Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
261
4 stars
104
3 stars
37
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 415 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 415 total reviews
1-20 of 415 reviews
Very Good BD player.
11/22/2011

Customer review by SAMUELmd

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by SAMUELmd
by SAMUELmd

I bought this BD because I have bad luck with the vizio, the LG, many others. I have two Samsungs that I bought over 2 years ago a they are working fine. This one has Netflix, and other apps that you can used. Remember that this one needs and special adapter (USB) from SAMSUNG if you wanted to be wireless, the regular USB wireless do not work, it has to be the SAMSUNG that you can get on line from diferent vendors.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAMUELmd
Hagerstown MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it so far!
10/7/2011

Customer review by FunkateerNo1

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by FunkateerNo1
by FunkateerNo1

I've only owned the D5500 for a couple of weeks now, and I have not yet played a 3-D movie on it, but so far I'm loving it. Understand, too, that it's my first Blu-Ray player, so I've only just made the upgrade from standard DVDs to Blu-Ray. But the up-convert on this player is so good that I won't have to pay extra for Blu-Ray disks. My old DVDs look just as sharp as the Blu-Rays I've rented, so I will save the cost of the player the first year I own it by only buying Blu-Rays if they have extra features I want bad enough to pay the surcharge for! I didn't upgrade my surround sound, but the sound quality also seems better with the D5500. I'm hearing things on my movies (background sounds, etc.) that I didn't hear on my old DVD player that make the movie sound tracks more robust. The only drawback I've found so far is that the touch-screen buttons are a little sensitive and close together for my fat fingers, so the first few times I used it I shut it off when trying to open the tray. But I've figured out how to avoid that, so now it's near perfect.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunkateerNo1
Marion, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
11/9/2011

Customer review by Yooper2

2.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Yooper2
by Yooper2

I purchased this to replace a Samsung C5500C that would not load Blu-Rays. Samsung support said it (C5500C) was out of warranty and must have a defect as they couldn't figure out why the unit would play even after firmware update. I have been unable to operate this new unit (refurb D5500) without the remote which is frustrating when all you want is to insert or remove a disc. Also, the unit does NOT include an HDMI cable as advertised. I'd look closely at at a different model before purchasing. P.S. for $3 you will receive the unit in 3 days. Free Site-to-Store took 9 days!

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yooper2
UP Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
10/13/2011

Customer review by chawe49

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by chawe49
by chawe49

This unit has been functioning so nicely that it's driving me crazy not knowing what could have possibly been wrong. I saved money buying it b/c it was refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chawe49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Blu ray player
11/8/2011

Customer review by KimmieD73

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by KimmieD73
by KimmieD73

I have only had this Blu-ray player for a little over a week but I really think its great. It was refurbished on sale for under $100 and also would play 3D if I had a 3D TV. The only thing is the add said it was with HDMI cable which it did not come with. Perhaps because it was refurbished? Otherwise this was a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimmieD73
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Blu-Ray Player!
11/15/2011

Customer review by crockejw

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by crockejw
by crockejw

This player would have received five stars, except it did not come with an HDMI cable as advertised. I had one, so it was not a huge deal, but someone buying their first HDMI device would have to go buy a cable (which can run from under $10 online, up to $80 retail). As for the player itself, it is excellent. We have played many Blu-Ray, 3D, and regular DVDs, and they all played flawlessly. I haven't tried the Internet Apps, as my new TV has all that built-in. I would definitely recommend this to someone else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crockejw
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would NOT recommend this player for 3D playback.
2/21/2012

Customer review by Sarge70

1.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Sarge70
by Sarge70

I purchased this Blu-Ray 3D player so that I could watch 3D movies on my new 3D TV. I purchased it in "refurbished" condition, to save a few bucks. Problem is, it would not play 3D discs. I was told that its firmware needed to be updated, and was given very complicated instructions on how to do that. But since I didn't buy it to repair it, or update it, I returned it. I then purchased a Phillips Model BDP5406 Blu-Ray 3D Wireless player at Walmart. The Phillips unit is wonderful, easy to operate, and works perfectly. I strongly recommend it if you are going to watch 3D content.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarge70
Pine Bluff, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Very good deal for the price.
3/26/2012

Customer review by SuburbanHandyman

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by SuburbanHandyman
by SuburbanHandyman

When I bought mine the ad said it included an HDMI cable. That was an advertising mistake they seem to have corrected. It only comes with a standard four foot RCA style audio/video cable. I would suggest getting your HDMI cable from this WalMart site. The cheapest one (less than $5 when I bought mine) was an excellent cable for a fraction of what they charge at almost every retail store. This model has Smart Hub which is a very good internet streaming program. I have not been able to look thru all the free and pay per view music and video options yet... there are many and tons of content. If you want the full story on internet streaming services, see the cnet.com review of Smart Hub compared to others. I found delivery is fastest to a Fedx site or your home. Shipping to the store has to go through a distribution center which can add days to the delivery time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuburbanHandyman
Chicago suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/23/2012

Customer review by Lilysgrandpa

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Lilysgrandpa
by Lilysgrandpa

Other than a tiny mark and the refurbished stamp I would have never guessed this was a refurbished unit - I do believe the remote is brand new - if not then they did one heck of a job. So thank you for a job well done.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilysgrandpa
Lake Wales, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does what I need it to do
1/31/2012

Customer review by RunninRebel

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by RunninRebel
by RunninRebel

I have a Samsung 50-inch, and had a Sony DVD player, and could not get the wireless to work, so I had to buy this Player, and using my wireless dongle, was able to get to the internet with it. Just can stand these proprietary systems, but what are you going to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RunninRebel
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1st time bad luck
8/19/2012

Customer review by Tutawl

2.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Tutawl
by Tutawl

I got this all hooked up and 1st time I played it , it played great. Two days later turned it on to watch a movie and the pic. was all screwed up but after it was on for awhile it played great again. Next day got up turned it on and theres nothing as far as a pic. Took it back to walmart and they refunded my money without a problem. I just ordered another one and we will see hows that one works out. Then maybe I can recommend it to a friend and maybe they will let me write a good review!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tutawl
Bushnell IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do NOT buy
6/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered 2 Blu-Ray players. Both came seperately with cables, NOT the HDMI plug as described. Also a LAN connector is required if you want to have wifi access. The cost for the LAN connector is greater than the player. DO NOT BUY THIS!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan City, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Refurbished Junk
5/17/2012

Customer review by TimO777

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by TimO777
by TimO777

Wouldn't play blue-rays out of the box. Contacted Samsung and was told the firmware was out of date. Followed the update instructions online with no success. Called Samsung back and they sent out a CD with the update. This worked fine. But still wouldn't play blue-rays. Returned to store and bought a Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TimO777
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
10/13/2011

Customer review by marco66

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by marco66
by marco66

This refurbished bluray is amazing with the ability to watch 3D movies!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marco66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/13/2011

Customer review by fagelle65

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by fagelle65
by fagelle65

Quality, quality, quality, even a refurbished Samsung. Great picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fagelle65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/13/2011

Customer review by frapol05

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by frapol05
by frapol05

Nicely reconditioned. It's been functioning at optimum level.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frapol05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
8/27/2012

Customer review by cltean

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by cltean
by cltean

The refurnished unit I received was great and looked almost brand new. Great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cltean
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVED IT
2/20/2012

Customer review by JCU13

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by JCU13
by JCU13

I bought this because I just bought a 42inch Plasma LG 3D TV and needed a 3d device. I didn't even realize that it could let me connect to my Netflix. That is so cool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCU13
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very nice item
12/24/2012

Customer review by andytwo2

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by andytwo2
by andytwo2

Item is as advertised and is working just great. Merry Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andytwo2
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
1/16/2013

Customer review by Zeemax

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Zeemax
by Zeemax

Plays real nice. Works well reg. dvd & bluray. Thanx.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zeemax
St. Thomas, U.S.V.I.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 415 total reviews
1-20 of 415 reviews