Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 286 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

286 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

286 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
71
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 stars
42
1-20 of 267 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
Comparison of Alameda & Schwinn
4/12/2013

Customer review by MotherMayI1

2.0 stars 4/12/2013 by MotherMayI1
by MotherMayI1
Top 1000 contributor

I wanted two trikes, one for my autistic daughter & one for myself, so I decided to order both the Schwinn & Alameda. For the price difference it is really worth the extra $70 for the Schwinn. One plus for the Alameda is it comes slightly more assembled. The frame & back end are all one piece & the back wheels are on. For me that's where the positive ends. Being all one piece means you can't return it in your car, you need a truck to come get it. My biggest complaint is it looks very cheap compared to the other trike. The tires look thin & cheaply made. I know I would have had to replace them much faster than the other bike. Comfort & quality seemed of no concern when they made this. The seat sets directly above the peddles which again looks uncomfortable. The frame is thinner & the basket looks smaller. This is all things I could see without taking it out of the box. I never went further because I could see the Schwinn was worth the extra few bucks & decided to return it. Oh ... & one of the biggest downfalls to this bike ... NO padding/protection! I open the box which looks about ready to fall apart, to find they did NOTHING to protect it during shipping! So it is easy to see why some people mention bent wheels & such. I figured if the box is in bad shape, there is nothing to protect it during shipping, & it looks cheaply made .... probably not a good idea to keep it. All that said ... maybe if you can find this item in store already assembled & can verify it works ... well, I still wouldn't because I am sure you will spend more in just upgrading the wheels/tires than you would if you just saved for the other bike (& it still wouldn't be as nice). I really wanted to like this bike. I wanted to get the "good deal". But I honestly think in the long run it will cost you more, & you wouldn't enjoy it as much. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (779) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherMayI1
Mother May I
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 1000 contributor
The bike is great but,
12/26/2013

Customer review by melisunshine4u

4.0 stars 12/26/2013 by melisunshine4u
by melisunshine4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was damaged in shipping. After 3 hours of assembly we find the wheel rim is bent. Now what? The instructions for some pieces not very explanatory and setting the brakes was tricky and a bit difficult. If walmart honors the repairs, the bike was bought for my 86 year old grandmother who wants to ride a bike and was so ecstatic to receive this for Christmas, it will be a great fit for her. The look of the bike is wonderful for the cost. I looked at many others. Walmart was definitely the cheapest. Used models didn't come close to this one brand new. I hope to get her riding soon amd this mistake will be fixed quickly.

Was this review helpful? (82) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melisunshine4u
palm beach florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product was damaged upon arrival
4/28/2014

Customer review by Appljack1

3.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Appljack1
by Appljack1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product was damaged It appeared to have been damaged by a fork lift. One wheel was warped and one of the spokes was broken on the rear right rim. Not really happy at this point. Will probably not use this service for large purchase again

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Appljack1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/18/2013

Customer review by Kayze

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Kayze
by Kayze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This looks to be a great exercise program for me. I am 63 years young and I want to get out and about. The tricycle is better to ride then a bike for my age group. It is a fun way to get fresh air take some pictures and be one with the out doors. Order the trike on line and give yourself plenty of time. It was great that Wal Mart assembled the trike for me at no extra charge.

Was this review helpful? (143) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayze
Blairsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
In Town transportation and hauling - groceries etc
10/28/2012

Customer review by Drkagel

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Drkagel
by Drkagel

Assembly: Assembly seems simple and straightforward, for anyone possessing a tool box, Due to size, I requested in store assembly, (too large for typical car). I was called within a couple hours to confirm bike was ready ... with free assembly. (Dropped off at store and rode it home) It Required, (I take bikes seriously), fine tuning of brakes and tire pressure. I used free "ship to store", home delivery was too expensive. Quality: Surprisingly good! ... for the price. Simple yet solid basic construction and components. Turning: Turning is a whole different experience! Practice in a wide open, no traffic, parking lot, till you get used you it. You cannot take curves at typical bicycle speeds! Upsides: Great price Basic transportation with cargo capability All weather tires Large comfortable seat Downsides: Single speed - not designed for hilly terrain Too large for "in house" parking Upgrades? Replace cargo rack with cargo box, weather resistant, with lock? Front hub electric motor, for use as "in town" mobility device

Was this review helpful? (405) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drkagel
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Gramdma's trike
2/4/2016

Customer review by Wintalldude

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Wintalldude
by Wintalldude

Bought this so Grandma could go riding with the granddaughters. Serves the purpose. I passed on the free assembly as I had no idea how to transport the assembled unit. I assembled it my self and found it pretty straight forward except for the rear fenders. They did not line up with the screw hole in any way I tried to place them. I finally got them on by straightening out the bend on the screw end of the support. Otherwise a nice piece of casual transportation and exercise.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wintalldude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the price
10/13/2015

Customer review by Hopalong

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by Hopalong
by Hopalong

Bought this for my 87 yr old father. He loves it. Picked up at Walmart assembled. Got it to my Dads home and noticed a few bent spokes. And a bent hub. Called Kent company and had a complete replacement wheel in 3 days. Almost positive the damage was from shipping. Never the less Megan at Kent took care of things quickly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopalong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bike - hard to set up
4/20/2014

Customer review by GrandmaShomb

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by GrandmaShomb
by GrandmaShomb

Just picked up my bike from Walmart. Requested to be delivered to store due to concerns with delivery damage. Salesperson was so shocked at the condition of the box (one whole side was missing) that he offered to put it together for us but it would not fit in my car assembled. After inspecting all contents and assuring that all parts were there we bought the bike home. Took us 3 hrs to set it up, most of the time was spent on the front brake assembly due to inadequate instructions and lack of pictures, may not be a problem for someone used to setting up bikes. Advice: take picture of front brake assembly before releasing it. Both back fenders were bend but easy to fix. Two of the fenders screws (one on each side) were stripped and we had to saw it off and could not replace it. Overall a nice looking bike. Durability...only time will tell. Was going to post picture of brake set up but is not uploading. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaShomb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Product Was Damaged
11/17/2015

Customer review by TonyF

2.0 stars 11/17/2015 by TonyF
by TonyF

I purchased this for my warehouse to encourage my employees to utilize this instead of driving forklifts for transportation. Perhaps, I should've had in store assembly so that they would have realized one of the wheels was damaged but I figured we have tools and know how. so we opted to assemble it here onsite. Now I will have to deal with the aggravation of either returning the item or repairing it myself at additional cost, financial and time, to me. So whether it was the manufacturer, or Walmart Distribution or the transport company (or all three) showing a complete disregard for my time and money. Additionally, I had it delivered to my warehouse and the transportation company called me a few days before delivery to confirm the address aw well as time for delivery. We're open until 5 PM, the day of the delivery the driver called at 5:30 PM to notify me that he would be 20 minutes late. He was already 1/2 an hour late.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TonyF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic find for Retirement Community residents
4/14/2014

Customer review by Caseyjayne2

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Caseyjayne2
by Caseyjayne2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our retirement community campus is quite large and impact on my knees prevent me from walking from one part of campus to the other - or around the lake and back to my cottage. After moving here I didn't see anyone using a trike - just a couple of golf carts - so I researched and found this one. It is the talk of the place! And........several folks have indicated they may take my lead and purchase one for themselves. It is easy to pedal, is very smooth and is just a joy - especially zipping down an incline! :) Love it - am getting some great exercise, enjoying the fresh air and outdoors, strengthening my knees AND have already lost 2 pounds!!! Have already purchased a helmet and handlebar mirror - now all I need is a water bottle holder and a horn! Not the little old lady from Pasadena but definitely a "go Granny, go Granny, go Granny go item!!!

Was this review helpful? (101) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Caseyjayne2
Mechanicsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
assembly
1/23/2016

Customer review by thehawkman

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by thehawkman
by thehawkman

The assembly was a bit hard. the rear fenders were not at the right angle to have them go on with no problems. it took quite some time to make them fit and they do not fit as they should but with a bit of bending they now fit so it can be ridden and some of the assembly could have been done at the factory. both the front and rear fenders could have been done in factory, which would have taken care of the missalingment of the rear fenders. the seat and the handlebars should have all that was needed to make the bike ready to ride

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thehawkman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great new trike!
5/11/2012

Customer review by plaincountryfolks

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by plaincountryfolks
by plaincountryfolks

I'm really pleased with this. A number of years ago, I had a major head trauma, so I have still have terrible balance problems. I can't ride a two wheeled bike anymore, I can't keep it upright. So we ordered this in hopes of my being able to get out and ride/exercise on a "bike" again. I can see it's going to take some getting used to, just as learning to walk in a straight line again did, but I already really enjoy it, and am enjoying and looking forward to my daily rides. My only criticism is that I would have the pedals positioned a little further forward of where they are, but that too, I will adjust to.

Was this review helpful? (317) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plaincountryfolks
Calumet, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly Suprised
7/22/2013

Customer review by scooterklm

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by scooterklm
by scooterklm

7/22/2013 Received my new Trike at 12:30 (6 days earlier than expected), took my first ride at 2:45. All assembly done by myself, a 63yo handicapped man. After reading some of the reviews I was somewhat concerned with shipping damage, assembly problems, and overall quality, however packaging was very good, there were no scratches, dents, missing parts, ect. Assembly sheet and owners manual were included. I would suggest anyone without some experience with assembly or mechanical aptitude to have Walmart assemble the trike. I am completely satisfied with the Kent Alameda even though it was made in China. As a retired industrial machinist I feel the overall design, welding, and materials to be 1st class. I would recommend this machine to anyone wanting some fun exercise and cheap transportation.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scooterklm
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tricycle
4/7/2014

Customer review by BBlow

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by BBlow
by BBlow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What a pleasure to know that my local Walmart is there and does a wonderful job. I am elderly and they came thru with putting my bike together. It was a great feeling. Thank you sincerely.

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBlow
Slidell,La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for a beginner or elderly person
5/20/2012

Customer review by jpmoore36

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by jpmoore36
by jpmoore36

It has no kickstand so you have to leave it on a flat surface or it will roll. Very hard to navigate on non flat surfaces. Great bike to ride on a level parking lot, not in a neighborhood with hills. Backwheels are wide and you have to be careful when entering doorways with the bike. Uses hand brakes vs pedal brakes. Does take some time to get used to riding it as it rides differently than a regular bicycle. Overall good deal. Only downside was it took 3 weeks to receive it.

Was this review helpful? (114) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jpmoore36
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy a trike!!
3/27/2015

Customer review by Helen

5.0 stars 3/27/2015 by Helen
by Helen

Just wow! I love, love, love my trike. It was made for me. It would probable be easier to tell you which muscles don't hurt right now. Hence, it's doing it's job!!! The first day, I rode it for an hr and a half!!! Had to chill. I ride daily and I am feeling great. I am in the 1st stage of childhood again!!!! Fun! Fun! Over 65? Perfect for you! Started a trend in my little town. Senior citizens taking over our park on trikes!!! Lol

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Affordable Awesome tricycle for disabled adults
8/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My name is Terri . I am a mother of a 22 yr autistic young adult. This bike has givin my son some independence .. He has alway wanted to ride however could not manage a two wheel bike. He is off and going. I just wish me and my husband could have purchased more for ourselves. There was only one available online.. Thank you Walmart for this opportunity for my son Branden.. Please if you can tell me how to purchase 2 more just like his we would love it. ( it's getting hard to keep up with him!) :-). Thanks again Terri Tony and Branden Hammond Indiana

Was this review helpful? (71) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hammond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice trike for the price
7/27/2014

Customer review by hitmanmark

4.0 stars 7/27/2014 by hitmanmark
by hitmanmark

A lot of people (Including bike shops) do not like walmart bikes/trikes/products-clothes, etc.)-However, I certainly disagree about the trike. I actually missed out (This was my own fault) on the opportunity to get this trike for only $149.00. When I DID get it for my wife for 199, it is still a bargain. I don't see where anyone can say that this is difficult to assemble. Most of it is already assembled. My wife and I had it together in like 30 minutes. Where is 3 hours coming from? It's a great bargain and we always get compliments on it whenever we take it out. And rather or not you may have noticed, it stays sold out.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hitmanmark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received broken in box.
11/12/2013

Customer review by Cohav34

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Cohav34
by Cohav34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were very excited to pick up our bike at thr plant city store, when we put it to gather a simple procedure we discovered that the rear wheels which were pre installed, were out of line very badly on father inspection we discovered that the axel was bent on the left rear wheel making it un rideable, the only way to repair it according to the Manuel was to take it to a bike mechanic, we had just spent a substainial amount for the bike and would be paying more for repairs we did not cause. We returned it to our store in plant city and upon inspection the sales person was very polite and professional and since there were no replacement in stock at the store she promptly returned our money which we appreciate very much.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cohav34
Plant city, fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price, awesome trike
5/26/2012

Customer review by FLGurlyGurl

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by FLGurlyGurl
by FLGurlyGurl

I was so shocked to find an adult tricycle at a very affordable price so I was not expecting much to avoid dissapointment but now I am so glad I purchased it as soon as it was back online. The free shipping on the site-to-store was a plus, and even more plus is the free assembly when it arrived. It only took a day for the assembly. Definitely recommend this to anyone. Overall a great value!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLGurlyGurl
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews