Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
261
4 stars
104
3 stars
37
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 415 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 415 total reviews
1-20 of 415 reviews
Apparently I need to call them before I buy BD movies
3/24/2013

Customer review by lovesmovies

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by lovesmovies
by lovesmovies

You know what, when this player works, it's great. However, all too often it can't even play the BD discs. It's ridiculous. I've had this player for almost 2 years and my frustration has caused me to write this review. Apparently I'm doing something wrong because I've changed the review about 10 times and still can't submit it. So I'll just reiterate that I wouldn't recommend this product.

lovesmovies
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best player since sliced bread!
1/15/2012

Customer review by MadogBassin

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by MadogBassin
by MadogBassin

Hooked the unit up and within an hour it was set up on the internet, I checked out a home DVD, I connected to You Tube and set all the viewer preferences. Great product and it looks fantastic on my 40" Samsung 1080p hi def TV. Great job folks!

MadogBassin
Los Alamos, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
My 3 D Blue Ray HD Smart Player
1/20/2012

Customer review by Redskin

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Redskin
by Redskin

Top Shelf! It really is the perfect addition to my PN64D8000FF 64" 3 D Plasma HD TV.

Redskin
Deltona, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Love it so far!
10/7/2011

Customer review by FunkateerNo1

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by FunkateerNo1
by FunkateerNo1

I've only owned the D5500 for a couple of weeks now, and I have not yet played a 3-D movie on it, but so far I'm loving it. Understand, too, that it's my first Blu-Ray player, so I've only just made the upgrade from standard DVDs to Blu-Ray. But the up-convert on this player is so good that I won't have to pay extra for Blu-Ray disks. My old DVDs look just as sharp as the Blu-Rays I've rented, so I will save the cost of the player the first year I own it by only buying Blu-Rays if they have extra features I want bad enough to pay the surcharge for! I didn't upgrade my surround sound, but the sound quality also seems better with the D5500. I'm hearing things on my movies (background sounds, etc.) that I didn't hear on my old DVD player that make the movie sound tracks more robust. The only drawback I've found so far is that the touch-screen buttons are a little sensitive and close together for my fat fingers, so the first few times I used it I shut it off when trying to open the tray. But I've figured out how to avoid that, so now it's near perfect.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FunkateerNo1
Marion, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Very Good BD player.
11/22/2011

Customer review by SAMUELmd

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by SAMUELmd
by SAMUELmd

I bought this BD because I have bad luck with the vizio, the LG, many others. I have two Samsungs that I bought over 2 years ago a they are working fine. This one has Netflix, and other apps that you can used. Remember that this one needs and special adapter (USB) from SAMSUNG if you wanted to be wireless, the regular USB wireless do not work, it has to be the SAMSUNG that you can get on line from diferent vendors.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAMUELmd
Hagerstown MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Great Blu-Ray Player!
11/15/2011

Customer review by crockejw

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by crockejw
by crockejw

This player would have received five stars, except it did not come with an HDMI cable as advertised. I had one, so it was not a huge deal, but someone buying their first HDMI device would have to go buy a cable (which can run from under $10 online, up to $80 retail). As for the player itself, it is excellent. We have played many Blu-Ray, 3D, and regular DVDs, and they all played flawlessly. I haven't tried the Internet Apps, as my new TV has all that built-in. I would definitely recommend this to someone else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crockejw
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Plays blu-ray discs ok, but don't expect more
11/27/2011

Customer review by BadBiscuit

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by BadBiscuit
by BadBiscuit

It was a rather cheap blu-ray player. The exterior quality is good, but functionality and sotware features were disappointing; I expected more from Samsung. It has played all the rental DVD and Blu-ray discs we have tried, so this is a positive, though the following negatives may be cause to reconsider purchasing this player -- it constantly losses its network connection for no apparent reason which can only be corrected with a full power cycle (aka pulling the power plug). It has been through several firmware updates and is at its latest but this problem remains. We use the Netflix and Pandora apps which work reasonably well (but not as well as on other devices), and only when the player decides to connect to the network. The remote control is of low quality and does not function all that well, so unless you plan to retire it for a universal remote this may also be a negative. Note: We have a Tivo and Xbox360 which don't have such network issues even when connected using the same patch cable, so the problem is clearly Samsung's.

BadBiscuit
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Very good deal for the price.
3/26/2012

Customer review by SuburbanHandyman

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by SuburbanHandyman
by SuburbanHandyman

When I bought mine the ad said it included an HDMI cable. That was an advertising mistake they seem to have corrected. It only comes with a standard four foot RCA style audio/video cable. I would suggest getting your HDMI cable from this WalMart site. The cheapest one (less than $5 when I bought mine) was an excellent cable for a fraction of what they charge at almost every retail store. This model has Smart Hub which is a very good internet streaming program. I have not been able to look thru all the free and pay per view music and video options yet... there are many and tons of content. If you want the full story on internet streaming services, see the cnet.com review of Smart Hub compared to others. I found delivery is fastest to a Fedx site or your home. Shipping to the store has to go through a distribution center which can add days to the delivery time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuburbanHandyman
Chicago suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Disappointed
11/9/2011

Customer review by Yooper2

2.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Yooper2
by Yooper2

I purchased this to replace a Samsung C5500C that would not load Blu-Rays. Samsung support said it (C5500C) was out of warranty and must have a defect as they couldn't figure out why the unit would play even after firmware update. I have been unable to operate this new unit (refurb D5500) without the remote which is frustrating when all you want is to insert or remove a disc. Also, the unit does NOT include an HDMI cable as advertised. I'd look closely at at a different model before purchasing. P.S. for $3 you will receive the unit in 3 days. Free Site-to-Store took 9 days!

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yooper2
UP Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
10/13/2011

Customer review by chawe49

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by chawe49
by chawe49

This unit has been functioning so nicely that it's driving me crazy not knowing what could have possibly been wrong. I saved money buying it b/c it was refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chawe49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I would NOT recommend this player for 3D playback.
2/21/2012

Customer review by Sarge70

1.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Sarge70
by Sarge70

I purchased this Blu-Ray 3D player so that I could watch 3D movies on my new 3D TV. I purchased it in "refurbished" condition, to save a few bucks. Problem is, it would not play 3D discs. I was told that its firmware needed to be updated, and was given very complicated instructions on how to do that. But since I didn't buy it to repair it, or update it, I returned it. I then purchased a Phillips Model BDP5406 Blu-Ray 3D Wireless player at Walmart. The Phillips unit is wonderful, easy to operate, and works perfectly. I strongly recommend it if you are going to watch 3D content.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarge70
Pine Bluff, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Wouldn't put this first on the shopping list.
11/19/2011

Customer review by the2000roadrunner

3.0 stars 11/19/2011 by the2000roadrunner
by the2000roadrunner

I only ended up with this bluray player becuase it was bundled with the tv .I think its rather larger by todays standards looks dated. the door to this thing make a loud "clack" when it opens and closes for the tray to slide out,the buttons on the front are basically lights behing the faceplate so it looks sleek there. as i said with the tv too. the apps are a bit sluggish. choosing a movie on netflix take a while. I have a 4Mb/s internet connection and I feel the disc images should make their way to the screen alot faster. Cars 2 came out and the 3d movie skips at parts, (there is a known issue with cars 2 the panasonics skip too) but I didnt hold it against samsung. I play the regular bluray and occasionally the screen wont advance past the walt disney screen for several minutes. the only way to get past and get to the title screen to watch the movie is unplug and repllug the bluray player. i find this unacceptable. maybe its just cars 2 but if 2 of the 3 discs (3d and br) formats act up on my first month with this i have a bad taste in my mouth,

the2000roadrunner
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Blu ray player
11/8/2011

Customer review by KimmieD73

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by KimmieD73
by KimmieD73

I have only had this Blu-ray player for a little over a week but I really think its great. It was refurbished on sale for under $100 and also would play 3D if I had a 3D TV. The only thing is the add said it was with HDMI cable which it did not come with. Perhaps because it was refurbished? Otherwise this was a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimmieD73
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
This product is better than the Sony Blu-ray Player
7/31/2011

Customer review by Hard2plez

3.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Hard2plez
by Hard2plez

Every feature appears to work. The user interface is slow and tedious. Pandora works, but the older version of Pandora is better. Youtube does work, but had to change the privacy setting in Youtube account. Need to press the red-A button and login each time player is powered up. This is very annoying. If I checked "Save the password" just go ahead and use it and login in auto. Plays mp3 file in usb drive. However, it does not play by folder, which Sony player does. Can not navigate the file folders using left and right key, as was the case in older Samsung mode like BD-P1590. The two column listing format is bad. We now need to do left-and-right, and up-and-down as well. Photo viewing is slow. Ability to play selected music along with slide show is a nice feature. Again, would be nice if selection can be made by folders. The remote control does not work with my Panasonic Plasma TV. None of the 4 control code worked. The home menu is bad. Shifting items instead of moving the cursor highlight is very confusing to me. Still does not know what video format it will play.

Hard2plez
Aurorak, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1st time bad luck
8/19/2012

Customer review by Tutawl

2.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Tutawl
by Tutawl

I got this all hooked up and 1st time I played it , it played great. Two days later turned it on to watch a movie and the pic. was all screwed up but after it was on for awhile it played great again. Next day got up turned it on and theres nothing as far as a pic. Took it back to walmart and they refunded my money without a problem. I just ordered another one and we will see hows that one works out. Then maybe I can recommend it to a friend and maybe they will let me write a good review!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tutawl
Bushnell IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Does what I need it to do
1/31/2012

Customer review by RunninRebel

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by RunninRebel
by RunninRebel

I have a Samsung 50-inch, and had a Sony DVD player, and could not get the wireless to work, so I had to buy this Player, and using my wireless dongle, was able to get to the internet with it. Just can stand these proprietary systems, but what are you going to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RunninRebel
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
5/23/2012

Customer review by Lilysgrandpa

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Lilysgrandpa
by Lilysgrandpa

Other than a tiny mark and the refurbished stamp I would have never guessed this was a refurbished unit - I do believe the remote is brand new - if not then they did one heck of a job. So thank you for a job well done.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilysgrandpa
Lake Wales, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Slow; Doesn't remember where you stopped the movie.
3/30/2012

Customer review by SamsungUser2012

3.0 stars 3/30/2012 by SamsungUser2012
by SamsungUser2012

OK, I knew that the player didn't remember where it was in a movie when you turn it off but I didn't think it would bother me so much. But it takes so long to read the disc and then you have to skip through all the menus to start the movie and then you have to skip through the movie to find the spot where you left off. It is annoying that my 10 year old player can remember the disc position and this thing can't. It can read movies, music and pictures from my network server. The internet apps take a long time to load and the interface is clunky. I have a Samsung TV too and I tried the Anynet+ feature but I don't see how you use this if you ever play a CD through the player because you have to keep the TV on! If you turn off the TV, the Blu Ray player turns off. Also, when you use this and turn off the Blu Ray, the Samsung TV goes to the next input which is the cable in. I can't use the cable in so it just goes to snow! So I disabled this and plugged the Blu Ray into HDMI 1 and the TiVo into HDMI 2. With Anynet+ off, when I turn off the Blu Ray, the TV goes to HDMI 2 and I can watch tv without flipping through the other 5 inputs! The best thing about the player is the price.

SamsungUser2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
works great
1/13/2012

Customer review by ladyskull

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by ladyskull
by ladyskull
Top 500 contributor

player works perfectly, even though i bought it refurbished. only one thing wrong. it stated that i got the high def cable with it and it was not in the box. i did call samsung and then i had to prove that i actually bought the player that day because according to them, this item was purchased in jan 2011. but i had the proof and i had to fax them a copy of the receipt and when they got the fax they call and said they would get me one out with in 10 days. as of today, i still have not received it but it has only been 8 days. but i love samsung. my 3d tv is also a samsung. and oh by the way, the reason i only gave it an overall rating of a 4 was because of the trouble i had getting the high def cable. the player is awesome

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladyskull
MESA, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Top 500 contributor
a GREAT disappointment
3/29/2013

Customer review by strugglingcustomer

2.0 stars 3/29/2013 by strugglingcustomer
by strugglingcustomer

As a DVD and Blu-Ray it works fine, slow loading but OK. But do not purchase if you want Wi-Fi or SMART tech as it will not consistently play NETFLIX. Wireless does not work at all, period, Had to run a solid wire ethernet, to Router. Helps just a little but still can not use Netflix consistently. Sometimes it will play Netflix, but most of time it will do nothing but "re-buffer" the stream or lock up. When it does, I use my Samsung Plasma TV with "Smart" and it works GREAT with Netflix, Why do I use the DVD player for Netflix? Night time watching to keep the sound down. Because Samsung forget to put analog audio jacks on the TV for earphones and Netflix forgot to send the audio to the TV digital audio jacks. They only send audio to the internal SPEAKERS so they can not be muted nor can earphones be used EXCEPT on the DVD player. Using the TV on Netflix, disturbs the entire house when the movies try to blasting you out of your seat at 1AM in the morning, Answer? Forget Samsung, all of them. Laptop on lap, watch Netflilx and use earphones on the laptop if you dont mind a small screen for 'after houses watching. Samsung and Netflix are NOT there yet. They both point at each other or to my ISP but my signal is 50mps + and works great on the Samsung TV.

strugglingcustomer
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
1-20 of 415 total reviews
1-20 of 415 reviews