking out other tvs in person. This TV is amazing!!! The 3D is unbelievable, the sound is great, the apps are cool, and the picture is as good or better than any of the sets we saw that were twice as expensive. If you are in the market for a cutting edge theater quality TV this is the one for you. Stick the extra $600-$1200 you would spend on some other "name brand" in your pocket and thank me later!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovevizio12
Newark, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value, Lots of Features
3/19/2012

Customer review by FreightGoose

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by FreightGoose
by FreightGoose

I've only had this set for a few weeks, but I'm quite happy with it. While it is heavy, the weight is quite good for a 55" tv. The sound is good too, but can't replace a surround sound system, even a cheap one like mine. The low def picture quality is good and very watchable. The high def picture is spectacular. I am using my set with a very cheap HD (rabbit ears) antenna and the tuner is pulling in all but the weakest station without breakups. Much better than my old converter box. Bear in mind that I live in good proximity to the transmitter. I purchased a Vizio blue ray player less than $100 and it plays nice with the TV. In fact the player's remote will control the TV's volume right out of the box. The blue ray quality is excellent too, but once in a very great while I see a line of jaggies. The passive 3D is great. The set comes with 4 sets of glasses! Glasses don't need batteries, and are quite light. 3D picture is great too, very watchable, though you can't be too far off center (guessing about 35 degrees). Web streaming has been good so far. I'm using Amazon and the set seems to load the show first so there are no stops, breaks, or hiccups once the show starts. On my pokey connection it means that the show takes a while to start, but runs smooth all the way through, very good way of doing it. Mini apps can bee rearranged, added or deleted, a nice touch. The remote is Bluetooth so no line of sight problems, (a blessing if you get tired of shooting around you coffee table!) The remote also has a slide-out QWERTY keyboard, very cool, small but responsive. The manual also hints that the TV will support Bluetooth headsets. Sounds cool, but I have not tried this. Among the other mini apps available, one that I have tried is Facebook. It is quite limited in what you can do, but for just checking up on things it is passable. The TV supports wireless, which seemed to work well when I tested it about 25 feet from the router through two walls. Later when I moved the TV farther away I made use of the Ethernet connection which is currently working very well too. My conclusion, based only only a few weeks, is this set is a great value between price, quality, and features.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreightGoose
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/15/2012

Customer review by sjs0108

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by sjs0108
by sjs0108

Purchased this tv on 4/12/12. Picture quality is awesome!....excellent detail. Very easy setup.... Quick internet connections and the Netflix streaming works great. Tried the 3d yesterday using a Sony 3D BluRay player....unbelievable!....we are not a 3d type family..but I'll have to admit it was really cool. We compared this tv with the Sony Bravia HX729 which has the same features. We really wanted the 240hz refresh rate. We almost purchased the Sony but it was $500 more. We are very, very happy with this purchase so far. We also connected it to a Vizio Soundbar, so the sound quality is very good especially when playing a BluRay dvd giving you the theater sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sjs0108
Knoxville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic picture.
4/16/2012

Customer review by BBsPopPop

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by BBsPopPop
by BBsPopPop

Bought this TV for the living room because I have been so pleased with the 42" I got for the bedroom last year. The picture is fantastic and this one is even thinner than the 42". Wasn't concerned about the sound quality mentioned in the reviews as I planned to connect to stereo anyway. The sound is ok at low levels, just lacks a little when turned up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBsPopPop
Columbia, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING PICTURE
2/27/2012

Customer review by GreatDane22

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by GreatDane22
by GreatDane22

This is a great TV. The sound is not the best but if you’re getting a TV like this chances are you have a surround system. 3D is awesome and very smooth. I put this in my living room and I have lots of light that comes in the room. The pictures still looks bright and no glare. I love this TV. I just wish I could convince the wife we need another one for the bedroom. Lol.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatDane22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great pic and easy to set up!
3/18/2012

Customer review by ranger481

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by ranger481
by ranger481

We started shopping for a LCD Tv some months back. After looking into them we had decided to not buy the LCD but an LED. It was brighter and looked a lot better to us. We settled on the Vizio M3D550SR. Right now it seems like we bought the best TV for us. It was very easy to set up and after about 30 minutes we turned it on and was watching any thing we wished. We were going to get the sound bar at the same time but they did not have the one we wanted so we decided to wait. Very glad we did also as the sound that the M3D550SR suits us very well! We were not even in the market for a 3D TV. After seeing this one at Walmart and seeing the very good price on it we bought it. The bottom line is for us is it works great, was easy to set up and it was priced right! We strongly would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranger481
Cincy, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV. Poor Sound
3/19/2012

Customer review by KingRico

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by KingRico
by KingRico

So far, so good. I've had my set for two weeks so there hasn't been much time to test the units failure rate. Very nice picture quality in HD and 3D. The sound from the internal speakers is of the poorest quality imaginable. If you are going to connect to an external surround system this not an issue. I also have a Sony Bravia and this set far out performs the Sony in picture quality. Pros : Price, pic quality, ease of set-up. Cons: Sound quality

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingRico
Concord, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for reasonable price.
3/7/2012

Customer review by Ramsey411

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Ramsey411
by Ramsey411

I bought my T.V. about a month ago. I absolutely love my T.V. the picture quality is amazing, the sound is good, love the online features. I have read many reports about the 3D not being all that good. I have to respectfully disagree. The 3D shows great depth and awesome pop out effects. I actually caught myself dodging things that were not there. The remote that comes with the T.V. is cool to it has blue tooth. All and all the TV is an excellent buy for a real cheap price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ramsey411
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/26/2012

Customer review by Andee123321

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Andee123321
by Andee123321

Great value and great picture. We love the 3D using standard glasses. The internet seams to be limited to existing pay as you go sites for downloading TV and movies.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andee123321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
GET IT!!
2/26/2012

Customer review by bradlovesdonna

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by bradlovesdonna
by bradlovesdonna

The picture is unbelievable. Its just like your there while it was being filmed. My suggestion for anyone doubting to buy this tv, is that you will NOT be dissapointed. Better then Sony, Toshiba, LG, and Samsung. The sound is not that great, but all you have to do is hook it up to surround sound and you are good to go, just like your at a theatre. Havent figured out the 3D yet. My advice is to get it!! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bradlovesdonna
Covington, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with TV so far
4/5/2012

Customer review by kcjc1

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by kcjc1
by kcjc1

We've only had this TV for less than a month but so far are very pleased with the picture quality. The sound is good but we did add a Vizio sound bar. Setup was easy. Connected to our cable box. Also connected easily to our wireless network. It does take a bit for the TV to actually start up, I'd say about 30 seconds from the time you touch the power button to actually seeing the images on your screen. Our experience could be longer due to the sound bar. Plenty of ports for everything we need. Viewing is great in all light settings. Not sure how often we'll use the 3D but it is a fun feature. Seating distance and viewing height play into how successful you can "see" the 3D, so take that into consideration before you mount the TV on a wall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcjc1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

50/50 But still returned it. the 3D part was pretty cool. We liked the CARS movie in 3 D, nice effects and played SOCOM 4 in 3 D and was really impressed. But, regular television, even in digital HD, had shuddering, distortion and blocking. I was always messing with the remote trying to get the color or picture right, it changed on every channel, and the sound would go up and down slightly. we used a vizio sound bar with it. (the wireless subwoofer has to be looking at the unit, so you couldnt just put it behind the couch. opted for the regular sound bar but plugged my own sub to it and put it behind the stand. sounds great. if you get one youll need a sub), I was embarrased when playing tiger woods golf with friends, watching the ball soar through the air shuddering. we bought it 03/29 and returned it 05/20. We decided to go with a panasonic viera, a plasma. we thought it couldnt be any worse and it was on sale at sears for $400.00 cheaper. delivery was free and they brought it in the house ( 2 days after buying it online) and set it all up on our stand, cleaned up and left. great service. nothing against wal mart, spend lots of money there, but they dont have high-end plasma's. the draw-backs, the plasma runs a bit warmer and you need special 3 D glasses that are at least $20.00 a pop, BUT, we paid for it using sears gift cards bought at GIANT EAGLE and earned a free tank of gas with 90 cents off per gallon rolled over!! Our SUV has a 22 gal. tank, thats nearly $80.00 in gas! the savings buys you the glasses! the picture is stunning, its 1080p, 600hz ,3 D and internet conn. with great depth! i recomend you get a plasma, stunning picture. the LED set you look at, this plasma you look into, its like you can climb into it. trust me, with all the perks, the plasma VIERA will leave you proud and impressed. sorry VIZIO but your TV didnt live up to all those specs and features you wowed us with.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Heath, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/10/2012

Customer review by AlwaysInspired

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by AlwaysInspired
by AlwaysInspired

Already bought the 47" and loved it! That's why we went with the 55" 3D, excellent value and TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlwaysInspired
Lompoc, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/10/2012

Customer review by Airforce64

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Airforce64
by Airforce64

This TV is the best model I have seen in along time. The picture, especially watching a movie, you feel like you are behind the camera and on the set. This model is so fantastic!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airforce64
RP, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews