Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Love this dress form and great price!
2/9/2014

Customer review by Mahmah25

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Mahmah25
by Mahmah25

I just got the DF151 model which states sizes 16-22. But, do yourself a favor and go by the measurements not rack size!! I originally got the medium DF150 model because it showed for sizes 10-16. I did check my measurements and originally was going to get the large but I thought since the medium was within the size range I am (12-14), I would go with it. Should have trusted my first instincts...had to return the medium and go with the large, DF151. However, due to my broad shoulders, big bust (hard to find clothes because of my bra size) and a little bit of a "booty", I had to turn the knobs on most of this to the farthest they could go. I don't see how this would fit a size 22 considering I am not more than a size 14 and, depending on the brand, size 12. So, just make sure you do ALL your body measurements BEFORE you buy if you are a size 16 or above. I am lucky that this form fits my measurements nearly perfect! :-) Also, if you have to open the form to the widest and you get the gaps, just put a stretchy camisole on it. I used my spandex undergarment tank to put over it and it works great! I can still stick pins in where the gaps are because of the tank over it. I absolutely love this form and will be getting a medium one so I can sew some outfits for my 22 year old. I have seen complaints that people didn't realize what size they got because the Walmart description online doesn't say. But, you should go by your body's measurements and not the rack size or whether it's medium or large. Maybe that's why they didn't put it because they give you the range of measurements in the "description" so look there and measure your body - bust, waist, hips and from back of neck to waist to make sure the dimensions go with your physic. Do not ever trust the rack size number for a dress form and, especially, for sewing patterns because you may be disappointed. All in all, this is a great product for the low price!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mahmah25
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No size was mentioned on the web page.
8/31/2012

Customer review by Robinann55

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Robinann55
by Robinann55

When I picked up the dress form from the store I was very surprised to read the size on the box. I purchased this dress form to display my mothers antique wedding gown at my daughters wedding only to discover the dress wouldn't fit. I thought the dress form would be adjustable considering no size was mentioned on the web page. I needed a small size 6-8 dress form only to receive an extra large form, size 16-22. I returned the dress form and then had to search for a dress form from a local store which caused me much stress at the last minute before the wedding. I can't say anything about the quality of the dress form because I never opened the box once I discovered its size. I was pleased Walmart accepted the return without any hassle but would have been happier had I known the size before I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (80) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robinann55
Smithtown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great way to adjust, good value for money
3/13/2013

Customer review by giokito

3.0 stars 3/13/2013 by giokito
by giokito

This is going to be the cheapest most versatile dress form you will find. Believe me, I tried looking for it everywhere (amazon and other shops). Other dress forms alike are at least 200 dollars. Assembling the dress form wasn't too difficult, it will take 15-20 minutes if you have a hard time understanding how it goes together from only the picture in the box. I like this dressform because you can really adjust it everywhere. You can adjust how tall the person is, and how wide or narrow in the back, front, sides and even the neck. Now to what I don't like: The minimal measurement on this dress form is chest 40, waist 32, and hips 40 inches. The problem arises when you have someone that is a bit wider on the waist, because if you turn the knobs, the body will be proportional to the beginning measurement, so the chest will become even wider. One way around this is to put some fabric around the waist to make a padding-like on the dressform, which I might try later. This dress form has some padding, it has been easy to pin fabric or patterns to it. You can also use it for draping but you will need to make a cover (just use jersey fabric and put it together with a sewing machine around the dress form, there are many sources online that tell you how to do this. Just google dress form cover). Anyway, I love my dressform and it has been very useful so far.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
giokito
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This was easy to put together and easy to adjust.
12/18/2013

Customer review by Spiritoaks

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Spiritoaks
by Spiritoaks

This dress form was easy to put together and easy to adjust. The size listed on the box threw me off and I thought I had received the incorrect size; however, based on my measurements it works great. Don't expect the "box" size to match your retail dress size or your pattern size. Go strictly by the measurements and you'll be happy with the finished results. I do not have any problems with the stability of the stand. If you want to place the form on a thickly padded carpet, you might want to weight the legs with ankle weights.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spiritoaks
Aiken, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
2/17/2013

Customer review by skaywms

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by skaywms
by skaywms

i love my dress form. it is just what i have been wanting for a couple of years now and the price fits right into my pocket-book. i am already using it and everything about it is perfect. thanks for everything. skw

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skaywms
white bluff, tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!
3/9/2013

Customer review by rvaseamtress

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by rvaseamtress
by rvaseamtress

This dress form is very useful. It's great to see what you're working on in 3D. Love that it is adjustable.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rvaseamtress
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poorly made
12/28/2013

Customer review by Chinpekelady

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Chinpekelady
by Chinpekelady

I bought this dress form to replace a similarly adjustable one purchased 20 years ago that broke. When the dials are turned, the four quarters of the dress form above and below the waist (8 total) move apart or close depending which way each section's dial is turned. The form's sections do not stay evenly lined up, resulting in up to nearly a half inch difference in how far each side extends outward, and when closing, the sections have a tendency to overlap as well. You'd need to pad each area differently to address the resulting discrepancies. There's hardly any depth to the fabric glued to the form, and I don't think it would be easy to pin your fabric to the form. I took this purchase back and spent more money to get a much higher quality product. .

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chinpekelady
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product is unique in features for the price.
11/11/2013

Customer review by Marietta2013

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Marietta2013
by Marietta2013

I looked for a dress form with a torso length adjustment for several months--with no luck until I found DF151. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. I assembled it in minutes. I adjusted it in several more minutes. I had read that these light weight dress forms were unstable. This is not a problem that I can see. I can move it easily with one hand--it only weighs a little over eleven pounds. Again, I couldn't be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marietta2013
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for seamstresses of all levels.
2/12/2014

Customer review by magee113

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by magee113
by magee113

My Daughter and I have been wanting a dress form for a very long time. Being larger women, I was concerned that it wouldn't be what we needed to help us really enjoy making the clothes that each of us want. Surprisingly it fits our needs quite well. The part that I love the most is that I can tweak the dimensions in one area but not another. Allowing me to adjust the pattern, material, facing and trim to best tailor the item to my needs. Wonderful product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magee113
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would have gotten 5 Stars if sent RIGHT SIZE
4/24/2013

Customer review by PriusGirl

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by PriusGirl
by PriusGirl

They sent me a Size 16-22 women's dress size mannequin. Really? That's the size they sent me. That's a plus size. I ordered a regular mannequin. No offense, but if there is more than one size options, we should have a choice to know before it ships. Now I have to go back to the store to return it which is time wasted. I really wanted to use this tool for making costumes this week. Plus, I have to drive all the way across town to Jo-Ann Fabrics to buy their mannequin because they offer sizes. Looks like it would have been a wonderful purchase if it was the right size. :-) Ordering department needs to fix this asap.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PriusGirl
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great for others like me that are new to fitting
4/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Its a good product for beginners learning to fit to body shapes that are not exactly like the patterns that are available. The more expensive ones are heavier duty but for the price of this one its perfect. If I am successful in learning to fit clothes better then would consider a more expensive one. This same dress form is $249 at JoAnn's.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cypress Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for first form.
4/3/2013

Customer review by LucidClothing

4.0 stars 4/3/2013 by LucidClothing
by LucidClothing

Excelent body form. Stand is very lightweight, may need to weigh it down with something. Very adjustable. Easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LucidClothing
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is based on sewing sizes, not rack sizes.
1/6/2014

Customer review by EsheR

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by EsheR
by EsheR

Exactly what was described. I understood what real sizes I needed when I went looking for this item. If you are looking for an adjustable form, make sure you base it on actual measurements (neck, bust, waist, hips) and not generalizations (small, medium, large, 8, 10, 12). There are way too many variations in clothing these days. I ordered this for my wife and we were able to adjust it to fit the clothes she wears. This will allow her to tailor fit her outfits. Shipping was fast, came in early even though I ordered it the day after Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EsheR
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
1/3/2014

Customer review by theonsl

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by theonsl
by theonsl

I never knew just how handy one of these could be, it helps me so much and having one cuts down on your time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theonsl
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Every sewers dream come true!
3/26/2014

Customer review by palmpom

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by palmpom
by palmpom

This dress form is something I have always wanted! Great value for the home seamstress. Adjustable to fit almost everyone you want to make an article of clothing for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
palmpom
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This form is very light and easy to move .
6/24/2013

Customer review by Lilly53

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Lilly53
by Lilly53

This dress form is very functional. I can move it all around my working space. Because it's so light weight it's easily pick it up and move it to my next project. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilly53
Front Royal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
singer red dress form.
2/12/2014

Customer review by sew1525

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by sew1525
by sew1525

the dress form is exactly what I needed to do the job for the project of plus size women. this dress form opens out to the exact size that I want. i would recommend any one that is looking for a dress form to buy this on ,it shapes to your size perfectly. thanks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sew1525
elkhart,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good the price
6/28/2013

Customer review by BritF

3.0 stars 6/28/2013 by BritF
by BritF

It is pretty wobbly, but the sizing works great and pins easily. Spins easily too. Overall great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BritF
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not recomended
7/29/2013

Customer review by Kgirl13

1.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Kgirl13
by Kgirl13

I did not like it because the dials get stuck easily and will not move. Also Very hard to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kgirl13
indepdence,MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice appearance, but unstable
4/2/2014

Customer review by Xiodenn

2.0 stars 4/2/2014 by Xiodenn
by Xiodenn

Pros: This was the most cheap adjustable dress form I could found. The box looked bad, but the dress form itself came safe in a plastic bag. Even if -the base- is like a base of fan, is pretty stable. It was available only in red color, but looks good. Cons: It arrived just in the original box, it looked very old or kicked (2 sides bare cardboard, the other 2 sides old inked look). Size not match with the description on-line neither the original box. At adjust the measures, one dial doesn't maintains!! I knew it would be light weighted, but the dress form moves a lot at working time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xiodenn
Calexico CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews