Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-17 of 17 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Hyper Static 20" BMX Bicycle
10/6/2012

Customer review by FamilyDad

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by FamilyDad
by FamilyDad

My son turned eight in October and we wanted to get him a new bike for his birthday. He currently has an 18” bike, which he has grown out of. He is a relatively tall boy for his age at 4 feet 6 inches. We wanted something that he would be able to start riding this fall, but still have plenty of room to grow into. We thought about a 20” or 24” mountain bike, but all of the kids in the neighborhood his age are riding BMX style bikes and that’s what he wanted. I have done a lot of research and I have been to all of the local bike shops in my area. I visited a half dozen or more shops as well as all of the local department stores and toy stores. Things have really changed with regard to BMX bikes since I was a kid. It seems that all of the bike shops are carrying BMX freestyle bikes. Although they have seats, they are not made for riding while seated. They are made for riding while standing. The seats have very short seat posts and are designed to be mounted as low into the seat tube as possible. The kids use these bikes for doing tricks and the seat gets in the way if mounted too high. I was told by a salesperson that the seat is just there for safety, more than anything else. Also most of the bikes only have a rear brake or no brakes at all. I was told the kids use their feet and wedge it between the frame and tires to stop or perform tricks. We definitely wanted something with both a front and rear brake and my son wanted a gyro detangler (it allows the front handlebars and forks to be spun around 360 degrees freely without the brake lines becoming tangled up). The selection was limited based on what we were looking for. The more I kept seeing the Hyper Bicycles at Walmart, the more I thought it was a great deal. However, there were a several reviews that had me nervous. I was concerned mostly about the rear freewheel cassette/sprocket and the crankset. It seems a few people have had problems with bearings going bad or parts becoming stripped. The rear sprocket is attached to the hub and cannot be replaced if it goes bad. You would need a whole new rim. Other than that, the frame is of average weight as compared to other bikes in its class, and the frame and forks are welded nicely and seem very well made. The other components on the bike also seem to be well made. After several weeks of going back and forth we decided on one of the Hyper Bicycles from Walmart. The choice for my son came down to either the Hyper Metro (blue and black) or the Hyper Static (dark gray and red). He decided on the Static. He liked the flat gray color with the red rims, seat post clamp and grips. It has everything that he and I both wanted and it came with two sets (4) pegs although I have yet to screw them on as you can see from the photos. The seat post is also adjustable to come up as much as he needs to ride comfortably. The seat post is at least twelve inches long and can be adjusted so that it is about eight inches maximum above the seat post clamp before you see the "max height" warning line engraved on the seat post. There is plenty of room for growth. I order the bike through Walmart’s site to store feature online and I was able to pick it up unassembled in its original box from the store. I thought it would be fun project for me and my son to work on together. Well, I picked it up after ordering online, took it home and spent about an hour with my son putting it together, making adjustments and thouroughly going over everything. You can probably put it together and have it ready to go in half an hour, but again I prefer to be thourough. Just be aware that there are no assembly instructions included in the box. There is an owner’s manual with brief instructions for adjusting the seat, handlebars and a few other things, but that’s all. I have built numerous bikes from frame up as a kid, so I had no problem putting the bike together without instructions. I do not know if assembly instructions are available online. If you are not mechanically inclined I would suggest purchasing it already assembled and then tightening everything and making adustments at home. Walmart assembles their bikes free of charge. I weigh about 220 pounds and took the liberty of taking the bike out for a test run myself. Everything ran smooth and the brakes worked perfectly after I had adjusted them. Everything appears to be solid and tight with no strange noises from the wheel hubs and nothing rubbing. So far, the bike has exceeded my expectations as a parent as well as my son’s expectations as a kid. I can comfortably recommend it to anyone looking to purchase it or any of the Hyper Bicycles. They all use the same frame with different color variations for parts and accessories.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamilyDad
Chicago, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing BMX bike
4/4/2012

Customer review by Diego27

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Diego27
by Diego27

this bike is a great buy, and totally worth the price. It is great quality and i would recommend it to you. It comes with all the right parts, 26t chain ring and a 9t sprocket. I used to use a mongoose rebel but it was a terrible bike it comes with a 44t chain ring and a 16t sprocket which is huge. so on the mongoose i would of had to buy a new chain ring and sprocket, which is like another 100$. And the hyper comes with all the right pieces and is a great bike, i definitely recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? (93) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diego27
annandale VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike
7/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good bike. I thought the bike was glossed but its not and the handlebars are 5" rise, which is kind of low for me. Also its a bit on the heavier side. But other than that its a good bike.

Was this review helpful? (36) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/20/2012

Customer review by DenW15

3.0 stars 5/20/2012 by DenW15
by DenW15

This is a really good bike. The only issue's were that the bar ends were cracked, then the bolts were way too tightened which then striped them out when I tried to untighten them. But other than that I love this bike.

Was this review helpful? (44) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DenW15
Lockwood ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike
12/31/2012

Customer review by candygirl14u

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by candygirl14u
by candygirl14u

Bought this for my 10 year old son, he loves it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candygirl14u
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/20/2013

Customer review by JLP4321

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by JLP4321
by JLP4321

Ordered this bike online and used site to store. Thought it would be a good project for my son and I to do. The bike was ready the same day, picked it up and took it home to assemble it. When we first pulled it out I noticed a little bit of surface rust on the stem area, was a little disappointed but we were able to wipe it off and figured it was no problem. After we assembled the rest of the bike it was time for the seat. Placed the seat in and pulled it up to adjust it and a ton of rust came out. Put my finger in the tube and it came out orange. So we threw the bike in the back of the truck and took it back. My son was extremely disappointed. The worst thing is, I lost money on the protection plan since I did not want to mess around with another one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLP4321
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
9/23/2013

Customer review by dadisking

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by dadisking
by dadisking

The bike looks Great. Shipped to home was fast. Easy and fun to assemble. No complaints at all. I am 6' 1" and I fit on this bike just fine. The ride is smooth. Really like the small chain sprockets.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadisking
Bellevue Ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/12/2012

Customer review by ShawnIIzBeastIIn

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by ShawnIIzBeastIIn
by ShawnIIzBeastIIn

this bike is amazing its a great bike even tho the back bearings broke n i had to return it its still a really good bike i reccomend it to anyone its worth the price

Was this review helpful? (9) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShawnIIzBeastIIn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LIGHTWEIGHT - GOOD PRICE BMX
1/5/2013

Customer review by RADTECHMOM

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by RADTECHMOM
by RADTECHMOM

My son is very happy. Tubes pop pretty easy tho so get some decent replacement tubes if they are doing tricks like jumping ramps. awesome for price. easy assembly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RADTECHMOM
LEHIGH, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
static
2/14/2013

Customer review by Jody169

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by Jody169
by Jody169

it is a great bike for my little brother. he likes it a lot. it has god cranks and a good frame. he's happy and so are my parents.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jody169
Plano,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is an ok bike
1/23/2013

Customer review by boulderbarter

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by boulderbarter
by boulderbarter

I dont ride anylonger but used to ride bmx. I got this for my son as another replacement. He seems to lose his bikes regularly so Im done buying him nice ones. This was inexpensive and rides very nicely. Lighter than his last mongoose. I guess well see in a month or two.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boulderbarter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
decent bike for beginer
11/22/2012

Customer review by bmxguy12309

2.0 stars 11/22/2012 by bmxguy12309
by bmxguy12309

its an alright bike if you are just starting out doing tricks like bunny hops and pop-a-wheelies and just rideing around for fun. If you are doing big tricks and things like that it is horrible. I did a foot jam and bailed and the bare end broke into pices. If you are rideing at a skate park it is terrible. This bike is bad at grinding air outs and other basic tricks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmxguy12309
albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This bike is a pice of junk.
8/16/2013

Customer review by jacksonville0824

1.0 stars 8/16/2013 by jacksonville0824
by jacksonville0824

The bearings in the wheels started getting loose and making noise in four days. Exchanged the bike for another one and it did the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacksonville0824
jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike for playing
7/8/2013

Customer review by 2Legit2quitShopping

3.0 stars 7/8/2013 by 2Legit2quitShopping
by 2Legit2quitShopping

Being a small bike I was a little disappointed at how heavy the bike was, especially since it is a bike for my 7 year old. Assembly was somewhat difficult as it appears the bike may have been factory assembled using power tools which caused too tight of connections risking stripping components on the rebuild.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Legit2quitShopping
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
terrible bike
8/27/2013

Customer review by unfairgames123

1.0 stars 8/27/2013 by unfairgames123
by unfairgames123

it hasn't even been a year since I got the bike and the brakes weren't working the cranks were loose and the bottom bracket broke

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unfairgames123
redbank nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very impressed
12/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Even though it is a busy season all of the employees were nice. Not only did I get a great deal but was pleased the way I was treated. I love Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Christmas gift for grandson
12/13/2013

Customer review by rthumbird

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by rthumbird
by rthumbird

Won't really know about bike until Christmas. Love site-to-store

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rthumbird
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.