Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 51 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
5/25/2012

Customer review by Technostop

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by Technostop
by Technostop

I upgraded from separate Lynksys cable/modem and router and the Zoom combo is very easy to set up and works with Comcast. 1st product had its id in use in comcast system so I had to return for another, and Walmart prepaid return and shipped me another very quickly without waiting to receive the return--excellent service.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Technostop
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a quality product - works perfectly
3/10/2012

Customer review by Jimtee

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Jimtee
by Jimtee

I bought this modem/router to to avoid paying monthly rental fees. It works great, was very easy to set up, and will pay for itself in a few months.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimtee
East Burke, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works fine, few specs I don't like
4/16/2012

Customer review by Roscoish

4.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Roscoish
by Roscoish

Just got mine all hooked up. Works great and easy to set up! I only have a few complaints. It won't let me change the DNS servers so I would use a parental control site, and I prefer to not broadcast my SSID but it won't let me accomplish that either (make my network invisible to the random search). Otherwise it is working well, and I will probably end up keeping this modem. Just be aware of these few issues if you plan on using them.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roscoish
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This device will save you money and space!
11/4/2012

Customer review by JPIER

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by JPIER
by JPIER

It worked right away with easy to set up security features. Network is password protected and you can make the network invisible. You can name your own network, set up your own password. I got this to save space and money at the same time. Instead of having a router and modem (2 devices), i got this because its a modem with built in router (wireless-N, 802.11 N-G-B compatible). On top of that, It works with the new Docsis 3.0 services in the US. Now having this device will also save me about $85 per year from having to pay the modem rental fees from my cable company. Also, this model has a 2 yr warranty and support. Most companies only offer 1 yr.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPIER
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice all-in-one device.
1/13/2013

Customer review by Nicknameforreviews

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Nicknameforreviews
by Nicknameforreviews

I research everything before I buy. Lots of mixed reviews out there on this device. Walmart.com had it on sale for cheaper than anyone else so that, plus their lenient return policy, convinced me to buy. From all the research I found the 2 big potential issues were: 1) random cutting out of internet and 2) poor wifi range. Once the modem was plugged in and registered to Comcast (more on that below) I immediately did the two suggested fixes for the above problems by 1) disabling IP flood detection and 2) selecting a wifi channel from 1-11 and not using the "auto" function. I've had absolutely no problems and am happy with my dl/ul speeds and wifi range. Registering with Comcast was simple. Plug in, wait 10 minutes, try to go to a site like Google and get redirected to the Comcast device registration page. Done deal. Worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicknameforreviews
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Zoom Modem/Router
5/31/2012

Customer review by mrajla

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by mrajla
by mrajla

The Modem Router was easy to install and works without any issues.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrajla
Fenton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very fast Internet cable modem
12/4/2012

Customer review by USMC4LIFE

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by USMC4LIFE
by USMC4LIFE

I really like my fast speed on Time Warner Internet Service. The modem they provide which is the Surf Board 6835 Wireless DOCSIS 3.0 Modem/Router with Wireless-N. Is not as fast as the Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem. I am clocking download speeds. Well over my 50Mbps download speed. It usually around 54Mbps downloads. And a 5.15 upload speed. The price of the Zoom Telephonics. Should be a little lower in prices. It is big a bulky. But it is reliable. It doesn't drop connections. Like the Motorola Surf Board 6835 Modem/Wireless Router built in. This is the fastest modem I ever used so far. I would recommend it to a friend. And all who read my recommendation. I had given it a low value. Because of the price of the modem. It should be around $85.00 to $95.00 price range. PS. It is best to purchase your own modems. Than leasing it with the cable modem. You will save a lot. Of them(Cable Companies like Time Warner). Who charge you about $4.95 a month. When you go wireless. When you can buy your own. And it will not cost you anything.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMC4LIFE
Los Angeles,California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
6/3/2012

Customer review by Joelupr

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by Joelupr
by Joelupr

This product does all, and do it right. It does internet fast, it works with several devices at once beautifully, has a great wireless signal and conectivity. The UpNp which stands for universal plug and play its a plus for it's versatility and the router function like the DHCP couldn't been better. You should buy this baby...

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joelupr
Ponce, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great idea & easy!
11/1/2012

Customer review by jmjk

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by jmjk
by jmjk

I loved the idea of a modem & router in one device, and can't believe they are so rare. This was delivered within 24 hours, and despite some of the reviews I had read, it was virtually attach cable, push a button and everything was up & running, including laptop, printer & Kindle. The only issue I had was with the Kindle, which recognized the device, but I couldn't access, since I thought the password was in caps.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmjk
Voorhees, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very low Wifi Range
12/20/2012

Customer review by Hasebaer

3.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Hasebaer
by Hasebaer

I thought this is a great option to save me from having a cable modem and a wireless router, however unfortunately the wifi range is very limited. I can get barely get a Wifi signal in the next room and nothing anymore in the room beyond. So I had to buy a Wifi Range Extender to have the Wifi signal in every room (and we have a small apartment). I never had that issue when I had a separate wireless router. Needless to say that this defeated the purpose of only having one device.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hasebaer
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I wanted.
11/30/2013

Customer review by Adwah

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Adwah
by Adwah

With cable companies charging a monthly rental fee I wanted to find a reliable, middle of the road, router and modem in one. When I initial set the router up I had connectivity issues but followed another reviewers directions of disabling the overflow and setting the wifi to a set channel. Since I did that I have had no issues (my last router had connectivity issues). Already recommended it to a friend who is about to get internet in his new condo.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adwah
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleased with the speed
10/26/2012

Customer review by misstaylorrr

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by misstaylorrr
by misstaylorrr

I use the internet for Netflix and Hulu, I don't have cable and with my upgraded internet and this modem, the screen doesn't freeze up anymore. I'm happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misstaylorrr
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy set up ... and so far flawless operation
12/22/2012

Customer review by neomaxcom

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by neomaxcom
by neomaxcom

I remember the first zoom modem I ever had - it was a 14.4 bps telephone device from back in the 1990's. When I got it, it was one of the first of that speed. Anyway, the memory of that "zoom" modem gave me confidence of the zoom brand for this new DOCSIS 3.0. I haven't been disappointed and while there are some less expensive devices, this zoom was competitively priced so I got one for my daughter for her new house. I did check issues of compatibility and while some earlier versions of the modem internal program had experienced issues with network updates, I was also comforted by the sticker on the bottom that showed the version number of the update. In fact the only real issue I had was that my Comcast region was having high call volume support and the overflow was to a region far away. So far that accomplishing the switch from the old cable modem I was replacing, would have to go to a supervisor. I asked if I could get a local number for support and was given that number. The connection was forwarded but the attempt failed and I was looped to another out-of-area call center. The third call each of which did require the challenge of identifying user name and account number before talking to a human. The setup took just over 20 minutes once I got a technician that could do the provisioning and it has worked flawlessly since then.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neomaxcom
Atlanta DMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cable Modem DOCSIS 3.0 and Router with wireless.
9/20/2012

Customer review by wallmartone

4.0 stars 9/20/2012 by wallmartone
by wallmartone

Easy to set up and unit is price competive. Zoom 5350 Unit has a 2 yr manufacture warranty .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallmartone
Chicago,Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good...
11/9/2012

Customer review by jossymagee

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by jossymagee
by jossymagee

I purchased this modem/router for use with Comcast Xfinity. The services were already installed when the modem was shipped to me, so all I had to do was hook it up (very easy) and call Comcast to activate it. Comcast informed me that I would have to send it back to Wal Mart because the modem was already registered to another customer of theirs in California (I live in NM). Obviously it had been returned after being used, but it was in good shape physically, so I decided to follow a prompt online to activate it myself, and it worked perfectly. So, like I said... So far, So good. Wal Mart, just make sure that you're resetting these or something so people don't have problems like this in the future.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jossymagee
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't work on Suddenlinks network
12/17/2013

Customer review by Snowbird015

2.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Snowbird015
by Snowbird015

Purchased this product to upgrade from an older slower unit and it was a combo (modem/router) in one package. It worked fine for about 2 weeks and since then it has not been reliable - disconnects from the internet and tries to re-boot for hours. Occasionally it will stay connected for 3-4 days at most. Exchanged numerous emails with company and modified default settings per their recommendations - did not resolve the problem though. Originally they were going to replace my unit but upon follow-up emails company advised that Suddenlink no longer supports their product and thus would not replace my unit nor give a refund. Will now purchase a more reliable product from a more established company.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snowbird015
Parker, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
11/13/2012

Customer review by Vinp74

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Vinp74
by Vinp74

With Time Warner now charging a lease fee for their Motorola modems, I wanted to purchase my own modem. I've been using the same Linksys (wireless G) router for about 7 years. I thought that buying a combo modem/router would save space and match, if not increase my internet speed. I was wrong. It is considerably slower. Set up was easy, no complaints there. It is ridiculously slow. I have connectivity issues all day everyday. The signal strength is not as strong as my Linksys router either. I purchased this online and I'm returning to my local Walmart tomorrow. I hope to find a different cable modem, and I'll keep using my Linksys router because if it ain't broke, I shouldn't have fixed it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vinp74
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by Zarshimp

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Zarshimp
by Zarshimp

I bought this on the whim because I was sick and tired of Comcast rental prices and quality of their modems. 10 dollars a month VS. 120 dollars with 2 year warranty GREAT deal,but of course my Comcast was confused as to why I bought my own modem/router after all they had just had had me come into their office and get 4 different modems in a past 3 week period. So if you have the extra money get this you will be happy you did. BTW you will see a Hugh speed increase as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zarshimp
Paducah KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SAVED ME THE MONTHLY 'LEASE' FEES
2/14/2013

Customer review by 1LEON

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by 1LEON
by 1LEON

WILL PAY FOR ITSELF THIS YEAR ('13). WAS SIMPLE TO INSTALL. HAS GREAT SUPPORT GROUP - IF NEEDED. WORKS FASTER & CONNECTS TO INTERNET EVERYTIME! FAR SUPERIOR TO THE MODEM I WAS LEASING FROM MY PROVIDER.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1LEON
HAWAII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/21/2012

Customer review by SomeRandomGuy2012

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by SomeRandomGuy2012
by SomeRandomGuy2012

Easy plug & play device, I hooked up the cable, plugged it in to the computer and it was good to go. Strong signal strength throughout the house.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeRandomGuy2012
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews