Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
62
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 179 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews
Killer Deal, Aweful Color Scheme
4/22/2012

Customer review by Atomicknownothing

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Atomicknownothing
by Atomicknownothing

It was about six months ago that I originally spotted this in my local store. Initially I thought the bike was hideous, but thought the price was great. As time went by the itch I had to try fixed gear riding grew stronger and with a limited cash flow and too many bikes in my stable already I decided to give this bike a try. After bringing it home and taking it out of the box I completely dissassembled and lubed and reassembled this beast. Be aware that if you would like to remove the freewheel it may prove difficult as there are no notches for a removal tool. My initial run was with the front brake on only and with that I realized the purity of fixed riding. Around a month later I could take no more of the Mcd's theme and decided to paint the bars and back rim, install new Forte Metro tires, and replace the hard stock grips with red Oury's. The end result for me is a sweet fixed gear at a bearable price, that is a daily rider. Best of all is that it was around 130 bucks total with the extra parts! The only negative thing that I have found about this deal is that the front sprocket slips like a 32nd of an inch when locking up the crank.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atomicknownothing
Wapak, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Fixie for the price
10/4/2013

Customer review by ChrisSkelton

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by ChrisSkelton
by ChrisSkelton

I've had this bike for 1 year, 5 months. I've enjoyed using it, but I feel obligated to mention a couple issues. The biggest issue was the crank arm breaking off of the bottom bracket axle. I was able to recycle parts from an old bike of mine, no biggie, but I did have to walk it 4 miles back home when it broke off. I've also had to replace the front brakes, not from wear, but they just broke off. Again, I used recycled parts. Despite those issues, I've had a lot of fun riding this bike and I would recommend purchasing it. It's lightweight, cheap, and flashy (I get a lot of comments on the color choice).

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisSkelton
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
My First SS!
5/3/2012

Customer review by PeteFarms

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by PeteFarms
by PeteFarms

I really really love this bike! It gets me everywhere. But I got bored of it pretty fast. So i made it my own and changed it just a little. There are some bad things about it though. The bottom bracket had some play in it after three months of riding, so i had change that out. Also, I changed the brakes and brake pads. But other than that its a great bike. And it was only $100 :) It was so cheap that i bought two. One for me and one for my girlfriend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeteFarms
Central Valley California.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
Amazing for the price
8/24/2012

Customer review by TimothyW

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by TimothyW
by TimothyW

I recently got into cycling because my gym is 10 miles round trip from my house and i hate cardio so i figured i would buy a bicycle to help with that. I came across the thruster fixie I thought it was a really cool looking bike and for the price I couldn't say no i figured if I hated the sport it was only $100 so no really loss as apposed to say 1-5k. I ordered it online and was pleased when it arrived due to the ease of set up. after riding it for a day i decided to start looking for parts because i started to think of the color combination rather obnoxious. i put an extra $200 into the bike and I am not very pleased with my decision in purchasing this bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimothyW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great way to get started riding a fixed gear
6/20/2012

Customer review by RBM888

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by RBM888
by RBM888

For the price you can't go wrong, lots of fun would suggest to change the seat. Really easy to make it your own , 5'8 and a bike fits perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RBM888
sarasota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only a $100 Bucks!
1/16/2012

Customer review by arizonaspeedmonkey

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by arizonaspeedmonkey
by arizonaspeedmonkey

Bought this bike to ride while visiting relatives. The first thing you need to do is completely disassemble this bike. Remember, Walmart does not employ bicycle mechanics and the manufacture doesn't either. Once I lubed, reassembled and tuned the bike correctly, it rode great. I broke it in on a 10 mile ride. I had to get some replacement pedals after the first ride as one bent when I tried to sprint across the street to beat crosswalk light. I was going to convert an older road bike but it would have cost more than this complete bike did. If you are not mechanically inclined buy this bike and drive straight to your local bike shop and pay them $50 to $75 to professionally assemble it. It will be money well spent and as the lesser grade compnoents wear out, replace them as needed. Awesome starter bike and worth every penny! but remember, it's a $100 bike

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arizonaspeedmonkey
wichita, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bike for the Buck!!!
10/5/2011

Customer review by 66SARGE

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by 66SARGE
by 66SARGE

I waited a week before purchasing this bike after I saw it initially in my local Wal Mart. When I went back, I prayed one was still there for me! It looks cool, rides perfect! I, ofcourse had to tweak it a bit but once done... I have ridden many miles on it in just the short time I've had it... I would highly reccomend this bike to one who is wanting a road racing looking style type bike with all the advantages of a 21 speed without the haggle of shifting and adjusting derailers. I've added a few lil accessories already but this SINGLE speed bike is perfect for my riding needs and I look forward to many years of satisfaction with this bike! SARGE

Was this review helpful? (146) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
66SARGE
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent deal for $100
5/18/2012

Customer review by ehat

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by ehat
by ehat

If you've only got $100 and time on your hands, this is a good bike. Like other's have said, it does need a little tweaking. The cone nuts on the hubs were too tight, as well as the headset, and bottom bracket. The brakes were misaligned and unusable out of the box w/o some setup. It took me longer than I'd like to admit to get everything dialed it, but it's a solid performer after this. You'll definitely learn a lot about bikes in the process. I would recommend this to someone who wants to tweak, tune and customize. A lot of parts can be had for this type of bike since it uses old, conventional technology. The wheels aren't perfectly straight, the crank arm stripped when I tried to pull it, and the front fork looks a little warped from the welding. It's what you should expect at this pricepoint. However, you can still make it fly. I hit over 27mph as logged by my GPS, just remember to keep pedaling when using the fixed cog.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ehat
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Shocked.
9/29/2013

Customer review by TRayAllDay

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by TRayAllDay
by TRayAllDay

I always had my eye on this bike, but could never justify buying it because i have a $400 fixed gear setup. I saw that it went on sale, so i finally bought it. When it arrived, i swapped the tire colors, changed the bars, removed the back brake and stickers, and now i have a sick, smooth, light weight beat down fixie. This thing rides so smoothly. Its built like a tank while still being light weight. If you know how to actually tune a simple bike brake, these will stop you on a dime. This bike rides just as good as my $400 fixie, and actually is more comfortable. I cant believe this thing is less than $99. If youre looking for your first adult bicycle, cut out all of your options and buy this. Its the perfect starter bike. Ive been commuting through my city for years, and this fixie has been serving my needs. Such an amazing deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRayAllDay
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I was blown away by the price
6/25/2012

Customer review by DavidSquishy

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by DavidSquishy
by DavidSquishy

When I was getting into fixed gear bikes I went to stores and looked at the prices and the minimum on a fixed gear is about $300 unless its used. Then when I went to a bike store and asked how good the brand Retrospec was I always heard "there the worst fixed gears you can get" so I took that out of my options and it the bikes would cost now around $375. When I told them my price range they were saying Walmart sells fixies but they aren't all that great. I took the chance when I saw it was $100. I bought it I was a beginner so it didn't matter the quality only downside is the colors me and my friends made fun of it. I still have mine it doesn't fully look like how it used to be still changing it but its still in great shape I use it for FGFS its better than a Retrospec Saint FGFS bike because the frame on this one is stronger and it has better clearance. I had 700 x 50c tires on this will still some extra space. A retrospec can't handle that. In my opinion if your on a budget get this bike it is worth the price all you need is an extra $40 on hand for pedals and straps or cages what ever you like. Then also some paint I haven't painted my bike yet because Im still buying parts such as rims. Right now I'm back to the original size tires 700 x 38. Overall I am happy with this bike its good for its price can be a bit better like having a thread less stem but oh well its still fine. If your unsure of a price range you have or low budget get this bike take off all the stickers (even the front "T" its removable)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidSquishy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet ride!!!!
4/9/2012

Customer review by Csabahu

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by Csabahu
by Csabahu

First of all you can't buy 2 wheels for a $100. Too bad that it wasn't make in green in black and yellow. Anyways I'm enjoying it a lot! And getting a lot of compliments.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Csabahu
Ridgewood, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sick bike for 100 bucks
3/3/2013

Customer review by Temo07

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Temo07
by Temo07

buy it you wont regret it. not a big fan of the yellow so i fixed that problem with black paint.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Temo07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice for $100
5/14/2013

Customer review by CAChausse

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by CAChausse
by CAChausse
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to realize what you're getting before you buy it. I repacked all the bearings, including the crank because they were full of someting that was gritty, and they were all just a but too tight. All I had to buy to do the bearings is a cone wrench for the hub - a whopping $3.20. I put on new brake pads and better pedals (plastic pedals- no thanks). I just had to change the tires so they match the rims too. All in all, for about $130, I have a nice fixe (or single gear coaster because of the flip flop hub) that looks nice and I trust for a long ride in the country. For me, this was a walk away steal for the money. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAChausse
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thruster 700C
6/15/2016

Customer review by ablacour

1.0 stars 6/15/2016 by ablacour
by ablacour

Walking thru Walmart, I come across this neon yellow bike that matches my favorite nike Dri-fit work out attire With bright blue wheels... a little ridiculous looking, but saw a price tag of $84.00. Well you get what you pay for. This bike lasted for about a month and a half tops. At about 525 miles, my handle bars just became so loose they were practicly spinning around, thought it was just not tightened properly so I tightened them and got about another 225 miles out of the bike and then the crank arm broke... from reading posts this is a common fixie issue... my brother already was on his second fixie walmart purchase, so I took his old one about less mileage then mine off his hands, less then a hundred miles later, same issue on his with the crank arm breaking and his brakes are horrible. An expensive fix but it's just easier and cheaper and less time consuming to buy a better quality bike for a little bit more. very disappointed

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ablacour
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Beginner Bike.
4/11/2012

Customer review by LONGBC

4.0 stars 4/11/2012 by LONGBC
by LONGBC

Got this bike as a gift from my mother in law about 3-4 months ago. It's definitely a bargain priced fixie, you get what you pay for. I decided to give it a chance and I actually liked it! Other than a slight problem with the bottom bracket and crank the bike is solid....cheap but solid. Great for getting in shape and great on my local bike path. I've put 1000+ miles on the bike and made some mods. Changed the pedals, chain and tires to meet my aesthetic needs, all for about 60 bucks. I also decided to put bullhorn handlebars with corkwrap on the bike which was another 40 bucks. I have tons of paint in the garage so I painted the rims and fork in white lacquer. The bike looks super sharp and is fun to ride. Maintenance is a must with this bike though. The crank arms tend to get loose and the crank is garbage but you''ll have fun riding around on this stock bike for just 100 bucks.. can't get that at the local bike shop they start around 300

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LONGBC
LONG BEACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This bike surprised me
1/25/2012

Customer review by tymewarrpsjsu

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by tymewarrpsjsu
by tymewarrpsjsu

I wanted to get a bike to commute to school. Well I have always seen single speed bikes, and I thought , hey, thats all I need. But ya know what the price always seemed too much at bike shops. Long story short I wanted a bike but did not want to pay a min 300bucks to get one. One day I am in walmart and see this odd colored bike. I go to internet to investigate. Looks cool for the price, still I delay. Then I finally take the chance and just get the bike. Well, when I took the first ride, I was like whoa, this thing is easy to pedal and it got me to school quickly. Faster than public transit. I am at safeway and get compliments, some girl's like nice bike, and I'm like thx. For the money this thing is a dream, rides great, feels cool.If I had to change anything, it would be softer seat more subtle colors for the wheels. There may be those who will say since its from Walmart it may not be of great quality, well when you ride it you will see that it is, and you will have the added knowledge of knowing your awesome bike only cast you a great deal less than those hipster doofuses. :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tymewarrpsjsu
San Jose, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike for the money
9/13/2012

Customer review by JungleJames

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by JungleJames
by JungleJames

Just like the other reviews stated, this bike is worth the $100. Yes, there are several adjustments needed, including the bearings (just need a cone wrench, or do it cheaply at a local bike store), brakes (adjust yourself) and any assembly just needs time and effort. The things that could be improved would be the brakes. They are weaker than your average bike, but once you get them dialed in, the weaker brakes are easy to get used to. Weight is more than your average expensive bike, think in the 28- 30 lb region or so. There are several biking blogs that start with this bike, and then take it to completely personalized and custom levels for less than $100 bucks more. If you are some sort of expert cyclist, then of course a $100 bike isn't going to meet your needs or your criteria. but if you're looking to ride this around, or commute shorter distances, then go for it! Seriously, its the best deal on a new bike you can get.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JungleJames
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
many better options than this clown bike
9/17/2012

Customer review by sph92173

1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by sph92173
by sph92173

I am dissappointed with this purchase. There were a few parts missing (valve stem cap and tightening screw to hold brake lever in place). Luckily, I had some extras and corrected the problem. strike one. Then, the handlebars keep going out of whack - there is ONLY an Allen key to tighten them at the center of the stem. Srike two. THEN, the plastic petal stripped and fell off! I take responsibility for that, 'maybe' I cross-threaded it when I installed the petal onto the crank. I went ahead and scewed the petal back in - and felt the metal shavings coming out the back. I'm wondering how long that quick fix will last ... NOW, the intertube on the rear tire keeps going flat at the stem. I'll need to replace the tube and this time, it'll be filled with some green slime. I am also going to fill the front tube, as a precautionary measure. Bottom line: this is a $100 Wal Mart bike, for sure. There are better options - but you get what you pay for!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sph92173
Pinetop, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for average person
2/25/2012

Customer review by la90041

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by la90041
by la90041

After riding this for a couple of weeks, I liked it so much that I purchased another one. >For training, use fixed gear. You will get into shape because you can't coast. Keep the heavy stock tires. I have one bike like this. I use it for going shopping. I hope it is so ugly that no one will steal it. > If you replace the tires with black ones, the bike looks a lot better. I have the other set up this way. Lighter tires are a big improvement for longer distance rides. > There were no water-bottle cage mounts on my bikes. The picture shows them. > The brakes do rub against the painted rim. If you keep in fixed gear mode, you can slow down by pushing against the pedals and then not use the brakes as much. The brakes are not good but good enough. > Seat is bad. After 5 rides, I could feel it starting to fail. I replaced it with an old seat from another bike. > I have a road bike that cost over a thousand, but I ride the fixed gear bike more often. The road bike is better for going up and down steep hills. The fixed gear bike is a lot of fun. > I'm 5'8" - The bike is slightly large (in terms of stand-over height), but is no problem when riding. Ignore stand-over and just ride. You will like it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
la90041
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like the Bike
3/3/2012

Customer review by BayCollie

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by BayCollie
by BayCollie

Ordered the bike with 97 cent shipping and it arrived FedEx in 3 days ! I have another Kent bike from Walmart (GMC Denali Pro) which I've ridden several thousand miles and I expect this bike to hold up as well. This is not the lightest bike at @29 lbs. but for recreational riding that doesn't matter, I live in flat country. The bike rides well, I am enjoying riding it as a fixie. I like the kickstand and chain guard for riding around town and errands. For $99 this bike is a great value. When I took it out of the box I spent several hours taking it apart and putting it back together, and adjusting everything as needed. The wheel, bottom bracket and headset bearings all had grease, but were over tightened and needed to be adjusted before riding. This was expected after reading other reviews. Some of the specs on the bike that are not listed in the description that might be helpful if someone were thinking about changing components include: 36 spoke wheels with alloy rims. 700 x 32c tires 48 tooth chain ring, 18 tooth freewheel and fixed sprocket 100 mm front hub spacing 110 mm rear hub spacing 73 mm bottom bracket shell with 114 mm square taper spindle 170 mm steel cranks 1 inch threaded headset alloy stem with 1 in dia. handle bar clamp. 32 in. stand over height 21 inch top tube and seat tube length 1 inch dia. seat post

Was this review helpful? (211) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BayCollie
West Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews