Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 819 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

819 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
455
4 stars
201
3 stars
64
2 stars
39
1 stars
60
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 795 total reviews
WIFI ability is horrible
12/1/2011

Customer review by duchess1992

1.0 stars by duchess1992

I am very disappointed in this product and will be returning it. I was not really interested in a Blue Ray player but I decided to buy this player for the its WIFI abilities so I could stream Netflix and other video services. Unless you are going to be able to place the player within 10 ft of your wireless router it will not pick up the internet. While it is probably a great blue ray player, it SMART functions are useless unless it is going in the same room with your router. BIG disappointed

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
duchess1992
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent player, excellent price
12/30/2011

Customer review by Saint65

5.0 stars by Saint65

This player was an upgrade from a previous Samsung Blu-Ray player. This model loads discs much faster than the old one, and the integrated WiFi is a wonderful feature. I don't have to use a third party wireless adapter to get a network connection at my entertainment center anymore. The built-in Internet apps are useful and the touch interface on the front of the player is very slick. It has also played every disc I've put in it without a problem. I'm very happy with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Saint65
North Sutton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/17/2011

Customer review by cunni29

5.0 stars by cunni29

Sleek and modern looks along with its many features and abilities, makes up for a player that is great. And, I saved a few $$ on the purchase 'cause it was tagged as refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cunni29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/17/2011

Customer review by ausha66

5.0 stars by ausha66

Why was this bluray player refurbished? Who knows or cares! All I know and care is that this machine is working great and has many features and low pricing makes it the one to own.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ausha66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bargain
3/16/2012

Customer review by gone2town

5.0 stars by gone2town

I wanted to upgrade my older blu-ray player. Saw this refurb. Read the reviews and decided to get it. A small complaint ... I got it shipped site-to-store to save on shipping. It took almost 3 weeks to arrive! Yeah, I know it's free shipping, but 3 weeks?!? It came with a nice instruction booklet, that really was not needed, if you know anything about setting up a video player. It also came with a nice set of AV cables (totally useless for a blu-ray player, but still they were included). No HDMI cable (I had one anyway, but it's the one cable they should include with a blu-ray). I like the remote that came with it. Big buttons that are easy to find by touch. Anyway, it installed very easily in about ten minutes, and has done everything I have asked of it. Streams Netflix, plays blu-ray discs wonderfully, and streams Pandora veru nicely. Good deal, if you're willing to wait. I've watch several blu-ray movies and streamed a lot of Netflix. No complaints at all when it come down to the performance of the player.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gone2town
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Blu-ray player fior the money
7/18/2012

Customer review by Alexor

3.0 stars by Alexor

After reading reviews, I purchased this model particularly for it's ready to connect Internet option. It worked fine out of the box and was easy to set up initially. However, after the first week I startied getting 'error' messages when attempting to get online. Message kept saying to try again later, which I kept doing for another week. Finally, I called Samsung customer service who walked me through several steps to no avail. They then looked up my model serial number and informed me I needed to update my Firmware. I chose to have them send me a CD to download, which they did and it solved the problem. I found Samsung Support to be very knowledgeable, courteous and patient. As professional as you would expect a big, brand name company to be. I only wish I had remembered to ask them to send me an operating manual as well, since my unit only came with a basic set up booklet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alexor
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Horrible blu ray player
3/30/2012

Customer review by choosybuyer1

2.0 stars by choosybuyer1

I purchased this blu ray player for my wife as a birthday gift. It showed the first DVD all the way through and had a beautiful picture. We tried to play a couple of other DVD's and it would not show them at all. We would press play and it would just cut off. Needless to say we took it back for a refund. Will not buy another Samsung Blu ray player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
choosybuyer1
Ashville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not work well
7/31/2012

Customer review by luvadonai85

1.0 stars by luvadonai85

I bought this refurbished bluray player because I wanted to both watch movies and have netflix access. The player was very slow, took a long time to respond and froze up a lot. Several times it stopped responding at all to both netflix and movies and I had to turn the whole thing off. Plus there were no subtitles with netflix. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
luvadonai85
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BluRay player with wi-fi
8/13/2012

Customer review by expatozee

5.0 stars by expatozee

Unit arrived a day earlier than expected. I had it set up and working withing minutes. Just as well I had a spare cable so did not have to visit a store. I soon connected to my wi-fi network and was online quickly. Using the built in key pad was a learning experience but was soon overcome. Unit connected to Samsung and updated itself to latest software. This process took about 15 minutes total. All options work as advertised and I am extremely happy with the picture on my new HDTV and the available movie rental/download nets already preloaded into the player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
expatozee
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This refurbished one is like brand new
7/11/2012

Customer review by Mdwright1032

5.0 stars by Mdwright1032

Excellent blu ray player with tons if features. Great picture quality Sexy design Optical out for users with older home theater fast loading Tons of apps netflix Pandora youtube etc You cant beat the price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mdwright1032
wedt haven ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This units capabilities rival great to others!
5/1/2012

Customer review by Clutchcolton

4.0 stars by Clutchcolton

Competitively shopping...this is a great price for the abilities of the player. Pros: Price, playback ability, wireless, playback of media on NAS (Network attached Storage) devices. Cons: Load time for a blu-ray is slow, usability for apps is a little cumbersome, not as clean as some LG models I've tried. I'm a user of about 1-2 movies a week, in addition to a lot of Pandora! The capabilities of this player are more than satisfactory for my uses.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Clutchcolton
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very up-set
6/10/2012

Customer review by Makinna

1.0 stars by Makinna

I was so excited when I received my player 2 days ago. Very easy hook-up, connected to the internet with ease, got all the Apps installed, and set-up Netflix acct. in seconds. I could not be happier, until.........I put in my first DVD. It palyed for about 20 min. and just stopped and will not play ANYTHING now. I can not even get the thing to shut off without unplugging it. NOTHING, and I mean NOTHING works on it now. I will be taking this player back to Wal-Mart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Makinna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worst bluray player!!
7/25/2012

Customer review by rk81

1.0 stars by rk81

Worked for a few months, and now doesn't display any picture on my TV. Customer Service is HORRIBLE! They made us send it to them twice and returned without doing anything, saying there's nothing wrong with the unit. They only have a service center in NJ, which is ridiculous, considering what a big company Samsung is! They refuse to replace the unit, and they wont tell us what to do to fix the issue. Netflix never worked without re-buffering every 5 mins. It was so frustrating, we stopped watching Netflix for the few months that this player worked. Spoke to almost every supervisor at Samsung and nobody was ready to help us. They told us to go ahead and buy another company's bluray player, if we wanted to!! We borrowed a Sony BDP S390 and it's pretty good. We've had no issues so far and Netflix works great on it! Stay away from this Samsung player, or $100+ down the drain!! We wont be buying Samsung again!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rk81
Would recommend to a friend? No
Won't play blu ray
12/20/2012

Customer review by Hendiddy

1.0 stars by Hendiddy

I purchased this refurbished Samsung blu ray player and had it for only two days When it forced me to update the firmware it stopped playing blu ray movies which is the only reason I purchased it. It would play regular DVDs just fine but not blu ray and I called customer service which was in India of course and they said wait 3weeks for another firmware update what kind of service is that I returned it and purchased a Panasonic blu ray player that works perfectly. Will never buy a Samsung blu ray ever again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hendiddy
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
its works great when I finally got to use it.
7/8/2012

Customer review by wildcat54

2.0 stars by wildcat54

when I received the unit the remote was broken so i had to contact samsung and go thru a lot to get another one , it was about 10 days to get another remote. So I couldn't use the thing for over two weeks which I didn't appreciate very much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wildcat54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Problem with Remote/Sensor
7/16/2012

Customer review by Thurm33

1.0 stars by Thurm33

I was excited to get this blu-ray with built in wi-fi at such a cheap price, but after setting it up (easy to do), found that there was a problem with the device, most likely the remote sensor. I would just be pressing a button on the remote 10-15 times before it would respond. I thought at first the batteries were dead on the remote and switched in two new ones, but the same problem occurred. So after having it out of the box for about 30 minutes, I put everything back in and returned it to Wal-Mart. I guess that's the risk you take with refurbished devices, but I have others that have worked fine and this is just a lemon. Thankfully, it's easy to return things with WalMart, so I'd do it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thurm33
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Terrible bluray player
11/1/2012

Customer review by RGBothem

1.0 stars by RGBothem

This is the second one I've bought, and I'll never buy another. I have this one boxed up, ready to go back to Walmart. It doesn't play Bluray movies - only standard DVD. It's a common problem with this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RGBothem
Brunswick, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's Refurbished?!
7/8/2012

Customer review by ODessaB

5.0 stars by ODessaB

It doesn't look or feel like anything other than brand new. It was really easy to set up, and I use it all the time to watch netflix and even some stuff on my computer. I didn't use it's wi-fi abilities, and I know others in other reviews didn't care for it much. I am not a fan of wi-fi myself, so I didn't need it. Thankfully I had an extra HDMI cord and an extra ethernet, since this came with neither. I'm very happy with this, and most of all for the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ODessaB
Johnson City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Integrated WiFi at this price? Wow!
3/5/2012

Customer review by Judd78852

5.0 stars by Judd78852

I honestly could not tell this item was ever refurbished. All items were in pristine condition. Upon setup my equipment (Vizio E371VL and TimeWarner SMC wireless router) were easily recognised. Hot keys for Netflix and others. Wifi is the only way to go.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Judd78852
Eagle Pass, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal!
3/20/2012

Customer review by rr1949

5.0 stars by rr1949

Great deal on a great product,happy all around,like new,thank you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rr1949
AR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 795 total reviews