Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 20 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-19 of 19 reviews
1-19 of 19 reviews
Brutally Powerful Air Gun
5/26/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Benjamin NP Trail XL 725 is not for the 'faint of heart' for sure. Although it has a gas piston instead of a spring, it still kicks and cracks like a .22lr rifle. And the .25cal size pellet delivers more down range punch than smaller pellets. The scope that comes with the rifle is decent enough for a 50yd zero and tough enough to stay that way for 3 or 4 dozen shots or more. Although this is a big gun, it's surprisingly lighter than one would expect and comfortable to hold. But not so light as to affect felt recoil. All-and-all, this would be a good varmint gun for medium game (raccoon size) out to 75 yds and accurate enough for clean kills. Understanding the ballistic characteristics of the .25cal pellet is (of course) a must if you're not familiar with this heavier pellet. Fortunately, mine is not picky, having blown through several different brands of pellet without much appreciable difference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
benjamin np trail .25 breakbarrel rifle
12/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted a pellet rifle that would have more power at longer ranges 40+ yards. I don't have anyway to check the fps or fpe. compared to my other pellet rifles, this .25 really packs a punch!! this rifle is powerful and accurate . I am trying different pellets to find the best one. using h&n barracuda 28.4, and Benjamin premier 27.4 gr. getting consistant half-dollar size groups at 40 yards. I haven't had the rifle 2 weeks, so i'm still getting a feel for it. the scope provided works great ! no complaints. rifle is heavy a bit over 9 lbs. cocking effort is a lot ! not a kids gun for sure.! for the power you get ,it's worth it. fit and finish is good.trigger could be better, but it is manageable.i have other breakbarrel rifles with not-so-good triggers.you get used to them.they are all fairly adjustable. haven't had it out hunting yet, but given the accuracy and power i'm sure it'll be fine.i like everything about this rifle.for me it's what I was looking for! down side is for the money,they could've put in a better trigger.recoil is minimal because of thenitro piston. very happy with the rifle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome air rifle
12/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A little heavy, but really packs a punch. Great for hunting medium size game or target shooting. It will penetrate 1/2 piece of plywood. Very quiet, small recoil scope is great. A real adult version of a pellet rifle. I have a .22 and a .177 and the .25 caliber really expands you options. Only negative is the availability of pellets. You have to buy them online so stock up once you find the one that is best for you. I am using the gamo pro magnum pellets for target shooting. You can keep a tight group at 30 yards, 1 inch. Hunting, I using the crosman benjiman hunting pellets.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Adult pellet gun for sure!
5/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Cocking this beast is a chore, unless you know the trick. Hold it to your hip barrel out, tap it mid barrel firmly, and this will 'open' the breech. Spin the gun upside down, and place the shoulder pad on your thigh. Pull the barrel towards you. This is the only way I found to arm it without my arm giving out in 3 shots. LOL This is to be expected of a gun of this caliber though. It sighted in 3 shots at 25 yards, and holds a group the size of a quarter at that range. Using the mil-dots on the scope, I was able to reach out and humanely down a prairie dog at over 80 yards. I am very impressed. It is heavy though, but the real wood stock, Nitro-Piston, and rock solid construction are the reason.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great first big bore!
7/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Albeit at the bottom of the so-called, " Big Bore" ladder, this rifle is no slouch! About 10 pounds with scope, the Cochise thumbhole helps give a surer, more comfortable grip. With the forearm artillery hold, in any of it's permutations, that weight is well balanced. Being a magnum air rifle, it kicks hard. About like a .22 magnum. But it hits hard too! I shot it through my chronograph, with H&N field target trophy pellets @ 19.91gr, and got a high of 858FPS/32.55FPE! That's 2.55FPE above the 30FPE listed on the box. So this gun delivers on it's promises and more! It hits quite hard, so medium-size game will go down with a well-placed head shot. Shooting 50 yards can be done with this rifle and about a 25gr pellet., It's a handsome, well made and well balanced magnum sporter worth every single penny! It really makes me want to get it out and shoot!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heaviest hitting break barrel air rifle ever!
6/9/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This air rifle greatly exceeds all of my expectations. After a couple of years debating whether or not to purchase this gun, having read every review I could dig up off of you tube and other airgunner sites. It was clear to me that people love this gun. So I bought it from Walmart at a better price than anywhere else offered. Despite some gripes about trigger pull from others, mine is perfect right out of the box. Light and crisp. NO LIE! bought it in . 25 cal. and I suggest doing the same. Most of my other airguns are pcp guns. This one hits just as hard. BUY IT!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great punch , grea quality of the wood , very heavy , has recoil , sight is difficult to adjust but its ok also , exelent for hunting , i didnt try it at long range jet but , at short (20 yards ) is perfect
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very powerful and accurate air rifle.
11/19/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice in quality. Very powerful and super accurate. The scope is very clear and easy to adjust. Rifle is heavy and has light recoil. Cocking requires a good bit of effort. Great for a hunting air rifle but not really suited for target shooting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great gun for the price
6/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my second one. The first one couldn't be sighted in without shimming the scope being that I bought a 300 dollar scope I wasn't going to do that so I sent it back for Exchange which was a call to Benjamin ,, they said no problem.. This second gun is great so far very accurate but now having problems with scope..getting 1 inch groups at 30 yrds with PBA gold ,,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smelly Rubber Butt Stock!
8/11/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Right out of the box it stunk to high heaven. Have washed it and it still smells bad. Haven't got to shoot it yet. Otherwise seems well made. Has the weight for potentially accurate shooting. It won't be too stealthy come hunting time. The smell will give you away.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Benjamin trail .25 caliber.
10/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this rifle 2 weeks ago an work perfect, I highly recommend no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
benjamin trail magnum xl np .25
5/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With all the great reviews on this rifle I was really disappointed.....I had no problem cocking this gun and loading. However...the trigger is the hardest trigger I have ever encountered on any gun.....I could hardly get any kind of a group. The adjustment is just for the travel. I boxed it back up and returning it.....big disappointment. I'll keep my old .20 Seridan
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very nice Gun
1/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice powerful 25 cal. Very heavy, good thing for accuracy this gun packs a punch. This is my first 25 cal. Pellet gun, searched for days reading reviews glad, I bought it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pleased with purchase.
12/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I will recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Accurate from the first shot
6/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not very heavy and balanced better than my Beeman 12.5. The scope that comes with it is very nice, its equipped with the mil-dot and rings are included. The mounting rail for the scope is already to go. As advertised, it is significantly quieter. It has a high quality wood stock and the bluing is excellent. It really is worth the money. I've always been a strong supporter of Beeman products and the Springer models. This is the first gas spring model for my arsenal and I'm very impressed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Let you know when I receive another from Walmart.
2/18/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Received my Benjamin np trail xl 725 from shipping department and noticed it had been previously un-boxed and all taped up.when I got it home and un-boxed it ,It didn't take me long to notice the breaker barrel was labeled incorrectly with wrong model # and caliber. Opened up package of pellets I also got on-line and put one in (fit perfectly).I don't want a rifle that has wrong caliber labeled on barrel(177)!.wonder how much quality control these guns go through?. I returned it ( no questions asked) and have another ordered.I Will find out in a week how the quality is on the next one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice and powerful air gun
10/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love it very well built air gun
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had low expectations for this gun and they were met and surpassed a little. Its a big heavy gun that after 250ish rounds and a thorough cleaning of the barrel can still not hold a decent shot group. I read all the reviews before i bought it but because i collect air rifles i had to add this one to my collection. It packs quite a punch if that's what your going for if you can hit your target though :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor build quality--
4/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
No accuracy even after break in----however walmart customer service was great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-