Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 204 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

204 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

204 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
62
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 178 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
$100 fixie=win. But there were some issues.
10/19/2011

Customer review by ErikTheRad

3.0 stars 10/19/2011 by ErikTheRad
by ErikTheRad

This is a somewhat technical review intended for skeptical bike enthusiasts. Bottom line, this is a $100 fixie, and with a little TLC and attitude adjustment for yourself, you will be happy riding away on your stock purchase. *** I ordered online and assembled it myself. I am an experienced bicycle mechanic and had already intended to true the wheels, lubricate the cables, and repack the hubs, BB and headset. If you are buying online please have a shop or an experienced mechanic do the assembly. All of the bearings on my unit were incorrectly adjusted. They were too tight, and almost impossible to spin freely. If you're handy you can get a bicycle tool kit online for under $100, which will give you everything you need to adjust things properly. Both wheels needed truing, and the front wheel was out of dish and out of round. The front wheel spokes were also not laced properly to allow proper access to the valve. The freewheel lacks splines for removal. Fortunately the freewheel was not torqued and I was able to back it off with a pin tool inserted into the two shallow holes on the FW body. You can not easily service the hub without removing the freewheel, and once it's torqued on you may not be able to remove it. The threaded headset's adjustable race does not have wrench flats, making it difficult to grip; you might have to resort to vise-grips. The slotted washer slid around when I tightened the lock nut, causing some superficial damage to the threads on the steerer tube. The stamped sidepull brakes seem flimsy and are a little hard to center, but they work just fine. Brake levers have resin bodies which likewise seem unsafe, but will work fine if you don't ask too much of them. I'm not certain but I believe the rims are steel. I had hoped for alloy. They are difficult to properly true but you can get acceptable brake clearance. The 38mm tires are rated for 60psi. Probably fine for popping wheelies and curb hopping. My son had no trouble laying down a skid. I don't expect the tires to last very long. Paint quality was fine, and the frame seemed solid if a bit heavy. I'm guessing the tubing is simple hi-tensile steel. I removed the decals with a heatgun and scraper. I pried the heavy foil headbadge off with a screwdriver, and rubbed away its adhesive residue with some solvent and a rag. I swapped the tires so the red tire was mounted on the red rim, yellow with yellow. That gave the bike a neater appearance. For about $100 more you could just pick up an SE Draft on sale. But this bike is just fine and a great deal. Hopefully Wal-Mart will sell bunches of these and offer an improved version next year with better quality components.

Was this review helpful? (452) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErikTheRad
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Like the Bike
3/3/2012

Customer review by BayCollie

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by BayCollie
by BayCollie

Ordered the bike with 97 cent shipping and it arrived FedEx in 3 days ! I have another Kent bike from Walmart (GMC Denali Pro) which I've ridden several thousand miles and I expect this bike to hold up as well. This is not the lightest bike at @29 lbs. but for recreational riding that doesn't matter, I live in flat country. The bike rides well, I am enjoying riding it as a fixie. I like the kickstand and chain guard for riding around town and errands. For $99 this bike is a great value. When I took it out of the box I spent several hours taking it apart and putting it back together, and adjusting everything as needed. The wheel, bottom bracket and headset bearings all had grease, but were over tightened and needed to be adjusted before riding. This was expected after reading other reviews. Some of the specs on the bike that are not listed in the description that might be helpful if someone were thinking about changing components include: 36 spoke wheels with alloy rims. 700 x 32c tires 48 tooth chain ring, 18 tooth freewheel and fixed sprocket 100 mm front hub spacing 110 mm rear hub spacing 73 mm bottom bracket shell with 114 mm square taper spindle 170 mm steel cranks 1 inch threaded headset alloy stem with 1 in dia. handle bar clamp. 32 in. stand over height 21 inch top tube and seat tube length 1 inch dia. seat post

Was this review helpful? (208) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BayCollie
West Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bike for the Buck!!!
10/5/2011

Customer review by 66SARGE

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by 66SARGE
by 66SARGE

I waited a week before purchasing this bike after I saw it initially in my local Wal Mart. When I went back, I prayed one was still there for me! It looks cool, rides perfect! I, ofcourse had to tweak it a bit but once done... I have ridden many miles on it in just the short time I've had it... I would highly reccomend this bike to one who is wanting a road racing looking style type bike with all the advantages of a 21 speed without the haggle of shifting and adjusting derailers. I've added a few lil accessories already but this SINGLE speed bike is perfect for my riding needs and I look forward to many years of satisfaction with this bike! SARGE

Was this review helpful? (146) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
66SARGE
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy a $300 Fixie or make it your own?
10/11/2011

Customer review by JEDIROBOCOP

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by JEDIROBOCOP
by JEDIROBOCOP

For $100 you can't go wrong. So far I've stripped the stickers, swapped the pedals, tires, grips, brake line and housing, brake pads & seat; I've now got a custom personalized Fixie for under $180! I'm going to attempt some painting after I research too. If you're looking for an affordable, fun learning experience, start with this, and you'll fall in love with biking and become an expert in the mechanics of it in no time flat! When you walk it out the store it looks like a rolling McDonalds ad, so have some fun with it and make it your own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (149) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JEDIROBOCOP
Fullerton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for average person
2/25/2012

Customer review by la90041

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by la90041
by la90041

After riding this for a couple of weeks, I liked it so much that I purchased another one. >For training, use fixed gear. You will get into shape because you can't coast. Keep the heavy stock tires. I have one bike like this. I use it for going shopping. I hope it is so ugly that no one will steal it. > If you replace the tires with black ones, the bike looks a lot better. I have the other set up this way. Lighter tires are a big improvement for longer distance rides. > There were no water-bottle cage mounts on my bikes. The picture shows them. > The brakes do rub against the painted rim. If you keep in fixed gear mode, you can slow down by pushing against the pedals and then not use the brakes as much. The brakes are not good but good enough. > Seat is bad. After 5 rides, I could feel it starting to fail. I replaced it with an old seat from another bike. > I have a road bike that cost over a thousand, but I ride the fixed gear bike more often. The road bike is better for going up and down steep hills. The fixed gear bike is a lot of fun. > I'm 5'8" - The bike is slightly large (in terms of stand-over height), but is no problem when riding. Ignore stand-over and just ride. You will like it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
la90041
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the price!
10/18/2011

Customer review by theman23

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by theman23
by theman23

After weeks of searching for an affordable fixie, I found this bike at Wal-Mart. Great price, rides good. I'm about 5''11 and it fits me perfect. Probably going to paint the handlebars, forks and get new grips and pedals. So worth it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theman23
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bargain Fixie
3/3/2012

Customer review by SoBeTim

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by SoBeTim
by SoBeTim

I bought this bike to try out fixed gear riding and see if i Like it. My thought was if I don't like fixed gear, I can sell the bike for near what I paid for it and if I do like it I can sell the Thruster and put the money toward a better bike. Kind of a win-win. After assembling it and taking it out for a ride, I'm pretty satisfied. Riding fixed gear is very different and there is no coasting, but you might like it. Hard core fixed gear riders use no brakes at all, if you can believe it. Do realize there are some issues, as you would expect at this price. First, the brakes are barely acceptable and poorly aligned to the tires. They work, but just. I wouldn't want to have to use them going down a hill at 30 mph. Do wear a helmet. The other issue I ran into is that every bearing used in the bike was way too tight. Plan on adjusting the wheel bearings, crank bearing, and the fork bearing. Once adjusted properly, the action of all of them was better than expected. These adjustments require a few tools and you need to know what you are doing, otherwise a bike shop can do it for you. So, don't expect to unpack the bike from it's hipping box and be riding in 20 minutes. If none of this makes sense, you may want to buy a different bike. I reversed the rear wheel to make it fixed gear - but you can leave it as it comes to have a single speed bike with coasting. I also removed the kickstand, chain guard, and plastic cover over the large chain sprocket. Useless weight and makes the bike looks better. Will most likely remove the rear brake as well. Good points are: the price of course; the frame seems to be pretty decent; the bearings run smoothly after adjustment; the bike is fun and simple to ride, the seat is no less comfortable than one on my $500 bike; and the bike it is pretty good looking although a little flashy. All in all, not a bad deal - I just may keep it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoBeTim
Miami Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thoroughly inspect & ride bike before you buy it!
4/26/2012

Customer review by BoESQ

3.0 stars 4/26/2012 by BoESQ
by BoESQ

I walked into the Walmart after seeing this online and there were 2 left. I fell in love with the bike right when I first saw it. I picked the one that was already on the floor and bought it. I rode it home and then I began to hear a clunking noise coming from the crank. I toyed around with it at home for a while to solve the problem and then eventually brought it back. The customer service rep, who just happened to be a bike guru, told me the crank/bearings were out of wack and that's what was causing the clunking noise. He said the bike would be unrepairable by them and would have to be marked defective and returned to the factory. So I walked on back and got the other bike. Exchanged and rode that home. Wha-laa, much better! It rode well and I didn't feel like I was going to get stranded. SO, please check your bike and ride up and down the aisles (even if you look like "one of those guys" doing it) to make sure that the one you buy isn't defective. Oh and, the picture on Walmart does it no justice. The ones at the store have all red/yellow rims (no black/silver outline) and DO have the sweet yellow/red handlebar/brake grip combo. Actually, let me just upload an awesome pic of mine :)

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoESQ
Twin Cities
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Introduction to the Fixie Lifestyle!
3/15/2012

Customer review by HappyCustomerindeed

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by HappyCustomerindeed
by HappyCustomerindeed

I did a lot of research before making this bike my choice; it came highly-rated, with some of the best reviews on the Walmart site. The price was great -- just $100 -- and it arrived withing 3 days to my home. Be aware that many of the parts listed in the instructions will arrive already assembled--this can be confusing at first, because you'll expect to have to do it yourself. Overall, easy to assemble (you'll need a good set of Allen wrenches), and in no time you will be on the road, cruising. And boy does this Fixie cruise! Very light and very fast! Brakes feel iffy, but they always seem to do the job. I could do without the cheap plastic chain guard; when it inevitably cracks, just leave it off. I replaced the cheap hand grips and attached a water bottle--there's room for one. And honestly, I can't tell you how many compliments I receive on the look of the bike -- though some reviewers have lamented the bike's gaudy/loud colors, I find them to be really cool, and not too loud -- and I'm a married father whose closer to 50 than 40. I'm a short guy, too (5ft 6in) and I found the bike a little big, but still quite ridable, despite my inability to stand over its center frame bar. Overall, the bike is well-made and a great price. If it comes back in stock at Walmart or you see it elsewhere, get one before they're all gone! You will not regret it! (Also, I had an issue with a pedal damaged during delivery -- not the norm for Walmart because delivery is usually problem-free -- but I called up the folks at Kent, the bike's manufacturer, and they sent a replacement out within days.)

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCustomerindeed
los angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For the money, this bike is AWESOME!
10/27/2011

Customer review by vrad999

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by vrad999
by vrad999

Before I bought this bike, I talked with the local bike shop about turning a old 10 speed into a fixed gear...they told me at a minimum it would be $150! Are you kidding me. When I saw this bike at the mart, I bought it immediately. That night I put over 20 miles on the bike and it handled it flawlessly. I used to race bikes and have ridden them all my life. I do not have the money to throw $800 at a fixed gear bike to impress my friends, but this bike from the mart is all I need to get around. Eventually I will swap the tires out (probably flop them red on red and yellow on yellow, and then buy a second bike so each has solid colored wheels). I am 5'9" and the bike fits me really well. Anyways, if you want to get a good road bike, I highly recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vrad999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This bike surprised me
1/25/2012

Customer review by tymewarrpsjsu

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by tymewarrpsjsu
by tymewarrpsjsu

I wanted to get a bike to commute to school. Well I have always seen single speed bikes, and I thought , hey, thats all I need. But ya know what the price always seemed too much at bike shops. Long story short I wanted a bike but did not want to pay a min 300bucks to get one. One day I am in walmart and see this odd colored bike. I go to internet to investigate. Looks cool for the price, still I delay. Then I finally take the chance and just get the bike. Well, when I took the first ride, I was like whoa, this thing is easy to pedal and it got me to school quickly. Faster than public transit. I am at safeway and get compliments, some girl's like nice bike, and I'm like thx. For the money this thing is a dream, rides great, feels cool.If I had to change anything, it would be softer seat more subtle colors for the wheels. There may be those who will say since its from Walmart it may not be of great quality, well when you ride it you will see that it is, and you will have the added knowledge of knowing your awesome bike only cast you a great deal less than those hipster doofuses. :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tymewarrpsjsu
San Jose, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Killer Deal, Aweful Color Scheme
4/22/2012

Customer review by Atomicknownothing

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Atomicknownothing
by Atomicknownothing

It was about six months ago that I originally spotted this in my local store. Initially I thought the bike was hideous, but thought the price was great. As time went by the itch I had to try fixed gear riding grew stronger and with a limited cash flow and too many bikes in my stable already I decided to give this bike a try. After bringing it home and taking it out of the box I completely dissassembled and lubed and reassembled this beast. Be aware that if you would like to remove the freewheel it may prove difficult as there are no notches for a removal tool. My initial run was with the front brake on only and with that I realized the purity of fixed riding. Around a month later I could take no more of the Mcd's theme and decided to paint the bars and back rim, install new Forte Metro tires, and replace the hard stock grips with red Oury's. The end result for me is a sweet fixed gear at a bearable price, that is a daily rider. Best of all is that it was around 130 bucks total with the extra parts! The only negative thing that I have found about this deal is that the front sprocket slips like a 32nd of an inch when locking up the crank.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atomicknownothing
Wapak, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST DEAL EVER!!!!!!!!
5/26/2012

Customer review by BigInJapan

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by BigInJapan
by BigInJapan

I have been looking to buy a fixie for a while, and i settled on this one because of the low price... i mean, you cant beat $100!!! when i brought it home and tried it out, it far FAR exceeded my expectations... But to turn it into a legit fixie, I made some minor modifications... first, i switched the single speed to fixed gear, then i removed the brakes and reflectors... then I removed the chain-guards and kick-stand... After that, i took off the handle bars and cut off 2 1/2 inches on each side... (major performance improvement) the last , but most important change i made, was remove the stock pedals, and replace them with metal Welgo fixie pedals with toe clips... (toe clips are ABSOLUTELY necessary for riding w/o brakes!!!) after these mods, it is an absolute JOY to ride, and i was tempted to stay up all night riding up and down my street... my friend has a fixie that he purchased for $400, and while his is obviously better quality, the riding experience is basically the same, and even he is amazed at the sheer quality of this amazing deal... I am still stunned that it was only $100!!! if you are even considering to buy this bike, PLEASE DO!!!! do the world a favor, and treat yourself to this insane fixie!!! you will NOT be dissappointed... thanks for reading my review, i hope you found it helpful and insightful... Fixieforlife, Rebel without a cog, Gearhead, One more fixie= one less gas tank.........

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigInJapan
L.A., CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
10/22/2011

Customer review by iwuvr

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by iwuvr
by iwuvr

I purchased this bike about 2 weeks ago and I am very impressed. I have been riding bikes my entire life and I am very happy with this bike for the most part. I found a few things that had to go bye bye on the initial set up. The plastic pedals, seat and brake system really are not the best quality. I will say they are absolutly fine if you do not plan on puting many miles on this bike. Since I purchased this bike I have road more than 100 miles.. so those components were replaced very quickly. I also was able to remove about 4 pounds of unecessary weight by replacing the handle bars as well. All and all i would completly recommend this bike to any one. For 100 bucks you cant go wrong. Last I checked most low end single speeds cost triple this.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iwuvr
The Old Guard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome Starter Fixie
3/21/2012

Customer review by SteelSalamander

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by SteelSalamander
by SteelSalamander

First I want to say that I am not a pro when it comes to fixies or road bikes. Im 200lbs and 6'1" and this bike fits me perfectly. This bike is one of the best bikes I have purchased in the last two years. I cycle more than the average person totalling about 30 miles per week... This bike is awsome on its own never mind the great price. For starters it weighs about 20lbs which most people take for granted but when riding on a steep incline you realize how much wieght matters. Also the colors of the bike may look tacky on the picture, but believe me when I tell you I get compliments from people at least once a day and im not talking about kids. The tires on this bike (tread wise) are great for the road, but dont fool yourself and think you can take it on compacted dirt becuase you will ruin your tires' treads and might bend the rim. The inner tubes are meant for high PSI 70-110 meaning they have a possibility to explode and not go flat ( rear one exploded on me ) thats why I stress you use it on a paved surface and not a dirt or grass path. They are also not sold at your local sporting goods stores due to the unsual size of the tube so make sure you have a bike shop nearby to help you. The breaks on this bike are not good for the speed this bike achieves on a flat or down-slop surface, I managed to go 25.6 mph at my fastest point and these breaks would do no justice if I had to make an emergency stop, they also wear out quickly so consider upgrading to a better pad. The steering control of this bike is highly responsive and you will be able to make sharp turns and manuvers. The overall balance of this bike is excelent with this dispersion of wieght. The back wheel can be flipped to the other side and used as a true fixie meaning that the bike will not coast and the pedals will turn even when you stop peddling. The seat is not mean for comfort but rather as a rest from peddling so dont assume this is a bike you can ride around your nieghborhood on sundays becuase you will be sore back there. Overall, I enjoy this bike daily, I have made many upgrades as this bike is very customizable and you can make it your own with a very small investment and im happy that walmart has finally found a bike that I can say mostly good things about. Would Recommend for the novice bikers/cyclists.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteelSalamander
East Patchogue, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, BUT lacks in quality
6/28/2012

Customer review by HHKAS

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by HHKAS
by HHKAS

Purchased this bike a little over a month ago and after it was assembled, I couldn't have been happier. It looks great and rode great. HOWEVER, after about a month (riding about 10-15 miles as week), the left crank arm became loose. I am no bike expert, but I know how to use a socket wrench and I tighten it up, but it would still come loose. I took it into a local bike shop here in Chicago, where the associate showed me that the left crank arm had worn out. He was shocked that I just bought the bike a month ago, but not surprised given its cost. He told me it would be $40-$60 to fix it or 40%-60% of the bike's cost. No thanks. It is within the 90 return period and the thing looks brand new, so I'll be bringing it back, but I probably won't go with this model again.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HHKAS
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for the money
1/28/2012

Customer review by Slyfox121

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Slyfox121
by Slyfox121

Bought it and ride it daily. Owned it for about a month, probably ridden it about 300 miles. My only qualm is that the cranks are really bad. They broke quickly. But got them replaced, along with a new chainring for pretty cheap. You might want to try used higher end cranks if you can find them. This bike is surprisingly light and fast for a bike of its price. Set my record time to my job on this. I wasn't able to turn close to as fast to this time on a bike that was 3 times the price. This bike is really nimble and fast. Its a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slyfox121
Louisville Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike to start with
4/2/2012

Customer review by dcsports02

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by dcsports02
by dcsports02

i was looking for a fixed gear bike but they were all rather expensive, then this came up in the search, i looked up availibility in stores near my area code and the closest store had three. i went the next morning to check it out liked it and bought one disassembled in the box. when i took it out i checked it over found just about everything was too tight, ive been riding bmx for half my life so i am familiar with bicycle mechanics. i brought the wheels to my local bike shop( dick mauls bike shop) had them true the wheels and bought a crank puller, went home took the cranks off, bottom bracket apart greased the bearings, same for the headset, and both wheel hubs. tightened everything back to proper spec, i ended up switching the tires around yellow on yellow red on red, too me it looks better, i also ended up taking the plastic sprocket cover off, as well as the kickstand, brakes, refelectors etc. i ride it fixed and it works great took the stickers off and tossed on a few of my own. i live in southern massachusetts and the bike gearing is pretty good considering all the hills we have here but i feel for $100 this bike you cannot go wrong i would just recommend going threw it before you ride and it will last a long time ive been riding every week day for 3 weeks now with no problems at all. a great bike in my opinion

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcsports02
middleborough, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, Nice features
11/6/2011

Customer review by ScaryTrout

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by ScaryTrout
by ScaryTrout

I think that everything that I could say has already been brought up. The talk of riding a "fixie" on the internet had me very curious. This bicycle allowed me to indulge that curiosity on my budget. This is ride-able as-is, but the rider must beware that the assembly was done well. The thing that sold me on this bike was the price combined with some rather unique features. The track style dropouts seem to be a hard thing to come by, yet they are ideal for a bike with a flip flop hub. If someone were to find a track frame, it may lack brakes, this bike comes with brakes. The components are cheap, but they suffice while you save the money to upgrade them. There is a safety net of sorts, Kent Bicycles has excellent customer service. I was having trouble with my left crank arm, I talked to Kent on the phone and faxed a copy of my receipt to them and they sent me a replacement crankset free of charge. The color scheme is hideous, at first you are able to get over it, but then it begins to annoy you, at least it did me. I tell people that I beat up Ronald McDonald and stole his bicycle. I have swapped the tires out, spray painted the handlebars and will probably continue to change things as time goes on. Overall, this bike is an excellent value, the unique features and components would cost more than the price of this bike to accumulate independently. I am not sure that fixed gears are for me, but this bike has caused me to fall in love with riding single-speed, and as it is my first bike with the 700c size wheels, it has sold me on the bigger wheels as well.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScaryTrout
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/18/2012

Customer review by landauvic

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by landauvic
by landauvic

Excellent Bike. If you would buy the parts individually you would pay way more than 100 bucks. No catch - just 100% fun for $100.00. LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
landauvic
Portage, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews