Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-18 of 18 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pefict for Hunting and Plinking!
10/23/2011

Customer review by Terry1222

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by Terry1222
by Terry1222

I have wanted this gun after getting my wife a similar 795 Marlin several years ago. The price is 50 less than a ruger it will shoot just as good as the shooter will let it. The gun is super easy to clean and no magazine to loose. You get the added benefit of the microgroove rifling and a nicely finished wood stock.

Was this review helpful? (219) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terry1222
Saint Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/9/2012

Customer review by JDG69

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by JDG69
by JDG69

Great fun! I've owned my model 60 for about 4 years now. Have put over a thousand rounds through it with no problems what-so-ever. My son loves shooting it too. For pure plinking enjoyment, you can't beat it. Reliable and accurate for little expense.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDG69
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ive had mine for about 18 years and love it
11/11/2012

Customer review by Thunder427

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Thunder427
by Thunder427

I got mine when I was 14, and I put a bulk 550 box of ammo through it within a week. Over the years it has probably had 3k rounds though it. mostly cheap bulk ammo. Its been totally stripped down for cleaning twice, and the only parts that have been replaced are a couple of screws I lost. When clean and properly lubed it is very reliable. I have only had jamming issues when the gun needs a little oil or a good cleaning but that is to be expected. There are only 2 things this rifle can't do that a Ruger 10/20 can. 1: fast reloads with removable magazines 2: turn into an assault rifle with aftermarket parts. You will pay a little extra for that. Will I deduct stars for that? No.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thunder427
Houston Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Fabulous value
12/31/2012

Customer review by Ken345

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Ken345
by Ken345

I bought one of these guns at Walmart just to keep my shooting accuracy up while in the military. Out of the box I was able to consistently shoot 5 inch groupings from 100 yards and dropped it down to just under 3 inch groupings with a 4 power scope from a standing position. For fun I would sometimes shoot holes through quarters shooting from a bench rest. It was an inexpensive but well built gun and had a good solid feel when shooting. 5,000 rounds later the accuracy was just as good as the day I bought it and there was no visible wear except for a minor rub on the bolt. I shot a total of around 7,000 rounds through it before selling it and now wish I had kept it since it was a real work horse. Hopefully I'll get another one or two in the new year.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ken345
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great rim fire rifle
12/30/2012

Customer review by Cowboyroy

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Cowboyroy
by Cowboyroy

I have owned this rifle for 30 years and have never had any problems. In the past 5000 rounds I can count on one hand how many misfeeds I've had. I'm not the best at keeping it clean either and it functions dirty as well. I have more feed issues with my Ruger 10/22s which I also really like. My Marlin can hold over 14 rounds and is very accurate with a cheap scope mounted (keep it oiled). Unless you want an assault looking 22, buy this rifle and you'll never regret it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowboyroy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Beautiful Rifle
11/23/2011

Customer review by Foothillbill

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Foothillbill
by Foothillbill

I matched this rifle to a 22 Plinkster Barska scope and it is one great match.They were made for each other.The rifle and scope are built tough to with stand many years of use.And Walmart didn't charge an FFL transfer fee.That's "Bang for the Buck"!Or "Buck for the Bang?

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foothillbill
Shelby NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Marlin Model 60, .22LR
1/7/2013

Customer review by Obeconobe

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Obeconobe
by Obeconobe

For the money the Marlin Model 60 is one of the best deals on the market for those looking for a semi-auto rifle with a wood stock. Based on the multitude of reviews I've read comparing the Marlin Model 60 against the Ruger 10/22 (factory-stock not customized), I believe the Marlin Model 60 is the best choice for those who want a hunting and plinking rimfire. The Ruger 10/22 is best suited to those wanting to customize or compete in competitions due to the availability of after-market accessories and components. Also the Marlin Model 60 tends to be more accurate out of the box than the Ruger 10/22, has a last-shot bolt hold-open feature, and is approximately $40-$80 dollars cheaper. Of course this depends upon the models chosen and/or compared. Also, as the saying goes "simplicity is best", and in this case I'm referring to the magazines of each rifle. I like detachable magazines... don't get me wrong, but Marlin's tube feed magazine is more reliable as there is less moving parts than Ruger's excellent rotary magazine. The Ruger has the advantage concerning speed-loading, but the detachable magazines can also be lost or misplaced much easier than the tube-feed magazines follower-rod. Ultimately the final choice between the two should depend on the buyer's intended use. If you have the money just buy one or more of each... :)

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Obeconobe
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Gun
1/3/2013

Customer review by jss2590

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by jss2590
by jss2590

I got this because I did not own a .22lr and was looking to save a lot of money plinking with this instead of my other rifle. Even though its semi automatic it is still very accurate. Its not as accurate long range as a bolt action, but very close. Can Not go wrong with this gun. I have had no problems with ammo or jamming. Ive had it for two years now. The only problem with this gun is it is kinda a pain in the butt to take apart clean. I am super happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jss2590
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great rifle for any age
11/27/2012

Customer review by aniwaya

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by aniwaya
by aniwaya

the model 60 rifle has been around for 52 years. it is rugged and well made.a fine rifle for anyone.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aniwaya
Bartlesville,Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great gun
11/4/2013

Customer review by squirrelgitter

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by squirrelgitter
by squirrelgitter

this is the best .22 rifle i have ever owned. shoots consistently every time. most accurate semi auto in my opinion own 2 will never sell either of them

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
squirrelgitter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
11/19/2012

Customer review by toes29

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by toes29
by toes29

my wife bought me one of these bout 8 years ago and i took it to a pond befor even taking it out of its box took my first shot right out of the box and hit it dead on i loved that gun worst thing i ever did was getting rid of it cant wait to get another one

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toes29
rich hill mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great gun
6/20/2013

Customer review by Gatorlife

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Gatorlife
by Gatorlife

I've had 2 of these guns. The 1 I had when I was a kid was accurate as any body could hope. I would shoot all day and never a problem. Light weight makes it easy to carry all day. I bought my 2nd marlin recently to replace the one I had as I sold it years ago and still regret it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatorlife
covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great lilttle gun!
3/26/2013

Customer review by NSOGDADDY

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by NSOGDADDY
by NSOGDADDY

I have had mine since 1972, first gun I got as a Kid and it never failed to fire. I didn't clean it and it still shot, no telling how many rounds have gone through that gun and I still take it out to shoot for the fun of it. My sons think it's fun to shoot something that old and hit everything you aim at. I can't say enough about this fun inexspensive gun!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NSOGDADDY
Norman, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Mine is 42 years old and still shoots great
4/25/2013

Customer review by xxlhog

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by xxlhog
by xxlhog

I bought mine when I was 17. $28.95. Spent many years in my garage and my nephews. Probably had a couple thousand rounds in it before it was cleaned. Wasn't a very responsible owner. Took it out a week ago and it still shoots great. I found some old S&W ammo from my dad that was at least 50 years old. Fired 100 rounds through without a misfire. A great rifle I will hand down to my grandsons.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxlhog
bloomingdale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
EXCELLENT
3/30/2013

Customer review by 32CAVEMAN

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by 32CAVEMAN
by 32CAVEMAN

I have the model 60SB which is the Stainless version of this gun and I have owned it for several years and have NEVER had any issues with it. Never a jammed or ejection problem with several different types of 22lr ammo. Very fun for plinking or small game hunting......

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
32CAVEMAN
Lake Wales, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ok but not a Ruger
12/6/2011

Customer review by RomanticEscapades

3.0 stars 12/6/2011 by RomanticEscapades
by RomanticEscapades

This is an OK .22 but the Ruger is a much better gun. I have 2 of each and I much prefer my Ruger 10/22. The Marlin will jam while the 10/22 will just keep firing no matter what type of amo you give it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RomanticEscapades
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Cheap, good rifle, HORRIBLE customer service!
9/16/2012

Customer review by Indomitus

1.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Indomitus
by Indomitus

Of the two most popular .22's (Ruger 10/22 and this one) Marlin's had a reputation of being more accurate right out of the box. So I fired it right out of the box. I got a lot of FTF's and stovepipes at first, and the action was loose in the stock. (I've had an awful time finding Allen wrenches that will fit the stock screws.) It was a lot of fun after I lubed it up and fired it really wet. The bolt still needs polishing, and my scope keeps sliding in that dovetail mount. I got some cleaning fluid in the plastic trigger assembly. It ate up my plastic and froze the safety in place. Everyplace I saw online had the trigger assembly on back order. I finally hunted Marlin down and gave them a call. They said they'd have to back order it, that it would take up to six weeks. A month later, I called them again, and they said it hadn't been ordered yet. The CSR would send an E-mail asking someone to order the part. No guess how long it would take. I got online and saw that it had taken other people 8 or 9 months to get that part. I was drooling over a scout rifle in the Marlin catalog, but now I'LL NEVER OWN ANOTHER MARLIN!

Was this review helpful? (18) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Indomitus
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best 22 I have ever owned
3/2/2014

Customer review by mountaintopman

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by mountaintopman
by mountaintopman

I got my Marlin 60 by doing some work for a friend about 10 years ago. It was used, but in excellent condition. I use it for squirrel and rabbit hunting. I never put a scope on it, only using the factory sites on the gun. I can knock a flea off a squirrel's backside at 75 yards...lol. I would not ever let go of this gun. I will pass it on to my grandson when I die!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountaintopman
Pike Co. KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month