Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 448 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

448 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

448 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
234
4 stars
49
3 stars
33
2 stars
33
1 stars
99
1-20 of 438 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews
I HATE Charmin Essentials. Bring back Basic!!!
12/29/2016

Customer review by IBoughtThat

1.0 stars 12/29/2016 by IBoughtThat
by IBoughtThat

I had been a loyal customer of the Charmin Basic brand for the last 3-4 years. It was THE perfect bargain toilet paper. Never had any problems. It was the perfect combination of strength and softness. Now... like everyone else I am looking for a new brand of toilet paper. I seriously hate... I mean really HATE Charmin Essentials. I tried the Essentials Soft and it was just awful! Completely paper thin and NOT at all soft. I won't even waste my money to try the Essentials Strong. If P&G cares about their customer's opinions and brand loyalty then bring back the original Charmin Basic.

Comment from - 1/18/2017

We're sorry to hear that you haven't had a great experience with Charmin Essentials Soft. Your feedback means a lot to us and we'll be sharing your comments with the rest of our team. If you'd like to share more, please feel free to give us a call at (800) 777-1410.

IBoughtThat
Erie PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please bring back Charmin Basic!
12/23/2016

Customer review by Whitney2016

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Whitney2016
by Whitney2016

Please bring back Charmin Basic. Charmin Essentials in the Soft and the Strong version both are awful. Our family has bought Charmin Basic for years and were disappointed to see it gone for good. We have tried the Essentials, regular Charmin, and Charmin Ultra. Nothing compares. This was the best balanced toilet paper. Soft but not too thick and still strong.

Whitney2016
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It really is basic now.
12/13/2016

Customer review by Jmorgan0153

3.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Jmorgan0153
by Jmorgan0153

Been buying Charmin basic for years and so to our family's surprise and disappointment; the recent package I purchased is comparable to sandpaper. Your changes to the paper are very noticeable. It is see through, rough, and hard on the nether regions.We have decided as a family to rid ourselves of it and switched brands permanently.

Comment from - 1/18/2017

We're very sorry to hear about you and your family's recent experience. We want you to feel confident and comfortable when using Charmin. When you have a moment, please give us a call at (800) 777-1410 so we can learn more and help further.

Jmorgan0153
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sorry to hear you discontinued Charmin Basic.
12/7/2016

Customer review by rswar35

4.0 stars 12/7/2016 by rswar35
by rswar35

Sorry to hear you discontinued Charmin Basic. This paper was perfect as far as strength and safe on our septic. We've been buying it exclusively for years. Now will have to find an alternative.

rswar35
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only one I want
11/5/2016

Customer review by Judy50x

5.0 stars 11/5/2016 by Judy50x
by Judy50x

I don't like too thick or too thin paper and this one is perfect; it is the ONLY TOILET PAPER I want and I am having trouble finding it. I have been forced to try the other Charmin products and I don't like any of them even half as well as Basic. If I keep having trouble finding this product, I will have to start ordering it online, which I find absurd for toilet paper, but I am getting desperate. Please tell me where I can find this product in or near Waterbury, CT. I WANT MY BASIC!!!!!!

Judy50x
Waterbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please change back!
11/10/2016

Customer review by MelWash5

3.0 stars 11/10/2016 by MelWash5
by MelWash5

I do not like the new "soft" Charmin Basic. I LOVED the previous version. It was a perfect balance before, now it is too soft. Why did you change a good thing?

MelWash5
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect, exclusively used
10/29/2016

Customer review by onlybasic

5.0 stars 10/29/2016 by onlybasic
by onlybasic

Please keep making this toilet paper. It is about the only product I can use. I am allergic to something in many products.

onlybasic
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love charmin basic
10/24/2016

Customer review by Jms68

5.0 stars 10/24/2016 by Jms68
by Jms68

I really hate that you changed charming basic. It was easy on our septic system and our tushes. Hate the new "soft". Please go back to the way it was

Jms68
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality going down
10/10/2016

Customer review by Lisa6801

2.0 stars 10/10/2016 by Lisa6801
by Lisa6801

When this product first came out, it was excellent. Now, it is thinner, rougher, and just not as good quality overall. Highly disappointed.

Comment from Tammy - 10/12/2016

Hello, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We have actually discontinued our Charmin Basic and introduced Charmin Essentials Strong and Charmin Essentials Soft. Based on your review, I think the latter is probably the right value TP for you - it's two ply, still strong but focused on softness. I hope you give it a try and let us know what you think.

Lisa6801
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful product
9/11/2016

Customer review by Kris

5.0 stars 9/11/2016 by Kris
by Kris

Basically chemical free, very few ingredients, and one of few I am not allergic to. It's really soft and strong, too. Softer than most of the other toilet papers on the market. The last week or so I've had a hard time finding it in the stores. I hope you aren't going to discontinue making it.

Kris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
quality issue
2/6/2012

Customer review by AmberK

1.0 stars 2/6/2012 by AmberK
by AmberK

I have been purchasing Charmin brand toliet paper for the past few years and fell in love with the product. My question is have they changed the way it has been manufactured? I go to tear off the sheets and they never want to rip on the perforated lines. The first pack that I bought I thought maybe it was a fluke thing but when I got to my second package it is the same way. If Charmin is going to keep their products like this I may have to start buying a different brand. As a mother of 3 girls they waste a lot if it does not rip correctly. Another question I have is have they changed the quality of how it is made. It seems like we are going through a lot more of the toliet paper than ever before. It seems as if it takes more to get you clean. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

AmberK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Chamin Basic, a disaster
11/5/2013

Customer review by tiny

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by tiny
by tiny

And I have bought 12 big squeeze rolls of this Charmin Basic toilet tissue! It's unbelievable how companies can get by with making smaller sizes. One piece of this toilet paper is about 10x10 centimeter, or not quite 8 inches wide and/or long. It's nothing but a postage stamp and not enough material to cover your part. You can only hope not having eaten so much as you will have to use 1/2 a roll or it will be a disaster. I find this situation quite unsanitary, especially when I think of fast food servers or restaurant helpers that are always in a hurry. How long should they wash their hands with disinfectant soap? I will have to use this unacceptable paper (12 rolls of it!) SINCE I SPENT MY MONEY ON IT.

tiny
Would recommend to a friend? No
the "new" charmin basic is of poorer quality
12/23/2012

Customer review by dmgny

2.0 stars 12/23/2012 by dmgny
by dmgny

when the product first came out it was, in my opinion, the best single-ply toilet paper out there. Not too soft and not too rough. It gave more value for your dollar - 309 sheets per roll as opposed to 264 sheets now. The quality changed as well, it is slightly rougher and I guess the fluffed=up new design is supposed to mask this fact as well as less paper per roll. Its funny that most consumers don't pay attention to these things they just read the "new & improved" wording on the package. Why change a product when its doing well other than to make more corporate profits?? I would have rather you charged me more money and kept it the same. Who does your R&D ? I guess my hunt for a new product begins.

dmgny
Would recommend to a friend? No
strength, flexiblity, and smells good
5/22/2013

Customer review by amiga

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by amiga
by amiga

I recently gave a bridal shower to my daughter and played a game where the girls were divided into two groups and a one girl was chosen as a model....they had to design a wedding gown with veil and the bouquet out of bathroom tissue...I needed a tissue that would withstand the tugging and pulling and i chose charmin for its strength...everyone was amazed at how charmin allow flexibilie to make such a dress... The bride to be chose the winning dress and a nice gift was given to the group...Thank you charmin ..you are priceless..(If you would like to see the wedding dresses let me know) and the girls did ask what brand of bathroom tissue was it??? Hope I got some customer for you!!!

amiga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
yes
4/22/2013

Customer review by DinaT

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by DinaT
by DinaT

I buy Charmin all the time but recently due to money situations I couldn't buy our regular Charmin we buy. I had to purchase Charmin Basic I hated it this paper is hard and no comfort in wiping even my little nieces and nephews asked for my other toilet paper. I wouldn't recommend the Charmin BASIC brand but I do recommend the other Brands Charmin Ultra Soft and Charmin Ultra Strong. I have been buying this brand for over 20 years now and this was the first time I got something I didn't like. I now will save my little extra money and make sure I have enough for the Charmin Ultra Soft and Charmin Ultra Strong to buy even if I have to give up something else when grocery shopping.

DinaT
Would recommend to a friend? No
As think as tissue paper
6/13/2016

Customer review by sadsadsad

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by sadsadsad
by sadsadsad

This paper is so thin you have to use 2 or 3 times as much to get the job done without your finger poking through.

sadsadsad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product is one ply and rough
5/19/2016

Customer review by Lettie

1.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Lettie
by Lettie

This is terrible toilet paper. Will NEVER buy again. Only bought because it was on sale. Will only buy ultrasoft in the future or switch to Northern

Lettie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Changed brands
1/29/2012

Customer review by Floridian

1.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Floridian
by Floridian

I have used Charmin Basic for ages, and loved the product. I wouldn't buy any other, but now that they have changed it, I have had to switch brands. The new Basic doesn't have as many sheets on the roll-264 now, vs 308 on the old rolls, which is almost 15% less. The rolls don't last as long, even though they claim to be double rolls. I have a supply of the old Basic, but once they are used up, I have already begun stocking up on Scott Extra Soft, which has 469 sheets to a roll and, since I tried a small package, I know it lasts a lot longer and does a fine job. I am sorry Charmin changed the product, but I won't go back to it now.

Floridian
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best value for your money
5/26/2016

Customer review by Keli021t

5.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Keli021t
by Keli021t

It feels good and dows the job foe a very good price

Keli021t
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
stinx
10/19/2013

Customer review by stinx

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by stinx
by stinx

I have been purchasing bath tissue for more years than Charmin has existed. I recently tried your Basic since my usual brand was not available. I can't get over how terrible it is. My husband, who never complains, gave me his opinion when I told him about it. It was a zero rating. I'm taking it back to the store as I'm tired of being cheated. Not only is the paper itself cheap, the roll has diminished by another approx. half-inch in width. Bath tissue has been shrinking for quite a while, but this is too much. Next thing, you'll be selling us dental floss and telling us we get 5X as much. Corporate greed strikes again.

stinx
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews