Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 28 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Great Product
8/16/2011

Customer review by Mark812

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Mark812
by Mark812

I picked this up as a temporary fix while my satelite was out of comission. It has by far exceeded my expectations. Very easy to set up - maybe 5 minutes. I ran the channel scan on my tv and got over 30 channels - crystal clear HD quality! I live in a rural area - at least 15 miles from the closest city. I was not expecting this type of reception and now I am seriously considering elimating my satelite. GREAT PRODUCT!!!

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark812
Browns Summit, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Far exceeded my expectations
9/12/2011

Customer review by KWolfe11

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by KWolfe11
by KWolfe11

My roommate and I had decided against getting cable, but with the football season starting my boyfriend really wanted to look into getting cable. It's hard to justify spending $50 a month for the standard channels and nothing special. I decided to look into an antenna even though I didn't know much about them. For anybody like me, www.antennaweb.org is a great site to check out if you're not super knowledgeable about antennas already. It let me know what I should be looking for regarding certifications of antennas, what channels I could expect to receive, and more. I looked into the Phillips indoor antenna and after looking into a few different options decided to try this one and see what I could pick up. It only took a few minutes to setup and I get about 30 channels! I now have all of the main channels, a great picture, and no monthly cable bill!

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KWolfe11
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good, but better ones are out there
8/25/2011

Customer review by AlyLJ

3.0 stars 8/25/2011 by AlyLJ
by AlyLJ

I live in a rural area (about 50 miles from the nearest TV broadcast tower with all flat terrain, NO hills or mountains.) We tried three different indoor antennas and this one came in "2nd Place." This one did work much better than the new, flat square design without rabbit ears that claims you don't need to adjust. In our rural area, you do need the metal rabbit ears to get good reception. Another positive is that the UHF flat square with swivel in the center of this antenna is very sturdy and worked better than others we tried. And the 20 dB of gain was more than many other antennas we looked at. We learned in our rural area, the gain (signal amplification) is a must. However, the metal antennas (rabbit ears) are only 15" long on this antenna. No where on the box or in the owner's manual does it tell you how short these are. And because they are short, this antenna did not pick up as many stations as the other one we tried from another store that was 39" long. (Think electronics store with Lance Armstrong as spokesman to find 39" rabbit ears.) But if you are closer to the TV broadcast tower, this antenna will probably work great and the shorter rabbit ears make operation and setup a whole lot easier. And this antenna has a very sturdy design that will probably last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlyLJ
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/13/2012

Customer review by SOSshopper

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by SOSshopper
by SOSshopper

I decided I was tired of my cable bill so I purchased one of these antenna's so I could see what I could capture in the free world of TV. I chose this product after reading many review websites. Whenever I make a purchase for an item I am unfamiliar with I ususally will search reviews. To my delight I was able to receive 30 channels and I do not live in a metropolitian area it is much more rural. That same day I called my local cable company to say asta la vista baby! I then needed to get another antenna for the bedroom and went back to the store but they were out of this brand/style. I ended up purchasing an RCA flat screen antenna. What a hunk of junk! It not only costed more $$ but I could only pick up 10 stations. Maybe the RCA would work great in a large city I don't know. I ended up searching out a walmart that had the Philips indoor tilting digital TV antenna in stock and returned the RCA. I have been a happy camper since! This one works perfect for me and I would encourage you to give it a try !

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SOSshopper
Waterford, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great hdtv antenna!
9/15/2011

Customer review by wizzpurr

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by wizzpurr
by wizzpurr

This antenna works great, No problems with pixels freezing up or loosing any signals on any of the channels, unlike the RCA black square rabbit ear free antenna one which was horrible. This one blows the RCA one out of the water. Wish it didn't have rabbit ear, but they are small and not too much of an eye soar. I think the rabbit ears make a difference in how well the antenna pulls in the stations. Please note that you can only get how many stations are broadcast in your area. There are only 12 in my area.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wizzpurr
Northeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/24/2011

Customer review by JCSC2

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by JCSC2
by JCSC2

I have recently decided to try broadcast television after paying high cable bills for to long. After testing several antennas(including new style flat ones) this one works the best. I live about 10 to 20 miles from most stations and pickup almost all of them. The only channel I wish I had was NBC. But that is due to how far away it is. I can pick up over 20 digital channels in FULL HD!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCSC2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of Time
8/10/2011

Customer review by kaymay55

1.0 stars 8/10/2011 by kaymay55
by kaymay55

We just got this antenna, and after a couple hours of repeatedly reading instructions and talking with customer support online, we still can't get it to work. We can't get even the slightest bit of picture and we have a year old LCD HDTV 1080p flat screen so it should work. Needless to say we will be returning this as soon as possible because not only is this antenna worthless, but Philips "customer support" is worthless as well.

Was this review helpful? (28) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaymay55
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent antenna
11/17/2011

Customer review by Reviewmeister

4.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Reviewmeister
by Reviewmeister

I bought this antenna to replace an old one we had. It does tune in more channels than the old one. I don't have to move it around so much to pick up a signal. Depending on the weather, I can pick up as many as 19 stations (so far). It serves it's purpose. We are not big TV veiwers so this works fine for the amount of TV we watch. I also like that the "rabbit ears" are not long. I personally think that it is a bit more expensive than need be.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewmeister
Normal, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/3/2011

Customer review by faithfulcustomerfromCA

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by faithfulcustomerfromCA
by faithfulcustomerfromCA

this is a very good digital antenna i use it with my tv which the old style tv, not a digital one or hdtv, and it works just great. i have lost CBS13 with my old antenna and many other channels but with this antenna i watch all the channels available without the cable or dish and no more need to adjust the antenna each time i change from ABC10 to CBS13.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
faithfulcustomerfromCA
sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/18/2012

Customer review by Kamien

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Kamien
by Kamien

I bought this because I cancelled my satellite subscription. I had other antennas laying around the house, RCA regular antenna and one of those flat antennas that is amplified, but they didn't do job like this has. I usually don't right reviews for stuff but since this one worked for me I just had to let everyone know that it really does work. The farthest station from me is 21 miles away and I get them all crystal clear without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kamien
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beyond Expectations
1/16/2012

Customer review by Saminole

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Saminole
by Saminole

Replaced a different antenna with a separate amplifier with this all-in-one unit. The picture quality rocks on BOTH UHF and VHF. I have the signal piped through the entire house over my existing cables and it is pushing 3 Televisions with no issue. Highly recommend and pleasantly surprised that a relatively cheap Philips antenna from Wal-Mart beats all others I've tried. I am in a condo Tampa and receive multiple feeds of (3,8,10,13,16,28,32,44 plus a bunch of religious/educational/spanish channels) just about every signal in Tampa Bay.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saminole
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
being Frugal
1/22/2012

Customer review by grandmacouponer

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by grandmacouponer
by grandmacouponer

got this because of the cable bill. I do not watch alot of TV. So talked to my husband and decided to get this one for the biggest TV in the house. No we do not get 30 channels but we get 13 and all are better picture then when we had cable. We get the major channels and that was all we watched on cable. Does not get the little squares as much and the best part is that the bill per month is $0.00. In the first month this has paid for itself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmacouponer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT!!!
1/8/2012

Customer review by LouisianaSAINTSfan

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by LouisianaSAINTSfan
by LouisianaSAINTSfan

WOW is all I can say! I live in rural Louisiana and despite advertisements to the contrary, I can NOT pick up my local channels through my satellite provider. Out of desperation, we bought this antenna to catch the SAINTS game at the last minute & PRESTO! We are watching it as I type. Even more unbelievable is that we are able to pick up a total of 13 CHANNELS!!! I didn't even know there were that many local channels in our area. A few hints: as recommended, put in and/or near a window. Tried to set up initially on a tv inside an armoire-type entertainment center and got absolutely NOTHING! Moved to another tv and put antenna in window and we had immediate success!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LouisianaSAINTSfan
Elizabeth, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worthless
1/21/2012

Customer review by flannn

1.0 stars 1/21/2012 by flannn
by flannn

I found a simple copper wire antenna that came with a analog computer tv card. I attached that to my tvs and got about 20 digital channels. I thought that a better product would work better so I bought this item. This is actually the second one, I bought the unamplified first then this one. After hooking it up at the same height and manner of connection as the simple copper wire I was amazed that I got 0 ZERO channels. I reconnected, adjusted the gain did this and that and never got a single channel, on either device. I have since returned the shiny piece of plastic since I have no need for a $30 what-not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flannn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unable to receive picture/only sound
10/4/2011

Customer review by scoutscout

1.0 stars 10/4/2011 by scoutscout
by scoutscout

Neighbors say I should receive about 3 channels, but thus far the antenna has not worked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoutscout
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
3/6/2012

Customer review by mon12

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by mon12
by mon12

To save money, I recently cut the cable cord and switched to a media player (Roku). It's been so nice not having a cable bill, but I still missed having live tv especially on nights when my favorite shows played. I decided to pick this antenna up, and within 15 minutes of reading the instructions and waiting for the channels to load, I have about 10 channels and I'm now watching my favorite channel- live and crystal clear! Totally impressed and thrilled. Bye bye cable bill!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mon12
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1/9/2012

Customer review by Daddyshokey123

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Daddyshokey123
by Daddyshokey123

This is a very good antenna, took it home to try and got 15 channels, I cannot believe it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daddyshokey123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
3/10/2012

Customer review by KCVegas

4.0 stars 3/10/2012 by KCVegas
by KCVegas

I live in Vegas, near black mountain (where all the transmitters are) and there are times when the signal can pass right over my house. I wanted to have a normal over the air tv just to cart around the house and patio without having to drag cables and satellite boxes. I wasn't expecting much, but when I plugged this in to the tv, did the channel scan everything in the valley came up. No problem. It can be pixel(y) at times but for the most part, this was a good buy..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCVegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3rd is the charm
2/22/2012

Customer review by Consumer3000

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Consumer3000
by Consumer3000

Third antenna I have owned. This perforemed better than previous attempts and got me around 14 channels and was 20 dollars cheaper. All antennas require adjustment at times and this was easier to do so because of swivel panel on UHF panel. Good reception though I exceed distance spec to towers in most cases. One note most modern HDTVs require that you enter setup mode and scan for channels. This is not like older analog where you dial the station and then adjust the ears. The TV scans for the virtual channels and sets up what it can best recieve. This is best done on a very clear day to maximize number of channels.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumer3000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good picture quality
2/4/2012

Customer review by Kckr2001

4.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Kckr2001
by Kckr2001

It could be just my area, but I really didnt get as many channels as I thought I was going to get. I live in a suburban area that lies between two major cities. Regardless, I get all of the major channels pretty well and rarely have issues with the antenna not being able to pick up a station, but it does happen. When there is a solid lock on the reception the picture quality is great....all in all it did what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kckr2001
North Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews