Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 24 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
1/2/2012

Customer review by tubby9372

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by tubby9372
by tubby9372

Excellent product. I do alot of target shooting, rabbit and squirrel hunting. This little rifle shoots just as good if not better than the higher priced .22 rifles. The ONLY thing I would change is it doesnt have a place for a sling, but I put some on and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (163) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tubby9372
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great rifle for average user
5/4/2012

Customer review by ScreamingWeasel

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by ScreamingWeasel
by ScreamingWeasel

I do a fair amount of target shooting, squirrel, and bird hunting. This is a wonderful rifle for those 3 things. If you are looking for a competition gun, then it's not for you, but if you aren't a pro, and just love to shoot, this gun is for you! I've already put over 2000 rounds thru my rifle and it works like a dream.

Was this review helpful? (86) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScreamingWeasel
Medina NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great for all ages
3/21/2012

Customer review by jwg1984

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by jwg1984
by jwg1984

absolutely great gun for the money,shoots 1 inch to 2 inch groups at 100 yards,open sights

Was this review helpful? (72) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwg1984
yadkinville,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great gun for the money
6/17/2012

Customer review by Xterra1

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Xterra1
by Xterra1

Absolutely wonderful gun. Only problem we had is a jam after 3 shots. Got the jam loose and fired around 50 shots no problem. Accurate, and lightweight. All it needs is a lerger mag, and maybe a good sling. Just remember to clean it regularly and it'll serve well.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xterra1
Talladega, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great little gun
9/29/2012

Customer review by OGTate

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by OGTate
by OGTate

I originally spotted this gun in a Wal-Mart ad, and the price shocked me... $107!!!! I've always wanted a little .22 to just mess around with and plank targets, and also something lighter for the girlfriend to shoot. I love how this gun feels in my hand, and it feels accurate. I really like how the slide locks open when the magazine is empty. I love that it has a built in rail for slide on scope mounts, can't wait to see how this thing shoots with a scope. Earlier today (9/29/12), I took it out for the first time and put about a 100 rounds through it and didn't have a simple jam or misfire. Before I took it out though I cleaned the gun and oiled it, so I'm sure that helped. So here's the best and worst features of this gun: BEST: Love the smaller size, slide locks open, built in scope rail, and the incredibly cheap price tag compared to the Rugar 10/22. WORST: Came with only 1 - 10 round magazine, it's very hard to find after market accessories or extended magazines, and the stock feels like really cheap plastic. Overall this gun was a great purchase, and will fit well in my gun collection.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OGTate
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Nice light "farm hand".
8/1/2013

Customer review by MasterofReality

4.0 stars 8/1/2013 by MasterofReality
by MasterofReality

I picked this up awhile back from the "Mart" for a bit over $100 out the door. Actually cheaper than I could find a used Marlin 60 for anymore!! I have been wanting to get a compact little .22 to throw in a tractor or on the 4wheeler, etc., and not worry about hurting it. I loved the weight and balance of the gun. Feels like about 4lbs to me. Very light. I expected 4" groups or so from a little "junk" gun at 50yds to be honest with you, but was OK with that, figuring I could still hit a rabbit or barnyard pest with that kind of grouping. I was staggered, when I got a 2" group just goofin around at 50yds, using regular old 40gr LRN I had on hand and iron sights. Thats hard to believe but true. So far it has held up to my abuse of neglecting it. Seems to function well. Only thing I've done is blast the action really good with Rem-oil.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MasterofReality
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Value +++
11/3/2013

Customer review by Steelhead66

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Steelhead66
by Steelhead66

This little rifle for 107 bucks is somewhat unbelievable.. its solid as a rock and very accurate out of the box. As far as jams I think most are caused by ammo not the rifle because I have had not 1 jam yet in hundreds of rounds fired.. my buddy got some cheap bulk ammo and had several.. he swapped out and never had one again. the only problem is good luck finding ammo these days because everyone went nuts and I had to work hard to find 300 rounds today and paid out the rear end for em. For the money you just simply cannot beat this rifle.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelhead66
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great little gun!!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Gunner71

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Gunner71
by Gunner71

Just got one of these and let me tell you awesome little gun. I have had guns my whole life and this is one of the best for the price. Out of the box bam bam 500 rounds and not one jam or anything.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gunner71
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for beginner!!!!
10/7/2013

Customer review by fcagle

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by fcagle
by fcagle

I've NEVER shot a real gun before & was honestly scared. It was the most wonderful thing ever!! The rifle is lightweight & it is really accurate w/o a scope! I would definitely recommend this to a beginner!! There is no kick & it's not loud at all!! Sounds like a small firecracker!! Can't wait to get my 25 round mag for it!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fcagle
Trinity, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/12/2013

Customer review by mrplease

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by mrplease
by mrplease

it is a great rifle for the price , and is you mount a pretty descent scope on it you will be very impressed .

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrplease
kingsport
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
No better semi-auto .22 value period
1/24/2013

Customer review by Ahotdogonabun

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Ahotdogonabun
by Ahotdogonabun

Bought for my kids but I am loving it and burning through the ammo (when I can get it). I am fairly abusive and only cleaned it twice in about 3000-3500 rounds of ammo. It had a couple ftf and 1 ejection issue but any gun would if it wasnt cleaned for 2000 rounds. Put a 3-9x40 Tasco scope on it and cannot believe the long distance accuracy for a shorter barrel .22. I have a feeling my Ruger XT-22 is going to get very dusty.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ahotdogonabun
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Buy the 702 without hesitation, no regrets
12/2/2013

Customer review by MaxwellPower

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by MaxwellPower
by MaxwellPower

Buy a cleaning kit - the $5 one is fine, just make a case for it. Breakdown for cleaning is typical, but if this is your first time, find a youtube lesson. A plastic or wooden pin punch will not scratch your gun, use a metal punch if you have confidence on a good bench. It will get easier to pop the pins as your guides wear. Take pictures or make a sketch, especially the position of the plastic bolt bumper. Will be second nature after a few cleanings, but not obvious where everything goes your first time. Ten percent of owners mangle the long bolt spring attempting to jam it in without patience to learn how simple it is - wish I could be there to show you, but you will get it. If you don't mangle the spring badly, you can straighten it out, and it will work fine, but it is a replaceable spring. I never had a problem, just helped others after they kink it up somehow. I saw a guy cursing the action, and called it garbage because it was too hard to reassemble. I should make a youtube video, because I have not seen one yet that empathizes the motion to insert the bolt with the spring in place. The book has instructions, but you will understand my comments when you try it. No fear - you will get it. It only takes me 10 minutes to do a very thorough cleaning. If I only shoot 100 rounds, brushing the bore is all it needs, but clean it the same day. At $100, I'm getting a spare - handy when the kids come over. I was shocked at how nice the gun is, the accuracy, the action, the reliability - no reason to buy anything else. The Ruger 10-22 is great, but 3x the price, and no more accurate, but has more steel than aluminum, just be gentle. The sights are fine, but add a cheap scope if you like 2" groups at 50 yds. The gun is worthy of a decent scope, just feels odd to put an $80 scope on a $100 rifle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaxwellPower
Thompson, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/12/2012

Customer review by 1fatherof2

4.0 stars 11/12/2012 by 1fatherof2
by 1fatherof2

Bought this for my son, he loves it. It's lightweight and short so he doesn't have trouble holding it. He and I have put close to 1000 rounds through it with minimal jams and stovepipes (cleaned after every use a must), and has never FTF.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1fatherof2
Staunton Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Surprisingly very accurate.
12/6/2013

Customer review by serpintero

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by serpintero
by serpintero

After unboxing and a cleaning and working the action for about a 1/2 hr I installed a scope and went to the range (my backyard), then after 12 rds. for siting in I was getting 1/8" groups at 25 yards and even put 9 rounds in a 1/4 group. No miss feeds or miss fires after 200 rounds. At a little over 100 bucks this is a no brainer, buy it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
serpintero
Howland, ME.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great gun
10/29/2012

Customer review by madwolf

2.0 stars 10/29/2012 by madwolf
by madwolf

the only trouble with this gun is you have to use 40 grain ammo or it will jam. but great shooting. just cant get it at walmart. they took it down as soon as it went on sale.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madwolf
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it
11/26/2012

Customer review by LittleOne4543

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by LittleOne4543
by LittleOne4543

Great rifle. As most know 22lr is a very dirty round, so cleaning is annoying but VERY necessary. I put 225 rounds out on my first range trip with it and the only hiccup was the very first round did not want to chamber, alittle tap on the charging handle and that was that. Not a fan of the break down you need a screw driver, a hammer and a punch. Not as easy as an AR but not that difficult. I used a spent round and a hammer to knock the pins out. I paid 150 out the door. I used remington hollow points, 10 bucks for 225. Did not like the round the projectile spun on the casing. All and all its a great rifle. Oh i did shot 10 winchester westerns 525 for 19.99. Still no issues.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleOne4543
Pearl River
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great First Rifle
4/27/2013

Customer review by TurkeyOak

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by TurkeyOak
by TurkeyOak

I bought my Plinkster 8 years ago from my local WalMart. I felt it was a better balanced rifle then the more expensive Ruger 10/22. It has a nice, thin forestock that is very comfortable. I have really enjoy this rifle. It has the best trigger of any of my guns. Everyone who shoots it loves it. I have shot 5000+ rounds over the years without a hiccup. I boresnake it, clean the chamber, and wipe it with Remoil, and it is good. I only had one issue with ammo and that was teflon coated Winchester. I gave it its first total cleaning (removed stock, removed trigger group, etc.) and it shoots it fine now. It was built up dirt, not the ammo. So - if you want a good, reliable rifle, the Plinkster is a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TurkeyOak
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great bang for your buck!
7/30/2013

Customer review by Sar125

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Sar125
by Sar125

I bought this rifle to teach my grandchildren to shoot and was amazed at the way this gun shot right out of the box, now this is my go to gun for small game I put a 3x9x40 scope on it and you can shoot dimes at 100 yards no problem. I do wish Walmart would carry magazines for it. Will have to get another one for the grandkids now.....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sar125
Blackshear, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
best gun i own
11/14/2012

Customer review by blackbird04

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by blackbird04
by blackbird04

this mossberg .22 is an excellent gun. this is the best gun i own so far. got a 9mm hi-point and its loosy. but this is very good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackbird04
ankeny, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
cheap plastic sights
11/6/2013

Customer review by bobbibear

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by bobbibear
by bobbibear

I got this gun for my son. It shot great (for a beginner gun). But, he bumped the front sight and it snapped off. The only replacement sight I can find is $70. DO NOT BUY THIS GUN.

Was this review helpful? (0) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobbibear
Tupelo, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews